Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Duff Man said:
I think you are spot on T Perry, those teams will be i think the teams to beat in season 06. Also i would like to see a side win the flag that has not done so for a while, [ Euroa or Benalla ] and totally agree with your comments about seymours coach S Daniel , Ive heard and seen him now a number of times and everytime ive come away thinking this bloke is won of the best coaches Ive seen operate, [as Ive said before too I also rate D Williams ]. Is Clarke as good as Kirby and Schottner ? and you didnt talk about sage, is he still playing at Euroa [great player] .

Thanks Duff

Really don't believe benalla will have the depth. Does anyone know if there is any truth to the rumour that Anthony Stevens will only play about 1/2 of the games due to commitments at Nth Melb.

Duff Man said:
I think you are spot on T Perry, those teams will be i think the teams to beat in season 06. Also i would like to see a side win the flag that has not done so for a while, [ Euroa or Benalla ] and totally agree with your comments about seymours coach S Daniel , Ive heard and seen him now a number of times and everytime ive come away thinking this bloke is won of the best coaches Ive seen operate, [as Ive said before too I also rate D Williams ]. Is Clarke as good as Kirby and Schottner ? and you didnt talk about sage, is he still playing at Euroa [great player] .

Thanks Duff

Really don't believe benalla will have the depth. Does anyone know if there is any truth to the rumour that Anthony Stevens will only play about 1/2 of the games due to commitments at Nth Melb.

GVFootyfan said:
Who fisted you in the anus you dog starver.
now now gvfootyfan. there is no need to be so nasty over the internet. we wouldn't want to hurt liovetogetblind's feelings now would we??

on a serious note though I think you should agree to disagree for the betterment of this thread, and please refrain from using such abusive language.

jmain14 said:
now now gvfootyfan. there is no need to be so nasty over the internet. we wouldn't want to hurt liovetogetblind's feelings now would we??

on a serious note though I think you should agree to disagree for the betterment of this thread, and please refrain from using such abusive language.

Who made you CEO of the offensive language mainy, anyway ilovetogetblind is correct GV footy fan is a dumb C*nt.

Wizz said:
Who made you CEO of the offensive language mainy, anyway ilovetogetblind is correct GV footy fan is a dumb C*nt.
ha ha nah no one made me ceo wizz. good to see you posting again mate. it's been a while. how is life going over in london anyway - any mrs to speak of??

Dogs want their man

By Richard Goodbody

February 28 2006
Shepparton News

Tatura will attempt to re-sign former Essendon draftee David Macdonald in the coming weeks after he recently quit his Western Australian club.

Macdonald, who was a key member of the Bulldogs' 2003 premiership team, spent last year playing with the Whitfield Warriors in the west's A-grade amateurs competition, but has since returned home.

While the young gun is uncertain about his playing future, the Bulldogs are hoping they can secure his services.

"He's training with us at the moment, but we're not sure what he's doing," Tatura coach Travis Ryan said.

"He wants to travel to Vietnam, but we're hoping to persuade him into staying.

"He'd be a great addition to our side."

After departing the Bulldogs at the end of 2004, Macdonald had few problems adjusting to his new side last year before claiming the competition's medal for the best and fairest player.

Macdonald's victory came after he polled 16 votes, sealing the top prize with a two and three vote performances in the last two rounds of the season.

"He's up in the air," Ryan said.

"He says he's going, but we're trying."

While the dour defender is yet to put pen to paper, recruits Bryce Wellington (Labrador) and Aaron Wiloughby (Greenvale) have been burning up the track during the summer months.

The former, who is the younger brother of Victorian Country vicecaptain Linc Wellington, has been particularly impressive.

"He looks as if he's a quality player," Ryan said.

"And Aaron was on the track the other night and looks good as well."
Tatura begins its premiership campaign against Mooroopna on April 15.

Duff Man said:

Thanks Duff

Hey duff man. Clarke, Kirbs and Schotty are all different types of players, but from my point of view they're hard to split. Clarke will definitely be an asset - he's 2m tall, is pretty mobile, has good skills and can kick goals. I reckon he might have it over the other 2 blokes at centre bounces, but might have trouble keeping up with them around the ground. He's not as attacking as Kirbs or as tough as Schotts.

As for Sage, I honestly don't know if he's playing or not. I don't think he is..

ilovetogetblind said:
Dogs want their man

By Richard Goodbody

February 28 2006
Shepparton News

Tatura will attempt to re-sign former Essendon draftee David Macdonald in the coming weeks after he recently quit his Western Australian club.

Macdonald, who was a key member of the Bulldogs' 2003 premiership team, spent last year playing with the Whitfield Warriors in the west's A-grade amateurs competition, but has since returned home.

I'm fairly sure McDonald was never drafted to Essendon. I have a feeling he played a couple of matches for their 2's as a top up player. Without looking into the draft records, can anyone confirm this? Fairly ordinary reporting if so. Surely the reporter can buy a copy of AFL 2006.

T.Perry said:
Hey duff man. Clarke, Kirbs and Schotty are all different types of players, but from my point of view they're hard to split. Clarke will definitely be an asset - he's 2m tall, is pretty mobile, has good skills and can kick goals. I reckon he might have it over the other 2 blokes at centre bounces, but might have trouble keeping up with them around the ground. He's not as attacking as Kirbs or as tough as Schotts.

As for Sage, I honestly don't know if he's playing or not. I don't think he is..

Thanks for the info TP. Sounds like clarke will be a handy pick up for euroa, and we should also be in for a few good battles among the big men this year.

slim18 said:
i believe the saints will have a very good year in both ones and twos and will have plenty of depth. anthony will miss a few games but that will have nothing to do with nth melb. can u please tell me slim did you play for the benalla saints last year in the twos and are one of the blokes going to greta???

saints03 said:
i believe the saints will have a very good year in both ones and twos and will have plenty of depth. anthony will miss a few games but that will have nothing to do with nth melb. can u please tell me slim did you play for the benalla saints last year in the twos and are one of the blokes going to greta???

Anything's possible;)

its been good to read about a side except seymour the last few days. it seemed for a while all we heard from were seymour supporters, with a little from rochie and euroa. what is going on with the shepp people. cant remember much from the 3 shepp sides or kyabram. can someone post from up that way.

ringo1 said:
its been good to read about a side except seymour the last few days. it seemed for a while all we heard from were seymour supporters, with a little from rochie and euroa. what is going on with the shepp people. cant remember much from the 3 shepp sides or kyabram. can someone post from up that way.

Hopefully not, we've been Shepp free for a long time now, lets not spoil it................;)

Who are teams playing in Practice Matches and when do they start??

T.Perry said:

Where did euroa pick clarke up from ?? not Justin Clarke from Beulah is it,currently playing up north w Nightcliff.

BIGANT said:
Where did euroa pick clarke up from ?? not Justin Clarke from Beulah is it,currently playing up north w Nightcliff.

Nah, it's Damon Clarke, been playing at the Northern Bullants since 97 or 98, after playing for Preston Knights in the TAC Cup. Pretty sure he made the state side with Vic Metro as a top-age player with the knights.

ECHUCABOY said:
Hopefully not, we've been Shepp free for a long time now, lets not spoil it................;)

Who are teams playing in Practice Matches and when do they start??

Can tell you that Benalla plays Wang Rovers, Wod Raiders and Wangaratta on the 18th and 25th of March and 1st of April, all under lights at the Showgrounds.

While Shepparton clashes with Barooga, Rovers and Tatura. Unsure of exact dates for those three.

Howdy BF People!! Tried to get some responses to this one before new year and only had a few takers cos all the loyal BF People were away from the desk!!! Have a crack at the top 4 players in each position in the GVFL League last year!! Here is Mine.............

FULL BACK: Anderson, Shelton, Trewella, ???
CHB: Douglas, Hickmott, Forys, ???
HBF: Hooper, B.Stevens, King, Hammill
WING: Storer, S.Clayton, Stott, Walker
CENTRE: Byers, Sage, Wellington, A.Stevens
CHF: Mellington, Singh, Hyatt, Roberts
TALL FORWARD: Symes, Grainger, Mensch, Newman
SMALL FORWARD: Saad, Bamford, Gilliland, ???
MIDFIELDERS: Archard, Hotten, Howse, Haberman
RUCKMAN: Schottner, Kirby, Jansz, Sutherland???

Have a go and see who should or should not be in there!!! May make a few of our days progress a bit quicker i think!!!

T.Perry said:
I have heard that he is not playing either. Wants to have a year off and travel overseas for a few months. Not to sure how realiable my source is though. He also told me that Nathan Gilliand wont be playing at Euroa this year, preferring to stay closer to home. The Bendigo area is where he lives, I think South Bendigo is the team his linked to. Can any of the Euroa boys confirm this.

Euroa are playing North heidelberg, Yarrawonga and Kyabram.

LOBSTER said:
I have heard that he is not playing either. Wants to have a year off and travel overseas for a few months. Not to sure how realiable my source is though. He also told me that Nathan Gilliand wont be playing at Euroa this year, preferring to stay closer to home. The Bendigo area is where he lives, I think South Bendigo is the team his linked to. Can any of the Euroa boys confirm this.

Euroa are playing North heidelberg, Yarrawonga and Kyabram.

Sage is a definate and dont think he is going away like he was going to! I havn't heard anything to say Gilly will head anywhere else!! Pretty sure he confirmed he will be staying with the Pies! Would surprise me if he left but he is still in NT at the moment!!!
Practise games should be good but i doubt we will play a full squad untill Kyabram! Dave likes to give a few of the young guys a go and rotate the senior guys which is a good thing i reckon!!! Long Year!!! Will be Raring to go come round one for the GF Replay!!! Should be a huge game and crowd you would think!!!

ky has prac matches against golden square on march 19th, aberfelty(no idea on spelling) down melbourne way somewhere on the 25 and mooroopna on th 1st of april. they haven't been getting great numbers on the track but slowly getting better, heath barnett is looking good, long with newmen. some of the pick ups are ryan emmett( returning from balarat), guy by the nam eof gill from bendigo way, adam courtney from cobden. One that haven't train but have been spoken of are former players, but one, josh finn, is expected to be bring a big ruckman from up north. formally a very good wafl player. no idea on name though. very hard to get much info out of that joint though

I know the GVFL is the best standard of footy in counrty Victoria but this recruiting of high priced imports worries me. It is certainly not a sustainable practice and who is going to pick up the pieces after the money runs out and the so called "champions" have moved on.

Chequebook recruiting has brought many clubs undone before and will continue to do so in the future and the current spending spree in the GVFL may certainly place questions over the future directions of both the league and clubs.

Interested to hear what others think?

nesko_25 said:
Can any1 tell me about Andrew "Cheiners" Palmer from rochy, how does he go?

Yes good player. Held back by injuries the last couple of years but when in full swing is very dangerous.

Prob played out of position at CHB the last year of two due to Rochy's lack of height.. can play wing or up fwd.

You are from Locky yeah?? Think he may be heading there, which is very unfortunate for us at Rochy. He will be a very handy player out there.

PLAYER69 said:
Howdy BF People!! Tried to get some responses to this one before new year and only had a few takers cos all the loyal BF People were away from the desk!!! Have a crack at the top 4 players in each position in the GVFL League last year!! Here is Mine.............

FULL BACK: Anderson, Shelton, Trewella, ???
CHB: Douglas, Hickmott, Forys, ???
HBF: Hooper, B.Stevens, King, Hammill
WING: Storer, S.Clayton, Stott, Walker
CENTRE: Byers, Sage, Wellington, A.Stevens
CHF: Mellington, Singh, Hyatt, Roberts
TALL FORWARD: Symes, Grainger, Mensch, Newman
SMALL FORWARD: Saad, Bamford, Gilliland, ???
MIDFIELDERS: Archard, Hotten, Howse, Haberman
RUCKMAN: Schottner, Kirby, Jansz, Sutherland???

Have a go and see who should or should not be in there!!! May make a few of our days progress a bit quicker i think!!!

Chris McCarty should definately be in there.

TuskenRaider said:
I'm fairly sure McDonald was never drafted to Essendon. I have a feeling he played a couple of matches for their 2's as a top up player. Without looking into the draft records, can anyone confirm this? Fairly ordinary reporting if so. Surely the reporter can buy a copy of AFL 2006.

Nah, all the Shep. News 'reporters' are too busy thinking about the next Brett Deledio article. It's become quite sickening.