• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Heard from reliable source that Ramadan (spelling??) Yze is putting in a clearance to leave barooga and return to shepp swans.

journeyman said:
Heard from reliable source that Ramadan (spelling??) Yze is putting in a clearance to leave barooga and return to shepp swans.

Spot on journeyman. I was on the GVFL transfer list earlier and Yze has lodged a clearance to go back to the Swans. Anyone know why?? Probably a combination of under performing considering the money he was supposedly on at Barooga and maybe he thinks the Swans are going to give it a shake?? Any player clubs pick up this time of year is a bonus!

half time lollies said:
Spot on journeyman. I was on the GVFL transfer list earlier and Yze has lodged a clearance to go back to the Swans. Anyone know why?? Probably a combination of under performing considering the money he was supposedly on at Barooga and maybe he thinks the Swans are going to give it a shake?? Any player clubs pick up this time of year is a bonus!

Whilst your right in picking up a player at this stage of the year is a bonus, do you think the Yze would walk back into the first considering that they are flying at the moment and that Yze was only a good player in a ordinary team in years gone by

I don't understand how players renege on deals with clubs then just walk out. Once you make a commitment that should be it. Disgusting when they ask big money and then do it.

the eye said:
Whilst your right in picking up a player at this stage of the year is a bonus, do you think the Yze would walk back into the first considering that they are flying at the moment and that Yze was only a good player in a ordinary team in years gone by

He signed a contract. The Josh Dicketts saga would have taught everyone a lesson.

centreman said:
He signed a contract. The Josh Dicketts saga would have taught everyone a lesson.
lets hope so, as it would also be a shame for someone in the swans side who has been a regular to now miss out if Yze was to came back to the swans

centreman said:

A shepp swans official told me he didn't get a sign on fee so transfer shoudn't be a problem. Apparently going back to Swans for a lot less than at Barooga.

journeyman said:
A shepp swans official told me he didn't get a sign on fee so transfer shoudn't be a problem. Apparently going back to Swans for a lot less than at Barooga.

I would think he'd signed a VCFL contract. I'd be very suprised if Barooga didn't make him sign one.

centreman said:
I would think he'd signed a VCFL contract. I'd be very suprised if Barooga didn't make him sign one.

Maybe it suited by parties to pay cash. A lot of clubs and players would prefer cash

journeyman said:
Maybe it suited by parties to pay cash. A lot of clubs and players would prefer cash

Maybe. But I'd reckon they would have made him sign a VCFL contract because I know for a fact they got another couple to do so. Regardless of the money, if he signed one of the he would be held to it unless Barooga was willing to let him go. And from what I've heard he can't get a touch and was drasically overpaid anyway, so they might be happy to wave goodbye to him.

T.Perry said:
Pretty sure he's already been cleared to Montmorency..From what I hear he hadn't made many mates at the club and trying to pick a fight with the Finn brothers during one of their main functions was the straw that broke the camels back, and they gave him the a$$...Apparently he was very vocal during games about most players performances...
I thought the main reason for Dion playing at Kyabram was the fact the DVFL wouldnt renew his lisence after he got suspended for 16 weeks for breaking an eltham players jaw. So I would be suprised if he fronted up in the DVFL. Has a poor history Dion on the field. Been thrown out of the VAFA as well for many indescritions. My involvement with him has always been good and we get along pretty well. He has helped me out of trouble a few times.

centreman said:
Maybe. But I'd reckon they would have made him sign a VCFL contract because I know for a fact they got another couple to do so. Regardless of the money, if he signed one of the he would be held to it unless Barooga was willing to let him go. And from what I've heard he can't get a touch and was drasically overpaid anyway, so they might be happy to wave goodbye to him.

Both parties were obviously happy to part ways because Barooga have approved Ramadan's clearance and he has come straight into the seniors which is very surprising considering how the Swans are traveling. They won by 9 goals last week so someone would have been dropped for him to come into the side. I know i'd be p i s s e d off if my team won by 9 goals and I was dropped!!!

FOOTYBOSS said:
I thought the main reason for Dion playing at Kyabram was the fact the DVFL wouldnt renew his lisence after he got suspended for 16 weeks for breaking an eltham players jaw. So I would be suprised if he fronted up in the DVFL. Has a poor history Dion on the field. Been thrown out of the VAFA as well for many indescritions. My involvement with him has always been good and we get along pretty well. He has helped me out of trouble a few times.

This time you are right boss! The reason Ciavola got cleared to Kyabram was because the DVFL wouldn't give him a permit to play. I would suggest that things haven't changed in the last 12 months and they won't give him a permit to play again. So I would suggest Ciavola's football career is in limbo!

My tips for this weekend:

Benalla to beat Euroa by 4 goals. Porter and Shiels back will make the difference, plus hilton out doesnt help the maggies.
Echuca to get back on the winners list at home to Ky by 5 goals.
The cats to easily account for Shep Bears, Singh to kick another bag.
Mansfield to beat Rochy by 6 goals.
Swans to totally outclass Tat by over 10 goals.
United to sneak home against the lions. Injuries will hurt massively for the lions this week. But I may get this wrong as the lions return to the ground for the 1st since their successful september last year.

Have fun at the footy everyone.:thumbsu:

My Tips:

Benalla just in the game of the round over Euroa.
Echuca by about 5 snags over Ky.
Mooroopna to beat Shepp for the first time in about 10 years.
Mansfield over Rochy by 24 points
Swans how far over Tatura... Lots
And maybe JUST United, over Seymour but another good game.

half time lollies said:
Both parties were obviously happy to part ways because Barooga have approved Ramadan's clearance and he has come straight into the seniors which is very surprising considering how the Swans are traveling. They won by 9 goals last week so someone would have been dropped for him to come into the side. I know i'd be p i s s e d off if my team won by 9 goals and I was dropped!!!

SHEPPARTON SWANS

B: Birch, Nalder, Kirkman

HB: Best, Veale, Ubergang

C: Barton, Ryan, McCarty

HF: Warburton, Osborne, White

F: Rachele, Dundovic, Maher

Foll: Sutherland, Fitzpatric, Montgomery

Inter: Kelly, Frappell, Ferguson

That's the team from the Shepp News site, maybe in paper it's different. I agree that walking out on club mid-season is ordinary but it sound like Barooga agreed

Nope, the Shepp News has the same side in print. Of course, the side in print's not necessarily the side that runs out...And there's no emergencies named.

just wondering who is going to take matt sharp in the big "euroa vs benalla" showdown tomo? sharp is a pocket dynamo with a big frame and is constantly in the best. has represented the GVFL at interleague level.

There's a rumour going around Euroa got pumped by 140 points today by Benalla?
Surely this can't be right. The mighty Euroa that was "desperately unlucky" (what a joke) to lose last year's Grand Final and was supposedly a better team this year.
Can they make the finals, that's the big question...

Ahbroke Miandad said:
There's a rumour going around Euroa got pumped by 140 points today by Benalla?
Surely this can't be right. The mighty Euroa that was "desperately unlucky" (what a joke) to lose last year's Grand Final and was supposedly a better team this year.
Can they make the finals, that's the big question...

Massive injuries at euroa at the moment, nearly half the senior side is out, so they are tested with their depth.

Hopefully if they can get their full side in they will beat anyone.

It will be an interesting few weeks ahead.

HawkeEye said:
Massive injuries at euroa at the moment, nearly half the senior side is out, so they are tested with their depth.

good sides will have enough depth to make up for their injurys.. look at seymour for example.

HawkeEye said:

Being a mad lion hate to say it, but they will be back .

Righto, so they've got a few injuries (you'd think they were the only ones).
Does that excuse them being embarrassed, yes embarrassed (I borrowed that word from all the people appraising Essendon's performance on Friday night - at least they only lost by 138 points), by a side that also has its fair share of injuries?
And didn't the Euroa Seconds make the grand final last year? Thought that might have given people reason to believe there was a bit of depth at the club. If that was the case they would have at least got within 10 goals of Benalla.
Not the easiest of runs in the next five rounds either with Kyabram, Shepp, Mooroopna, Echuca and Seymour (three of which - including the last 2 - are away from home) to come.
Perhaps the Maggies can beat the rush and plan their footy trip for some time in September...

Ahbroke Miandad said:
Righto, so they've got a few injuries (you'd think they were the only ones).
Does that excuse them being embarrassed, yes embarrassed (I borrowed that word from all the people appraising Essendon's performance on Friday night - at least they only lost by 138 points), by a side that also has its fair share of injuries?
And didn't the Euroa Seconds make the grand final last year? Thought that might have given people reason to believe there was a bit of depth at the club. If that was the case they would have at least got within 10 goals of Benalla.
Not the easiest of runs in the next five rounds either with Kyabram, Shepp, Mooroopna, Echuca and Seymour (three of which - including the last 2 - are away from home) to come.
Perhaps the Maggies can beat the rush and plan their footy trip for some time in September...

Pretty sure it was a Shepp/Benalla ressies grand final in 2005. The Magpies injury toll couldn't be any worse than Seymour's, but they mightn't have the depth to cover such big losses - long way to go yet and I'd expect Gleeson's boys to get it on track by the time we hit September.