Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Doona2 said:
Eastern Hill B's made 130 all out, our blokes are 3/40.

Our A's got rolled for 68, the Hill made 110ish and Broady are 0/1. Terrible effort by all batsmen, wicket was fine, plenty of arrogant flashy shots and 7 lbw's by umpire Sing.

Thats big. Chippa obviously had his first out for the year.

Broady had a great start to the year, the hill had a lot of washed out games, and will play a depleated Maroon outfit first game after xmas.

Might be interested to know Doona that joey amad played in our B's on the weekend. Did no good with the bat, apparently got caught by a blinder catch for not many. Ended up getting rolled for 69, in reply kilmore are 6-90.

Joey Amad 10-5-2-12 he did have 7 overs 2-3 at one stage. According to some of the boys, his gentle mediums were a big hit, hit the same spot every pill from ball 1. Got a bit tired at the end and got hit for a boundary and a 3 in his final over.

Joffa anderson back to form with the ball - leading the side i may add - 2- 12 off 12. Meant that the rest did't go so flash. Expect an interesting game next week though. if the maroons can knock over kilmore quickly, smack up 100 odd, they may be able to win outright.

Daniel Brophy could be leaving the Shepparton Bears this season, i heard he was going to Congupna.
So it doesn't look good for the Bears for 2006.
Also another player is signing for United to go with the 6'6" monster from Perth.

Sidey_87 said:
Also another player is signing for United to go with the 6'6" monster from Perth.

Got any names Sidey?

Sidey_87 said:
Daniel Brophy could be leaving the Shepparton Bears this season, i heard he was going to Congupna.
So it doesn't look good for the Bears for 2006.

Who is the 6'6" fella Sidey?

I don't think United will be that bad in '06, Hazelman is a quality person and fine footballer. If he plays all games i'd expect him to finish very highly in the Morrison Medal.

Junkie said:
Who is the 6'6" fella Sidey?

I don't think United will be that bad in '06, Hazelman is a quality person and fine footballer. If he plays all games i'd expect him to finish very highly in the Morrison Medal.
I'm not sure of his name sorry mate, all i've heard about him is that he played in the WAFL and kicked a bag of goals, he moves well n is a good athlete.
That's all i can possibly tell ya.
United won't make finals unless they play out of their skin.
Where do you think we will finish (united)?
If there are no injuries.

Doona2 said:
Our A's got rolled for 68, the Hill made 110ish and Broady are 0/1. Terrible effort by all batsmen, wicket was fine, plenty of arrogant flashy shots and 7 lbw's by umpire Sing.

Didn't mention that when you were sprouting bertie Douglas's average...
Wo did the damage for the Hill? Would be great to see Mick Hard among the wickets.

Sidey_87 said:
I'm not sure of his name sorry mate, all i've heard about him is that he played in the WAFL and kicked a bag of goals, he moves well n is a good athlete.
That's all i can possibly tell ya.
United won't make finals unless they play out of their skin.
Where do you think we will finish (united)?
If there are no injuries.

Bit hard to tell at this stage but I'd expect Hazelman to attract a few players to the club that the GV wouldnt know much about.

I reckon they would struggle to make the finals but will be competitive.

Grandale said:
Didn't mention that when you were sprouting bertie Douglas's average... Wo did the damage for the Hill? Would be great to see Mick Hard among the wickets.

Wickets were shared I think Mick got a couple. Whats the progressive details in your match and others around the SDCA

Doona2 said:
Wickets were shared I think Mick got a couple. Whats the progressive details in your match and others around the SDCA

We bowled Kilmore out for 138 (Kempy got 5-fa after the skipper eventually gave him a bowl) and we are 3/42.
Naggers got skittled for 98 against Royals and Tallarook made about 175 against Avenel.

geez fellas, hate to put a dampener on the chats but could you p#ss off with the cricket talk. there's enough crap written here without the cricket yarns.
back to the footy....
is hickmott expected to take many with him to rumba?
anyone heard anymore on norman ever since he was a no show at bulldogs raining?

Maroopna also had their first training run/ meet the recruits day on sunday and he was a no show to that either. Seems like a troubled soul to me.

Travvy43 said:
Maroopna also had their first training run/ meet the recruits day on sunday and he was a no show to that either. Seems like a troubled soul to me.

Doesn't seem like anyone is surprised Normans unreliability.

Travvy43 said:

Apparently Karl is keeping a low profile (may even be interstate) due to the federal police hot on his tail over a couple of different matters!!!

Grandale said:
We bowled Kilmore out for 138 (Kempy got 5-fa after the skipper eventually gave him a bowl) and we are 3/42.
Naggers got skittled for 98 against Royals and Tallarook made about 175 against Avenel.

It wasn't as if they distroyed us when the skipper was bowling!! 2-16 off 9 isn't a bad stint for the skip. I think he was ensuring kempy's grandale like hamstrings were good to go. Had to run him around the boundary for a few overs, let that head of steam build up a bit.

Grandale, all jokes aside (that is jokes of my dismissal) if you don't make runs against this farse of a bowling attack, there is something seriously wrong.

The deck should be a bit better this week, and once you see off the big fella, that is it. Block, block, whack. There will be 2 s h i t pills every over.

fat back pocket said:
I heard 5 or 6 of the solid reserves players from the bears were leaving with the coach.

Not sure where he was headed again, maybe murray league, does anyone know exactly who was going with him? The shepp reserves side had a lot of players who could get good money in lower leagues, even get money at lower gv sides, so it will be interesting to see Shepps list this year.

They have been strong for years, no doubt they will recruit a host of stars again.

if anyone has any info on the reserves coach and who he has taken, give us some info.

Travis Hampshire, coaching Congupna in Murray League

hahaha fbp you wud wanna be a bowler....SDCA is a very very bad league, times I have played against those hacks have been very very large wins. Bout time u made a run big guy!!!!

Rowey I see you did south, what was it like playing against 13 year olds hahha

subtle hustle said:
geez fellas, hate to put a dampener on the chats but could you p#ss off with the cricket talk. there's enough crap written here without the cricket yarns.
back to the footy....
is hickmott expected to take many with him to rumba?
anyone heard anymore on norman ever since he was a no show at bulldogs raining?

Hickmotts a funny lookin koori.....

Mate I reckon this is the first time Ive seen u post on here, the boys have been talkin about their cricket all season, and we talk about horses all season too. If you dont like it start your own GVFL thread.......gimp :eek:

ECHUCABOY said:
Mate I reckon this is the first time Ive seen u post on here, the boys have been talkin about their cricket all season, and we talk about horses all season too. If you dont like it start your own GVFL thread.......gimp :eek:

Well said Echucaboy.
As for FBP's denigration of the Kilmore bowling attack, I wouldn't be so silly as to run them down mid-innings. They've already got out better (supposedly) batsmen than I so far this game so I won't be taking this weekend lightly at all. Anything can happen on the bowlers' paradise that is Chittick Park.

fat back pocket said:
I heard 5 or 6 of the solid reserves players from the bears were leaving with the coach.

Not sure where he was headed again, maybe murray league, does anyone know exactly who was going with him? The shepp reserves side had a lot of players who could get good money in lower leagues, even get money at lower gv sides, so it will be interesting to see Shepps list this year.

They have been strong for years, no doubt they will recruit a host of stars again.

if anyone has any info on the reserves coach and who he has taken, give us some info.
Some shepp bears 2's have been spoken to by ex coach Trav Hampshire, but not a whole lot as he doesnt want to be seen as cleaning out his old club.

But have heard that a heap of their 2's are being chased by other local clubs, the most active being Waaii (Picola league) who are offering good coin.

Also heard that Shepp Swans are talking to some of the lesser known bears senior players (who get paid sweet FA) and offering dollars. Heath Bartons name was mentioned as one of them.

Travvy43 said:

Word is he was in town, and had Brad Campbell as his minder...as for his no show, well I can't explain that.

ECHUCABOY said:
mate, as an ex-gv player i read this thread regularly and would really appreciate it if i didn't have to sift thru all this cricketing garbage just to read whats goin on with the teams in the league.
i'm sure others would feel the same.

subtle hustle said:
mate, as an ex-gv player i read this thread regularly and would really appreciate it if i didn't have to sift thru all this cricketing garbage just to read whats goin on with the teams in the league.
i'm sure others would feel the same.

I have to agree entirely!

There is a cricket board, perhaps post your scores there....

jmain14 said:
ha ha geez a bit over 5 months - good effort mate.

yeah I heard there were a couple of drunken houligans amongst the crowd. I remember playing a game in the c's last year with sammy and dane, and I can recall wizz coming for a watch and downing a few beers. he must have had about 2 slabs by himself, or at least the ump thought so anyway. what he didn't know didn't hurt him I guess.

how big was your 6?? did you hit it into robbo's house??

ha ha ha yeah i remember that day was pretty good actually had a fair bit to drink and the umpire was continually on my case about drinking. However mainy i was helped out with the beers with Benny A who rocked up as well and fair to say we had a skinfull think we ended up in Bendigo didnt we.
Rowey had a beard hey how big was it, must of been huge after 5 months would of been itchy in the summer.

HawkeEye said:
Cmon rowey, thought you were a bit smarter than that.

Going back onto footy, whats going on with some shepp sides. Not much talk on them, Miller and Lang have left Shepp bears.

Could be a bad year for the 3 shepp sides, they could be our bottom 3.

No doubt their 3rds would be ok, but where do they go hiding. Why can't they crack it into the seniors.

Yeah he is, just what he is saying is justified though someone was carrying on a bit to much about one of his mates.