• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

NTFA Div 2

Spot on Sportstalk.
I'm quite sad not to be able to play there this year as there is a sensational culture down there. There are incentive payments for the top 4-5 players (voted on by the players for the Lucas Butzin medal). It's not necessarily the BOG who gets the cash either. It may be a reserves player who comes up and does his role really well. The two best players in the reserves also get cash incentives so it's not a "player buying" thing.

Anyone doubting this maybe should go down for a run and see for themselves.

Good luck this year Old Scotch.

this may be the case..and as i have said.ALL clubs pay players.some more than others.and im sure Old Scotch may well be on the lower end of the scale.but some players would be getting paid..no doubt about it.
although i have admired the way the club has turned itself around..full credit to those involved.even my club has paid players.certainly not to the extent of other clubs......and we all know those clubs..don't we

Brad Cottam was an assistant coach there last year I think and Kim Curtis is this year so it is fair enough that they get paid.

Not sure about Shaun Smith but have it on pretty good authority from someone that would know at the club that Jamie McLeneghan rang their coach about playing and didn't want any cash, just wanted to play with a good bunch of blokes. Someone might be able to confirm that?

Full credit to the club if they dont pay players, have done well being able to compete with Tamar/Perth/Fingal who I have heard love to throw the coin around...

i have only mentioned those players of the top of my head..they have many other good players as well..who knows who gets what ?

Spot on Sportstalk.
I'm quite sad not to be able to play there this year as there is a sensational culture down there. There are incentive payments for the top 4-5 players (voted on by the players for the Lucas Butzin medal). It's not necessarily the BOG who gets the cash either. It may be a reserves player who comes up and does his role really well. The two best players in the reserves also get cash incentives so it's not a "player buying" thing.

Anyone doubting this maybe should go down for a run and see for themselves.

Good luck this year Old Scotch.

"the thistle" for a person seemingly in the "know" and craps on about their culture...and is so sad to not be playing there.why are you leaving ?
i actually doubt you have any idea about anything to do with Old Scotch.
at the end of the day Old Scotch have not won a grand final..have been found out against tougher sides.i hope their recruiting has identified their problem/soft areas...???

"the thistle" for a person seemingly in the "know" and craps on about their culture...and is so sad to not be playing there.why are you leaving ?
at the end of the day Old Scotch have not won a grand final..have been found out against tougher sides.i hope their recruiting has identified their problem/soft areas...???

You dont need to win premierships to have a good culture at a club or be a good bunch of blokes. While this is obviousley the main aim the thought of playing with a good bunch of blokes means more to me and alot of the other blokes at scotch than going to a "more succesful club" getting paid but playing with a bunch of idiots.

Thats just my opinion and obviousley you have yours.

You dont need to win premierships to have a good culture at a club or be a good bunch of blokes. While this is obviousley the main aim the thought of playing with a good bunch of blokes means more to me and alot of the other blokes at scotch than going to a "more succesful club" getting paid but playing with a bunch of idiots.

Thats just my opinion and obviousley you have yours.

i actually agree with you....i have played in "money" sides and also in teams who played for each other..guess which team actually won the flags...
for all its worth ..i think the scotchies will go allright this year..but i still do believe some of their players will get paid..as ALL other clubs in our division do.

Danman you are so sadly mistaken, the thistle and mighty magpie are spot on in everything they have posted about Old Scotch. Since 2004 a lot of work has gone into the club making it sustainable, and part of that was the incentive base payments to players, not match payments.

Sure the coaching staff were paid, as is the norm at most clubs, and why do you equate success to winning GF's, as it takes time with the approach the club has as opposed to the Fingals, Cats, Perths who pay big money for average footballers, but are unable to sustain the club on an ongoing basis.

To the Thistle, you should have gone to Evandale, at least you would have been able to find your bloody boots!!!!!

Danman you are so sadly mistaken, the thistle and mighty magpie are spot on in everything they have posted about Old Scotch. Since 2004 a lot of work has gone into the club making it sustainable, and part of that was the incentive base payments to players, not match payments.

Sure the coaching staff were paid, as is the norm at most clubs, and why do you equate success to winning GF's, as it takes time with the approach the club has as opposed to the Fingals, Cats, Perths who pay big money for average footballers, but are unable to sustain the club on an ongoing basis.

To the Thistle, you should have gone to Evandale, at least you would have been able to find your bloody boots!!!!!

Firstly to Danman,
I've been on the committee for the past seven years and have been there as a player for the past eight years so I have a fair idea of whats going on.

Kanga's73 - Thanks for your input. You just reiterate what Mightymagpie and I have been saying. You've obviously played with Mightymagpie and I along the way and have a fair idea of whats going on. The only thing that would ruin Old Scotch now would be if they started buying players. There have been many (including a number of now Fingal players) who have rocked up to Old Scotch training expecting to get paid. They pissed off pretty quick when they were told about the lack of match payments.

That Fingal prick who stole my boots playing for Evandale now is he?

Just remember, money ruins club morale at the end of the day when things don't go to plan.

Firstly to Danman,
I've been on the committee for the past seven years and have been there as a player for the past eight years so I have a fair idea of whats going on.

Kanga's73 - Thanks for your input. You just reiterate what Mightymagpie and I have been saying. You've obviously played with Mightymagpie and I along the way and have a fair idea of whats going on. The only thing that would ruin Old Scotch now would be if they started buying players. There have been many (including a number of now Fingal players) who have rocked up to Old Scotch training expecting to get paid. They pissed off pretty quick when they were told about the lack of match payments.

Just remember, money ruins club morale at the end of the day when things don't go to plan.

Thistle, I may have even coached you. Apart from Fencer you were my favourite player!!!!!!!

Firstly to Danman,

so why are you leaving the club thistle...???
i have my opinion and i will stick to it..money would be changing hands no doubt..maybe through sponsors ??

so your a expert even though your not even in the state...i know who you are..and talking out of your fat arse.was always your forte.
you have no idea...
cottam,curtis,mclenaghan,smith etc etc playing for nothing ..what rot..!!!!

so why are you leaving the club thistle...???
i have my opinion and i will stick to it..money would be changing hands no doubt..maybe through sponsors ??

Danman, which part of not getting paid dont you get? It is possible to run a club on the model that the Scotchies have in place.

And you have no idea who I am, and we are a bit testy about being wrong. My arse may be fat, but at least I deal in fact not innuendo..... Maybe you should play up a league and test what your worth?

Danman, which part of not getting paid dont you get? It is possible to run a club on the model that the Scotchies have in place.

And you have no idea who I am, and we are a bit testy about being wrong. My arse may be fat, but at least I deal in fact not innuendo..... Maybe you should play up a league and test what your worth?

lol..i do know who you are,ex-reserves of old scotch and average westbury cricketer.ha ha
has i have said before , i have seen how old scotch have turned things around and i envy the culture they now have in place..no issues there.
but to tell me they are not paying players..i just cant buy that..sorry but thats my opinion.if every club could have players to play for the club,that would be great..very rare these days.
i think we should agree to disagree.

my playing days are gone,plus my arse is too big..ha ha

We will agree to disagree, but doesn't change the fact that no one in Div 2 deserves to be paid full stop, except coaching staff, as is the case at Scotch (Cottam, Curtis).

And yeah I may talk shit, but at least I have an opinion and I don't really care who likes or dislikes me, coz Im true to what comes out my arse. As for average cricketer well I punched above my weight for someone with no ability.

Do I know u?

We will agree to disagree, but doesn't change the fact that no one in Div 2 deserves to be paid full stop, except coaching staff, as is the case at Scotch (Cottam, Curtis).

And yeah I may talk shit, but at least I have an opinion and I don't really care who likes or dislikes me, coz Im true to what comes out my arse. As for average cricketer well I punched above my weight for someone with no ability.

Do I know u?

and I have my opinion.if no one in div.2 didnt get paid..there would be no div.2
thats why we have many ex NTFL,division 1 players playing.clubs are paying stupid money for them.
as for the cricket you were very competitive person i agree...thats about it though.
didnt say you had no ability,just limited..
i hope your doing the world a favour and not swimming up there??
would it be true old scotch have many influential,wealthy supporters ?
maybe they are helping with "payments"
just like the farmers use to help out at campbell town!

Thanks Dan, lost a heap mate, so not much for sharks to feed on now.

Scotchies are well set up, your club and other div 2 suffer because there are too many clubs in the area. That encourages the boom bust cycle you see in the footy. Scotchies have model to move to Div 1 and I believe should bite the bullet, especially if Ben and committee can get school onside to give a pathway.

Your club will always struggle in this environment, as will others as sustainability comes at a price, something Fingal, Cats etc don't understand.

Thanks Dan, lost a heap mate, so not much for sharks to feed on now.

Scotchies are well set up, your club and other div 2 suffer because there are too many clubs in the area. That encourages the boom bust cycle you see in the footy. Scotchies have model to move to Div 1 and I believe should bite the bullet, especially if Ben and committee can get school onside to give a pathway.

Your club will always struggle in this environment, as will others as sustainability comes at a price, something Fingal, Cats etc don't understand.

i agree, i fear my club will continue to struggle,we as a club need to become more professional and have a better "model" as Old scotch have done,although we are only 15 mins out of town,getting people to come out to the dale is very hard. some clubs (as you have mentioned) make it impossible to compete with them due to outrageous money been thrown around.Old Scotch may be the exception to the rule.
i have seen every aspect of my club,as a once powerful club,plus the lows.but i do know our club is financial and will not buy premierships,there is a plan to be there for the long haul..hopefully i will see my club rise once again.thank you for the productive banter kangas73.
im sure we will debate many times throughout the season as well as with all other posters on this thread.

Danman, I think The Thistle would know the in's and out's of the club if he has been on the committee for 7 years. I have it on very good authority (close to Presidential authority) that no one, apart from coaching staff, get paid at Old Scotch, including sponsors supporting a player financially.

Cottam and also Ben Johnstone I think were assistant coaches last year. I believe that both will be playing this year as they enjoyed it so much and will not be receiving a cent. As I have stated before Kim Curtis is assistant coaching this year, but McClenaghan is coming down to play footy for a good club and is not being paid. However the quality of the player he is, he will no doubt get some of the weekly awards The Thistle was talking about earlier. I played with him a few years back and he was an absolute freak then!

I am also pretty sure they have a few ex SFL players amongst their ranks and they are not getting paid either, I know that as I am good mates with one of them.

The club seems to have been built around a core group of people and it would seem from the outside that they are doing well, both on and off the field. Other clubs should be envious of the way they have gone about it. Imagine if they had of bought a few quality players in the last few years, they would have probably won 3 in a row or at least been up there with Fingal in that time.

Just having my 2 bobs worth, like all of us. Best of luck to all teams this year.

voiceof sport,
point taken,you have your opinon and i have mine.we will leave it at that.
if it is true Old Scotch should be highly commended.
perhaps a premiership beckons?
you will also know that Jamie rarely sticks at it for a full year..correct ?

for all posters,
sporting pulse have the first influx of rego's and clearances online for div.1 and div.2
uni-mowbray have some handy names as recruits.
michael routlouge from lilydale is one.

for all posters,
sporting pulse have the first influx of rego's and clearances online for div.1 and div.2
uni-mowbray have some handy names as recruits.
michael routlouge from lilydale is one.
Yeah they need some quality down there at Uni-Mowbray, they struggled a bit last year from all accounts.

I saw the clearances, nothing yet that really catches the eye, will be interesting to see how many of the pre-season transfer rumours come to fruition.

Danman, do you play seniors or reserves down at Evandale? How are you boys looking this year, Has Troy picked up any quality recruits for you boys?

Yeah they need some quality down there at Uni-Mowbray, they struggled a bit last year from all accounts.

I saw the clearances, nothing yet that really catches the eye, will be interesting to see how many of the pre-season transfer rumours come to fruition.

Danman, do you play seniors or reserves down at Evandale? How are you boys looking this year, Has Troy picked up any quality recruits for you boys?

voiceofsport,
i have retired as of last year after 19 years straight.finished off inthe reserves.
havent had much contact with the boys over the break.did have some quality players (div 1 players) at training pre xmas.but i dont take much notice till they sign on the dotted line.seen it all before.when i hear i will keep u posted. i think they resumed training last week ?hope he can ,the club deserves a change of fortunes.

Looks like Uni Mowbray and Scotch have been pretty active in the player recruitments so far. A few south boys heading to Scotch and a few from everywhere heading to Uni Mowbray.

Clearances can be found at this link:

http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?c=1-3917-0-0-0&a=CLEAR

Heard a rumour that Matthew Harvey is coming back to Tassie this year in about June and will be playing at Scotch. Will be a handy pick up, very good player. They have a quality defence Old Scotch with Anthony Whitehead already down there, Harvey would definately add some more hardness to that area for them.

Bit quiet on the Division 2 front of late. The clearances appear to be rolling in consistently now.

Good numbers at Uni now getting 30-35 at training with new faces at each training. Heaps of new faces apparently (I'm new this year, so just going by what some of the old heads are saying). Lets hope it's a good even competition this year. Should be although I hear one club is struggling badly.

Bit quiet on the Division 2 front of late. The clearances appear to be rolling in consistently now.

Good numbers at Uni now getting 30-35 at training with new faces at each training. Heaps of new faces apparently (I'm new this year, so just going by what some of the old heads are saying). Lets hope it's a good even competition this year. Should be although I hear one club is struggling badly.
Agree with your there Thistle, lots of movement still to Uni and Old Scotch, and it seems a few Fingal and Perth players are heading back to Campbell Town for a kick this year which is great to see, I hope they do well this year.

Also noticed that Victor Marshall has signed up to Old Launcestonians, how many clubs now is that in the last few years.....

I am presuming now that University is starting up again you guys would have a few more on the track, I reckon you will be pretty strong this year like a few years back.