Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

You obviously don't know them that well mate, his figures are a fair way off the mark. I'm not saying that Ky isn't dishing out some coin because they are but lets be honest here, they would be nowhere near the top bracket of spending in the GVL, and its something they had to do to be competitive. Apart from the stated 3 players and Newman I would be very surprised if anyone else was getting paid anything worth mentioning.

i totally agree with you but when you say they wouldn't be in the top bracket of spending i, but if you said the 3 highest paid players of each club i think they would be close to the highest paid in the league.

Its not a problem at all tho, if players can get big money and the club does well out of it everyone wins

i totally agree with you but when you say they wouldn't be in the top bracket of spending i, but if you said the 3 highest paid players of each club i think they would be close to the highest paid in the league.

Its not a problem at all tho, if players can get big money and the club does well out of it everyone wins

If the clubs are well run, as Seymour obviously is at the moment, then no one should have any idea which players are being paid and how much they are being paid.
That is the way it should be, unless the paid player or the clubperson handing over the cash, decide that everyone should know.

Swans
Seymour
Benalla
Mansfield
Mooroopna
Rochy
Echuca
Ky
Euroa
United
Tat
Shep

Swans & Lions in the big one again with the Lions to make it 4 on the trot. 3rd to 10th will be very tight IMO.

Ash Watson for Morrison Medal.

I would have the ladder like this:

Shep. Swans
Seymour
Mansfield
Mooroopna
Euroa
Rochestor
Benalla
Echuca
Kyabram
Shep. Utd
Shep.
Tat.

Seymour to beat Swans in the Grand Final.

Shane Clayton to win comp medal.

Saad to win goal kicking.

If the clubs are well run, as Seymour obviously is at the moment, then no one should have any idea which players are being paid and how much they are being paid.
That is the way it should be, unless the paid player or the clubperson handing over the cash, decide that everyone should know.

Exactly right there sparra.

Hello gentleman,

does anyone know of any local practice matches this weekend around the district? if you could list who, where and wehat time that would be great. cheers

For anyone that's interested the Mooroolbark vs. Mansfield prac match was a draw.
Mooroolbark played really well and Mansfield led by about 2 goals for most of the last quater before a goal on the siren to draw the game.
To be honest I didn't pay a whole lot of attention to the game but Daniel Dai was great in the last quater for Mansfield, and in the last half I thought Tim Henriksen did well - a lot of second efforts, still doesn't look 100% fit though.
There was a lot of mistimed high flying, and some good marks. Both teams never seemed to give up.
Mansfield's seconds got done by Mooroolbark, not sure how the thirds went.

How have Rochy gone in the practice matches. Did they play Keilor today and how are the teams (1st, 2nd, 3rds) shaping up?

Kyabram played Kangaroo flat and looked to be playing a much better brand of footy than what they played against Tongala in their first practise match. Balraj looked good in the forward line kicked 4 goals 2 from memory. Afro was back at his great best spinning out of trouble on many occasions. If Ky don't become to Balraj conscious then they could be a very handy side this year.

what were the scores and who played well etc? also was there a 2s game, if so, how did both sides look?

Howd the Lions v East Burwood game go today, didn't end up getting there

east burwood after the siren.
117 to 113, inaccurate kicking by eb's forwards and straight kicking from saad made it a good close contest.

Yep, after-before the siren take your pick. Great game to watch and for a practice game this was a dam site better than a lot of home and away matches. :thumbsu:
Seymout still missing half a dozen or so, Matty O'Keefe did a massive hammy early on which may be a real problem, will be hard to replace.

Yep, after-before the siren take your pick. Great game to watch and for a practice game this was a dam site better than a lot of home and away matches. :thumbsu:
Seymout still missing half a dozen or so, Matty O'Keefe did a massive hammy early on which may be a real problem, will be hard to replace.
Great game yesterday and thank you to everyone there. Always friendly and a great annual practice match. Hamburgers were great and the drinks were cold just perfect. We Hope Matty recovers quickly and all the best to Lions for the year. Pictures will be available tonight sometime of the game if you are interested at www.eastburwoodfc.com

Note: Yze kicked 3 goals 8 and I am now calling him Tarrant. :p

Nathalia went down to Mooroopna by 11 points, very good hit out for both teams.it showed us (nath) that we still have work to do to get better than the last couple of years. i think Mooroopna came out of the game with a few injuries, one bloke stretchered from the ground with a leg injury, Freer with a shoulder injury not sure how bad and a couple of others i was told but didn't see how bad. we came out of it pretty good no injuries.
Mooroopna should have a fairly good season, had a good game plan and stuck to it reasonably well. good luck to them

How have Rochy gone in the practice matches. Did they play Keilor today and how are the teams (1st, 2nd, 3rds) shaping up?

Played Nathalia 3 weeks ago and won by around 7 goals. Played Keilor Park on Saturday and thumped them by nearly 20 goals. No Misiti or Mecuri, but Rochy still had a few out. Eliott Bowen absolutely tore the game apart, would have had at least 20 marks and wasn't far off kicking 10, McPhee also unstoppable kicking 6. Play Koondrook-Barham at Rochy this weekend.

G'day Ronald.

Couple of questions;

How did the new recruits go?

Are there any thirds/ressies players that are pushing for senior selection?

Are there anymore recruits coming?

Love ya.

G'day Ronald.

Couple of questions;

Love ya.

Good to see BF's own Rochy expert is all over how they're going this year...

G'day Ronald.

Couple of questions;

Love ya.

Hi mate,

Recruits:
Collins played midfield and worked hard into backline, got a lot of touches from half back. Perry kicked a couple early, O'brien gave a lot of run from the backline, looks to be very quick and has a lot of courage. Rasmussen his usual solid self (no pun intended). Givney battled hard in the ruck. Duscher still injured but will play round one.

2nds, 3rds:
Seconds had a hit out first and just snuck home. Letcher kicked 10. Cavallaro had a heap of it as did Pappin. You would think that these would be the main players looking for a spot in the 1's at this early stage.

More recruits:
Lenny still has a few in the pipelines. Chris McCarty and Sam Brennan should be good for the second half of the year. Some pretty handy inclusions at the business end of the season.