Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

tbtbtbtbtbtbtb said:
You say they could be like new recruits for Rochy - watch out for the Doolan brothers also who have come out of retirement, both fit as a fiddle, not an ounce of fat on them, agile and silky smooth skills. Looks like Rochy have secured their spot in the finals now so watch out!
yeah I heard one of them will be back for the tat game he he.

the rochy ground wasn't looking all that great the last time a game was played there as travvy43 will attest to but then again I don't think any ground around the area would have been looking half decent that w'end. rochy haven't played there in 3 weeks due to away games at shepp united and echuca - so hopefully it'll come up ok.

should be a cracker of a game!!

FOOTYBOSS said:
Was lucky enough to attend the top of the table clash between euroa and seymour on saturday in the rain. It was a very good game with euroa proving that are a very strong team. By all reports both teams were at full strength minus howse for euroa and amad for seymour. After watching that game i believe seymour will not beat euroa at all. saad was shut perfectly by thomson and collins was shut down by shelton and mcbrien. euroas midfeild was to strong and seymours backline is suspect. euroa will beat a dertimined rochy outfit this weekend as they will have to many strengths over the ground. My tip is it will be either euroa or mansfeid celebrating come the end of september. Gibson and lamaro will get better with the runs.

I know Jeff Anderson was on vic Counctry duties on sunday which i assume means he did not play on the saturday against Euroa. That would explain the deficiencies in the lions defense on the weekend. He is their main defender

Jeff is definately a great player, but considering theres not six of him I dont think he would have been the difference between the two sides... Euroa could have won by over ten goals in the wet if they kicked straight last week...

bradrowe#32 said:
Should be a good game Junkie. Rochy have Eurora and then Seymour over the next 2 weeks so they would be keen win at lease one of those.

Are you making the journey over?

Unfortunately I cant make the trip Bradrowe#32, I have commitments elsewhere. Its been a while since ive ventured over to rochy, I think the last time I was there was 1999.

Junkie said:
Unfortunately I cant make the trip Bradrowe#32, I have commitments elsewhere. Its been a while since ive ventured over to rochy, I think the last time I was there was 1999.

Bad luck. Should be a good game.

In regards to Rochy's ground, having trained their two nights a week and playing there every second week, I would say it's holding up pretty well. The only issue is the centre area where the cricket pitch is - that usually gets boggy in the wet. However, no one has played on the ground in 3 weeks so it's OK.

wouldnt get to excited about rochy boys, echuca had a crap team in. Archard, Butler and Kennaugh, Bsaically there onball brigrade out, plus a couple of others i think, no doubt its a good win but id doubt if they can keep up with the big guys up top. I hope they do, dont get me wrong but echuca werent too much chop on the weekend.

ECHUCABOY said:
wouldnt get to excited about rochy boys, echuca had a crap team in. Archard, Butler and Kennaugh, Bsaically there onball brigrade out, plus a couple of others i think, no doubt its a good win but id doubt if they can keep up with the big guys up top. I hope they do, dont get me wrong but echuca werent too much chop on the weekend.

Any truth in the story Col Durie has a broken arm and will miss basically the rest of the season?

Big story if Durie is out.

Also rochy's task of overcoming Euroa this weekend will be tough with Dean Moon expected to miss, he is an importnat part of the tiger midfield.

Travvy43 said:

Also rochy's task of overcoming Euroa this weekend will be tough with Dean Moon expected to miss, he is an importnat part of the tiger midfield.

Big trip for your blokes Travvy...I give your two's a chance after watching Benalla destory the Eagles 2's last week

Travvy43 said:

Having a great year so far - really stepped up since some of rochys other onballers left. Some saying a big chance to take out the league medal.

Jock's Netballers said:
Big trip for your blokes Travvy...I give your two's a chance after watching Benalla destory the Eagles 2's last week

Yeah mansfield i cannot wait, would have to be a nomination for the worst ground in any major league in voctoria. From our information hottom, hulme and tranquilly all will not play.

Good stuff the twos being a chance although it will be a tough ask for us in the seniors even with some of their key players expected to miss.

a.k.a. said:
Having a great year so far - really stepped up since some of rochys other onballers left. Some saying a big chance to take out the league medal.
yeah he is having a stellar season. I have heard a bit of talk about him being one of the league medal favourites, but really who knows?? I remember another rochy onballer, heath aitken, getting tipped to win it by many people 2 years back and I think he polled 3 votes for the season!! sure, great players win the morrison medal but trying to pick players who will finish up there is harder to pick than a broken nose.

real pity for deano that he will miss this week. have you heard whether kahl will play rowey??

Jock's Netballers said:
Any truth in the story Col Durie has a broken arm and will miss basically the rest of the season?

dunno mate. Ill have a read of the local paper on the net and get back to ya

Travvy43 said:
Yeah mansfield i cannot wait, would have to be a nomination for the worst ground in any major league in voctoria. From our information hottom, hulme and tranquilly all will not play.

Good stuff the twos being a chance although it will be a tough ask for us in the seniors even with some of their key players expected to miss.

The old postage stamp which was even too small for Tungamah league footy

jmain14 said:
yeah he is having a stellar season. I have heard a bit of talk about him being one of the league medal favourites, but really who knows?? I remember another rochy onballer, heath aitken, getting tipped to win it by many people 2 years back and I think he polled 3 votes for the season!! sure, great players win the morrison medal but trying to pick players who will finish up there is harder to pick than a broken nose.

real pity for deano that he will miss this week. have you heard whether kahl will play rowey??

Didn't train Tuesday night. Not sure at the moment, but I think he will.

Expect changes from the Tongala Football CLub next year. through the week Peter White announced that he will not be coaching next year. Also this week news has emerged that a move to the Murray League next year is a realistic possibility.

Yep Col Durie has a pretty badly broken arm and will prolly miss the rest of the season. With the side Echuca has in now, dont expect them to win too many more games. Goodbye finals.

Echuca also have a danger game this weekend too, tat at tat who have won two on the trot

Travvy43 said:
Echuca also have a danger game this weekend too, tat at tat who have won two on the trot

I woudl expect Tatura to win this one, by the sounds of it Echuca are looking terribly undermanned while Tat have finnaly pulled a few wins together. Linc Wellington the key as usual.

I'd usually say that Echuca would lift for the O'Brien Cup and knock Tat off, doubt there are enough players there this year who recognise its importance, therefor they'll struggle to lift for it.

Saying that they are a few class players short, but still have enough to get over Tat. Archard to carve.........

Few interesting games ont he weekend, kyabram upsetting benella which puts them right inot finals contention, an injury riddled echuca being upstaged by a rampaging Tatura and what a cracker of a game the tigers and magpies would have been.

Mansfield as expected made short work of us (navy blues). Mench on fire with 9.

Travvy43 said:
and what a cracker of a game the tigers and magpies would have been.

Best game of GVFL footy i have ever witnessed. Fantastic effort from the Rochy Boys, who probably had one of there weakest sides in for the year. Very unlucky not to have pinched the game too.

ANT JESS said:
Best game of GVFL footy i have ever witnessed. Fantastic effort from the Rochy Boys, who probably had one of there weakest sides in for the year. Very unlucky not to have pinched the game too.

45 goals...was anybody manning anybody up...or was it basically the coaches saying, I reckon we can kick more goals than our opponents...

Rotchy, four more scoring shots...will it come back to haunt them in round 20

sure was a cracker travvy.the magpies got out to about 50 points at one stage but obviously took their foot of the pedal.it has to be said that the umpiring had much to do with rochy getting so close in the end with some very dissapointing calls especially late in the game.still credit to the rochy boys who stuck at it all day.would not suprise to see them beat seymour.any thoughts? i think seymour would be very happy to not meet them in the first round of the finals after last year. does any one have an answer to big grainger at the moment seems to be doing it on the bit and anyone who saw the game- gibson in the second qtr kicked one on his left from 60 tne one on his right from 60-what foot does he kick with? is there a better rover in the gvfl than mcarty?

jocks netballers it was just like a u/15 game where no one mans up and tries to stat up. euroa where well in control of the game before the umpises intervened especially the old red head fellow dont know his name but he was one of those who couldnt just umpire he had to be involved and almost ruined the game