Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

JimCarter said:
Can't afford the $2 for the weekender tight a r s e??

I am actually, i'm on the dole so struggle to make ends meet at times. But having said that I dont think FOOTYBOSS would be listed in the teams as FOOTYBOSS. In case you need me to explain to you, I dont know who this person is, hence why I would like to know his number

Good stuff boys, plenty of friendly fire being thrown at eachother which always makes for good reading.

Footyboss, how keen are you boys to stick around next year and have another crack at it?? are a few of the lads heading back up to play again or are you blokes gonna play back in Melbourne again?? would be tough asking for alot of use as it would be year 3-4 for a lot if use decided to play again in 2007. Any chance of Travvy Ryan being in contention for the senior job if he applied??

Benalla will smash Mansfield this weekend dont worry about that one, cant see the boys from the snow stopping the Saints big boys. In the end class will prevail and Benalla will win by 8 goals.

cheers boys and wish me a happy 22nd for tommorow ;) .

Catch

HotShoeShuffle said:
I am actually, i'm on the dole so struggle to make ends meet at times. But having said that I dont think FOOTYBOSS would be listed in the teams as FOOTYBOSS. In case you need me to explain to you, I dont know who this person is, hence why I would like to know his number

How bout not being a lazy cu nt and read back through this thread. Who footyboss is isnt a big secret to anyone...

Next thing you'll be asking who Fat back pocket is...

JimCarter said:
How bout not being a lazy cu nt and read back through this thread. Who footyboss is isnt a big secret to anyone...

Next thing you'll be asking who Fat back pocket is...
Through the 426 pages?

Just Wondering Who the key players are to watch at the footy on sunday obviously in the 1sts you have got players such as Hotten stevens porter from the down town but what local boys should we watch with a close eye also what about the 2nds and 3rds.

Can Shop said:
Just Wondering Who the key players are to watch at the footy on sunday obviously in the 1sts you have got players such as Hotten stevens porter from the down town but what local boys should we watch with a close eye also what about the 2nds and 3rds.

Mansfield have made a couple of key changes for tomorrow's game.

Looking to counteract Benalla's obvious height advantage, Bernie Jones has come into the side for Adam McCormick.

He is a gun player who rocked up in the pre-season and goes to uni at Mt Buller.

He starred in the early practices matches and would have been the 2nd ruck behind Mark Jones, but tore his achillies against Sandhurst in March.

He played two ressies games late in the season and has been brought in for his first senior game of the year (Shades of Adelaide in 1997 when Aaron Keating came in.)

*Sorry just trying to draw comparisoon to a premiership side.*

Dareen Wheeler is the other inclusion .. he's a goer, but has struggled at senior level.
Interesting selection and has come in for Reece Sonnberg.

The eagles will need to be at their best, but there is something about playing Benalla that generally brings out the best (although we have lost two close games to them this year) ... Third time lucky.

Symes was the difference in round one with 7 and is obviously not there this time, but I think Porter is the one who the eagles really need to stop ... Hotton and him should be a ripper duel.

Eagles by 14 points.

GO THE SNOW BUNNIES!!!!

PS - Keep an eye on Josh Walker - loves playing Benalla and while he's mates with some of them from school days, always seems to lift when playing the Saints.

I think people have had their wish for certain grand finals come true

Seymour- Benalla
Seymour-Euroa
Shepparton-Kyabram

Doesn't come more enjoyable than those three.

Also for those interested, this is not Benalla's first GV Grand Final. In 1940 Benalla came from the old Benalla-Mulwala league for one season and won the flag.

The war came, and from what I can gather Benalla went into recess, only to emerge in 1946 in the O and M, winning four flags in 52 seasons. 1952, 1962-63 and 1973.

Their last GF appearance was in 1978, beaten by the all-conquering Wangaratta Rovers who won seven flags in the 1970s.

So to those Mansfield people bagging Benalla about not winning a flag in the GV, we actually did it 64 years before you.

And to those so-called Eagles supporters who took great pride in punting the Benalla match committee during the game, that now makes two consecutive prelim finals losses. The noose now belongs around somebody elses neck.:D

Flat Track Bully said:

Seymour- Benalla
Seymour-Euroa
Shepparton-Kyabram

Also for those interested, this is not Benalla's first GV Grand Final. In 1940 Benalla came from the old Benalla-Mulwala league for one season and won the flag.

The war came, and from what I can gather Benalla went into recess, only to emerge in 1946 in the O and M, winning four flags in 52 seasons. 1952, 1962-63 and 1973.

Their last GF appearance was in 1978, beaten by the all-conquering Wangaratta Rovers who won seven flags in the 1970s.

So to those Mansfield people bagging Benalla about not winning a flag in the GV, we actually did it 64 years before you.

And to those so-called Eagles supporters who took great pride in punting the Benalla match committee during the game, that now makes two consecutive prelim finals losses. The noose now belongs around somebody elses neck.:D

Obviously a bit to get off your chest there bigfella. did you have time for a shower after the game or did you head straight home to make your post.

Flat Track Bully said:

Seymour- Benalla
Seymour-Euroa
Shepparton-Kyabram

In Mansfield's defence, it'd be easier on the mind to lose those two prelims after winning a flag in 2004.

TuskenRaider said:
In Mansfield's defence, it'd be easier on the mind to lose those two prelims after winning a flag in 2004.

Never easy once the finish line is in sight - Mansfield have had a tremendous season with some experienced lost and some exciting kids coming thru, but Im sure they would be gutted to get so close to a grand final again :thumbsu:

TuskenRaider said:

Not to mention being written off by most at the start of the year. Very good effort by the eagles. How is Dan Roy? heard he copped a heavy knock...heard he was pretty padded up from a heavy knock the week before.

the 2 youngens from mansfield struggled to get a kick today, bit of finals pressure got to them, unlike martiniello had a great game, carved up sheehan wen going head to head with him.

skippy__67 said:
the 2 youngens from mansfield struggled to get a kick today, bit of finals pressure got to them, unlike martiniello had a great game, carved up sheehan wen going head to head with him.
I wouldn't say the finals pressure got to them. They played very, very well under 2nd semi final pressure last weekend against the yardstick in Seymour with Sheahan kicking 4 and being named Mansfield's best.

They deserve to be cut a little bit of slack.

tige19 said:
Good stuff boys, plenty of friendly fire being thrown at eachother which always makes for good reading.

Footyboss, how keen are you boys to stick around next year and have another crack at it?? are a few of the lads heading back up to play again or are you blokes gonna play back in Melbourne again?? would be tough asking for alot of use as it would be year 3-4 for a lot if use decided to play again in 2007. Any chance of Travvy Ryan being in contention for the senior job if he applied??

Benalla will smash Mansfield this weekend dont worry about that one, cant see the boys from the snow stopping the Saints big boys. In the end class will prevail and Benalla will win by 8 goals.

cheers boys and wish me a happy 22nd for tommorow ;) .

Catch
The majority of the group will be playing again next season. The only doubts we have are Shannon Gibson and Daniel Sage. Everyone else is committed to stay. Anyone is a chane if they apply mate, all depends on what the club is looking for.

HotShoeShuffle said:
No need to tell fibs on here Hot Shoe Shuffle. You know who I am as i was talking to you at the diamond valley grand final and went to school with you for 6 years.

FOOTYBOSS said:
No need to tell fibs on here Hot Shoe Shuffle. You know who I am as i was talking to you at the diamond valley grand final and went to school with you for 6 years.

I hate it went alias' try these games!!!
More importantly is was good to see FOOTYBOSS' side get the chocolates to set up an enthralling decider with Seymour on Sunday. With Haberman and Bailey tipped to return to the Lions one's - the Two's will be strengthened also from last time they met.
Did Matty Mills play yesty mate, and will he be right for Sunday, wont make up 10 goals difference but certainly his presence and experience will be a factor I reckon?

Doona2 said:
I hate it went alias' try these games!!!
More importantly is was good to see FOOTYBOSS' side get the chocolates to set up an enthralling decider with Seymour on Sunday. With Haberman and Bailey tipped to return to the Lions one's - the Two's will be strengthened also from last time they met.
Did Matty Mills play yesty mate, and will he be right for Sunday, wont make up 10 goals difference but certainly his presence and experience will be a factor I reckon?
Some big inclusions there for the lions. Who will get dropped?

Matty Mills did play mate and will be fine for Sunday. It was good to get over the line yesterday against Untied who were very cocky going into the game after dropping some players back. Typical of a front running team from Shepp. They are all the same, they dont like to do the hard work.

FOOTYBOSS said:
Some big inclusions there for the lions. Who will get dropped? .

six more sleeps - who ever gets the a$$ from Seymour's semi final winning side will be very stiff, dont wanna speculate so early in the week sorry.

You gunna get the gig on Pappa again after ya good game on him a fortnight back?

Doona2 said:
six more sleeps - who ever gets the a$$ from Seymour's semi final winning side will be very stiff, dont wanna speculate so early in the week sorry.

You gunna get the gig on Pappa again after ya good game on him a fortnight back?
I will probably get 1st crack at pappa, but it will all come down to who they drop and where we set up. I was in our forward 50 for a quarter yesterday.

FOOTYBOSS said:
I will probably get 1st crack at pappa, but it will all come down to who they drop and where we set up. I was in our forward 50 for a quarter yesterday.
What will be the great spanna's game plan Boss? Kick more goals than the oppisition or something simpler:D Is the snowman still his boardman?

FOOTYBOSS said:
Some big inclusions there for the lions. Who will get dropped?

Matty Mills did play mate and will be fine for Sunday. It was good to get over the line yesterday against Untied who were very cocky going into the game after dropping some players back. Typical of a front running team from Shepp. They are all the same, they dont like to do the hard work.

A bit like your ones footyboos?

HJ32 said:
Former Euroa half forward Nathan Gilliland has been appointed senior coach of Sandhurst FC in the Bendigo League.
Heard that, also heard that the KY coach as been offered the position at the Flat this year.