Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

localfootyguru said:
I know the GVFL is the best standard of footy in counrty Victoria but this recruiting of high priced imports worries me. It is certainly not a sustainable practice and who is going to pick up the pieces after the money runs out and the so called "champions" have moved on.

Chequebook recruiting has brought many clubs undone before and will continue to do so in the future and the current spending spree in the GVFL may certainly place questions over the future directions of both the league and clubs.

Interested to hear what others think?

FAVOURITE TOPIC OF MINE LFG. I AGREE 100% IT ALL ENDS UP WITH MEDIOCRE PLAYERS BELIEVING THEY ARE ALSO WORTH $HITLOADS AFTER THE FOOTY PROTITUTES HAVE GONE.

jmain14 said:
ha ha nah no one made me ceo wizz. good to see you posting again mate. it's been a while. how is life going over in london anyway - any mrs to speak of??

I have to hang around with girls as they seem to drink more than the other two turkeys that are over here as they seem to go missing on weekends. One of them didnt go out at all last weekend and the other bloke who is skinny and has curly think you might know him went home at before me on saturday night and went home at 4pm on sunday afternoon from the church for the second time in a row his effort the week before when his girlfriend put a 3 drink limit onto him and then made him go home also made me laugh. Also from memory the week before he went to Scotland with his misses and NO MATES for a romantic valentines weekend think he tried keeping that pretty quiet, but after i found out he told me not to tell anyone back at Rochy as he thinks he has some sort of reputation back there that might diminish once a few of them on here read it.

Wizz said:
I have to hang around with girls as they seem to drink more than the other two turkeys that are over here as they seem to go missing on weekends. One of them didnt go out at all last weekend and the other bloke who is skinny and has curly think you might know him went home at before me on saturday night and went home at 4pm on sunday afternoon from the church for the second time in a row his effort the week before when his girlfriend put a 3 drink limit onto him and then made him go home also made me laugh. Also from memory the week before he went to Scotland with his misses and NO MATES for a romantic valentines weekend think he tried keeping that pretty quiet, but after i found out he told me not to tell anyone back at Rochy as he thinks he has some sort of reputation back there that might diminish once a few of them on here read it.
righto wizz - just asked you a question mate, a yes or no would have done me. am not exactly sure which 2 mates you are referring to but I have a mate over there with curly hair as well. it might be the same one, I am not sure. I heard he went home after church on sunday due to his funds situation - I think he told his mate this and he understood at the time. a couple of weeks back this mate of mine also met up with a chick in scotland as he had to shoot some sort of short film. but he seemed to have ended things with her last w'end as she was setting limits on how many beers he could drink.

ilovetogetblind said:
Yes good player. Held back by injuries the last couple of years but when in full swing is very dangerous.

Prob played out of position at CHB the last year of two due to Rochy's lack of height.. can play wing or up fwd.

You are from Locky yeah?? Think he may be heading there, which is very unfortunate for us at Rochy. He will be a very handy player out there.
pretty big loss for rochy hey. most probably heading back out to the cattery is he ilovetogetblind??

jmain14 said:
righto wizz - just asked you a question mate, a yes or no would have done me. am not exactly sure which 2 mates you are referring to but I have a mate over there with curly hair as well. it might be the same one, I am not sure. I heard he went home after church on sunday due to his funds situation - I think he told his mate this and he understood at the time. a couple of weeks back this mate of mine also met up with a chick in scotland as he had to shoot some sort of short film. but he seemed to have ended things with her last w'end as she was setting limits on how many beers he could drink.

I realise it was just a question but think it was a smart @rse one there mainy??? While i fully understand the curly hair fellas decision think he may of been having a quick dig at myself.

jmain14 said:
pretty big loss for rochy hey. most probably heading back out to the cattery is he ilovetogetblind??

Yeah I think so ... home club so can understand but still a pretty big loss.

Would be a step above the comp out there you would think

Eagles add another diamond to midfield

By Richard Goodbody

March 1 2006
Shepparton News

Bell Park on-baller Chris Gallagher is the latest player to join Mansfield's star-studded midfield.

During the summer months, the Eagles have recruited no fewer than five quality players including former West Australian Football League star Wesley Kestel, exGippsland Power defender Bernard Jones and ThorntonEildon whippet James Herridge.

Nathan Reynoldson, who was an instrumental member of the Eagles' 2004 premiership side, has also returned to the club after winning a Riverina Football League best and fairest medal while playing for Narrandera.

"Chris looks to be a quality player," Mansfield club administrator Matt Trewhella said.

"He's a pretty athletic kind of player who'll roam through the midfield and off the back flank.

"He's going to university at Mt Buller and it looks like we might get a couple more from up there as well."

While the Eagles have recruited strongly during the off-season, they have also lost a string of high-profile players.

Premiership coach David Mensch, former Collingwood utility Andrew Tranquilli and exCarlton hard nut Darren Hulme have all departed since last year's preliminary final.

"Things are going pretty well," Trewhella said.
"I think we'll surprise a few people.

"We haven't got anyone to replace Menschy at the moment, but don't be surprised if Trent (Hotton) spends a little bit more time playing forward.

"With Danny Walker back and Chris (Gallagher) playing on the ball, Trent won't have to spend as much time playing in the middle."

Mansfield kicks off its Goulburn Valley Football League campaign against Benalla on April 15.

bradrowe#32 said:
Nah, all the Shep. News 'reporters' are too busy thinking about the next Brett Deledio article. It's become quite sickening.
I think you could be right there bradrowe. Shouldn't they leave something for the Kyabram Free Press?

bradrowe#32 said:
Nah, all the Shep. News 'reporters' are too busy thinking about the next Brett Deledio article. It's become quite sickening.

Yeah spot on bradrowe, I happen to know Brett's parent's a little bit and know that they are very embarased with the amount of articles on Brett in local publications. Surely enough is enough, are the going to continue this throughout his whole career?? Let's hope not! :mad:

Anthony Stevens has trained a few times with Moama, is this just for a run as he lives there. Or possibly a huge signing for Moama.

no left foot said:
Anthony Stevens has trained a few times with Moama, is this just for a run as he lives there. Or possibly a huge signing for Moama.
I have heard he lives in Moama now, he's been training with Moama but looks more likely at the moment to still play at Benalla this year but maybe Moama next year. Who knows.

ANT JESS said:
Yeah spot on bradrowe, I happen to know Brett's parent's a little bit and know that they are very embarased with the amount of articles on Brett in local publications. Surely enough is enough, are the going to continue this throughout his whole career?? Let's hope not! :mad:

Well don't they have a tough life...Please!
The most common parental complaint to newspapers would be from parents barking that their child hasn't had enough publicity.
Face it, Deledio is one of the hottest young prospects in the AFL and the Shepp News has every right to hitch a ride on his wagon.
I bet there were no complaints when little Bretty was after publicity in his attempts to get drafted.

localfootyguru said:
I know the GVFL is the best standard of footy in counrty Victoria but this recruiting of high priced imports worries me. It is certainly not a sustainable practice and who is going to pick up the pieces after the money runs out and the so called "champions" have moved on.

Chequebook recruiting has brought many clubs undone before and will continue to do so in the future and the current spending spree in the GVFL may certainly place questions over the future directions of both the league and clubs.

Interested to hear what others think?

Mate, this is the most boring and repetitive topic that has been discussed since I've been posting (Since Sept last year).
Sorry to be short with you, but if you're interested in what GV fans think of spending and the like scroll back through the pages. I sure as hell hope we don't waste another couple of weeks going over old ground - and hearing the same arguments - that was covered months ago.

And for those that care, Seymour has praccy games against Seddon (Jago's mob), Bundoora, Northcote Park and East Burwood.

TuskenRaider said:
I have heard he lives in Moama now, he's been training with Moama but looks more likely at the moment to still play at Benalla this year but maybe Moama next year. Who knows.

The rumour has been for a while that after this year, that the ex-roos, I dunno how many are going to play at Echuca. I said this earlier, but theres been a few newys on here since then, who knows could just be crap.

Yeah I also heard Palmer was pretty much a certainty to go out locky way, his had a couple of years off hasn't he? Locky are looking good, they've taken a couple of other fringe players from Rochy haven't they? Also signed Matty Martin from Echuca.

TuskenRaider said:
I think you could be right there bradrowe. Shouldn't they leave something for the Kyabram Free Press?
the free press has hardly anything on deledio (considering it is his home town) compared to the shepp news.
i mean "Deledio vs the Dogs". :thumbsdown:

ECHUCABOY said:
Yeah I also heard Palmer was pretty much a certainty to go out locky way, his had a couple of years off hasn't he? Locky are looking good, they've taken a couple of other fringe players from Rochy haven't they? Also signed Matty Martin from Echuca.

Nah he has been playing, but injury has restricted the amount of games he has played. Also busy on the farm, so think he wants to head to Locky for a bit less travel, time committment etc.

He was VC of Rochy last year.

Locky got Brett Stone back off Rochy, but that was after 2004. Not aware of any more this year. I know they had a crack at a few though... maybe 5-6 players so no doubt they are trying for the flag out there.

ilovetogetblind said:
Nah he has been playing, but injury has restricted the amount of games he has played. Also busy on the farm, so think he wants to head to Locky for a bit less travel, time committment etc.

He was VC of Rochy last year.

Locky got Brett Stone back off Rochy, but that was after 2004. Not aware of any more this year. I know they had a crack at a few though... maybe 5-6 players so no doubt they are trying for the flag out there.

Nothing certain, but looks like a good chance he will be.

Next stop is "fringe players" Tank McPhee & Oli for LBU ( Bamawm Lads ), fair trade for Paul Coc keater Crockford I would think :D :D

Grandale said:
Well don't they have a tough life...Please!
The most common parental complaint to newspapers would be from parents barking that their child hasn't had enough publicity.
Face it, Deledio is one of the hottest young prospects in the AFL and the Shepp News has every right to hitch a ride on his wagon.
I bet there were no complaints when little Bretty was after publicity in his attempts to get drafted.

Think youv'e missed the point a little bit there mate, all I'm saying is that his parents wish that the local papers would spend more time on other local prospects than re-hashing the same old story of Brett.

And their obviously not the only ones, i'm sure many other local newspaper readers are wanting to hear more about local leagues / local players and a little less about Brett.

Oh and yeah i'm sure it was all those articles in the newspaper's Re: Brett pre the draft, that made Richmond sit up and go "oh looks like this guy is the number one player in the land". C'mon??

Ykickamoocow said:
Nothing certain, but looks like a good chance he will be.

Next stop is "fringe players" Tank McPhee & Oli for LBU ( Bamawm Lads ), fair trade for Paul Coc keater Crockford I would think :D :D

hehe thought you would ask for more seeing as we are getting his Monaro as well....

After 10 years+ of trying, you must be just about giving up on getting tank back..??

ANT JESS said:
Think youv'e missed the point a little bit there mate, all I'm saying is that his parents wish that the local papers would spend more time on other local prospects than re-hashing the same old story of Brett.

And their obviously not the only ones, i'm sure many other local newspaper readers are wanting to hear more about local leagues / local players and a little less about Brett.

Oh and yeah i'm sure it was all those articles in the newspaper's Re: Brett pre the draft, that made Richmond sit up and go "oh looks like this guy is the number one player in the land". C'mon??

Shepp News readers should just count themselves lucky that Deledio continues to make himself accessible to the local media. It's not uncommon for these kids to forget where they came from once they strike it big.
And I wasn't suggesting the Shepp News can take all the credit for him getting drafted, but the way they pumped him up would have played a small part in the pre-Draft hype that surrounded Bretty. And let's face it, much of who-goes-where in the AFL Draft is dictated to by hype.
But, the fact the boy's got a bit of talent helps.

Grandale said:
Shepp News readers should just count themselves lucky that Deledio continues to make himself accessible to the local media. It's not uncommon for these kids to forget where they came from once they strike it big.
And I wasn't suggesting the Shepp News can take all the credit for him getting drafted, but the way they pumped him up would have played a small part in the pre-Draft hype that surrounded Bretty. And let's face it, much of who-goes-where in the AFL Draft is dictated to by hype.
But, the fact the boy's got a bit of talent helps.

I disagree with you there sorry, you really think that in this day and age AFL clubs are that unprofessional??

ilovetogetblind said:
hehe thought you would ask for more seeing as we are getting his Monaro as well....

After 10 years+ of trying, you must be just about giving up on getting tank back..??
Won't be long before the monaro is a write off or he loses his liscense so he will end up back at Locky anyway.

LBU could not guarantee Tank a spot in the starting line up this season so that idea has gone cold :D ;)

To my knowledge, he has not been approached by LBU this year.

ANT JESS said:
I disagree with you there sorry, you really think that in this day and age AFL clubs are that unprofessional??

Nah, I don't think they are unprofessional and Deledio really was a standout in his year, but I really do reckon that generally there is absolutely nothing between the blokes that get picked up between 5-15 and sometimes a sustained run of good press and making yourself available to as many media outlets as possible might be the difference between going 5 or 15.

Ykickamoocow said:
LBU could not guarantee Tank a spot in the starting line up this season so that idea has gone cold :D ;)

haha Tank would play on ball out there.. or maybe even half back flank where he would still kick a few each game

Ykickamoocow said:
To my knowledge, he has not been approached by LBU this year.

He keeps quiet about it, but that could be the case seeing as he is destined to reach 400 games next season!!

Wonder how many of these big Seymour/Euroa reqruits will reach the same feat

Grandale said:
Nah, I don't think they are unprofessional and Deledio really was a standout in his year, but I really do reckon that generally there is absolutely nothing between the blokes that get picked up between 5-15 and sometimes a sustained run of good press and making yourself available to as many media outlets as possible might be the difference between going 5 or 15.

All Hail the Shepp News they made Deledio go in the top 5 and got him sponsorship. Absolutley kidding yourself, there are that many scouts out there and that much backround work done these days.

I totally agree with Ant Jess, Clubs pick players because they require certain players to fill roles in their Club. So your saying if:

Hawthorn need a key position back in Franky Fatass and are set to pick him up. However, little Johnny Smith the rover has made himself available to the Shepp news and herald sun for a story everyweek, he will get picked higher. Absolutle nonsense