• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

NTFA Div 2

Agree with your there Thistle, lots of movement still to Uni and Old Scotch, and it seems a few Fingal and Perth players are heading back to Campbell Town for a kick this year which is great to see, I hope they do well this year.

Also noticed that Victor Marshall has signed up to Old Launcestonians, how many clubs now is that in the last few years.....

I am presuming now that University is starting up again you guys would have a few more on the track, I reckon you will be pretty strong this year like a few years back.

Very good to see all those old Campbell Town players heading back there this season. Shows some loyalty.

Victor Marshall is coaching OL's hence the clearance. He'll certainly increase the tattoo average at the club!

Numbers at Uni-Mowbray seem really good. Good bunch of guys too which is the main thing (nearly up there with Old Scotch much to my suprise). There seems to be quite a few talented footballers there, not that I've seen many of them play. You'd imagine we'd be there abouts in both sides. Much more depth there this year.
To me from what I've seen and heard Old Scotch would have to go in favourites in both grades I'd think.

This is said every year, I would like to know why you think that this year is going to be any different?

Surely Fingal would have to be favourites. I have also been up and seen St Pats training and they have had a lot of numbers on the track. Could be anyones comp this year.

You're right Thistle, a lot more depth around the club and a terrific bunch of blokes though... practice match this weekend Vs GTown could be a good test of where we're at. That said, a lot of new faces who have never played together means it might be a rocky start...

This is said every year, I would like to know why you think that this year is going to be any different?

Surely Fingal would have to be favourites. I have also been up and seen St Pats training and they have had a lot of numbers on the track. Could be anyones comp this year.

i hear a young ex scotchie by the name of josh newson might be set to sign with scotch? what can u tell us thistle??
heard a number of clubs are chasing his signature longford, hillwood and northern bombers but scotch may have first foot in the door. hes a very tough power forward who loves the confrontation. by all reports has been kicking bags of goals in victoria as assistant coach

You're right Thistle, a lot more depth around the club and a terrific bunch of blokes though... practice match this weekend Vs GTown could be a good test of where we're at. That said, a lot of new faces who have never played together means it might be a rocky start...

It will be interesting watching how the boys go this weekend against G'town. I look forward to watching and seeing how everyone goes from the sidelines. From what I've gathered being at Uni this year is that there are just so many new faces it's going to take a while to get to know each other well on and off the field. It will come though and we should be there abouts this year.

i hear a young ex scotchie by the name of josh newson might be set to sign with scotch? what can u tell us thistle??
heard a number of clubs are chasing his signature longford, hillwood and northern bombers but scotch may have first foot in the door. hes a very tough power forward who loves the confrontation. by all reports has been kicking bags of goals in victoria as assistant coach

Very good footballer thats for sure. He actually played with me at Old Scotch when he was in high school. He came back a few years back wanting cash and was disappointed to hear there was none about then played for Fingal.

I don't know what ties he'd have there now as he had a group of mates there back then. I'm no longer in the inner sanctum so I can't say much more than that.

It will be interesting watching how the boys go this weekend against G'town. I look forward to watching and seeing how everyone goes from the sidelines. From what I've gathered being at Uni this year is that there are just so many new faces it's going to take a while to get to know each other well on and off the field. It will come though and we should be there abouts this year.

Very good footballer thats for sure. He actually played with me at Old Scotch when he was in high school. He came back a few years back wanting cash and was disappointed to hear there was none about then played for Fingal.

I don't know what ties he'd have there now as he had a group of mates there back then. I'm no longer in the inner sanctum so I can't say much more than that.

Interesting to see what happens there then, i dont actually know the bloke only going on what a few rocherlea players had told me..

any news on how gtown are shaping up this year? it maybe worth starting a div 1 thread, seems to be the forgotten league around big footy

What has happened to Sportstalk07 or is he now THE VOICE OF SPORT?
Now now Mr Duff TV, no need to bring out those kinds of rash statements...

No I am not Sportstalk07 lets clear that up right now. I think Sportstalk07 has been absent for a while as he is probably concentrating on his role with the Westbury Cricket Club. We all look forward to his contribution to the forums in '09!

I saw in the Old Scholars forum that Old Scotch are going to be playing OHA in a practice game; will be very interesting. Some good players in both sides but I can't see Old Scotch having the backline to contain Bowering and Archer and the other OHA forwards.

Key match ups anyone that knows the sides? Predictions? Kim Curtis would have lined up against a few of the old Clarence boys at OHA back in the day, wonder if there are any grudges there...

Now now Mr Duff TV, no need to bring out those kinds of rash statements...

No I am not Sportstalk07 lets clear that up right now. I think Sportstalk07 has been absent for a while as he is probably concentrating on his role with the Westbury Cricket Club. We all look forward to his contribution to the forums in '09!

I saw in the Old Scholars forum that Old Scotch are going to be playing OHA in a practice game; will be very interesting. Some good players in both sides but I can't see Old Scotch having the backline to contain Bowering and Archer and the other OHA forwards.

Key match ups anyone that knows the sides? Predictions? Kim Curtis would have lined up against a few of the old Clarence boys at OHA back in the day, wonder if there are any grudges there...

Curtis and Mccallum would be a good match up. I think theyve had some good battles in the past.

should be a big game and intresting to see some of the new recruits at the Thistles

Played for Winnaleah and then signed with Branxholm before he left the state to avoid a drink driving charge. Will play anywhere for money.

I actually think his father is Rick Franjic, but i could be wrong?????

Played for Winnaleah and then signed with Branxholm before he left the state to avoid a drink driving charge. Will play anywhere for money.

I actually think his father is Rick Franjic, but i could be wrong?????

Played with josh for a couple of years a very good player with potential to burn. Iv always been in regular contact with him and can tell u straight he did not leave the state because of a drink driving charge lol

My way of looking at it is if your good enough and a club wants to pay you for playing football i say good on you bcuz your only young for a short while, so make a few bob while you can. Wish i was lucky enough to be paid! ;)

Final FC contact

Anybody got a contact number for Peter Hall who is with Fingal FC.

Just need to make contact re some DVD's he ordered from me.

Duff TV contact number is 0413 139 599.

Tar

Martin Duffy.

Played with josh for a couple of years a very good player with potential to burn. Iv always been in regular contact with him and can tell u straight he did not leave the state because of a drink driving charge lol

My way of looking at it is if your good enough and a club wants to pay you for playing football i say good on you bcuz your only young for a short while, so make a few bob while you can. Wish i was lucky enough to be paid! ;)

Yep, he seemed a nice bloke to me as well and did have a lot of potential. I'd imagie he'd be pretty impressive now as a player if he has developed as i thought he would. The money comment was just that, good luck to anyone who can earn good coin playing a game they love. Sometimes though, you can stick with a side for more than one year in a row! As for the dd, i heard that straight from his own mouth at the time, as i was part of the coaching panel that recruited him. There were other circumstances as well, but this was also one of them according to him. It may have well been an unfounded worry from a young bloke who was looking for a change in his life?

Ols football club sighed former Sdale B&F winner Daniel Breadmore last week. he is the AC n the club is looking forward to what he can bring to the side. The club is talking to several others players and with breadmore n these players they mite improve up the ladder this year....

I doubt it. They will need a lot more than Daniel to start being competitive. They were walloped by that many points by majority of the sides last year it wasn't funny, and with a few players walking out after last season I can't see them winning many games this year.

Miar was the standout player for them last year and I believe he is heading to Launceston to play with his brother, can anyone confirm this?

Miar is playing for South i believe. Breadie is a handy pick up but is a head case, so will fit in pretty well with Victor's game plan...........

ben Johnson is playing for Tamar cats his twin brother has a scholorship up at gold coast could see him play fr gc17 good mates with ben. so handy pick up for tamar.

I play for Uni-mowbray myself and was wondering if anyone was heading to the game Friday night 5.30 start Ringarooma vs. Uni-mowbray will be good for the boys to play together or the first time. i myself am very keen for a kick.

ben Johnson is playing for Tamar cats his twin brother has a scholorship up at gold coast could see him play fr gc17 good mates with ben. so handy pick up for tamar.

I play for Uni-mowbray myself and was wondering if anyone was heading to the game Friday night 5.30 start Ringarooma vs. Uni-mowbray will be good for the boys to play together or the first time. i myself am very keen for a kick.

Mate, pretty certain were playing Hillwood at Hillwood this Friday night then Ringarooma at home the following Saturday, unless I missed something during my lap running?

Plenty of kicking going on at training mate! Feel free to come along ;)

Games def against hillwood, 6 qtrs (3 res, 3 snr)

ols football club have picked up more players during the week.
Wont be the easy beats as some people are saying.
So far they have picked up Daniel Breadmore. Vic Marshell Sam lincon
Ricky Smart Nathen leeming has come back to the club from UNi. Have sighed 2 Old Scocth players. Randell and Jason Dawkins. currently have 3 players training and about to sigh with them from Both hillwood and ringarooma and Mathew Adams returning to the club. We will wait n see if they get beat by 200 points again

" bucky" buchanan playing at the tamar cats..handy pick up,must be some money left over...

Bucky is a very smooth mover and harder at the pill than he's given credit for. Spent half of my career trying to negate him. He'll be good for the Cats. The NEFU will be an interesting comp this year, as i see the Crows, Lilydale and Ringarooma have lost most of hteir really good players. Bridport can't get a side and Winnaleah have just lot of their juniors coming through. Don't know anything about St Helens, and Branxholm have got back a lot of the young blokes that made them have strong senior and unders sides from a few years back.

Word on the street is that Uni have had a very good preseason and finished it off with two solid games of footy against Hillwood and Ringarooma.. beat hillwood 12 goals to 5, then on saturday smashed Ringarooma by 120 points!
Good to see a club who dont dish out money playing good team footy...