Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

GeeVee said:
assume thats downey from tatura? was talking to a mate at work today said him and the club had a falling out. wiill find out exaclty on the weekend if his lining up nor not.

Dont think Tatura can afford "falling outs" with anyone can they? Mr. Downey will be cleared back in time for Saturdays match against Seymour :thumbsu:

Samtrish said:
GV Website has him cleared back from Westmeadows today would assume he playing on the weekend then

Sorry Samtrish :eek:

numba4 said:
Norman played against Mansfield but wasnt named in the paper

Ah right, I didn't go, cause I hate going to Mansfield. Lovely town, nice pubs, but a p*ick of a footy ground.

Zazu99 said:
well said lollies, people get on here and bagg the :D:D:D:D out of players, when in actual fact they didn't even see that person play. i was at the carnival on the weekend and i too think he acyually held his own out on the field, with the limited time he did get. and knowing marc im sure he was 100% commited to the side and the gv jumper he was wearing..

He's still the softest player in the league.

can anyone tell me how old this lanyon is from tat. saw him a few times last week training for the interleague under 18s. thought he'd been playing ones for 3-4 years now. if he played, howd he go?

Flat Track Bully said:
1/ I don't believe I abused Marc at all...I know him well enough that even he would admit there are better ruckman in the competition than him. I reckon he would have been about 10th choice if not for the others.

2/ Brennan was injured, carrying a hamstring.

3/ The format is heck e d anyway. The last real country championship was played in 2003. As I've said before, it's Micky Mouse...a cop out from the VCFL and those who agreed to it.
no-one would ever concede that someone is better than them. you'd say that they can play but if you think that they are a better player, you are mentally beaten.
say in boxing. Green would never say mundine is better. (cant wait for that tomorow night)
On any givin day anyone can beat anyone.

i do have doubts about the format but how can you expect clubs to loose there best players (who are most likely being paid by their club) in season. What if a club has 3-4 blokes represented.

Man, this thread needs a kick in the ass. It's nearly fallen off the first page. Some absolutely cracking games this week.

This weeks fixture:

Round Five – May 20

Euroa V Shepp Swans
- Second versus third. Shepp Swans have probably surpassed everyone's expectations at the moment, whilst Euroa are just cruising along. However, they do have some injury concerns but will be too good at home. Euroa by 2 goals.

Echuca V Mansfield
- Another good game with two potential finalists battling an important game. So far this year, Echuca got flogged by Shepp Swans and Mansfield got beaten by Kyabram which were unexpected results. Echuca by 20 points.

Mooroopna V Benalla
- Mooroopna have been good this year until last game's loss to Mansfield. Benalla have picked up well, but also have injury concerns with Porter and Symes out. This tips the game in Mooroopna's favour and they will win by 15 points.

Shepparton V Kyabram
- Both teams have one win for the year. A real toss of the coin. Shepparton at Deakin by 2 goals.

Rochester V Shepp United
- United would be disappointed with their start to the season, while Rochester has been soundly beaten 3 times. United have played well at Rochy in the past, but the home side will prevail by 3 goals.

Tatura V Seymour
- An improving Tatura will be no match for Seymour who will win by 50+

Ladder:

Seymour 4 4 0 0 0 0 495 411 120.44% 16
Shepparton Swans 4 3 1 0 0 0 439 275 159.64% 12
Euroa 4 3 1 0 0 0 564 372 151.61% 12
Echuca 4 3 1 0 0 0 395 332 118.98% 12
Mooroopna 4 3 1 0 0 0 352 348 101.15% 12
Benalla 4 2 2 0 0 0 355 329 107.90% 8
==============================
Mansfield 4 2 2 0 0 0 349 351 99.43% 8
Shepparton United 4 1 3 0 0 0 381 397 95.97% 4
Kyabram 4 1 3 0 0 0 366 433 84.53% 4
Shepparton 4 1 3 0 0 0 327 426 76.76% 4
Rochester 4 1 3 0 0 0 381 513 74.27% 4
Tatura 4 0 4 0 0 0 278 495 56.16% 0

Get into it boys!

Round Five – May 20

Euroa V Shepp Swans
This will be a TOP game. If you can get to Euroa, do it. I'll go with Euroa out there but not by much.

Echuca V Mansfield
Echuca dont lose many at home. Cant see them losing this. Echuca by about 4 goals.

Mooroopna V Benalla
Knew Symes was out, didn't know about Porter, though. As a Cats fan, I've gotta back my boyz here. Mooroopna by about 3 goals.

Shepparton V Kyabram
I'll go with bradlowe32 on this. Da Bezz by 20.

Rochester V Shepp United
United have two of their better defenders in Schirmer and Koullas out. I'll go with the Tiges at home just.

Tatura V Seymour
bradlowe32 may have been feeling generous. Cant see the Dogs getting inside 12 goals. Seymour for mine.

Euroa too good for the Swans by about 5 goals. I know the pies have some injury concerns but until the improved Swannies have proven themselves against top quality opposition i'm reluctant to tip them. Sutherland will dominate the ruck contests, but Euroa onballers will compensate by mopping up his tap outs.

Echuca to draw with the Eagles. You might call this sitting on the fence but it would be great to be the first bloke on this thread to tip a draw, and this will be a close match so it's not out of the question.

Mooroopna too strong for Benalla by 3 goals. Can't believe Nozzer didnt know Porter was injured. Have you just got back from overseas or something?

Ky to beat the Bears. They proved against Seymour that they can take it right up to the good sides for most of the game.

United to beat Rochy. Would love to see Rochy win this one, but if United are expecting to improve this year they need to win games like this one.

Seymour to beat Tat. Anythings possible in footy these days, but something drastic would have to happen to the lions before Tat could cause an upset.

Knew he was hurt, but thought he was playing still. I haven't kept much of an eye on Benalla, tell the truth.

No Heart said:
Euroa too good for the Swans by about 5 goals. I know the pies have some injury concerns but until the improved Swannies have proven themselves against top quality opposition i'm reluctant to tip them. Sutherland will dominate the ruck contests, but Euroa onballers will compensate by mopping up his tap outs.
Can guarantee you mate that sutherland will not be dominant in the Ruck but that is your opinion! Depth is the key to Euroa and we will be able to cover the loses at the moment but would appreciate not too many more injuries!!! Cant wait to get all the boys back on the field!!!

Robbie Douglas is back for seymour this week. Tutura might not score a goal now

is Joe Amad playing a full game for seymour this week or is he going to stop at half time and have a pastie and coffee and watch the rest of the match like he did against Kyabram

thereoffandracing said:
As having played against the Harrop this year, he played very well against us and by all reports has been pretty consistent during the the other 3 weeks of the season so far. He obviously deserved his spot otherwise they would not have choosen him in the squad, so he must have been doing something right?? maybe you should have a go at the coaching staff of the Golburn Valley for picking him, if you think he is that bad of a ruckmam

I think your name should be they'reoffandracing (or alternatively theyareoffandracing). Being in the race calling industry it is the little things that make us so professional....

Just a little personal pride goes a long way.

Johnny Tapp said:
I think your name should be they'reoffandracing (or alternatively theyareoffandracing). Being in the race calling industry it is the little things that make us so professional....

Just a little personal pride goes a long way.

Sorry Johnny, i should have known better than not to respect the fact that you once were the best race caller in the business.

2.10pm Race 7 - GVFL Stakes Premiership Cup

1 - Seymour....................Steve Daniel.........................$2.40
2 - Euroa........................David Gleeson.......................$2.20
3 - Mansfield...................Peter Tossol.........................$28.00
4 - Benalla......................Jason MacFarlane..................$8.00
5 - Shepparton................Anthony Mellington................$36.00
6 - Rochester..................David Williams.......................$36.00
7 - Kyabram....................Mark Adamson......................$36.00
8 - Mooroopna.................Derek Hall............................$15.00
9 - Echuca......................Dylan Butler.........................$10.00
10 - Shepp Swans............Jarrod Sutherland..................$9.00
11 - Shepp United............Steve Hazleman....................$7.00
12 - Tatura.....................Travis Ryan..........................51.00
13 - Tongala....................Late Scratching...........................

There are the horses Johnny, give us a race call on how you think they will come home in the GVFL Steaks for 2006

I'll have a tenner on the Cats at 15's. Nice value bet there.

United at 7's? Bit short... Benalla at 8's as well...

thereoffandracing said:
Sorry Johnny, i should have known better than not to respect the fact that you once were the best race caller in the business.

2.10pm Race 7 - GVFL Stakes Premiership Cup

1 - Seymour....................Steve Daniel.........................$2.40
2 - Euroa........................David Gleeson.......................$2.20
3 - Mansfield...................Peter Tossol.........................$28.00
4 - Benalla......................Jason MacFarlane..................$8.00
5 - Shepparton................Anthony Mellington................$36.00
6 - Rochester..................David Williams.......................$36.00
7 - Kyabram....................Mark Adamson......................$36.00
8 - Mooroopna.................Derek Hall............................$15.00
9 - Echuca......................Dylan Butler.........................$10.00
10 - Shepp Swans............Jarrod Sutherland..................$9.00
11 - Shepp United............Steve Hazleman....................$7.00
12 - Tatura.....................Travis Ryan..........................51.00
13 - Tongala....................Late Scratching...........................

There are the horses Johnny, give us a race call on how you think they will come home in the GVFL Steaks for 2006
I'll go Benalla & Euroa each way! Benalla at full strength will be very dangerous. Euroa would be hungry after last year's loss. Seymour wont make it! They are just not playing that well - I sense a bit of a premiership hangover and arrogance. So unless they pull their fingers out of their arses they will get knocked out in straight sets come finals time. I know theres still a long way to go though - Sydney turned it on last weekend. Maybe they can too.

Also read somewhere that Clarke from Euroa has a broken arm/hand? Adamson (Ky) and Hooper (sey) have suspected broken hands. Can anyone confirm the extent of the injuries/time on sidelines etc?

Chance said:
I'll go Benalla & Euroa each way! Benalla at full strength will be very dangerous. Euroa would be hungry after last year's loss. Seymour wont make it! They are just not playing that well - I sense a bit of a premiership hangover and arrogance. So unless they pull their fingers out of their arses they will get knocked out in straight sets come finals time. I know theres still a long way to go though - Sydney turned it on last weekend. Maybe they can too.

Also read somewhere that Clarke from Euroa has a broken arm/hand? Adamson (Ky) and Hooper (sey) have suspected broken hands. Cananyone confirm the extent of the injuries/time on sidelines etc?

Mate how can you say that Seymour is not playing well when they have won 4 on the trot, 2 of those against quailty sides in Euroa & Benalla, and without there side at full strength.

OK boys

Just want to know who would be leading the morrison medal after 4 rounds.

I know its early, but is there anyone that has played great in all of their games.

the eye said:
Mate how can you say that Seymour is not playing well when they have won 4 on the trot, 2 of those against quailty sides in Euroa & Benalla, and without there side at full strength.

Does seem that Euroa, Seymour and Benalla all have injury concerns at the moment and cant get their best 21 on the field at once.

Hopefully their are no injuries during finals and we see some great football action.

That may be true, but Euroa and Seymour are still winning. Winning form's good form.

Big game for Benalla this week at the Cattery, though.

HawkeEye said:
OK boys

Just want to know who would be leading the morrison medal after 4 rounds.

I know its early, but is there anyone that has played great in all of their games.

Rowan Priest of Benalla would have polled well in the first 3 weeks, apparently he was a little quite against the bears, he would be leading at the end of round 4 for mine

what GV grounds in the best condition at the moment do you think fellas? best playing surface?