OKFL - Pre Season 2012

hey what is every one's thought's on the game between whorouly vs king valley this weekend ????

Really looking forward to it. Reckon Whorouly will be too good, especially at home, but I haven't seen 2012 KV yet, so I'm just guessing. Few handy players set to come in for the Lions.

:footy::footy::footy:
I reckon they should of never folded the Benella league and just added Glenrowan and 1 more O&K side to make that Benella league larger, You are right its not good to be on the receiving end of a 40 goal belting and sure as hell is no benifit in playing in the side giving a flogging out either and beleive me I have been apart of both situations.
If a club is to become a powerhouse in a lower league they can always go up.

Dont like training drills,,,Nothing like a good hard fought game..!!!

Never will happen the league will wait till some of these smaller clubs fold 1st.

Yep, there seems to be more lop sided results this season. There just isn't enough population to support all these teams - in particular Swanpool and Tatong. I would rather these clubs merge than one of them fold.

Arch rivals dont merge. It would be like trying to get Greta and Moyhu to merge if they were struggling or Wang Rovers and Wang Magpies. It will never happen.

hey what is every one's thought's on the game between whorouly vs king valley this weekend ????
I reckon Whorouly will be too big and strong. I thought they were really underrated in all of the season previews. Yes they have only played weak sides so far, but they have a gun side and weren't too far off it last year. Can't see anyone stopping Archibald all year.

Nonch I have to admit I failed to spend my $1.10 one day last week and missed the aticle on the interleague set up. I know Frankie is coaching but not sure who the selectors are. Someone said they are players, is thst right...

Well I suggest you buy two papers this Friday to make up for that Slim - it's not just me that your $1.10 is supporting. But yes, Frankie will be assisted by Balf, Nutta and Dakker on the selection front.

Also, the Friday paper is actually $1.30 now:eek:

Well I suggest you buy two papers this Friday to make up for that Slim - it's not just me that your $1.10 is supporting. But yes, Frankie will be assisted by Balf, Nutta and Dakker on the selection front.

Also, the Friday paper is actually $1.30 now:eek:

:thumbsu: Cheers Nonch......Oh and if I buy 2 do I get a discount...:p:p:p

:footy::footy:
The Upper murray is a simalar league to what the Benella league use to be as in size and standard, but they adopted 16 aside comp in both senior and reserve grade footy (dropping Wings out) to keep the comp alive this could of been another option for Benella League, As for merging it creates alot of headaches switching grounds for trainng and playing,2 lots of facilities and grounds to be maintained as well, I dont think it is a great option alot of clubs in the Hume league have done it CBDHU, Rand Walbundre,BrockBurrum and Billabong crows just to survive,but these clubs still struggle to compete.
Blues2012

Even though I tipped all the winners and was off by 4 points on the valley game, I still have some work to do. I notice the post that was put up about the bats challenging the valley was mysteriously removed ????

Tips for round 4

Doon over the tigers by 110
Tarra over benalla 16 points
Milawa over greta 65 points
Hoppers over the bats 125 points
North Wang over Bright 65 points
The tong over the pool another 65 points
Lions over the roos 29 points
The discussion over the best player in the league, on form wouldn't it be the reigning b and f from last year??????

Another player to throw in the mix who I saw round one was A. Williams from the valley, he killed it. Also saw Kyle Archibald play, another good contender.

Even though I tipped all the winners and was off by 4 points on the valley game, I still have some work to do. I notice the post that was put up about the bats challenging the valley was mysteriously removed ????

You might be thinking of the previous round when you predicted a draw between Glenrowan and G'bat, and I replied that the Bats would give the Tigers a flogging. Pretty sure only moderators can remove posts.

I dont think there will be too many close games this weekend so I am thinking I might travel to benella to see them play Tarra.

My tips for this weekend..

MOYHU OVER GBAT BY 25 GOALS
NORTH WANG TOO GOOD FOR BRIGHT BUT NOT BY MUCH.. 25PTS
BENELLA TO HAVE A WIN OVER TARRA 2 GOALS(TARRA CAN'T STOP THERE BIG FORWARDS IN DONAHUE, SMITH AND DOCKERY.
DOON OVER GLENROWAN 150PTS
WHOROULY TO PUT KING VALLEY IN THERE PLACE 40 PTS.
TATONG OVER SWANPOOL 80 PTS.
MILAWA OVER GRETA 120 PTS

looks like its panning out to be another fantastic weekend for football

Tips for round 4 are as follows:
Bonnie Doon to win comfortably over Glenrowan 100+ points
Blacks over Tarrawingee in a nailbiter 1 Straight kick
Milawa over Greta by 9 goals
Moyhu to smash Glenrowan. Moyhu midfield will demolish Glenrowan and give their forwards a great opportunity.
North Wang to beat Bright by at least 10 goals
Tatong over Swanpool
match of the round Whorouly and KV... home ground advantage will c the lions get home. KV backline need to b on there game to shut down the lion forwards

Righto boys my tips..

Moyhu over Gbat by around 30 goals
North Wang will smash Bright by 120 points
Tarrawingee will flog the shite out of Benalla by 90 points
Bonnie Doon should win by atleast 200 points
Whorouly will give KV a hiding prob around 60 points
Swanny will get up by 3 goals might be closer.
Miliwa will destroy Greta by 140 points

Not too many close ones I predict

Righto boys my tips..

Moyhu over Gbat by around 30 goals
North Wang will smash Bright by 120 points
Tarrawingee will flog the shite out of Benalla by 90 points
Bonnie Doon should win by atleast 200 points
Whorouly will give KV a hiding prob around 60 points
Swanny will get up by 3 goals might be closer.
Miliwa will destroy Greta by 140 points

Not too many close ones I predict

tipping Swanny SS, is this a loyalty thing??

:footy::footy:
The Upper murray is a simalar league to what the Benella league use to be as in size and standard, but they adopted 16 aside comp in both senior and reserve grade footy (dropping Wings out) to keep the comp alive this could of been another option for Benella League, As for merging it creates alot of headaches switching grounds for trainng and playing,2 lots of facilities and grounds to be maintained as well, I dont think it is a great option alot of clubs in the Hume league have done it CBDHU, Rand Walbundre,BrockBurrum and Billabong crows just to survive,but these clubs still struggle to compete.
Blues2012

Merging is a far better option than folding!! I was vice president of my local club when we merged with our close neighbors and arch rivals in 1996. It was really tough in the beginning but the club is now solid, is doing well financially and has a great supporter base and although we are yet to win a senior flag our reserves, under 18s,juniors and netball teams have all tasted premiership glory. Geographically our two towns are very close, divided by the Murray river, so that certainly made the task easier. It was decided that our ground be used as our home venue and the other is now the main cricket oval. It was then decided that the club that lost it's home ground would have their club name first in the new intities' title. In the 16 years since player numbers in the district have declined such that one or perhaps both clubs would have folded. Sometimes we need look further than just the next season and take a realistic view in planning for future generations. Footy clubs can have a tremendous influence on the social fabric of individuals and towns so it's so important to keep the game alive!

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:.....Spot on, if egos get put aside, a lot can be achieved...:footy:

Sure is slim. His fitness might be an issue early on, but he will be more than handy for us this season. We'll need him tomorrow, got a few out!

Footy smarts will help him out early..........Fully esky of Powerade in the rooms, you blokes go ahead and "Knock yourselves out"...:D:D:D

Little bit harsh there Bads. Would like to know how many matches you've seen Jack play against "bottom sides"... Love you to name them if you can :confused:

As for Greta's performance this season, Bunyip has already mentioned injuries and the tough draw. Don't forget Moyhu are reigning premiers, Benalla (lost by 15pts) were thereabouts last season and North Wangaratta (lost by 20pts) have probably eclipsed Milawa's $ spend from last season with all their recruits. Milawa this weekend and then Whorouly, so it is very likely that Greta will be 0-5. Hard to make finals from there, especially when you have to play all those sides (sitting first, third, fourth, fifth and sixth) twice.
Throw in road trips to Bonnie Doon and Bright and it just reinforces my opinion earlier in the year on this thread that the draw was arguably the toughest for any side in recent years.
And of course Greta won't have the luxury of two beltings against the former B&DFL sides which in effect gives teams an extra "WIN" on the board.

Excuse? Maybe. But surely most observant followers of the O&K can tell you that it's an extremely tough draw.

I also think that Greta is missing Brad Bell BIG TIME!!! No key forwards and a lack of scoring options is the biggest concern.
The midfield and backline is fairly solid in my opinion.
VERY happy to be proven wrong about 0-5. Wasn't at the game, but would have to rate very highly in Greta's wins over the last five years.

And again, Brad Bell is CRUCIAL to Greta's chances this year.

I dont think there will be too many close games this weekend so I am thinking I might travel to benella to see them play Tarra.

My tips for this weekend..

MOYHU OVER GBAT BY 25 GOALS
NORTH WANG TOO GOOD FOR BRIGHT BUT NOT BY MUCH.. 25PTS
BENELLA TO HAVE A WIN OVER TARRA 2 GOALS(TARRA CAN'T STOP THERE BIG FORWARDS IN DONAHUE, SMITH AND DOCKERY.
DOON OVER GLENROWAN 150PTS
WHOROULY TO PUT KING VALLEY IN THERE PLACE 40 PTS.
TATONG OVER SWANPOOL 80 PTS.
MILAWA OVER GRETA 120 PTS
:thumbsu:

OKFL - Pre Season 2012