OKFL - PRE Season 2011

What about Moyhu, Tarra and King Valley (after last weekend)?

My love is very fickle EB - Greta would get plenty of it if they ever managed to win a game against a decent side!

I reckon king valley will beat Greta up there this weekend!! Greta are just making up the numbers in the 8! Few other great games this weekend about time we get to see some close ones.. Will also be interesting to see if the blacks can stay undefeated in Both grades to should be a cracker!!!

We're playing his beloved Milawa EB......

Any chance we'll see the great man back soon EB, he's been out for a while with that ankle injury....

He's hoping to start training again in the next week or 2. Getting back on the park will be difficult due to the good numbers Greta have and lack of fitness.

Whlist it's only a model/proposal, the document states that clubs can comment within 2 weeks of the meeting Mon night...... BUT...That is basically the way that it will stay...

Kids will no longer be aligned with their club but will become the "property" of the league and will represent an area, not a club/clubs...Different uniforms and names. So the Benalla based team will be given a name represnting the area.

More absolute dictatorship from the VCFL and the league.........Time to do away with the board, go back to delegates and get out of the N E Hub....
The Farrer league were playing their juniors on Sundays, could the O and K run a sunday junior comp with merged sides and therefore their kids could fill in for their own clubs on Saturdays? Sounds like one from the box but could have merit.:thumbsu:

Some thoughts on rd 14

Doon over Bright by 18 pts...if they play like they did last week will be more

Benalla over Milawa by 12 pts. Got about 6 missimg from last time but I reckon we can still do it...

Tatong over G/rowan by 18 pts. Magpies to brek their duck against existing O&K clubs

Tarra over Gbat by 95 pts... Bell and Chopper to dominate

Moyhu over Nth Wang by 75 pts....

K/Valley over Greta....20 pts...only coz it's up at Whitfield

Whorouly over Swannie by 120 pts....could be even more. Whor need a confidence booster at the mo.

Some thoughts on rd 14

Doon over Bright by 18 pts...if they play like they did last week will be more

Benalla over Milawa by 12 pts. Got about 6 missimg from last time but I reckon we can still do it...

Tatong over G/rowan by 18 pts. Magpies to brek their duck against existing O&K clubs

Tarra over Gbat by 95 pts... Bell and Chopper to dominate

Moyhu over Nth Wang by 75 pts....

K/Valley over Greta....20 pts...only coz it's up at Whitfield

Whorouly over Swannie by 120 pts....could be even more. Whor need a confidence booster at the mo.

dont know any other scores just yet but both our two's and one's had very nice wins up at whitfield against king valley. two's was one sided, with king valley only scoring one goal, and the ball not really coming down there more than 3 times for the game. hard for the valley when naming 21 on thursday, saying 16 this morning, and then having 15 on the ground...

seniors, without bell and craven, we did very well to hold the valley off, then run over the top of them in the second half. ended up being about 5 goals, king valleys accuracy let them down, kicking something like 12 points. Humpfries did well again as always.

should be good momentum with this win, going into swanpool next week, hopefully snowballs the form into a good knock off of tarra. :D

carn greta!

Bright beat the travelling bonny doon 86-79. not suprising with such a distance.

milawa steps up to knock off the undefeated benalla. 160-53. new grand final favourites?

tatong stop glenny at home, 106-59

tarra destroyed goorambat away, with a 211-39 thumping

moyhu nearly upset by north wang, 89-84

us boys knocked off king valley 105-82

whorally backs up getting beaten with a 224 point annihaltion of swanpool, 242-18

makes for an interesting run home to the finals! thoughts or comments on any games?

Think most people would have rated Miawa flag favourite already, but if they didn't, there's no doubt now.

Dees were very, very good today, but Blacks were very poor.

Lot of quality on the sidelines, but there was not enough effort from Benalla - Milawa smashed them in the middle.

Blacks started the game well, for about five minutes - ran and carried the ball, after that it was an avalanche.

Hard to spot a weakness at Milawa.

Think most people would have rated Miawa flag favourite already, but if they didn't, there's no doubt now.

Lot of quality on the sidelines, but there was not enough effort from Benalla - Milawa smashed them in the middle.

Blacks started the game well, for about five minutes - ran and carried the ball, after that it was an avalanche.

I don't think people actually realise the quality that is actually missing and as you seen today it hurts having quality blokes not playing due to injury!! The blokes missing are players that clubs go looking to recruit and would play seniors in any existing ovens and king sides!! Doons finals hopes are over now. north Wang took it to moyhu wouldn't of thought they woulda got within 5 or 6 goals.. Could be a dark horse??? Long day for the bats and swanpool flogged is not the word r*ped is more appropriate..... Tatong give glenrowan a good run out there to was also surprised on the score line should win a few more before the seasons over..

Fair call Nonch. Worst game we've played in 2 years.....

I don't think people actually realise the quality that is actually missing and as you seen today it hurts having quality blokes not playing due to injury!! The blokes missing are players that clubs go looking to recruit and would play seniors in any existing ovens and king sides!! Doons finals hopes are over now. north Wang took it to moyhu wouldn't of thought they woulda got within 5 or 6 goals.. Could be a dark horse??? Long day for the bats and swanpool flogged is not the word r*ped is more appropriate..... Tatong give glenrowan a good run out there to was also surprised on the score line should win a few more before the seasons over..
Huge call GO, some of your comments on this forum of late have been absolutely laughable, surely the biggest raping of the round was the previously undefeated Panthers being smashed by over a 100 points! Seriously champ think before you write, it wasn't that long ago that the All Blacks would have considered what happened to them on the weekend as a win. You can make all the excuses you want about injuries but I will tell you one thing, on our side of the warby ranges this week your team was the laughing stock not Swanpool!

Pretty fair call Pliz. I'm sure we'll be told some home truths this week and it may be a couple of long nights on the track...

Plizer to be honest I don't think any team will get close to milawa!! I think your forgetting that the blacks were previously undefeated so to lose 1 game may or may not be a wake up call!! Mate when your side has 7 or 8 blokes out against a side with a full list to choose from the odds are stacked against you so you can't do a lot about it!! Laughing stock hahah we done pretty well to be undefeated for that long are you even in the top 4 you knob jockey????

to be honest there was nothing better than seeing all blacks get belted on the weekend... they r a bunch of blokes that deserved that. they now know how we feel every week, but to be undefeated and get rolled by over 100 points was sensational and embarrassing. it was the match of the round and also the match off arrogance... cant stand milewa!! or blacks for that matter... the next few weeks will show who is the real deal and the pretenders!

Any thoughts on the venues for the finals guys....
My opinion will probably be unpopular, but this is just what I would like to see happen. Give the former Benalla DFL sides finals, preferably some of the bigger ones, giving the opportunity to raise money. I'm somewhat of a socialist when it comes to local footy.

I would like to hear people's opinions on this, or do people believe that their grounds just aren't suitable?

Any thoughts on the venues for the finals guys....

For starters I hope we don't get floods and what not like last year.. Tarra is a good choice grounds always in pretty good nick plus good facilitys ec.. Milawa not bad facility's but poor ground especially with that sandpit!!! Whorouly was stiff not to host a final I'd say there facilitys may of been the problem?? Would of liked to of seen a preliminary final either at the blacks or showgrounds.. By far the best ground in the league and it's a shame that they are only holding only elimination finals there.. Looks like it will be a interesting finals plenty of teams in amongst it!!

Does anyone think that there will be change in the top 4 over the next few weeks. Our run home in the last 5 rds is Milawa (we got flogged), Moyhu, K/V, Swannie and Tarra. Probably the toughest run home of all the sides in the 8..... Could Whorouly sneek in JB...Thoughts????

Greta could still make the top four if they managed to upset Tarrawingee and Whorouly. Although both those sides haven't been travelling as good as they would like to be at this stage of the season.

Tarrawingee has also got a tough run with Whorouly, Greta, North Wang and Blacks to round off the season.

The Greta vs Tarrawingee match in a fortnight will be pivotal in both the seniors and reserves as both grades are in the 4th, 5th, 6th bracket.

Greta should have comfortable wins over Swanpool and Goorambat, but stranger things have happened.

Looking forward to an interesting end to the home-and-away season. Milawa have shown they are favourites once again, but 2011 has shown that any team can win on the day.

Any final thoughts on Moyhu? Are they contenders or pretenders this year? They're sitting on top of the ladder, but they just scraped past North Wang on Saturday and haven't really done anything out of the blue this season.