errant bounce

May 2, 2024
South Fremantle
Always a real mixed bag when it comes to discussing football in a workplace.

Most of the better sorts don't hyperanalyse too much or act like they're more knowledgeable than the coach and CEO's wives combined and generally keep it light, have a laugh, talk about a good game, give the odd insight into a club you don't support.

But some campaigners truly cannot ****ing help themselves and drive you into never discussing the topic because you know it'll denigrate into some childish slinging match or stat-driven horseshit diatribe.

So, who are the people you've worked with who make you rue Monday morning regardless of if you won or lost by 60 points.

- Collingwood supporter who had an obsession with the Daicos, probably because he was Italian, and would say things like 'the loss that needed to happen' and would just flip flop on opinions week to week, would repeat the most bland opinions ever ('Harley Reid is a serious talent') but then had this weird hate for Scott Pendlebury and how he was 'overrated' and 'holding the team back' (this is after they'd won the flag). I think most people would be happy with Scott Pendlebury being at their club for 20 years. used to eat like four meals a day and leave bowls all around his desk but then went on tirades about people leaving empty chip boxes under the seats at the G? when Freo were inevitably about to crumble, last year it was clear we were going to miss finals, and he'd tell you how he knows heaps more about the club and how wrong I am and it could the the Dockers year and and then when the Dockers did miss finals, told me he'd have them pencilled in to miss the eight in his pre-season prediction.

- Bloke who supported Adelaide. really odd dude. would look straight through you and discuss a topic you have no prior knowledge in like you two had discussed it 20 times before, would constantly take weird jabs at Fremantle and I was like 'yeah they are pretty shit.' said Patrick Dangerfield had 'dirty secrets all over the state.' had this story about Josh Carr apparently always wanting to play for the Crows and that's why he kept going between Freo and Port. I was working in a bottle shop at the time and whether it was a beer or wine or someone's ID or the football scores, everything would come back to how Perth people are jealous of Adelaide people. said he was 'always welcome in the rooms with the boys' but could never tell me if he knew some staff or a player or whatever.

- Good guy to be honest this dude, but was obsessed with bringing Monday night football back and bringing in a team that exclusively played bad time slots. honestly not a dickhead and a great and truly unpopular personal obsession he harboured and was a decent guy but man, 'how good would it be if we had footy last night?' is not something I think about on a Tuesday morning while on 700 bucks a week.

- Same job, dude worked there and had absolute zero interest in sport but said he was the best player on his high school team (we were a similar age who grew up in a similar region) because he'd 'flog the other team 'til there was no one standing.' had a penchant for discussing his weekend sex plans over Friday beers with all the bosses (this was a job where most of us were young guys who'd come in regaling weekend achievements, but yknow, not like that). said he knew for a fact one player had his own son also playing in the competition. of course never explained and it was 'told in complete confidence.'

- Guy in Perth when I worked retail for a summer during uni who was certain that the Western Bulldogs were once based in Perth and it was a Berenstein Bears Mandela effect. did tell me some cool stuff about tunnels though so it all evened out.

- Dude who come over to our office for a few weeks and said that Essendon were so well supported in WA because they had the same jumper as Perth in the WAFL and the Perth Demons were a massive club (they're definitely not).

- Obviously most West Coast supporters who attach their personal status to that of the football team and have never kicked a ball in their life but reckon they know everything, how everything's a grand conspiracy, constant obsession with Freo even though no one cares about them or something...

How many people do you feel like knocking out a week that say league is more skilled and better to watch?

League is a more skilled game and is better to watch.

Go broncos.

The Richmond supporter my old workplace who spoke about how much he loved the club and what a huge fan he was, and then in next breath asked "did we win on the weekend"
Pretty much every Essendon fan I’ve ever worked with.

The Richmond supporter my old workplace who spoke about how much he loved the club and what a huge fan he was, and then in next breath asked "did we win on the weekend"
Would have been a pretty easy answer last year

Not at work, but at school I remember being annoyed with Hawthorn supporters who used logic and common sense in their arguments.

Bloody intellectuals.

You clearly didn't go to school with me.

Had something similar. Moved 3 hours away to start a new life in country Victoria. Worked with a kid (20 years old) at the time I was (36 years old) didn’t have a lot in common so I thought I’d do the old

“You like footy?” - me
“Love it. All I do is watch footy” - him
“Cool. Who do you support?” - me
“Bulldogs. But, I used to go for Collingwood a few seasons ago” - him

“*red flags in my head”

The following week I said to him
“Good win by the dogs” - me
“Oh yeah? Who did we play?” - him
“Thought you watch footy?” - me
“Nah, I don’t really watch footy” - him

My boss in 2021 was a bulldogs supporter. When the doggies lost in the GF he kept hinting (using his ‘meaningful’ voice) that there were these underlying reasons why the dogs lost. Then he would say “don’t get me wrong, your boys played a good game” (using his patronising voice) and “there’s more to this story” (using his mysterious voice).

I asked him what the underlying reasons were and would say “it’s not my story to tell” (using his honourable voice) and that “the story will get out there soon” (using his dickhead voice). I’m still waiting.

Strange bloke. He once said that he was related to Marcus Bontempelli and gave him his first footy when he was just a baby. Less than a week later, after a bulldogs win, I said something like “your boy played a blinder” and he looked confused and I said “your a relative of the Bont right - you must be pretty proud of the way he is playing” and he went “where did you get that from?”.

Weirdo

Colleagues who hate Hawthorn. They’re everywhere

Gordon Ramsay Food GIF by Masterchef

TBH I don't try that much anymore because I CBF having a conversation with someone who doesn't follow it as much as me. I end up pretending I know less than I do or dumbing it down so they can understand what I'm saying and it's just not as fun. Every now and then you come across someone who really knows their footy and it's enjoyable, but I've found that is few and far between.

Used to work with a guy who was a Port Adelaide supporter (or claimed to be)

He used to get into me about 'Port his, Port that' etc etc.. I didn't mind that as supporter banter but this guy had absolutely NFI about 1) Port Adelaide FC and 2) AFL football in general.

What made me realise that he knew absolutely nothing about football was in 2016 when he was telling me all the things Port did in their first couple of years that Adelaide supposedly didn't do (he had just joined the company I worked for)

Such as 'Port were the first interstate team to beat the West Coast Eagles'. By 'interstate' he meant Adelaide, Brisbane and Sydney.

I questioned him and said that did he realise that the WCE came into the comp in 1987? Are you sure that Port were the first interstate team to beat WCE? Are you telling me that none of Brisbane, Sydney nor Adelaide beat them in that 10 years prior to Port coming into the comp in 1997?

I knew he was wrong but he wouldn't accept anything else. I bought up the fact that Adelaide beat WCE in round 2 of 1993 and had it on my computer screen (AFL tables). Again - no dice. Would not look at my computer and would not resile from saying that Port were still the first interstate side to beat WCE.

As an aside, to get what a knob this guy was, at the time we used to fly interstate every month as part of our roles - a lot of these times we were on the same flight. I was a Gold QFF back then and used to go into the Qantas club before the flights. He got wind of this and new that I could take in a guest. From then on, when we had a flight coming up, he would come up to me and say 'get me into the Qantas club will you'. Didn't ask nicely, just 'get me into the Qantas club'

I never did.....and he never asked why I wouldn't. Guess he may have got the message by then....

I left the company in 2018 and I've never wanted to punch a work colleague in the head as much as that guy.

Autopsy Nuts football thoughts you've had to endure from coworkers