• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Duff Man said:
Great to see the comp so close this year, and with 10 games remaning this is how i see it.

Seymour - Last years premiers have started well, won 7 lost 1 . Been able to cover injuries a lot better than other clubs, expect them to finish 1st or 2nd on the ladder 14 or 15 wins will get them there. When it gets to the buisness end im expecting them to be the team to beat?

Shepparton Swans - Big improvers and have earnt respect, at 6 and 2 what a great start to the year . I expect them to finish in the top 3, the only thing thats a concern for the swans is the coach, rumours are spreading that he has no idea.Will win 13 or 14 games.

Mooroopna - Could this be the year of the cat , at 6 and 2 and coming of a huge win over seymour , they have to be a show.Very important to finish in the top 3, must win 8 of the last 10 to do it, that would give them 14 and 4 and a big tilt at the flag.Go Cats

Benalla - At 5 and 3 and sitting 4th jock would be happy. Depth has been tested and they have hung in there with no Symes or Porter, will have to win 8-9 of the last 10 to finish in the top 3. Everyone up and going they can do it.

Mansfield - Lost a heap of players pre-season , but that has not stopped Mr Tossell and his boys from dropping of the pace, at 5 and 3 they only have to win 6-7 games of the last 10 and they will see finals action.

Shepparton United - At 4 and 4 and coming of a great win against shepp swans anythings possible,they keep flirting with there talent. Will be won of the teams that i think will drop out of the six to let Euroa in,will need to win 8 in the run home to play finals

Echuca - At 4 and 4 and hanging in there need a big run home to play finals, and with big games in the last two rounds against Mooroopna and Benalla i carnt see them having finals action, would have to win 8 out of the 10.

Euroa - Not the ideal start to the year, sitting 8th on the ladder with 4 wins and 4 losses, the magpies have work to do.I expect them to come back hard once they get players back and will make the 6, but a top 3 now seems out of reach . They would have to win all remaining games to achieve this, but if anyone can the maggies can.

Shepparton - The kids have been great and at 4 and 4 and a game out of the 6 Mel would be happy. Crunch time this week have to beat Euroa , and i carnt see it, no finals action for shepp.

Rochester - A team that never gives up and plays for the jumper week in week out, will miss the september action this year. 2 wins 6 losses

Kyabram - 1 and 7 Has been a bad start to the year, with in house rumblings things have gone of track

Tatura - 0 wins and 8 lossess just been on the wrong side of a win 5 times

Nine wins got you in the top six last year. But judging by this you reckon 12 will sneak you in. It's a tough year isn't it. Great for the GV.

carl lewis said:
no Craig 'Black Fang' Lummas........Big suprise

Think he's playing in their club 18's team, as work comittments limit his training...

my tips for this weekend are...

Euroa by 4 goals over Shepp

Mooroopna in a close one against Echuca

Rochester easily over Kyabram

Benalla too good for Tat

United in a close one against Mansfield

Swans by 5 goals over Seymour

Ky seem to have some big names out of their team which I read in the Shep News. No Adamson, Newman or McCormack. How will they go against Rochy at home without these boys.

The DV thread's talking about Saul Caddy leaving North Heidelberg. Saul would be very well known to the Melbourne-based Seymour/Euroa players.

He's a big, intimidating key forward who can really play. Would be a risk though.

Does anyone reckon any GV clubs would be interested?

Mansfield, for example, lost Mensch last year - he would be a handy replacement which might give them a chance to push into the top three.

journeyman said:
The DV thread's talking about Saul Caddy leaving North Heidelberg. Saul would be very well known to the Melbourne-based Seymour/Euroa players.

He's a big, intimidating key forward who can really play. Would be a risk though.

Does anyone reckon any GV clubs would be interested?

Mansfield, for example, lost Mensch last year - he would be a handy replacement which might give them a chance to push into the top three.

Get me his number journeyman - we'll try and get him to Rushy! Would decimate the KDL..

Seriously, a very, very good player, prob not that far behind Mensch, actually...If I were involved with a GV club I'd strongly encourage them to give him a call..I still don't know whether he'll leave north, though, he seems to do this every season or 2..Why do you think he'd be a risk?? Loves to party, sure, but his on-field performances have surely outweighed his off-field indiscretions over his career..and he had an awesome year for Yarrawonga when he went up there..

T.Perry said:
Get me his number journeyman - we'll try and get him to Rushy! Would decimate the KDL..

Seriously, a very, very good player, prob not that far behind Mensch, actually...If I were involved with a GV club I'd strongly encourage them to give him a call..I still don't know whether he'll leave north, though, he seems to do this every season or 2..Why do you think he'd be a risk?? Loves to party, sure, but his on-field performances have surely outweighed his off-field indiscretions over his career..and he had an awesome year for Yarrawonga when he went up there..

Agree Saul is a very good player but he barely fired a shot when he played with Yarrawonga. Maybe had 3 or 4 good games. I was speaking to a person involved at Heidelberg and apparently he was set to go their but a few players said that they would walk if he came to the club so not sure where he will end up! Would be a handy acquisition for any side.

half time lollies said:
Agree Saul is a very good player but he barely fired a shot when he played with Yarrawonga. Maybe had 3 or 4 good games. I was speaking to a person involved at Heidelberg and apparently he was set to go their but a few players said that they would walk if he came to the club so not sure where he will end up! Would be a handy acquisition for any side.

Hardly fired a shot is a bit harsh. he finished third in B&F after missing 5-6 games. He started year really well but got injured through the year. There's no doubt he would be a gun in GV league

half time lollies said:
Rumour has it that Marty McGrath is already on the move from Tat. Believe he is heading to Mt. Evelyn in the Yarra Valley league. Tige you might be able to shed some more light on this?
heard the same thing earlier in the week. cant blame him hed be just jumping off a sinking ship they probably wont win a game all year.

No Heart said:
Totally agree numba4, Seymour where at full strength and with these players out for Mooroopna they should win the big one?

Well really they should and they could its just a matter of them gaining their feet as over the last 3 years alot of new players have come and other players have gone....certainly have the team to do so, possibly the best team on paper in the gvfl but footy isnt played on paper so they have to take it on the field

head67 said:
Nearly 20 years since i have played or watched a game of GV but gentlemen if you think the standard of umpiring is not good in country Vic, come and have a look at what we put up with in southern NSW. The First thing that you notice is how bad the umps can be. In the two's up here we have a volunteer from each club do it. And it's usualy a past player from each club who knows a little about the game not some poor bastard who has taken it up for a bit of fittness. Believe it or not i think it works.

20 years and you still have the same hair cut numnuts. Just because Dipper still has a mullet, doesnt mean you have to ya jackass... :eek: :thumbsdown:

JimCarter said:
20 years and you still have the same hair cut numnuts. Just because Dipper still has a mullet, doesnt mean you have to ya jackass... :eek: :thumbsdown:
Ta Jim you tosser love to know your real name. The mullet went 19 years ago. But think i might grow it back just to come home and see you!;)

half time lollies said:
Rumour has it that Marty McGrath is already on the move from Tat. Believe he is heading to Mt. Evelyn in the Yarra Valley league. Tige you might be able to shed some more light on this?

Listed in the transfers.

16/6/2006 124547 MCGRATH, Martin Tatura 2006 > Player Yarra Valley Mountain District FL > Mount Evelyn Approved

Marty has gone, nothing to do with footy. Was purely a family based decision, all the best to him.

Weve been a bit stiff not to have had a few wins, im sure after the general bye we will suprise a few clubs and notch a win or 2. Anyone who has seen us play would know weve been in just about every game bar probably 2, very stiff against Mansfield and we also had Rochyl. Well see how we go anyway.

cheers

Geez boys, we're slipping. This thread was on page two.

Some interesting results yesterday:

Euroa 22.11.143 defeated Shepparton 16.14.110
Mooroopna 14.15.99 defeated Echuca 11.12.78
Rochester 23.12.150 defeated Kyabram 15.10.110

Echuca might be in a bit of trouble. After winning there first 3 games, they have lost 5 out of 6.

just wondering what people thought of the benalla juniors who have played seniors over the last month or two, tommy rockcliff, will martinello, sam harris, jim saker and phil aumann? will and tommy look exceptionally good for u/16 players and hope vic country and aussie selectors notice them this year, phil is obviously working hard for his spot when u have two ex-afl listed players infront of you and still getting a game, jim and sam have also been in the bushy and both been in their best over the last couple of weeks.. how does this compare to other teams? isv there many other teams with such talented juniors? how many gv juniors will get drafted in the nxt few years..?

Anyone get to the Euroa Vs Shepp Bears game on Saturday?

Heard from a mate that the umpiring was absolutely disgraceful, with 50 metre penalties being dished out more often than franga's coming out of a vending machine at a sex addicts convention. Believe the 2 umpires also had the job in the Seymour Vs Mooroopna game the week before.

FOOTYBOSS might be able to fill us in a bit more on his thoughts of the standard of umpiring at the weekend.

head67 said:
Ta Jim you tosser love to know your real name. The mullet went 19 years ago. But think i might grow it back just to come home and see you!;)

My name is Jim Carter, I used to be the town cryer a few years back... So if its not a mullet stuck to the back of that huge scon of yours, what exactly do you call it? :rolleyes:

The Cat said:
Anyone get to the Euroa Vs Shepp Bears game on Saturday?

Heard from a mate that the umpiring was absolutely disgraceful, with 50 metre penalties being dished out more often than franga's coming out of a vending machine at a sex addicts convention. Believe the 2 umpires also had the job in the Seymour Vs Mooroopna game the week before.

FOOTYBOSS might be able to fill us in a bit more on his thoughts of the standard of umpiring at the weekend.
DISGRACEFUL is only one way to sum up the umpires on the weekend. In total there were 15 x 50m penalties given for the game. Players looked twice at an umpire and the 50m was given. The bears cant complain to much about the free kicks as they won them 24-22. Even though is 13-0 in our favour at quarter time. But when you have your coach calling the umpire such and such all day what do you expect. Wasnt very good leadership by Mellington.

As for the King who got injured for shep, Their captain I think. Another bad injury at a Euroa game. I think he may have broken his leg badly which isnt to good and wish him all the best in his recovery.

FOOTYBOSS said:
DISGRACEFUL is only one way to sum up the umpires on the weekend. In total there were 15 x 50m penalties given for the game. Players looked twice at an umpire and the 50m was given. The bears cant complain to much about the free kicks as they won them 24-22. Even though is 13-0 in our favour at quarter time. But when you have your coach calling the umpire such and such all day what do you expect. Wasnt very good leadership by Mellington.

As for the King who got injured for shep, Their captain I think. Another bad injury at a Euroa game. I think he may have broken his leg badly which isnt to good and wish him all the best in his recovery.

Article from today's Shepp News. They were obviously bad but it's not going to help recruit umpires, which there are a great shortage of.

I think John Maher is the father of Albury gun onballer Daniel Maher, formerly of Benalla. Not 100% though

It has emerged Shepparton considered boycotting Saturday's Goulburn Valley Football League clash against Euroa, after a string of contentious free kicks and 50 m penalties left the Bears hierarchy publicly seething.
In an explosive post game interview with News journalist Christie Peucker, Bears assistant coach Brendan Bicknell confirmed the club had toyed with the idea of staging a mid-match walkoff in protest over the alleged substandard umpiring.
"The umpires spoilt the game," Bicknell said.
"It's fairly easy to say they were disgraceful.
"It (a walk-off) is certainly something we did consider."
While the drastic measure was never realised, Shepparton is intent on making its frustrations known.
Club president Gary Holland yesterday said the Bears would pen a letter of complaint to the league concerning the issue, but denied suggestions the outcry was simply sour grapes.
Shepparton lost the match, played at Euroa's Memorial Oval, by 33 points.
"The standard of umpiring was not up to GVFL level," Holland said.
"This is not about pointing the finger at anyone. It's about making sure the standard of umpiring is comparable to the level of football being played in the GVFL.
"Our stats show Euroa was awarded 13 free kicks to our none in the first quarter, and a lot of those were game-changing decisions."
Euroa coach David Gleeson last night refused to be drawn on the issue, other than to say by the Magpies' count, the free kick tally ended marginally in their favour, 24-22.
The clash was presided over by experienced central umpires Gary Hughes and John Maher.
When broached about the criticism, Hughes hit back by saying the level of abuse both umpires received throughout the match was nothing short of despicable.
"I'd have to go back quite a few years to recall copping abuse like that," Hughes said.
"As I was walking off the ground, people in the crowd called me a copper maggot and told me I was s**t.
"No-one deserves to be talked to like that and I actually thought driving home `I don't need this.' "
Hughes denied claims the umpiring was sub-standard.
"You can debate every free kick, every decision. I thought we'd done a decent job in what was a very tough game to umpire," he said.

FOOTYBOSS said:

Umpiring was terrible, Maher (unkle of Tim and Marcus) was at his usual erratic best. Thought the other guy wasnt too bad though. At one stage maher awarded a 50m penalty against Mark clayton for following his man through the mark when he was only a step behind him. When everyone had a go he told them to go learn the rules!! He gave away lots of 50's for players mouthing off at him, which happens everytime he umpires. We've found that out the hard way a number of times over the years...

Second week in a row pretty much the same injury. What are the odds?! Kingy was stiff, must have landed awkwardly when he came down from the contest with Grainger. It looked very nasty..

Good chance GVFL will see another ex-AFL player cleared to our league before the 30th June cut off - Marc Bullen.

Have heard Port Adelaide have already agreed to clear him as he has sighted family reasons (his father is ill i believe), and he wants to play with a shepparton based club.

Duff Man said:
Good chance GVFL will see another ex-AFL player cleared to our league before the 30th June cut off - Marc Bullen.

Have heard Port Adelaide have already agreed to clear him as he has sighted family reasons (his father is ill i believe), and he wants to play with a shepparton based club.

News is that Congupna think they have the inside running on him. They would be licking their lips if it eventuated.

They could get out trumpted though in the race to lure him. Watch this space.

I Believe Marc is looking at either Mooroopna, Shepp United or Tatura, also been told that he is chasing the money of the clubs and i dont think congupna could keep up with the money race with the gvfl clubs.

United throwing $1000 a game at him
Tat at $700
Not sure on Mooroopna

numba4 said:
I Believe Marc is looking at either Mooroopna, Shepp United or Tatura, also been told that he is chasing the money of the clubs and i dont think congupna could keep up with the money race with the gvfl clubs.

United throwing $1000 a game at him
Tat at $700
Not sure on Mooroopna

you would think Tatura would have an extra bit of coin to throw around with McGrath leaving however i would not understand Bullen going there knowing the side is not going to be overly successful. I would have thought the cats and Demons would be the favourites.