• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

thereoffandracing said:
Not Sure how Douglas went but i did see that the Seymour two's were defeated by Shepparton on Saturday, i Heard shepp only had 19 players for the day, maybe the injuries 2 the seniors is taking its tole on the two's. Wells and Harrop played in the reserves and may well be pushing for senior selection this weekend. Anyone know what happened to the Bears Seniors after Quarter time???

Dougo played 2's on sat and injured his ankle in a ruck contest mid way through the first quarter, never came back on.

Lions played with 21 and by half way through the second had 3 more injured players who couldn't return to the field. So it was a pretty even affair in terms of numbers.

Our two's are definitely affected by injuries at the minute. To have the CHB, the entire on ball brigade, both wingers, CHF and FF out through either promotion to seniors or injured themselves, makes it a vastly different side to that who played the first 5 weeks. And hard to win a game of footy. Lionsd goal kicking power once Brad Bishop did his knee, and Lano's had to go into the guts to match shepp's run.

Wells and Harrap played pretty good for the bears, wouldn't expect to see Wells in the ones next week. very supprised Paul Mason is still running around in the two's for Shepp, has been their dominant big man for 2 years and is a pretty handy tall.

Anyway, not to worry. Life goes on. Will be an interesting few weeks for the Lions, few big matches coming up (for both seniors and reserves).

fat back pocket said:
Dougo played 2's on sat and injured his ankle in a ruck contest mid way through the first quarter, never came back on.

Lions played with 21 and by half way through the second had 3 more injured players who couldn't return to the field. So it was a pretty even affair in terms of numbers.

Our two's are definitely affected by injuries at the minute. To have the CHB, the entire on ball brigade, both wingers, CHF and FF out through either promotion to seniors or injured themselves, makes it a vastly different side to that who played the first 5 weeks. And hard to win a game of footy. Lionsd goal kicking power once Brad Bishop did his knee, and Lano's had to go into the guts to match shepp's run.

Wells and Harrap played pretty good for the bears, wouldn't expect to see Wells in the ones next week. very supprised Paul Mason is still running around in the two's for Shepp, has been their dominant big man for 2 years and is a pretty handy tall.

Anyway, not to worry. Life goes on. Will be an interesting few weeks for the Lions, few big matches coming up (for both seniors and reserves).

Great read that, looking forward to further Seymour reserves match reports and on goings in what is a fantastic read. Im sure its not just my self who will be excited to read next weeks review, please however make it a little bit longer in future.

cheers

tige19 said:
Great read that, looking forward to further Seymour reserves match reports and on goings in what is a fantastic read. Im sure its not just my self who will be excited to read next weeks review, please however make it a little bit longer in future.

cheers

You would be interested in the reserves comments and reviews wouldn't ya tige seeing you've playing there...would ya like us to do one of two weeks back when the Lions played Tat...Tige 19 went kickless and couldn't handle friendly banter...or a decent tackle.

fat back pocket said:
You would be interested in the reserves comments and reviews wouldn't ya tige seeing you've playing there...would ya like us to do one of two weeks back when the Lions played Tat...Tige 19 went kickless and couldn't handle friendly banter...or a decent tackle.

Love ya work mate . . . . must have some ripper depth to be covering 13-14 holes in the list. How bad is Brad's knee??? I believe me little mate Spargo played one's too and is another now on the injury list with a thumb or a hand is that true?

badluck there for spargo really good guy... no luck at all... doona2 which players do you think wood be able 2 play at the top level in GV n O&M from the RDFL? particuraly players from riddell n romsey... do u think that robbo from kilmore wood be able 2 play for most sides? i think robbo wood be able 2 step up only his committment wood hold him back... agreed?

LOBSTER said:
Thanks mate.:thumbsu:

After watching the Mansfield v Euroa game on the weekend, Euroa can thank their lucky stars they didnt lose by 15 goals. Mansfield totally outclassed them all day. If only they had of kicked straight. As I said on Friday it was a very average Euroa team taking to the ground and if that team keeps running out there like that, they will struggle to make finals. I think that last years semi success may of gotten to a few of the boys heads and they just assume they are going to beat teams every week. They lacked skill, fitness, speed and communication at times. They look a rabble at the moment.

Injuries or no injuries, if they lose to Benalla this week, they can kiss their season goodbye.
Looks like you don't hold a lot of love for the pies lobster. Not wanting them to do well????

ajm30 said:
free press is a big cover up, basically 10 players would not have played if ciavola was still at the club, nearly a big punch on at thier do last week in echuca

Small town syndrome...facts are Ciavola asked for a transfer 4 weeks ago

Apparenly our game was live on 98.5 on the weekend.
I've since had offers from Kyabram, Tatura, Swans and Benalla...
to keep playing for united :eek:

if he asked for a transfer he would have got it straight away , the word around is that a fremanlte assistant coach is being sounded out for the kyu job next year.

ajm30 said:
if he asked for a transfer he would have got it straight away , the word around is that a fremanlte assistant coach is being sounded out for the kyu job next year.

Kelly O'Donnell would be a great coach for ky, really good with young kids from his experience with the bushies for a number of years. Would be a step in the right direction for the bombers if so. i would imagine he would be after some coin though.

Your right brad, swans are the real deal. saw them play on the weekend and they had rochy covered all over the ground. A good sign for rochy was the return to form of Tank McPhee and also Tim Bubb in his first game after playing 3 quarters in the twos

Travvy43 said:
Kelly O'Donnell would be a great coach for ky, really good with young kids from his experience with the bushies for a number of years. Would be a step in the right direction for the bombers if so. i would imagine he would be after some coin though.

Is Adamson definitely no chance of being re-appointed again next year, or has he told the club that he is not doing it?

Travvy43 said:

Personally I can't see Kelly throwing in a $100,000 plus job a year to come back and coach Ky for maybe $30k. Would be good for the comp but the chances of it happening are slim to sweet heck all.

half time lollies said:
Personally I can't see Kelly throwing in a $100,000 plus job a year to come back and coach Ky for maybe $30k. Would be good for the comp but the chances of it happening are slim to sweet heck all.

totally agree with this. He has done some hard yards with the bushies and now got an Assistant Coaches position at an AFL club. what would posess him to throw it all in and come back to Kyabram?

carlton_86 said:
Can anyone tell me how Roman Chowanetz and stuart Thompson are going in the seconds at euroa
Both have been playing reasonable footy for the twos. roman shows very good posie and doesnt panic when he has the footy while Stuart is starting to play some good attacking footy from the back pocket. His pace on saturday help set up a very good win for the reserves team against Mansfield. Both will more than lileky become senior players in the future for the club.

FOOTYBOSS said:
Where to?

I doubt whether its small town syndrome.

Pretty sure he's already been cleared to Montmorency..From what I hear he hadn't made many mates at the club and trying to pick a fight with the Finn brothers during one of their main functions was the straw that broke the camels back, and they gave him the a$$...Apparently he was very vocal during games about most players performances...

T.Perry said:
Pretty sure he's already been cleared to Montmorency..From what I hear he hadn't made many mates at the club and trying to pick a fight with the Finn brothers during one of their main functions was the straw that broke the camels back, and they gave him the a$$...Apparently he was very vocal during games about most players performances...

Bernie "ALF" Haberman is dancing in the streets of Reservoir as we speak.
Apparently Dion doesn't like the little fella much and his sole intention everytime Ky played Seymour was to knock Bernie's head off his shoulders.

Travvy43 said:
totally agree with this. He has done some hard yards with the bushies and now got an Assistant Coaches position at an AFL club. what would posess him to throw it all in and come back to Kyabram?

It might not be his choice, Freo are a pretty ordinary outfit and there is a good chance there might be some heads rolling at seasons end!

Grandale said:
Bernie "ALF" Haberman is dancing in the streets of Reservoir as we speak.
Apparently Dion doesn't like the little fella much and his sole intention everytime Ky played Seymour was to knock Bernie's head off his shoulders.
With Dion now gone, that will leave about 6 guys in the GV who would like to knock Bernie's head off. (I think 2 of those 6 play for Seymour).

Junkie said:
It might not be his choice, Freo are a pretty ordinary outfit and there is a good chance there might be some heads rolling at seasons end!

It is probably safe to say that if Connally goes O'Donnell (his GV mate) will be on the move too. Lets not forget that freo are 8th on the ladder though.

Travvy43 said:
It is probably safe to say that if Connally goes O'Donnell (his GV mate) will be on the move too. Lets not forget that freo are 8th on the ladder though.

I know the GV is a major league but you would think that O'Donnell would get another assistants job somewhere. Is the Kyabram coach going to move on or get moved on? I think that it is a good idea to have a non-playing coach in a league of that standard.:)

Travvy43 said:

They are 8th but they still resemble a rable at times and Connally has had plenty of time to change things. Either way it will be interesting to see what happens.