Discussion Official 2021 Fantasy Planning Thread

Williams named at half back
DistortedWeightyGoldeneye-size_restricted.gif

He'll rack it up off half-back too, it's just the fact that he's actually going to get mid minutes permanently, that makes him such a lock - regardless if it's even only a 50/50 split. He's also been touted as playing forward, interchanging with Jack Martin for those mid minutes, so it's more about how he does when he actually does get his time.

I'm more interested in the fact that 170K ruck Paul Hunter has been named on ground, and Highmore named on the bench - both I'll be watching with a keen eye

What's everyone's bye strategy this year?

I'm looking at that round 14 bye and alarm bells are a ringing.

I currently have Lloyd, Laird, Grundy and ROB as keepers but they all have that round 14 bye. Got Serong too, who will likely be used as a stepping stone to a premo in the bye rounds but if he has a belter of a season it might be hard to let him go. Not too mention, had plans to bring B Crouch in early but he too has that round 14 bye.

I see exactly what you’re saying mate! Sorry I’ll expand because I think the points been missed. I’m just addressing that not starting Gawn is not a season killer like some coaches are suggesting. ROB was just the example because hes the next best. That last thought I accidentally added post bye, I meant in general
No worries mate, my thoughts are that if you're starting RO'Brien you're going to hold him for the year. So the question isn't just what can you do with the extra 100k, it's what can you do with the extra 100k and how much will you lose over the season by having ROB instead of Max. Personally I think Max will outscore ROB pretty substantially so despite the 100k difference, i'm going to stick with Maxy and lock and load.

I currently have Lloyd, Laird, Grundy and ROB as keepers but they all have that round 14 bye. Got Serong too, who will likely be used as a stepping stone to a premo in the bye rounds but if he has a belter of a season it might be hard to let him go. Not too mention, had plans to bring B Crouch in early but he too has that round 14 bye.
Never focus on Byes until around Round 3 or 4 and then not seriously until around 4 to 5 rounds prior to the Byes. You have like 20+ trades before the byes so you will almost completely restructure it before that time.

Now tossing up at M1/F1:

Zerrett and Langford Or
Gaff and Danger

The little niggles over summer for the latter two are the only doubts i have about that being the better combo early

Paddy Dow named as follower is going along way to easing my doubts with him as F5

Never focus on Byes until around Round 3 or 4 and then not seriously until around 4 to 5 rounds prior to the Byes. You have like 20+ trades before the byes so you will almost completely restructure it before that time.
Lloyd, Laird, Grundy and Rob are pretty durable. Doubt there will be much restructuring there.

In any event, if one of my rucks go down it would be hard to ignore Gawn, who also has the rd 14 bye.

Would rather put some thought into it now and save myself a headache later.

No cheap rooks worthy of fielding down back + Preuss out really takes the sting out of the rest of the team. In a year where the cap was already tight it’s an extra ~500k to find for D5/D6/R2 just for some solidity without gaining many points.

One thing to consider with Gaff, his TOG bumped up to 95% or something crazy like that. No doubt he's a running machine but does anyone have any worries that his TOG will drop back down to his usual amount in high 80's? That would mean he's actually priced where he should be. Reduced interchange potentially helps him though I guess

Not saying that Gawn won't be a top pick, but just one argument against him (more specifically against him at his price) - his 2020 adjusted average of 124 is based on 93% TOG, which he was able to do cos of the shortened quarters. In 2018 & 2019 he only did 86% TOG for his 110avg. He definitely has the ceiling to go ham in his early rounds, but I don't think you can assume he's a lock for a 120+ season average.

For me, I've been all over the shop this week, rotating through those big 3 rucks - but more often than not landing on the Grundy/ROB combo that allows me to have Lloyd. There will be more tinkering to come!

How has the scratch matches affected your current team? It's shaken mine up a little bit. On field players only.

Uber Premiums (801k+): 4 (+1)
Premiums (601-800k): 5 (no change)
Mid Pricers (401-600k): 6 (-3)
Expensive Rookies (201-400k): 7 (+3)
Basement Rookies (200k-): 0 (-1)

I culled a few mid pricers to grab an extra uber premo and pick up some more expensive rookies.
Uber Premiums (801k+): 5 (+2)
Premiums (601-800k): 5 (-1)
Mid Pricers (401-600k): 3 (-4)
Expensive Rookies (201-400k): 7 (+3)
Basement Rookies (200k-): 2 (0)

Purely from a fantasy perspective this season
He's got good JS and I can't see why he couldn't push a 70 avg. There's not many others around his price point or rookies for that matter that spark a great deal of excitement.

What has you doubting him? I'm hardly chucking him on the scrap heap after a practice game.

ROB’s second half to last year he went at 111. Went 123 in his last 5 too. Definitely scope to hit those heights which is where the ‘unperpriced’ argument comes from. Has good endurance too and with longer quarters it adds to that argument. But I can see both points. I’m stuck with rucks this year. No idea what I’ll do

Yeh I definetelty see the logic. My only concern is a year of footy is a long time. Obrien definetely capable of going at 110 over a few games but can he do it all year?

He hasn't done it yet. Through no fault of his own of course as he hasn't been playing long... but the fact remains it's unchartered territory.

I find the best bye approach is to not look at byes till after round 1. Don't let it manipulate your initial team. But do consider it later in your trading.

There will always be a way through the byes regardless if you keep an eye on it through the season.

Is anyone else really not sold on Young?

Honestly nope. As a player he looks a gem. But the higher starting price tag has him and Cummings both looking fairly meh.

Both might average 60-70. But both can just as easily open up with 40-50's and have us scratching our heads.

Will depend on rooks of course, as the depth just doesn't look there to not take atleast one of them.

Honestly nope. As a player he looks a gem. But the higher starting price tag has him and Cummings both looking fairly meh.

Both might average 60-70. But both can just as easily open up with 40-50's and have us scratching our heads.

Will depend on rooks of course, as the depth just doesn't look there to not take atleast one of them.

I'm more bullish on Cummings, due to the fact that GWS are so decimated down back, and will likely have to start with one of either him or Wehr to begin the season. Freo are much more solid down back, have Chapman coming through, and his scoring is no guarantee. It's a tough one, but I think at Young's price point, you'd want to be sure that even if he scores like crap, that his JS is stellar. Not confident about that at all

Btw, here's a gift for those who were considering starting Dunkley (hopefully this makes your decision that much easier if you haven't read this already):

"Luke Beveridge says Josh Dunkley is ‘not at his best’ and there’s ‘pressure on for his spot’

Western Bulldogs coach Luke Beveridge says Josh Dunkley’s spot in the club’s best 22 isn’t secure, conceding the midfielder is “not at his best at the moment” less than three weeks before Round 1 and four months after his stunning trade request.

A major reason behind Dunkley’s request to join Essendon was to play more midfield minutes after spending more time in the forward line – and occasionally in the ruck – at the Bulldogs in 2020.

And Dunkley might struggle to win more on-ball time in 2021, considering the Bulldogs acquired star Adam Treloar from the Magpies to join a midfield group that already includes Marcus Bontempelli, Jack Macrae, Bailey Smith and Tom Liberatore.

Speaking on SEN Breakfast on Wednesday, Beveridge said he and Dunkley were “really close”, especially away from the footy club, and had “moved on” from last year’s trade storm.

But a frank Beveridge said Dunkley was not in his best form ahead of the Dogs’ Round 1 clash against Collingwood, despite an excellent pre-season on the training track.

“We have moved on and I have mentioned that whatever the reasons were and the weight of the influence doesn’t really matter anymore,” Beveridge told SEN Breakfast. “He has applied himself, he’s trained extremely hard with the rest of the boys.

“He’s not at his best at the moment, as far as his production on the ground. He didn’t play his best game against Hawthorn, so he’s fully aware that there’s pressure for game time in any role in our time.

“Every year, you endeavour to bolster your list, ensure its healthy, create new levels of competitiveness – and that’s what we’ve been able to do bringing Adam in and keeping Josh – so, there’s still pressure on for his spot and the role that he plays. He understands that and he’ll be treated the same as every other player."

Lloyd, Laird, Grundy and Rob are pretty durable. Doubt there will be much restructuring there.

In any event, if one of my rucks go down it would be hard to ignore Gawn, who also has the rd 14 bye.

Would rather put some thought into it now and save myself a headache later.
You're going to forgo 12 rounds of one or multiple of those because you're afraid of not having enough players in the Round 14 bye? youre comparing a leak to the roof coming off.