Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

heard a rumour rochester is very close to signing ryan hayes. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: kicked a ton last year with elmore.

Gon on Rochy take him please was hard to stop last year - maybe a few of us HDFL folk could have a whip around if ya's need a little more than first offered :D

I am sure plenty of us backmen could tip in to our own footy trip funds and help Rochy out if it means we don't have to line up on him :D :D :D

Must go alright!
I am interested with the couple of comments about him, any info, age - height - build - skills, obviously a forward, but can he go up the ground?
Is he a local?

Must go alright!
I am interested with the couple of comments about him, any info, age - height - build - skills, obviously a forward, but can he go up the ground?
Is he a local?

Limited knowledge Sparra, but to get you started, think he mainly played in the ruck before this year, but had an injury and went fwd and kicked 100 this year. about 21. Local Elmore boy.

Tassie Devil adds bite
Richard Goodbody

Mansfield coach Christian Thomson has hosed down suggestions star recruit Ben Fagan is the messiah reincarnated.
Earlier this week, the former Tasmanian Devil put pen to paper with the club, landing the Eagles their first high-profile signing since the retirement of inspirational captain Trent Hotton.

The similarities between the pair, however, are worth a second look.

With both standing at more than 183cm, Hotton, who was recently named in the Goulburn Valley Football League's greatest ever side, ended his decorated playing career in September after claiming the Morrison Medal for the competition's best and fairest player.

While Fagan's credentials may not stack up to Hotton's, he is capable of playing at either end of the ground and can run through the midfield.

``He's got a pretty big engine,'' Thomson said yesterday.

``He'll probably play up forward, but he can slot into centre half-back if we need him to.

``(Likening him to Hotton) is pie in the sky stuff, though.

``We think he'll be a very good player, but I wouldn't want to put that tag on him.''

With the Eagles in ongoing discussions with a number of recruits, Thomson's first year in charge of the club could see it reclimb the highest mountain.

In 2004, Thomson and Hotton played a key role in their historic premiership win, propelling the Eagles to a famous 61-point victory against Tatura.

``There's a little bit of a Tassie connection there,'' Thomson said.

`We're talking to one of Ben's mates who might come across and a couple of listed guys in Melbourne.

``We're hopeful, but you never know until they're across the line.''

After playing in the TAC Cup with Tasmania, Fagan has spent the past two years in the VFL before coming to terms with Mansfield.

The Eagles are currently in their third week of pre-season training, with the club due to break for Christmas on December 19

heard a rumour rochester is very close to signing ryan hayes. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: kicked a ton last year with elmore.

Rochy's pre-season has been fantastic so far. Well done to Lenny and Whits and the recruiting staff.

So far:
- Most players are staying another year
- Steve Rasmussen is returning from Rushworth
- Jake Perry may be coming from Rushworth too
- Mark Brown is a possibility
- Chris McCarty and Ben Anderson may play the last half of next year when they return from o/s
- The club has spoken to a Heathcote ruckman and is looking at a few others too
- And now Ryan Hayes might sign

However, it looks like Heath Aitken and Adrian Pappin are departing and maybe Rob Tuohey and Brodie Montague.

Things are looking bright for next year and because they are mostly locals, it hopefully won't cost a heap of cash.

Rochy's pre-season has been fantastic so far. Well done to Lenny and Whits and the recruiting staff.

So far:
- Chris McCarty and Ben Anderson may play the last half of next year when they return from o/s

However, it looks like Heath Aitken and Adrian Pappin are departing and maybe Rob Tuohey and Brodie Montague.

Things are looking bright for next year and because they are mostly locals, it hopefully won't cost a heap of cash.

I thought there were at least 3 former Bendigo Bombers they were chatting to too?

both ky and tat seem to have made poor choices with their coaaches in recent years. tat had trav ryan looking to rebuild the club only to sack him and go with a coach who brought no recruits and ended up finishing bottom. ky went with 3 coaches last year which clearly didnt work, went with idea to keep all the locals and now 2 of the 3 coaches have moved on. made little sense. maybe dirty williams will get them up the ladder?? time will tell.
Where have those coaches at Ky moved onto...and whats happening up at Balranald with Singh & Atkins !? what are there movements.

if all the globes were replced at seymour the ground would light up well
Shire has leveraged several government grants and community contributions to do major upgrade works at Kings Park including the lighting towers. Should be a showpiece when completed.

Where have those coaches at Ky moved onto...and whats happening up at Balranald with Singh & Atkins !? what are there movements.
Paul Newman is staying at Ky.
Burnett and Finn have signed as coach and ass coach at Lancaster FC. Singhy will shop himself around and look for some more cash. Not sure with Afro, he doesnt want to travel much so probably play in Melbs somewhere.

Thanks Trouser,

You got any other in's n out's for Ky?

How are the #'s at pre-season so far?

So far:

Im pretty sure every other club has a list of possibilities just like this one. Unless you get a signature all the above means didaly squat!

any news on shepp swans recruiting for 08?? ins n outs?

4-12-2007 - By Richard Goodbody, Shepparton News

Swans Up And Running

Shepparton Swans coach Peter White has taken control of his side for the first time since dropping last season's grand final to Seymour.

In late September, the Swans came within five goals of ending their 37-year premiership drought, but were unable to get by the Lions.

While former Port Adelaide draftee Tim Looby recently became the Swans' first casualty, White believes the club is well placed to dethrone Seymour as the Goulburn Valley Football League's premier outfit.

"We won't do too much recruiting," White said.

"Looby's a loss, but Craig Statham who played with us a few years ago is back from overseas soon and we're hoping he'll come back.

"He'd be an ideal replacement for Looby."

With the off-season in full swing, many big names have been linked to the Swans, including Damien Yze and Balraj Singh, former GVFL stars Hayden and Jarrod Best and Statham, who has more than 50 South Australian National Football League matches to his name.

While White was down playing the Swans' pre-season movements yesterday, the Princess Park-based outfit appears well-placed for a crack at next year's title.

Having began training last week, White will continue to put the Swans through their paces leading up to Christmas.

Too good to refuse
Morrison Medal-winning on-baller Rhys Archard, who turned his back on an AFL career in August, will return to the South Australian National Football League next year.
The 24-year-old had planned on returning to his home club Echuca in Goulburn Valley Football League, but has been wooed in the past fortnight by the Andrew Jarman-coached North Adelaide.

After a brilliant 2005 with South Adelaide, the slender wingman won his way on to the Crows' rookie list last year before turning his back on his football career halfway through last season.

``It's been a couple of tough weeks weighing up what I wanted to do, but I'm fairly comfortable with my decision now,'' Archard said.

``I enjoyed playing SANFL footy, but ... the AFL side of things just wasn't for me.

``A good mate of mine, Dave Clarke, has left South and gone to North and he put them on to me.

``They've helped tee me up with a good job and that was important too, so now I'm really looking forward to it.''

Archard said while it was a tough decision to leave Echuca after committing two months ago, he said it was too good an opportunity to pass up.

He said the ex-AFL signings such as Daniel Ward, Shannon Motlop and Trent Sporn was also an incentive.

``North lost the grand final to Central Districts last year and they've really impressed me in the chats I've had with them,'' Archard said.

``I'll be doing some work in finance, too, which will be interesting, so yeah, I'm looking forward to it.''

Archard, the son of thoroughbred trainer Daryl Archard, is a member of Echuca's Team of the Century and has represented Goulburn Valley and Victoria on a handful of occasions.

He debuted for the Murray Bombers as a 16-year-old and was a member of the club's 2001 and 2002 premiership teams and shared the 2003 Morrison Medal with Stephen Ash.

Footyboss , was speaking to a getleman last night in far North Queensland and he told me you could be assistant coach at Watsonia next season with Shannon Gibson , is this :thumbsu:close to the mail or has my friend had to much sun and to many Turkeys ????

i heard off a mate that plays at united the other day that they will pick up Sam Rowe n Luke Vogels from sydney if there not picked up in tuesdays drafts.. if so that surely would make them a massive premiership threat.

What is the point in posting what you posted? a maybe list.... pointless.

Yes, a list.

This particular person would find a similar list for the Swans useful:

napolean87 said:
any news on shepp swans recruiting for 08?? ins n outs?

I think it has a point. This is a GV thread; Rochester are a team competing in the GV and the majority of conversation on here lately has centered on off-season player movements. Instead of people scooting around the thread they can easily access it one simple post.

I think you are just having a whinge for the sake of it. Perhaps it is because you are sad and lonely.

Regardless, my list is a far more helpful contribution than your sooking.

i heard off a mate that plays at united the other day that they will pick up Sam Rowe n Luke Vogels from sydney if there not picked up in tuesdays drafts.. if so that surely would make them a massive premiership threat.

Vogels will play with Geelong in the VFL if he is not picked up in the pre season draft.

Footyboss , was speaking to a getleman last night in far North Queensland and he told me you could be assistant coach at Watsonia next season with Shannon Gibson , is this :thumbsu:close to the mail or has my friend had to much sun and to many Turkeys ????

I think your friend might be close to the mark.

Is Lucas White running around at swans again next year? or has he gone elsewhere to coach? watched him play a couple of times in the sanfl n he is a fair player..