Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Great effort Rowey, showed a lot of comitment to this great thread!! :)

"I think the finals is just out of reach (for only the 3rd time in David Williams’ reign)." From the words of the great D Williams "Right us off, I dare you!!" he he

Fair effort that Rowey. Alot of time put in and shows. The only other thing I could pick up on that Duff Man didn't was Nathan Bell's departure from the Swans. He is going to assistant coach back in his home town somewhere in SA. Will be hard to replace.

Duff Man said:
Like your work rowey. :thumbsu:

Just a couple of additions / amendments for you:-

1. My mail is that Rattray could well be back at the Den again this year as the Bendigo try-out hasn't work as well as he would have liked.

2. I thought Howse (Euroa) was playing with Bundoora this year?

3. Shane Sali (United) is not a happy camper at the moment, and is in deep discussion with Swans. My understanding is that United will reject any clearance application, but Swans have got him a job and offered him a bit of pocket money to play. This one is likely to go to an appeal, but at this early stage I believe he will play for the Swans this year.

4. Shepp Bears will struggle, and there 2's will not be anywhere near as strong as recent years. As of last week, they had a senior playing list of about 34. Looks like centreman Steve Dickinson may have done a knee in a praccy match over the weekend, and will have scans this week. They also suffered another injury to one of their younger brigade. That brings their list down to 32 available senior players less than a month before the start of the season. The Bears have an excellent committee, but difficult to see them being able to pick up their numbers greatly in the next few weeks.

Are you involved with Shepp Duff Man?? I think you will find that they have a few more than 32 available senior players!

half time lollies said:
Are you involved with Shepp Duff Man?? I think you will find that they have a few more than 32 available senior players!
Not involved with them lollies, but am good mates with a bloke who is and these are the numbers he has been spinning to me.

[B said:
bradrowe#32Tatura[/B]

The very proud Tatura would’ve found last year’s fall from grace difficult to handle. After a mass exodus of experienced and quality players, Tatura fell to the tail of the ladder, winning only three games.

In a season with few highlights, the performance of bigman Paul Kirby was a bright spot. The champion ruckman won the Forty Winks media award and polled heavily in the Morrison Medal. Linc Wellington was brilliant down back and had the honour of captaining the victorious interleague team. Down forward, Michael Roberts kicked 36 goals.

The search for players to rebuild the club has been far and wide, with players from Queensland, NSW and metropolitan leagues signed. Their biggest signing is Marty McGrath, who burst onto the AFL scene in 2003 when he kicked 5 goals on debut. Unfortunately, his career ended prematurely and has spent the last few seasons in metropolitan leagues. He will add a touch of class to the midfield and forward line.

They have a favourable draw, only playing last year’s grand finalists once. However, this won’t save them and they should finish in the bottom four.

I will print this out and stick it on the paper clippings wall in the changerooms Brad.

Cheers

Bradrowe,

Great stuff mate. Very informative about every club in the GVFL. I think you are spot on with Echuca and Rochester as well. Even though Dale Reyne didn't play last year due to injury, Echuca are hoping to win a battle against Echuca United to regain the powerful forward/ruckman. If he does play with bombers and they don't get any major injuries then they will be in the top 6. The only problem they have is their depth!

[Seymour FC & Kings Park are located in one of the worst runs shire's in the state. It has taken a lot of hard work from the Kings Park committee and all the user groups of the reserves to get these works done. I have spent time on the Harley Hammond Reserve committee in Broadford and trust me they're a tough crowd (Mitchell Shire) to lobby your case for improvements to.[/quote]

Campaspe Shire is terrible, have let Victoria Park in Echuca slip to an ordinary state over the last 10 years. Used to be the show piece of the town. Now surface is poor and all uses of the reserve are frustrated. Ken Sheldon was very big on providing the best facilities for his players but ground was the only down fall. Think Echuca F.C would appreciate your frustration, good to hear surface is ace at Seymour now.

Doozy_Man said:
Bradrowe,

Great stuff mate. Very informative about every club in the GVFL. I think you are spot on with Echuca and Rochester as well. Even though Dale Reyne didn't play last year due to injury, Echuca are hoping to win a battle against Echuca United to regain the powerful forward/ruckman. If he does play with bombers and they don't get any major injuries then they will be in the top 6. The only problem they have is their depth!

I concur, but Rowey, a REVIEW before the season has started. Can you tell me the winner of the flag then!!!!

no left foot said:
[Seymour FC & Kings Park are located in one of the worst runs shire's in the state. It has taken a lot of hard work from the Kings Park committee and all the user groups of the reserves to get these works done. I have spent time on the Harley Hammond Reserve committee in Broadford and trust me they're a tough crowd (Mitchell Shire) to lobby your case for improvements to.

Campaspe Shire is terrible, have let Victoria Park in Echuca slip to an ordinary state over the last 10 years. Used to be the show piece of the town. Now surface is poor and all uses of the reserve are frustrated. Ken Sheldon was very big on providing the best facilities for his players but ground was the only down fall. Think Echuca F.C would appreciate your frustration, good to hear surface is ace at Seymour now.[/quote]

You are spot on there. The ground at Vic Park in Echuca is a disgrace. It's no fault to the Echuca F.C, it is the bloody council! They spend all there money on useless recreation grounds around the district. Whereas Vic Park is used by so many groups it needs the most attendtion. the only way it can be fixed is to rip the whole surface up and lay new turf. This would mean that the footballers and cricketers would need to find another ground for that season. But it is a small loss for a long term gain. The council need to see that Echuca play in the strongest and most respected football league in Victoria and their ground is bringing the town's name down.

Duff Man said:
Like your work rowey. :thumbsu:

Just a couple of additions / amendments for you:-

Yeah I missed a few things Duff Man, such as Adrian Hickmont leaving Shepparton. It was pretty late and I just glazed over the Shepparton teams, because really, I don't care too much for them!

After reading Bradrowe#32 season review and doing some research my self (yes i am a geek and lead a boring life) and having a bit to do with the VFL over the past 4 or 5 years i would now like to present to the great people on the GVFL board my Season preview.

1st - Benalla

Strengths:
Without a doubt there strength will come from there big men and the opportunity to break away from the centre bounces and around the ground stoppages. Van Sheik and Porter will dominate 90% of the leagues ruckman and with the likes of Priest,B.Stevens and Mcpharline controlling the middle of the ground they seem very acomplished and almost untouchable in the middle of the park. Down forward they are also amongst the elite for the competetion with only possibly Euroa and Seymour stronger within the forward 50. Symes and Mckenzie are in the elite bracket of GV footballers and both provide great targets.

Weakness:
Some people might find this funny but i truely believe that the core of Benallas team are a ageing core. Porter,B.Stevens,A.Stevens,Mcpharline,Symes,Mckenzie are hardly spring chickens and all have had a past that has been effected from injuries. If a couple of those core stars where to fall then who is going to replace them? looking on the transfer list i notice alot of players have left and it has to be said that alot of those blokes where very good 2s players. Can Benalla keep there core fit and healthy and going for a full season? and if they go down who is there to fill the void?

Players to make or break there season:
Porter,B.Stevens,Symes,Mckenzie

2nd - Euroa

Strengths:
No doubt there former VFL/AFL listed players make up the nucleas of their side and its up forward and the talls that really put Euroa a class above other teams. Grainger and Janz are very heard to match up on and add to that Damon Clarke and you have the most impressive bunch of bigs in the comp, all these guys will ruck and will go forward and kick goals. Euroa also boast the most attacking midfield in the league with Lamaro and Sage being the rolls royce of the bunch.

Weakness:
As Bradrowe#32 pointed out its there backline that is the worry, while they will score alot of goals they will also give opposition sides a chance to kick a few them selves. If opposition sides can find a way to bog down there forward structure and then counter attack then they will always be given the opportunity to score goals and stay in the game.

Hilton,Janz,Sage,Grainger,S+M Clayton

3rd - Seymour

Strengths:
Again its the attacking style of play and Seymours forwards that really give this side a chance of becoming premiers again in 2006. Saad Saad in my opinion is the most diverse and creative forward in the league. He leads,crumbs and creates goals from nothing, sit him next to Rattray (who sounds as though his back) and Simon Gordon and you have the best mix of talls and smalls in the GV. Seymour will have by far the hardest forward line to match up on. Just as good as they are up forward they have the leagues best full back in Jeff Anderson and another star in Robbie Douglas holding down CHB, the big question is are all these players going to fire again?

Weakness:
Im just a bit worried that while most other GV teams have recruited fairly heavily, Seymour seem to be going into 2006 with an almost identical list as 2005. And why should they change anything? truth be told is that its rare for clubs to go back to back and perhaps with little to no change (Colbert will add very little) they could be found out before seasons end. In saying that Seymour are likely to blow everyone away and do the impossible and hold the cup high again come September. I am by no means writing them off at all.

Player to make or break there season:
Anderson,Saad,Schottner,Douglas,Haberman

4th - Mooropana

Strenths:
The Cats big name players hold the key to weather this team will become a top4 unit or just be another mid to good side in the GV. Brad Campbell is a star and his brother no doubt has the credentials to become a star in the league as well. Alot rests on the shoulders of Karl Norman and Balraj Singh, these 2 clearly are the best of there big men and if they can fire look out. Campbell to Campbell to Singh sounds imposing and with this side if they can gel early its gonna be tough for opposition sides to hold them when going forward.

Weakness:
My thoughts clearly point to the mental capacity of the players down the cattery. Karl Norman is a nuff nuff as is Singh buy the sounds of it, Blake Campbell has come to the GV and done very little, perhaps he underated the level of football he was coming to. Nic Aloi is similiur to Norman. My worries are that by round 5 or 6 we will know just how far the likes of Norman,Aloi,Singh and Campbell will take the Cats. For all we know Singh could quit, Norman could have his boots eaten by his dog and Campbell could break his leg from falling of a fence. All hypotheticals and more of a joke than anything but i do have my reservations.

Norman is the standout for me, Singh,Campbells,Hall

5th - Echuca

Strengths:
Well its gonna be a very different looking lineup to the Bombers of 2005. No Archard and a host of newbies the most noticable being SANFL recruits White and Bowman. Butler suprises me as i find it hard that Echuca signed such a young player coach who i dont think ever player GV before, he will basically become a new signing along Durie and will provide some stern leadership for a very young side. Alot rides on Butley,Durie,Howman and White. Bowman will provide a great target either up forward or hold down a KP in the backline. If the young players that played last season can continue there improvment and we see the best of Durie and Butler then Echuca could really suprise.

Weakness:
The unkown i suppose, i dont know a whole lot about Echuca but i would think that Archard is probably that big of a loss that someone is gonna have come out really step up to cover him. Perhaps they lack a few bigs, heard they had a intra club a few weeks back and a bloke who hasnt played for a few years came out and bagged 6, was told they were very young and inexperienced. Will that be a problem ? and do they have the depth?

Howman,Durie,White,Durie

6th - Tatura

Strengths:
There backline will be 1 of if not the best backline group in the GV. New recruit Willoughby who played 60+ senior VFL games will hold down either FB or CHB and will be a top 3 KP defender in the league, bigger and stronger than Symes and is quick and bullocking. They have also got back Mcdonald who is a star at GV level him self and have snarred former Coburg defender Downey who is silky out of the backline. Throw in Pollard as a 3rd tall and premiership small defender Matt Hanlon and you have 1 complete backline. Kirby will run things in the centre of the ground and will go forward and kick a few and Wellington and Mcgrath provide the class in the middle of the ground, they also have GV rep Michael Roberts up forward who by all reports is flying.

Weakness:
Depth, no doubt should any of there big name players go down with injuries then Tatura will struggle to cover them. They have no back up ruckman to help Kirby (perhpas Mcdonald is capable) and if a Willoughby or Wellington where to go down then it would spell huge trouble for the boys down at Tat Park. I dont know alot about there lesser know recruits but i highly doubt that they have anyone who could step and become good/elite GV footballers. I would suspect there reserves will be weak again and the fact that there is no depth could decide just how far this team will go.

Roberts,Kirby,Wellington,Willoughby,Mcgrath

7th - Rochester

Strengths:
They are a well drilled machine under Dirty, they will always attack the ball and man fiercely and will always be competetive. The fact that they have stability at the club means alot and with Bowen and Aitken providing the class factor we could yet see Rochy in the finals come September.

Weakness:
Mccarty wont be there all season and the loss of Knight i would think is quite siginifacant. Connaughton was a very good player who has also taken off. I find it hard to see how Rochy are gonna be able to cover the losses but under Dirty you just never know. As Brad said the club focussed on playing youth and building for the future and perhaps the natural progression of the youngsters will carry them through, i however think that maybe 2006 is a year to soon for them.

Aitken,Bowen,Schmidt,Brennan

8th - Shepp Utd

Strengths:
Well they get back a host of players who missed last season with injury and the form Forys was really pleasing for the club. They have also picked up highly rated Tyson Sidebottom. They have a good strong core of players and i think i also read that Nathan Bovlino has crossed from Bears?? might be wrong but he will also be a handy pick up.

Weakness:
Utd probably lack a host of bigs who can take a game by the scruff of the neck. Doubt they have the ruck stocks to compete with the Porters,Janzs,Kirbys of the league and that could leave them behind the 8 ball. Also the loss of Shane Sali is a big one.

Sidebottom,Forys,Bovalino, Hazlemans

9th - Mansfield

Strengths:
In the middle with Hotton who i belive is the best player in the GV they will always get a bit of go forward he will also get some good support from Reynoldson and Trewhella. The Eagles also pick up Chris Gallagher from Dean Talbot coached Bell Park in Geelong and he is sure to add some spice to the midfield and flanks for the Eagles.

Weakness:
Mansfield have failed to attract an big names that have made them a force in recent year in country vic. The losses of Tranquilli,Hulme and most of all Mensch are massive, perhaps greater than 1 suspects. They will have little no forward line and will expect and pary that someone jumps out of the box and can kick some goals. Losing Tarnquilli and Mensch is like the Lakers losing Shaq and Kobe all in 1 hit.

Hotton,Trewhalla,Reynoldson,Walker

10th - Shepp Swans

Strengths:
They have some handy talls and are well lead by Sutherland and other bigs in Veale,Dundavic and South Australian Matt Lutze who comes from West Adelaide with big wraps on him. Craig Stratham also provides some much needed class for the Swans as they look to improve on a terrible 2005.

Weakness:
I know very little about the club and the players but if i was a Swans supporter i wouldnt be pinning my hopes on the likes of Veale and Dundovic. I think both failed to play senior footy at state league and wouldnt expect them to carry the Swans to 2006 glory. If Sutherland was to go down at any stage i think they would almost be a like a boat with no sails and heading quickly, for there sake lets hope the ageing big man can stay fit and firing.

Sutherland,Stratham

11th - Kyabram

Strengths:
Newman? i know very little but notice they have lost a few, i cant seem to firgure out who the hell they recruited. From memory Ky where usefull going forward and had some old timers taking care of things in the backline. Chris Atkins and Newman seem to be the 2 that will make them at all competetive for 2006.

Weakness:
Well Ky are probably the least talked about side in the GV so being someone not from up the hume its hard for me to comment. Ill say that they lack a KP defender and another premium midfielder to go with Chris Atkins. To much will rely on Newman and perhaps Ky will become to 1 dimensional and easy to figure out.

Newman,Atkins,Adamson

12th - Shepparton

Strengths:
Still boast some very good footballers in Obrien,Mellington,Harrop and of Byers so the core is still strong. Mellinton will always provide a target and be hard to match up on and Byers is argubley the best mid in the league so if the core was to stay fit then they are chance to win some games.

Weakness:
Lost to many and alot of the 2s have left after probably not being treated the best. Lang,Hickmont,Bovalino,Miller,Parker,Crawford all leave big holes in the starting 21. The depth has been shattered and some real grunt lost. Will be a very young team and with the youngsters its hard to tell how well they will go.

Players to make or break there season.
The obvious - Mellington,Obrien,Byers,Harrop

Well thats it, probably got a heap wrong but i gave ot a crack.

I agree with Cookie; Seymour - the reigning premier mind you - has only added a VFL senior footballer in Colbert and an 80-goal-a-year forward in Gordon to its list so they have no chance of going back to back.
Carna Maggies!!!!!!!!!!

fantastic work rowey with you preview and well done to cookie as well. what's the go mate?? - uni holidays or just not much on at the moment ha ha. also, surely rochy will make the 6!!

cookie33 said:
7th - Rochester
Weakness:
Mccarty wont be there all season and the loss of Knight i would think is quite siginifacant. Connaughton was a very good player who has also taken off. I find it hard to see how Rochy are gonna be able to cover the losses but under Dirty you just never know. As Brad said the club focussed on playing youth and building for the future and perhaps the natural progression of the youngsters will carry them through, i however think that maybe 2006 is a year to soon for them.

Aitken,Bowen,Schmidt,Brennan
would like to get people's opinions on connaughton - would ya call him a 'very good player'?? in the games I saw him play last year (which was only 5 or so) he didn't impress me that much. I wouldn't of thought the tigs would miss him that much although one thing he probably does do is take a good forward.

jmain14 said:
fantastic work rowey with you preview and well done to cookie as well. what's the go mate?? - uni holidays or just not much on at the moment ha ha. also, surely rochy will make the 6!!

G'day mate, long time no chat.

Uni started a few weeks ago, but it's hard to get motivated and I'd rather talk crap on here. How's London going? Have you been wetting a line in the Thames?

In regards to Connaughton, I tend to agree. I didn't think he performed too well and he wasn't in the top 10 in the B & F (I think). The other two Bendigo recruits certainly out performed him. I'm sure he would still have nightmares from when Saad destroyed him in the 2nd quarter of the final.

However, he isn't a dud and his loss will mean Rochy have to put someone else - probably a lesser player - in his place.

Take it easy.

Good work cookie, some really good stuff in there that I forgot about.

I have a similar feeling about Benalla. I think they are clearly in the top 3 teams and can give it a real shake.

No Heart said:
Dougles played well as did hooper and okeefe across halfback, no Carmichael and whitnall did not play , must of been two of the six that the president was talking about .??????

Did Matty Pascoe play for Bundy?

cookie33 said:
Seymour - Weakness:
Im just a bit worried that while most other GV teams have recruited fairly heavily, Seymour seem to be going into 2006 with an almost identical list as 2005. And why should they change anything? truth be told is that its rare for clubs to go back to back and perhaps with little to no change (Colbert will add very little) they could be found out before seasons end. In saying that Seymour are likely to blow everyone away and do the impossible and hold the cup high again come September. I am by no means writing them off at all.

Anderson,Saad,Schottner,Douglas,Haberman

Not a bad write up cookie - surprised to see you write that Seymour will go in relatively un-changed and that you think Colbert will add little! Not sure if you've seen much of him, but the guy is a gun - will have one of the biggest motors in the comp, silky skills and is also reasonably big for a mid-fielder/flanker. Add the arrival of Gordon (who you did mention) and the comeback of Ben Bailey and all of a sudden the lions look even more potent, though still well balanced..

Bailey is a top ruckman and will give Schottner the chance to go forward or back, Colbert can be rotated through the mid-field and forward line, which may help create a miss-match and Gordon takes a lot of focus away from Saad - sides will have trouble containing a forward line of Schottner (or Bailey), Gordon, Pilling, Saad and Colbert..esp with the delivery from their quality midfield.

Really looking forward to the Round 1 clash against Euroa - both sides look to be going in with no injury concerns, a bevy of gun players and a score to settle from last year's GF..

11th - Kyabram

Strengths:
Newman? i know very little but notice they have lost a few, i cant seem to firgure out who the hell they recruited. From memory Ky where usefull going forward and had some old timers taking care of things in the backline. Chris Atkins and Newman seem to be the 2 that will make them at all competetive for 2006.

Weakness:
Well Ky are probably the least talked about side in the GV so being someone not from up the hume its hard for me to comment. Ill say that they lack a KP defender and another premium midfielder to go with Chris Atkins. To much will rely on Newman and perhaps Ky will become to 1 dimensional and easy to figure out.

Newman,Atkins,Adamson

good write up. I havent seen the transfer list but Atkins has 100% left Kyabram. I cant remember where either oversees or back in Perth.
I think rowey also said in his right up Ian boyd playin. He also has left Ky and playin for shepp east I think. Another good defender Paul Burnett is currently out with a torn calf. I watched there practice match against Golden Squre. For Kys sake I hope they had a lot of players out. They were very young and lacked height all over the ground. I think they lost by about 40 points. Quinn a recruit from nathalia played well along with newman, and a young fella called jungle from rushy ( think was helpin out with numbers), can play though.

http://www.rivheraldechuca.net/story.asp?TakeNo=200603176456218

White on track for Bombers

By Adam Brayshaw
March 17 2006
Riverine Herald
Echuca Murray Bombers' preseason training and prospects for the Goulburn Valley Football League season received a major boost on Tuesday night with the first appearance on the track of key signing Stephen White.

White is a powerhouse full forward who was a premiership player at Sturt in the South Australian National Football League (SANFL) in 2002.

In 12 years with Sturt, White played around 165 senior games.
He comes to Echuca after a season with the Wagga Tigers in the Australian Capital Territory Australian Football League.

White said playing again with former Sturt teammate Xavier Campbell was one of the main reasons he decided to join the Murray Bombers.

"At the end of the day I wanted to enjoy my footy and I wanted to play with my mates," White said.

"Obviously I played with Xavier at Sturt and I know his parents very well. Brett Howman is coming to the club, as well."

Having recently turned 30, White said he has to look after his body better throughout the preseason.

"I just try and train a bit smarter. Try and peak for the season and not too early," he said.

Importantly, White's first impressions of the Murray Bombers have been good.
"It seems pretty good. There are a lot of good young blokes around the club."

Echuca will be further boosted in the coming weeks when Howman, also from Sturt, joins the club.

Howman, White and Campbell will live and train in Melbourne and travel for matches each Saturday.

not a bad effort cookie33 but tend to agree with T.Perry regarding seymour. i expect they will be stronger again this year, but so too will euroa, benalla and maroopna.

just looking at seymours side from last year they have lost steve shaw, matt collins and luke jackson (injured). all three played in the GF and i'm also assuming that rattray is staying.

as T.perry pointed out, the replacements are colbert (gun), gordon (very strong forward) and bailey, as well as jake anderson (from u/18's and bushies - also a quality player). the other bloke i should mention is amad as he did not take part in the GF. this means 3 blokes come out of their GF side and 5 blokes fighting for those spots.

bailey may be the key if he can he avoid injury. hes a quality tap ruckman and would allow schottner to push forward. otherwise schottner will again be forced to carry the full work load in that area.

viccountry5 said:
Has anyone heard how Young Gun Rhys Archard is going over in SA?

I suspect he would play a bit of senior footy over there, a very very good footballer.

cookie33 said:
8th - Shepp Utd

Strengths:
Well they get back a host of players who missed last season with injury and the form Forys was really pleasing for the club. They have also picked up highly rated Tyson Sidebottom. They have a good strong core of players and i think i also read that Nathan Bovlino has crossed from Bears?? might be wrong but he will also be a handy pick up.

Weakness:
Utd probably lack a host of bigs who can take a game by the scruff of the neck. Doubt they have the ruck stocks to compete with the Porters,Janzs,Kirbys of the league and that could leave them behind the 8 ball. Also the loss of Shane Sali is a big one.

Sidebottom,Forys,Bovalino, Hazlemans

Good write up, Jake Cowman is very under rated as a ruckman, but apart from him we have very little in the ruck department.
Thanks for the mention in the players to make or break, my cousin Tyson should go well too.;)
Will be good this year having 6 or 7 players we can throw into the midfield, probably still lacking a tall.
Bova played well on the weekend against Mulwala and looks the goods.
I spose we are one of the many teams who will finish 4-9.