Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

That's threatening Essendon's 79 points down in the 2nd quarter as the best comeback ever.

Well how about you use some intelligence then.

It's very obvious I live in Canberra. If you think I'm going to drive 12+ hours over a weekend to watch a practice match, then you are insane.

I asked these questions because;

1) there have been no reports in the local newspaper,

2) I haven't seen any of the recruits in action yet,

3) the coach said they are still looking at a couple more recruits,

4) and there have been quite a few players transferred into the thirds team from under 16s, who may be handy players that might get a senior game.

Is that to hard to understand?

Actually, I'm struggling with the creation of dots points in response to the bit of a barb I made...

Cretins and morons really should be screened by the Big Footy gods before they come on here and discharge their verbal diarrhoea.

Have a chill pill folks.

Obviously not in the mood for some friendly banter.

At least give us something that is not complete rubbish. This is a site to talk about football in our local leagues. As I say to my students in prep, if you can't say anything nice, don't say anything at all. It's a worry that I have to put you in the same group as them.

I went to that school you know...

Just been having a bit of a read and i have noticed that a few people are saying the Swans are going to be right up there. I am not sure of the final score but at quarter time of the praccy match we (Golden Square) were winning fairly comfortably and their 2's and 3rd's seemed to have struggled a bit.
Does anyone know of the final score in the 1's?

Great game yesterday and thank you to everyone there. Always friendly and a great annual practice match. Hamburgers were great and the drinks were cold just perfect. We Hope Matty recovers quickly and all the best to Lions for the year. Pictures will be available tonight sometime of the game if you are interested at www.eastburwoodfc.com

Note: Yze kicked 3 goals 8 and I am now calling him Tarrant. :p

Agree wholeheartedly with everything you said mate, but tell me, what is the deal with your coach :confused:. In 25 odd years of playing and watching footy i've never heard a coach blatantly call umpires cheats and players mongrels and cheap shot merchants. Please explain ?

There was a lot of banter from both sides and the umpire so whether it was tongue in cheek stuff I am unsure. They were together after the game having a beer and everyone was all smiles.

The cheap shot comment I had to agree with. In saying that there was not much in it as it was in front of me and to be honest it looked worse than it was as the Rams player is so small and I think it was the biggest lions player that tackled him. :D

My impressions of the new coach is he is very passionate and has instilled that into the players. It was a different team the lions faced to last year. :thumbsu:

He will need to tone down some to coach from inside the boundary line though. :p

Just wondering if anyone can give me some information on player from Shep United called Ben Black. What sort of player he is etc?

Won the united goal kicking in the reserves last year. Space cadet

There was a lot of banter from both sides and the umpire so whether it was tongue in cheek stuff I am unsure. They were together after the game having a beer and everyone was all smiles.

The cheap shot comment I had to agree with. In saying that there was not much in it as it was in front of me and to be honest it looked worse than it was as the Rams player is so small and I think it was the biggest lions player that tackled him. :D

My impressions of the new coach is he is very passionate and has instilled that into the players. It was a different team the lions faced to last year. :thumbsu:

He will need to tone down some to coach from inside the boundary line though. :p

The coach was Peter Nickleson , very unprofessional the way he carried on , but im sure both clubs would be happy with the hit out . Was great to see Joey Amad back in the lions jumper at 44 years of age running around Kings Park . The lions had 10 of the premiership players not playing, Stevo , Pemberton, King , Hooper , Kelly and Tomkins just to name a few. Saad kicked 9 or 10 and Schotty and Chewy played well . How good was the 16 year old , Jake Lorraine who played on Yze, great effort . The lions where 6 goals down at one stage , but come back to loose after the siren .:thumbsu:

The lions had 10 of the premiership players not playing, Stevo , Pemberton, King , Hooper , Kelly and Tomkins just to name a few.

Didn't think Jim Kelly was playing, he's only been to training once or twice hasn't he?

The coach was Peter Nickleson , very unprofessional the way he carried on , but im sure both clubs would be happy with the hit out . Was great to see Joey Amad back in the lions jumper at 44 years of age running around Kings Park . The lions had 10 of the premiership players not playing, Stevo , Pemberton, King , Hooper , Kelly and Tomkins just to name a few. Saad kicked 9 or 10 and Schotty and Chewy played well . How good was the 16 year old , Jake Lorraine who played on Yze, great effort . The lions where 6 goals down at one stage , but come back to loose after the siren .:thumbsu:
jake Loraine has been dumped out of the bushies squade, i reckon they have made a mistake they believe he is one dementional ( a forward only ) i hope he proves them wrong.

Just been having a bit of a read and i have noticed that a few people are saying the Swans are going to be right up there. I am not sure of the final score but at quarter time of the praccy match we (Golden Square) were winning fairly comfortably and their 2's and 3rd's seemed to have struggled a bit.
Does anyone know of the final score in the 1's?

Its a trail match buddy. The final score was swans losing by 7 points!

Was a good hit out though! with about 6 from last years GF Side not playing.
No excuses tho, you guys played well.

Both teams had players out as do all teams in practice matches. It was a great match and different things were tried by both teams and both teams were very happy with the hit out. It's a game the Rams always look forward to in the preseason. Images are up http://www.eastburwoodfc.com/seymour/index.htm

Cheers

Dale

Fair too say you can't read too much into practice match results. As I mentioned East Keilor (EDFL DIV 2) thumped Moorolabark, while both teams were not at full strength, then Moorolabrak nearly beat Mansfield........

Also Seymour should be belting East Burwood, if they compare themselves to the Balwyn, Vermony and Noble Parks in the EFL.

Basically it good to get out and have a run, but these games mean poo all. Can't wait for the real stuff to start ;)

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/kyabrams-stars/2008/03/25/1206207106762.html

Kyabram attracts stars, and a coach

Paul Daffey | March 26, 2008
LAST week, it was reported that Kyabram had recruited Balraj "Ka-ching" Singh and Lincoln Withers for a princely sum, although not quite as princely as the pair received last year at Balranald. In recent days, Kyabram has signed up another of Balranald's 2007 line-up, Chris Atkins, a midfielder who is unlikely to be receiving a pauper's wage, either.

Atkins won two best-and-fairest awards at Kyabram before spending recent seasons alongside Singh and Withers at Balranald in winter and at Waratahs during the Top End season. In the Top End season that finished a fortnight ago, Withers played his 100th game for Waratahs in the preliminary final, only to blemish the milestone by being reported.

The main charge resulted from front-on contact to the head of a Southern Districts opponent during the match's opening seconds. He was also reported for kicking but the charge was later amended to unduly rough play. He was suspended for a total of three matches.

The 34-year-old missed the grand final, which Waratahs lost to St Mary's by 96 points. His suspension now carries over into the Goulburn Valley league season, where Withers will miss Kyabram's opening two games.

The rugged midfielder yesterday described the NTFL Tribunal's decision to suspend him as "bullcrap". He was unsure whether he would return to Victoria for the southern football season or stay in Darwin, where he lives with his pregnant girlfriend, and fly down every weekend.

His season last year also started amid controversy when he played the first two games for his home club, Garfield in West Gippsland, to give him 200 games and enable him to qualify for life membership. Then, after receiving a call from Singh, he followed the yellow brick road to Balranald.

Some footy fans in the West Gippsland region believe Withers is the best country footballer they've seen; many wonder whether he should have given it more of a shot at Carlton, where he played reserves in the early 1990s.

The main interest now is whether Withers and his fellow well-paid wanderers will gel at Kyabram under the coaching of David Williams. After finishing his AFL career with Melbourne, Williams coached his home-town club Rochester for 16 years, never once in that time leaving anyone in any doubt about where he stood.

His raves were coloured by his theory that Rochester, a club from the smallest town in the competition, was "us" and everyone else was "them". Rochester played in seven grand finals in a decade, winning two. During that time, Williams abjured payment because he wanted the money to go to potential recruits.

With the entry into the Rochester team in recent years of generation-Y players, Williams came to be seen as old school. Still, it sent a shock through the region when he parted ways with the club after last season.

At Kyabram, a rival of Rochester, Williams has joined a club that is less than united over its decision to bring in highly paid recruits.

Perhaps it's just as well the coach has a way of getting his point across.

Fair too say you can't read too much into practice match results. As I mentioned East Keilor (EDFL DIV 2) thumped Moorolabark, while both teams were not at full strength, then Moorolabrak nearly beat Mansfield........

Also Seymour should be belting East Burwood, if they compare themselves to the Balwyn, Vermony and Noble Parks in the EFL.

Basically it good to get out and have a run, but these games mean poo all. Can't wait for the real stuff to start ;)
To true :D

this fella was also sniffing around gisborne on the weekend looking for a chat

Well if you want to private message me I'm happy to tell you about him instead of getting myself in trouble on here! If you get my drift.