Official Team vs Collingwood

I think Watt has proven himself but what i'm concerned about is how Corey Jones after getting 28 disposals and 2 goals in the VFL when half our forward line can't get a kick.

Very very powerful forward line Collingwood has!!! Didak out, Anthony an honest forward still learning, Rocca's fat and unfit, Jesus perfect time for him to play this year.

I am with you that Rocca is a fat useless so ' n' so , but i think you are selling Anthony a bit short mate , if he is not watched closely he could become the main danger friday night . He is a beautiful kick for goal and is very willing to get it either in the air or on the deck when the game is hot . I would play Gibbo on him and hope he can out muscle him in the contest

****ng hell, the Watt selection isn't that bad is it?!
Our key tall went down, Watt is a back-up, if Hansen wasn't injured he wouldn't get a game. Isn't Watt more of a similar player to Hansen than Grima is. Isn't Grima a straight line defender. How many have actually seen Grima play?

As for Power. I don't know what it is going to take until someone realises how putrid he is. Rocky, Crocker, Bewick?? Someone!

I guess that a hamstring concern followed by a 9 possession game where he had no influence has cost Ross, and we are out of midfield options after that with only Adams really available.

Good to see Harro back. Hope he is fired up. A blistering Harro game can change a result.

I'm far from Watt's biggest fan, however that's not a massive issue for me here. I'm assuming they're trying to at least be attacking and retain Petrie forward which is admirable. I'm also wrapped that Harris is getting another chance - he's earnt that much at least.

I'm hopeful those emergencies are an more than simply for show.

Thomas does not deserve a game.
Power does not deserve a game.
There are probably a couple of more that I would consider lucky - those two I consider blatantly ridiculous. One things for sure, if they play as well as last week they'll bring real honour to our favourite clash jumper :thumbsu:

Our key tall went down, Watt is a back-up, if Hansen wasn't injured he wouldn't get a game. Isn't Watt more of a similar player to Hansen than Grima is. Isn't Grima a straight line defender. How many have actually seen Grima play?

As for Power. I don't know what it is going to take until someone realises how putrid he is. Rocky, Crocker, Bewick?? Someone!

I guess that a hamstring concern followed by a 9 possession game where he had no influence has cost Ross, and we are out of midfield options after that with only Adams really available.

Good to see Harro back. Hope he is fired up. A blistering Harro game can change a result.

Yeah , we will see where Harro is at this week and how much he wants an AFL career . Expect a biggie from him !

Wow, what typical responses to the changes.

I love seeing kids getting a go, but why play Ross when he didnt play very well in the VFL last week? Reward him for being young? think about it.

Watt couldnt do any worse than Hunter has been doing.

Problem is that before this week Ross had two games with 28 possies + yet he still can't make the cut. What freaking more do you want? He has the pace, agility, skills and spark!!

I'm hopeful those emergencies are an more than simply for show.

Thomas does not deserve a game.
Power does not deserve a game.
There are probably a couple of more that I would consider lucky - those two I consider blatantly ridiculous. One things for sure, if they play as well as last week they'll bring real honour to our favourite clash jumper :thumbsu:

I agree, but the reality is these players are available for selection (not including rookies who are obviously not ready):

Adams
Ross
Goldstein
Smith
Wundke
Jones
Grima

Of those players, these have not had some form of injury cloud in the last 3 weeks or are not coming off a knee reconstruction

Goldstein
Smith
Wundke
Jones

I reckon we could have played Adams for Thomas, or pushed Warren into the midfield for Power and brought in Jones, or given Grima a crack, but given the circumstances there is nothing clear cut here.

All would be fairly big risks, and we already have 11 guys with under 50 games experience in the 22.

It's terrible. He cant play and he has shown that over many years. What's the point of recruiting Grima if we aint gonna play him now?

I've seen him in a few games. Not many, but from what I've seen, he can attack and moves pretty well. He's athletic. Could easily play CHB IMO. You dont have to be a similar player, plus if anything, Grima has out-performed Watt at VFL from reports.

Watt is done and dusted.

Add Watt.

150 plus games, not once has he picked himself.

Let's Hope Grima, doesn't become another Big Footy Fav, like Perry and Moran, I'm sure there are more, all "superstar's" until they had played at AFL level.
I'll bite.

I actually don't have any issue with the Watt selection. Grima's not quite there yet, Obst was decent on the weekend but is Rookie listed.

But, perhaps people would like to see what Grima can do instead of another game of utter mediocrity at best from Watt?

What's wrong with that?

Wow, what typical responses to the changes.

I love seeing kids getting a go, but why play Ross when he didnt play very well in the VFL last week? Reward him for being young? think about it.

Watt couldnt do any worse than Hunter has been doing.

Watt changes? there were none.

Ross has been dominating for Werribee, you cant seriously look at the game on the weekend. It was tailor made for Harris but no one else really performed except Obst.

You said you love seeing the kids get a go but dont want to reward him for being young (a kid) well how about rewarding him for his efforts.

Fair enough, good luck to the boys. They havent got many chances left.

Not sure about Watt but Harro has put in pretty hard over the past few weeks, not sure if his results in the VFL show how much. He hasnt really dropped his head either (not this season anyway). He will have the steely eye thing going on tomorrow. Lets hope he hurts the pies. We all need to remember he isnt a total hack, his problem is his consistency so lets hope the extra motivation of being left out of the first 5 games spurs him on.

As for Watt, wouldnt have been my choice but I havent coached at any level, let alone been on any match committee so who am I to judge.

I reckon we will pump them (by at least 5 points).

NORTH MELBOURNE v COLLINGWOOD
B: Shannon Watt, Scott Thompson, Josh Gibson
HB: Daniel Pratt, Michael Firrito, Brady Rawlings
C: Gavin Urquhart, Daniel Harris, Lindsay Thomas
HF: Leigh Harding, Aaron Edwards, Scott McMahon
F: Ben Warren, Drew Petrie, David Hale
Foll: Hamish McIntosh, Jack Ziebell, Andrew Swallow
I/C: Ed Lower, Sam Power, Adam Simpson, Levi Greenwood
Emg: Ben Ross, Corey Jones, Todd Goldstein

In: Harris, Watt
Out: Brent Harvey (elbow), Lachie Hansen (hamstring)

a B: Heath Shaw, Simon Prestigiacomo, Nick Maxwell
HB: Harry O’Brien, Nathan Brown, Martin Clarke
C: Shane O’Bree, Tarkyn Lockyer, Dale Thomas
HF: Paul Medhurst, Travis Cloke, Brent Macaffer
F: John Anthony, Leigh Brown, Anthony Rocca
Foll: Josh Fraser, Dayne Beams, Scott Pendlebury
I/C: Leon Davis, Jaxson Barham, Dane Swan, Alan Toovey
Emg: Tyson Goldsack, Anthony Corrie, Sharrod Wellingham

In: Maxwell, Shaw
Out: Shannon Cox, Tyson Goldsack (omitted)

F@#$ me Watt a joke Laidley cannot be serious I am so pissed off at the moment words besides F@#% fail me I hope he lines up on Brown shoul be a clanger fest till the death. Thomas and power gee what a waste of time it will be yo watch this team butcher another game.

Makes sense bringing in Watt to play on Rocca if Petrie is staying up forward, also they could swap positions from back to forward if needed a more mobile forward line. Watt or Petrie on Rocca, Gibbo on Medhurst, Firrito on Cloke, Pratt or Watt on Anthony, Urqy or Levi or Lower on Dale Thomas. It would be a big ask getting Grima to play on Rocca first week, and if Levi stays in, experience is needed back there. I hope Ross comes in for Power though, no problem with Harris getting a game. Jones could be useful but he hasn't been exactly sharp, but neither has Hale. Should be interesting to see the matchups. I would've said Medhurst, Davis and Didak are the dangermen, but Didak is out apparently. Harding or Urqy on Davis? We'll need to tackle well like we did against the Bombers.

OK...Harris and Watt get another chance....there are probably 2 reasons why they got picked over ross and grima...they have performed in the magoos and they are senior players who can step straight back in and lead by example...they just need to do it against a full strength collingwood side on the big stage...we cant have any passengers tomorrow night...none

The truth may lay in the emergencies. ;)

Doubt it very much GK.

Nothing really shocking about the INs. I sort of expected Watt to be picked, even tho i wouldn't have gone down that road. Harris should have been given a game months ago but finally has a chance now, hope he makes something of it.

The one non-selection i'm disappointed with would be Ross. He should have come in for Thomas or Power IMO. Clearly Thomas isn't in the right frame of mind ATM so he's a huge liability for us. If he continues down that road this week then Laidley should be made to answer for it. Power just hasn't done anything since round 1.

Hey guys not trolling here. Is Watt as bad as you all say he is? i havent really seen much of him lately but he wasnt that bad not long ago.

we already have 11 guys with under 50 games experience in the 22.

I guarantee this will be mentioned in the aftermatch press conference.

Good luck to Harris, I really hope he does well.

That is a slow looking midfield isn't it? Young Jack may have to step up way before his time.

Sheesh, the outrage about selection is a bit over the top guys & gals:eek:

I would've thought it was logical with the amount of injuries we have that Laids would bring in some experience instead of bringing in more Rookies.

As someone said we already have 11 players with less then 50 games experience playing.

Harro deserved a crack and Watt is the logical replacement for Hansen at this stage of the year. (He's not great but can be serviceable!)

Sure it would be nice to bring in Ross and Grima, even Adams but its still early in the season and you can't expect to win with our VFL side.

I don't think we could afford to drop any players this weekend, but i'm sure LT and Power are on their final warning.

Of those left out Corey would be the only one feeling a bit hard done by after pulling his finger out last week.

It's not the INs that are the problem so much as the lack of OUTs. Still, at least you can't say Dean's tanking. :eek: Clearly picking a team to give us the best chance of a scrappy, hard fought win.

Official Team vs Collingwood