OKFL - PRE Season 2011

Having just caught up with all the Aker Circus, and it really is just that, a circus. It is all very disappointing but wholly expected. To think Milawa have paid for him to come and play. I would've expected Aker to at least try being an ambassador for AFL but all he has done is say that country footy is full of thugs! Interesting reading some of the comments of the Herald Sun article (online), particularly a Mr O&K from Whorouly.

In future lets hope that clubs who look into this type of thing actually look to hiring/buying ex-AFL players with decency (on & off-field) and a little credibility.

As to the other Easter match over the Valley way, heard it was a firey affair with a couple yellow cards in the last quarter. Anyone know more??

Did hear the the AFL have banned him from speaking at any AFL sanctioned events....So he may not be interested in being ambasssdorial ( if there is such a word)

Don't think I really need to add much to the Aker dribble. Everything that has needed to be said has already been said. For those that don't know, our clubs response to the pasting we have been copping is in today's Border Mail.

Excellent written letter from Tarrawingee - a credit to he club.

At the end of the day tarra could of stuffed milawas plans up by not turning up at all!! Would of been very funny and left milawa out of pocket and very red faced!!! Now by the looks of it cocky milawa have made heaps of money and will proberly try getting a few more players with the money that was made from the weekend.
Why not every team in the leauge, no how about the whole country give up every silver circle, wood raffle, meat tray etc, to try and pay every coach,player incentive award etc, to try and be the best they can be. Paying players is crap but thats the way it is now and with only one grand final catering in 14 years clubs have to look at doing things like this to keep surviving, it wasn't all that long ago there was a push to merge Tarra and Milawa. Good luck to any club who can make a buck out of anything.

How would Aker's HS column been if he had played against Chiltern or Beechworth in the 80's? He would probably have written it from the Wang Base. I have known Rory for years and he is definetely no 80's thug type.. :D

Agreed on both counts.

I see there was not a O&K comment on the matter. Not only has Spankamanis smashed Tarrawingee & Rory's credibility he has also done it to the league as I assume the perception is now that the O&K is a thug league.

Was interesting to see the highlights of the game on Off The Bench. Every clip showed Spankamanis throwing a jumper punch, elbow or a push after every possession........Pickers made comment on it too.

Agreed on both counts.

I see there was not a O&K comment on the matter. Not only has Spankamanis smashed Tarrawingee & Rory's credibility he has also done it to the league as I assume the perception is now that the O&K is a thug league.

Was interesting to see the highlights of the game on Off The Bench. Every clip showed Spankamanis throwing a jumper punch, elbow or a push after every possession........Pickers made comment on it too.

in today's border mail mate :thumbsu:

Just because I'm the sort of person who likes to poke things with a stick, I'll throw this question out there....

"How can prostituting yourself, ie charging for your services, be considered " giving back" to country footy?........

I, like a lot of others, would consider that giving back to footy is to VOLUNTEER your time/talents to benefit others and allow the them to learn, participate and develope in the game, like lots of others did for all of us (and even the likes of the "Circus Clown" ) over the years....

Would it be fair to say that those who hire these people are guilty of soliciting prostitution.....

Marvellous how money can change peoples perspective..:confused::confused:

Just because I'm the sort of person who likes to poke things with a stick, I'll throw this question out there....

"How can prostituting yourself, ie charging for your services, be considered " giving back" to country footy?........

I, like a lot of others, would consider that giving back to footy is to VOLUNTEER your time/talents to benefit others and allow the them to learn, participate and develope in the game, like lots of others did for all of us (and even the likes of the "Circus Clown" ) over the years....

Would it be fair to say that those who hire these people are guilty of soliciting prostitution.....

Marvellous how money can change peoples perspective..:confused::confused:
I personally agree slim, but I can understand it from Milawa's perspective too. Aker says that whatever he makes, the club he plays for will receive ten times more. Obviously Milawa have done very well out of it, so good on them for giving it a go.

It's good to see both Rory and the Tarra footy club have a lot of support on this forum :thumbsu:

I thought the whole debacle was coming to a close until the topic came up on The Footy Show last night. Was really disappointed in the panel saying that there are blokes out there trying to make a name for themselves by going out there to smash an ex AFL player. Those that know Rory will know how disappointed he is will the reporting of the match, and would also know that he would never try to smash someone just to get his name out there. Raz is a terrific leader of our club and has played a large role in getting the club to where it is today. He would never willfully act in a way on the field (or off it) that would produce a negative perspective on the club as a whole.

I didn't want to comment on it too much, but that segment on The Footy Show got me worked up a bit last night. Calmed down a little after seeing the coverage on Off The Bench that EB touched on.

It's good to see both Rory and the Tarra footy club have a lot of support on this forum :thumbsu:

I thought the whole debacle was coming to a close until the topic came up on The Footy Show last night. Was really disappointed in the panel saying that there are blokes out there trying to make a name for themselves by going out there to smash an ex AFL player. Those that know Rory will know how disappointed he is will the reporting of the match, and would also know that he would never try to smash someone just to get his name out there. Raz is a terrific leader of our club and has played a large role in getting the club to where it is today. He would never willfully act in a way on the field (or off it) that would produce a negative perspective on the club as a whole.

I didn't want to comment on it too much, but that segment on The Footy Show got me worked up a bit last night. Calmed down a little after seeing the coverage on Off The Bench that EB touched on.

:thumbsu: That's why I don't watch the footy show too often, one because of that knobhead Newman and secondly shits loads of gullible morons out there swallow everything they say.....

I personally agree slim, but I can understand it from Milawa's perspective too. Aker says that whatever he makes, the club he plays for will receive ten times more. Obviously Milawa have done very well out of it, so good on them for giving it a go.

I heard on the footy show last night the apparent amount made was 55 thousand dollars 30 thousand dollars profit not sure how true these figures are but if it is thats very handy amount..

Milawa expected to make around 30k from all of it, game, gate, sponsors, sportsman's night, catering etc. which i'm fairly sure they would have.

Aker would have got somewhere around 5-7 thousand for his appearance (purely educated guesswork on my behalf but very confident) all of which was covered by the club's sponsors (which they should be congratulated on doing)

Milawa expected to make around 30k from all of it, game, gate, sponsors, sportsman's night, catering etc. which i'm fairly sure they would have.

Aker would have got somewhere around 5-7 thousand for his appearance (purely educated guesswork on my behalf but very confident) all of which was covered by the club's sponsors (which they should be congratulated on doing)

Stan Alves said on the ABC last week Akers deal goes something like, $1500 upfront,non refundable and 50% of the gate takings over and above a normal home game gate...so for example if the normal weekly gate was $1000 and they took $10000, inc of $9000..... $4500 plus $1500 = $6000 to Aker. Dunno if that includes the sportsmans night tho.

The rumours from the club he is playing for in QLD is a fee of 10k.

For the balance of the round,

Doon over G/Bat but only by 9 gls
greta over bright but only by a ****teenth cos it's up at bright
Benalla over Nth Wang..We need a big win with no injuries to build for tarra next week
Whorouly over G/rowan 80pts
moyhu over swannie by about 100 pts

Benalla over Nth Wang..We need a big win with no injuries to build for tarra next week

Certainly got that slim, although I guess there'd be a question mark over Evo. Blacks were pretty impressive all round. They put Brush down for 8 - I thought it was 9, but he could have easily kicked 4-5 more. Gave a few off and missed a couple of easy ones. Although he kicked a few rippers as well. Fear was stiff not to get in the best six.

I tipped Bright to beat Greta:( Although I wanted to change it when I saw Ryan Kent wasn't playing. Probably wouldn't have got them the 15 extra goals they needed though...

Looks like Whorouly did it tough over Glenrowan.

And 12 goals may have to fight Scott Thomson to get his nickname back.

Certainly got that slim, although I guess there'd be a question mark over Evo. Blacks were pretty impressive all round. They put Brush down for 8 - I thought it was 9, but he could have easily kicked 4-5 more. Gave a few off and missed a couple of easy ones. Although he kicked a few rippers as well. Fear was stiff not to get in the best six.

I tipped Bright to beat Greta:( Although I wanted to change it when I saw Ryan Kent wasn't playing. Probably wouldn't have got them the 15 extra goals they needed though...

Looks like Whorouly did it tough over Glenrowan.

And 12 goals may have to fight Scott Thomson to get his nickname back.

Evo should be right, had a corkie on the hip so they left him off......It's a pity you can only name 6 best each week because there were certainly more who could have got in the best and Feary is getting better each week...

I thought Nth Wang were better than what the scoreboard showed as well. Certainly a tough and physical side. Lucky Aker wasn't playing, he would taken his ball and gone home.:D

Talking to a bloke in the pub last night who was at Glenrowan/Whor and reckoned Whorouly are too top heavy in their forward line and lacked a bit of run and carry..JB??