• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Why is it such a hot topic how much the swans spend on there players guys?? if you ask me they havent won a flag in 38 years and if they have the power and finances to get quality players to the club to break that drought then good on them i say?? im sure if everyones footy club on this website had the money to recruit, then as a player you would hope they do coz im sure that everyone bar balraj singh wants to play in a succsessful side?? am i wrong??

YES
A club is not going to win a flag without paying players to play. Clubs (bottom to top) are all paying players to play football. Some with the intention of winning the flag this season and others wanting to build so to win in the future.
All clubs are playing to win brad!
It dosent matter if your not paying anywhere near as much as anouther club, the fact is they are all trying to buy a premiership.
Because clubs know that other clubs are paying better players to play and the local bloke playing for nothing is not good enough coin has to be paid to attract and keep players.
SPENDING MONEY IS BUYING BRAD!
Every club is trying to buy a premiership (this season or in the future) but only one club will get the reward, tuff to the ones who miss out or run out of money but good on the ones who win it.

Fully agree with you! great comment

Had some beers with a few Tatura boys over the weekend and word out of the kennel is Malcolm Knoble is quiting as coach, apparently he has lost the support of everyone. Paul "Hair" Serra will be taking over the top job.

Malcom Noble believe it or not has been aproached by the new SANFL Northern Territory team to apply as coach. He was up there for the long weekend and might still be up there descussing options.
If he doesn't coach he will be the development officer for the Northern Territory either this year or in 2009.

Why is it such a hot topic how much the swans spend on there players guys?? if you ask me they havent won a flag in 38 years and if they have the power and finances to get quality players to the club to break that drought then good on them i say?? im sure if everyones footy club on this website had the money to recruit, then as a player you would hope they do coz im sure that everyone bar balraj singh wants to play in a succsessful side?? am i wrong??
Fully agree, does it really matter what the swans or any other club are paying. At the end of the day there would only be a handfull of club people who really know what the finances are, so anything else is pure guess work. For all of those out there that are hung up on the swans payments, build a bridge and get over it. At the end of the day who really cares. And really they are not doing anything that the Mooroopnas, United, and Tonnies and others did in the eighties. As history shows the long term repurcussions are obvious.

Balraj has just signed with Ky in the Goulbern Valley

just cut and pasted Balraj's profile update done today on facebook.

It would be good if he knew how to spell the league he was playing in tho.

Maybe thats why he only put Ky as well. Coz he didn't know how to spell Kyabram???

He sounds like a real toss bag.
How will he respond to a little verbal and physical contact during a game?
If this bloke is really as bad as you blokes say, it seems Williams has made a short term decision that may cost Ky in the long term.

Malcom Noble believe it or not has been aproached by the new SANFL Northern Territory team to apply as coach. He was up there for the long weekend and might still be up there descussing options.
If he doesn't coach he will be the development officer for the Northern Territory either this year or in 2009.

If true there wont be too many people around tat shedding a tear.

You may have giving and spending mixed up Brad?
You may also be confused with services and ownership?
Have you ever been on a football committe?

You're the confused one. You said "spending money is buying." Under your own definition, spending any money under any circumstance is buying.

Get back to me when you're not so mixed up.

Never been on a "committe." Never had the chance to.

Totally agree with the fact that what clubs choose to do is their business. Clubs who spend up on the wrong players usually do come unstuck at some stage, some clubs raise money through their hard work as they would like to see some success or other clubs are fortunate enough to have 1 or 2 people who can give them good financial backing. Who hasn't had there time down near the bottom of the ladder though, whether it being a result of running out of money or not having the locals coming through. I think its a matter of recruiting what your clubs need as long as your not stepping on the toes of your locals who warrant a game. There are fors and againsts for both but almost all clubs would spend money on good players, its just a matter of doing your homework and making sure your money's not wasted.

So clubs donate money to players to finish out of the top 5?

I'm not sure. Do they?

I'm sure clubs realise at the start of the year that only half the teams in the comp will make the finals. But teams still go out and buy players when they know they wont make the finals.

What's your point?

I'm not sure. Do they?

I'm sure clubs realise at the start of the year that only half the teams in the comp will make the finals. But teams still go out and buy players when they know they wont make the finals.

What's your point?

Well you said that some clubs spend money to "buy a premiership" and obviously with that comment Rochy doesn't so why do they pay players for?

Clubs can pay their players, I have no problems with that and never had.

Cellar Dwellar said club "are all trying to buy a premiership" if they pay their players.

This definition that because clubs pay their players, they are 'buying premierships' is absolutely ridiculous.

Tatura that has finished 12th, last and last the past 3 years. They would have paid some of their players, no doubt. So according to the definition you agree with, they are on the same level as Seymour, Swans, etc, teams that have spent heaps of money getting players?

My definition of buying flags are teams that have been an embarrassment to the competition for many years and buy in 10+ players.

Well has been extremely interesting viewing some of the recent postings in relation to Shepp Swans and Singh to Ky, and would have thought their were a couple of very important things a club considers when recruiting, paid / contracted players.
I would think most clubs make their decision, on what amount to pay a player, based on what amount of money is to be spent by that player at the club, or with the clubs sponsors, and how much money that player can attract, spectators etc.
With this in mind, Singh, may be benefical to Kyabram as they do not have a huge non local, playing , draw card/ profile at the club, and when they have had big followings it has been with big full forwards, Loveless, Stuhly etc. who knows, from what I've been told, they can not expect him to put a lot back in through bar sales etc. so they / he had better hope he gets some through the gates.
Likewise the Swans I don't think have ever had greater support, so why would they not continue to buy up, as long as the balance is right and your not spending more than your getting back.
Here's a thought, pay players based on a percentage of gate takings and have membership cards with bar codes and refund them what they put back in, similar to golf club rewards system, and fuel money, cut it out and give them a tank of fuel, or what ever, from a sponsors servo and get a % per litre donation off the sponsor, win / win !!
Lets not forget that on a 2nd job your suppose to pay 48 ? % tax.

Cellar Dwellar said club "are all trying to buy a premiership" if they pay their players.

This definition that because clubs pay their players, they are 'buying premierships' is absolutely ridiculous.

Tatura that has finished 12th, last and last the past 3 years. They would have paid some of their players, no doubt. So according to the definition you agree with, they are on the same level as Seymour, Swans, etc, teams that have spent heaps of money getting players?

My definition of buying flags are teams that have been an embarrassment to the competition for many years and buy in 10+ players.

Clubs all strive for success and flags = on field success, players command a wage no matter how big or small therefore all clubs who play in the GVFL and any league that pays players are trying to buy a premiership.

That's bullshit and your pithy response confirms it.

What are you girls all worried about?
If a club wants to go out and buy players in the hope of winning a cup, good on them!
Too many lazy people around now days to rely on a locals and the young players are too worried about having their drinks and pills to put in the hard yards to achieve anything.
So if theres people at the swans prepared to have a go good on them. The only people who will be sooking about them spending big to win will be the ones too p!ss weak to get out and do it themselves...........

I think you have missed the point. We arent worried about it, we are having a laugh about it. Let them spend up and in the small window they have to win a premiership, go for it.
GVFL has to be sustainable to all clubs. Is this level of spending sustainable? In the short term probably but long term not a chance.
I

In the country Vicroads he is marking at present it has a line from his house and he cant read Kyabram as it has red $$$$$$ over the destination.

As an outsider who once followed the GVFL closely and is now involved in the amatuer football scene i find the level of dollars circulating through the hands of football mercanaries in both the GV and country victoria area pathetic and unsustainable. I am sad to say its a unhealthy environment and country football as i once knew it officially dead now with cream chested alter egocentric "footballers thinking they are able to hold football clubs to ranson for thier services..

But i pose the question at the end of the day who is the bigger fool?? The player ? The League ? Club Administrators ?

I would think the club administrators who are to short sighted to put in place the processes to ensure sustained success and are to interested in covering themselves in immediate glory than for the long term good of the club..
:eek::eek::eek::p

As an outsider who once followed the GVFL closely and is now involved in the amatuer football scene

I have played footy with blokes playing A grade and B Grade Ammos. To say they dont pay for players could be argued as one mate had an extension on his house added for 2 years of footy. Another got a car to drive for 3 months and continued to swap he car over as a demo. The car... a BMW X5. The last bloke who couldnt rub 2 sticks together and not that bright ended up getting a job that paid about 80K to do very little in an office. When he left the footy club he also had to find another job.
No they dont pay but they have the system so well worked out that you could argue what payment really is.
Something that costs nothing is payment. Ask Barry Richo about his time coaching Old Xavs and he may be able to fill you in. They dont pay money but believe me, they pay.

Re: Move interstate to QLD ??

Anyone interested in a change of lifestyle which includes playing for the Zillmere Eagles in the State League competition (AFLQ) please contact me privately.

The club has a terrific history and are a young club on the rise after playing in the 2006 AFLQ Grand Final and last season winning the Reserve Grade Premiership. One of the top 5 clubs Australia Wide for players drafted.

Club has been involved in some off field issues which have now been resolved but have found ourselves slow out of the blocks from a recruiting point of view. The club is seeking recruits who feel they have something to offer at this level and would like to take the oppurtunity to live in QLD and play in the AFLQ.

Don't get upset mate, it's only a game remember

Not upset at all. I just think your logic is hilarious.

Allow me to give you some examples:

1. Maragatang don't pay any players, except for one bloke who lives an hour away. They decide to give him $30 for petrol money. Guess what? They are buying flags!

2. Inverloch pays all their players $40 per game. The players usually pay it back to the club over the bar anyway. Guess what? They are buying flags!

3. Portland decides to throw a testimonial for a 300 gamer. He has never taken a cent in his life and no one else in the team gets paid. But guess what? They are buying flags!

So what's your cut off point before clubs are "buying a premiership" Brad? 5? 7 players? Have you worked out the exact number? Because you seem more than sure of yourself when it comes to this matter.

I wouldn't be calling too many clubs an embarrassment to the competition if they're down for a few years either. Every club takes their turn over time.