Nth Gippsland Football League p2

not sure about a mass exodus, rumour a few older sale.f.c players are leaving or want to leave sale.
rumour Hider chasing Sale CHF & CHB has rang Hider wanting to play.
not sure who the players are that are going to leave Sale city, seem to be a pretty well run club with no internal problems, why wouldn't they stay

Sale City are a very well run and respected club now. To be honest they seemed to have sorted out the internal problems that were hounding them for a few years and are coming across as a professional club hence why they are playing in a grand final.

I just think that if Sale City win the premiership that a few players may look at playing at a higher level again, especially if Sale get the players that they are talking about getting.

Yep, nothing inflates a players reputation more than the words..

"Premiership Player"

.. I'm with you Nugget, If City win I expect a few to go/entertain offers from major league clubs etc.

Good on them too:thumbsu:

I think there will be a mass exodus if they (Sale City) do win.

It is a remarkable effort for a club to be in that position and be where they are today, what they had going for them mainly was their vicinity (Sale) which attracts players straight away because of travel issues at Sale Football Club.

I admit though that they now have the world at there feet and really should be the powerhouse club for years to come. Kudos to the administration who have done a terrific job they have also set up one of the strongest Junior set ups in the district which has seen them rise in senior ranks too.

My Dad is very proud of where they have got to as of today. Himself as a past player, president and coach of the club was saddened when they originally went into recess, and felt they would never come back.

My only gripe with them is that they have been so cocky for years about where they are and how many premierships they will win to no avail, I remember when we lost to them three years ago we all went in to there club rooms (as you do) to have a socialise and seriously they gave a half an hour speech about the game and how good every player was and the new dynasty that was coming through. It was a disgrace to have twenty Heyfield people in there clubrooms and for them to carry on like that, needless to say we belted them by a 100 points next time which was classic and surprise surprise there was not one Sale City person that came into our rooms.
Yeah don't mind Sale City ,and i'm glad for the sake of the guys like Anstey sen and Merle Brander that they won yesterday ,mind you with the players they had if they didn't win it in that league this year ,they never would've ,never the less ,at the end of the day around here they play in the minor league and cannot begin to compare themselves with the maggies in terms of playing strength.If as we are repeatedly told ,they are so strong off the field and they want to be the No.1 club in town both on and off the field then step up to the plate and come into the Gippsland league they need another team to eliminate the bye and Bairnsdale don't look as if it's going to fly ,then people outside the club might really start to take notice.They have never had anyone drafted into the AFL save for some imagined claim on the success of Adam Simpson and a guy in the 80's who played a couple of U/19 games and the Gippsland Power don't rate kids with an opportunitie to play in a higher league on their doorstep who choose to take the path of least resistance and play in the minors so that isn't likely to change in a hurry.

Well done on the win though yesterday to the doggies just hope it doesn't go to their heads because they would become more hated and hunted within the North Gippy than they already are ATM which i must say as someone who hasn't seen much of them this year has really suprised.In years gone by they were middle of the road most years but well liked and respected but talking to a couple of Nth Gippy players i know from other clubs around the traps this is no longer the case which is a shame.It's not the players who seem arrogant either ,they seem like a good bunch of blokes ,the ones i know anyway just some of the committee 2 or 3 blokes in particular who shoot their mouth off and give the club the arrogant image they now pervay.

Hardly watched the game because I was working in the bar but I hear the stars turned it on and you can't match up on players like Mclay, Brayshaw, Tollner, Schuback, Lutze, Hider and Milham (who was very good apparently) and hold every one of them down.

There is no way City could go into the major league, that is a terrible post and idea.

Yeah don't mind Sale City ,and i'm glad for the sake of the guys like Anstey sen and Merle Brander that they won yesterday ,mind you with the players they had if they didn't win it in that league this year ,they never would've ,never the less ,at the end of the day around here they play in the minor league and cannot begin to compare themselves with the maggies in terms of playing strength.If as we are repeatedly told ,they are so strong off the field and they want to be the No.1 club in town both on and off the field then step up to the plate and come into the Gippsland league they need another team to eliminate the bye and Bairnsdale don't look as if it's going to fly ,then people outside the club might really start to take notice.They have never had anyone drafted into the AFL save for some imagined claim on the success of Adam Simpson and a guy in the 80's who played a couple of U/19 games and the Gippsland Power don't rate kids with an opportunitie to play in a higher league on their doorstep who choose to take the path of least resistance and play in the minors so that isn't likely to change in a hurry.

Well done on the win though yesterday to the doggies just hope it doesn't go to their heads because they would become more hated and hunted within the North Gippy than they already are ATM which i must say as someone who hasn't seen much of them this year has really suprised.In years gone by they were middle of the road most years but well liked and respected but talking to a couple of Nth Gippy players i know from other clubs around the traps this is no longer the case which is a shame.It's not the players who seem arrogant either ,they seem like a good bunch of blokes ,the ones i know anyway just some of the committee 2 or 3 blokes in particular who shoot their mouth off and give the club the arrogant image they now pervay.

they are the No 1 Club in town at the moment

But I'm "Mr Maffra" right? Why would it bother me? You continuously get these rumours wrong though. Who was your source again?

not sure these rumours are wrong, i know fraser won the B&F, but heard from a very good source that at least one of these could happen, with the rumours going around that sale are trying and will probably get two high profile and well paid recruits, that a few players might get a chop in their match payments, not sure fowler will play for nothing, just a rumour, settle down, lets wait for the dust to settle

Firstly who is your source? Before we even go into this rubbish about pay cuts etc. They are on contracts mate they would know what to expect next season.

just passing on the rumours i've heard, touchy subject by the look of it
Wouldn't begrudge them if they do move on ,they have given Sale great service both of them but they are closer to the end of their country footy careers than they are to the start ,and that's usually when players go to a less taxing and less intense competition ,but ATM this is where the system is falling down ,Sale City gladly take players from Sale at that stage like they did Macca but at the same time want to hang on to any promising younger players as well when if they were doing the right thing by them ,they would encourage them to try and play the best footy they can.They are on a hiding to nowhere.
If they are #1 club in town ,playing in that competition ,then footy in Sale has taken a big step backwards ,but they aren't and never will be.All they did was win the NGFL grand final FFS ,their 4th in 30 odd years of being in the comp.Great effort ,enjoy the win ,but keep things in perspective.Having loud outspoken commitee members making grandiose claims about how good you are compared to Sale doesn't change the fact that the club plays in a competition that doesn't even warrant a spot in even the lowest divisions of the country football championships.Great administration at the moment probably even more sponsership than the maggies but it was only a couple of years ago the club was in recession ,Sale have had some lean years but we've never done that.So unless the doggies are prepared to become part of the main game as far as footy in Gippsland is concerned then quit the chest pumping and just enjoy your win without the bullshit claims.

Hardly watched the game because I was working in the bar but I hear the stars turned it on and you can't match up on players like Mclay, Brayshaw, Tollner, Schuback, Lutze, Hider and Milham (who was very good apparently) and hold every one of them down.

There is no way City could go into the major league, that is a terrible post and idea.
You're right ,nugget it is a terrible idea ,i just heard that a couple of the blokes in power down there want SC to be known as Sale's football team and wouldn't care if Sale fc went bust and we didn't have a team in the GFL.Hearing shit like that just because they've had one brilliant year kind of gets your back up.BTW hypothetically of course how do reckon Sale City 2010 would go against Heyfield's 1997 team with names like Cox ,Wojinski and Leigh Brown and co.That would've been one of the most talented Nth Gippy teams i've ever seen until Sale city's lineup this year .

Sale City had a very good team this year but to be honest I think they did benefit from a year when Churchill and Heyfield both didnt go hard in maintaining their position at the top. I know there was no coin spent at Churchill and I would suggest Heyfield would be similar.

Sale were very good but comparing them to Heyfield of 97 is a bit much when I dont think they beat Heyfield or Churchill last year.

You're right ,nugget it is a terrible idea ,i just heard that a couple of the blokes in power down there want SC to be known as Sale's football team and wouldn't care if Sale fc went bust and we didn't have a team in the GFL.Hearing shit like that just because they've had one brilliant year kind of gets your back up.BTW hypothetically of course how do reckon Sale City 2010 would go against Heyfield's 1997 team with names like Cox ,Wojinski and Leigh Brown and co.That would've been one of the most talented Nth Gippy teams i've ever seen until Sale city's lineup this year .

You can't even compare the two sides Heyfield had three future afl players playing. Then add Brett Szabo and Craig Lazzaro who were the two best players in GLFL and at there peak, David Ivey who kicked over a hundred goals. The side was absolute class.....

The Sale City side this year was good had some great top end class which saw them fire but it would be a good game between this side and 2007 not 1997...

You can't even compare the two sides Heyfield had three future afl players playing. Then add Brett Szabo and Craig Lazzaro who were the two best players in GLFL and at there peak, David Ivey who kicked over a hundred goals. The side was absolute class.....

The Sale City side this year was good had some great top end class which saw them fire but it would be a good game between this side and 2007 not 1997...
You forgot to mention a young ,fit albiet still slightly balding Luke Wilson.
I was at the 97' GF (Lady Di died on the same day) and it was the best display of footy i have seen from a side around here ,watching a young Wojinski and Adrian Cox before they got drafted was sort of like catching U2 when they were a pub band.

............but ATM this is where the system is falling down ,Sale City gladly take players from Sale at that stage like they did Macca but at the same time want to hang on to any promising younger players as well when if they were doing the right thing by them ,they would encourage them to try and play the best footy they can.............................

When promising young players come from East Gippsland to Maffra to play the best footy they can i.e. GFL u/16's, you come up with snide remarks like Maffra/Bairnsdale United!!! yet it seems its ok if they go to Sale.

............but ATM this is where the system is falling down ,Sale City gladly take players from Sale at that stage like they did Macca but at the same time want to hang on to any promising younger players as well when if they were doing the right thing by them ,they would encourage them to try and play the best footy they can.............................

When promising young players come from East Gippsland to Maffra to play the best footy they can i.e. GFL u/16's, you come up with snide remarks like Maffra/Bairnsdale United!!! yet it seems its ok if they go to Sale.
The team that my mate's younger brother plays for (Sale U/16's) that beat Maffra on Saturday doesn't contain one kid from the Bairnsdale /Lakes region let alone seven who all happen to be U/16 Power players too.Considering ,Sale's 4th's in the area are split between Sale and Sale City not a bad effort for them to make the GF really considering the opposition they were up against ,that's all i was saying ,wouldn't call it a snide remark.

I'm completely neutral in this debate, as I have no affiliation with any football club whatsoever, however, in this instance, I have to take samebi's side. You make comments about Maffra poaching kids, and whether you mean it or not, the way you write your post, it comes across as though you feel they aren't doing the right thing, then you next post states that you believe Sale City should flick all their good kids to Sale. Double standards???
I say, good on Maffra for fostering the relationship in that region to get the kids to the club, and there is obviously some work ahead for Sale to ensure all the best kids in the local area are playing for their club, and not others.