OKFL - Pre Season 2012

Bk, seems Dawsey is making a big diff up forward and running into some good form...

He was huge on the weekend. Probably set up a few goals just with the balls he brought to ground level as well as the seven he kicked. Could be a big x factor come finals if he stays fit.

Bk, seems Dawsey is making a big diff up forward and running into some good form...
Yeah slim, he has found some form after a slowish start to the year. Big blokes are hard to match up on and there isn't a lot of height in Nth Wang's backline so that was one area we looked to exploit, and it seemed to work well. As nonch mentioned, we just need to keep him fit.

Yeah he's hard to match alright. I think he kicked 4 against us in the first 1/2 before coming off....He will def be the X factor....Gunna make for a great finals series me thinks...

As was the case against Greta, it sounds like Tarra's two big blokes were unstoppable. That day I thought Barassi often led wide leaving the corridor open in front of Dawes. Having now seen in him play I can't help but agree Dawes "may" be a factor come finals. I say "may" because Tarra's poor display against KV a week earlier probably confirms that wet conditions don't suit the taller players.

Heard there were more umpire dramas at Doon on sat similar to what happened at Nth Wang...anyone know ??
More dramas with a Nth Wang bloke and an umpire after our match too slim. As the umpires were leaving the field, this bloke (who I will not name, but I believe he is heavily involved with the club) approached the umpires and hurled abuse at them. Luckily some of their supporters held him back before he crossed the line even further. It's disappointing because the actions of this one bloke does give the club a bad name. Don't think there'd be too many umpires putting their hand up to do the Nth Wang game this week. This shit needs to stop.

Yep , Was an absolute disgrace at Doon , each club needs to prepare to have club umpires doing the ones cause thats were its going to be at the way things are going - then they will have something to cry about!

Heard there were more umpire dramas at Doon on sat similar to what happened at Nth Wang...anyone know ??

It was pretty bad on sat slim. The doon people (not sure if they are part of the club or not) had been drinking from the start of the seconds.

The umpires had to walk through the people as they hurled abuse at them after the game.

These people also abused moyhu players as they walked into the rooms.

The league have called a meeting this Friday night to discuss the events of the past fortnight with respect to abuse of umpires.
So it appears the minority (supporters of two clubs that I know of) are stuffing things up for everyone else. You all can see the lack of umpires is threatening the O &K so I wish these DH's could too.
I understand that an "across the board" approach is the preferred course of action (hence this meeting with all clubs summoned to attend) but it's a pity they don't just throw the book at Doon & Nth Wang.

The league have called a meeting this Friday night to discuss the events of the past fortnight with respect to abuse of umpires.
So it appears the minority (supporters of two clubs that I know of) are stuffing things up for everyone else. You all can see the lack of umpires is threatening the O &K so I wish these DH's could too.
I understand that an "across the board" approach is the preferred course of action (hence this meeting with all clubs summoned to attend) but it's a pity they don't just throw the book at Doon & Nth Wang.

Not sure of any exact details of either incident but I do know the trouble we had with knobheads ( not always assoc with the club ) coming to games and giving us a bad name... If they are members you can do something about it but if they are just average punters coming to the footy you're bashing your head against a brick wall....The coppers don't always respond because they have real things to police.....Will be interesting I'm sure...

I have heard from a source that no umpires are willing to risk being abused or taunted after games that's great from a league perspective that a club can have this happen due to spectators being abusive an wanting to bash them!! slim your spectators are nothing to what has been going on with north wank these last few weeks mate

Not sure of any exact details of either incident but I do know the trouble we had with knobheads ( not always assoc with the club ) coming to games and giving us a bad name... If they are members you can do something about it but if they are just average punters coming to the footy you're bashing your head against a brick wall....The coppers don't always respond because they have real things to police.....Will be interesting I'm sure...

Fair call Slim, I understand you guys have had to tolerate some tools who have have given your club a bad rap in the past. I've got to say that in the past two years we've played @ Benalla & the crowd behaviour was fine. We played @ Doon earlier in the year & a couple of bozzos turned on the umpires then too. They stick out like dogs balls with their behaviour but no one told them to cool it despite it obviously making many people uncomfortable.

I like most of us occasionally get fired up at the footy but someone from Greta is always there to put me back in my box. I disagree to some extent that in some cases you can't do anything with some hobbos but I reckon you've got to try. I simply can't accept that committee members of the clubs involved wouldn't have the backbone to try to deal with this.

Surely though guys the umpire escorts are on hand to stop this sort of thing. Theoretically one from each club so they can indentify who the trouble makers are and report back to their respective clubs.

Umpire escort system is all good and well when everything is ok or even maybe if you have one or two individuals mouthing off as the umps are leaving the field, but as was the case on Sat if u have a mob of approx 30 to 50 3/4 full guys going nuts and on the brink of phisically going too far who as a non paid volenteer is going to cop a smack in the gob or hit from behind . And if they did how does the club or league for that matter stand in terms of the legality.

Surely though guys the umpire escorts are on hand to stop this sort of thing. Theoretically one from each club so they can indentify who the trouble makers are and report back to their respective clubs.

Yeah I guess the escorts can report back but it needs to be dealt with before the umpires come off the ground. These people that are abusing the umpires shouldn't be anywhere near where the umpires leave the field to get to the change rooms.

And really what can the escort do if it does get out of hand?

Most of the time alcohol is involved. Do you have to make it a dry event????

Yeah I guess the escorts can report back but it needs to be dealt with before the umpires come off the ground. These people that are abusing the umpires shouldn't be anywhere near where the umpires leave the field to get to the change rooms.

And really what can the escort do if it does get out of hand?

Most of the time alcohol is involved. Do you have to make it a dry event????[/quote]

I know we went to the expense of putting sec guards on the gate and banned grog coming in, at least that way we had some control over grog consumption....

Umpire escort system is all good and well when everything is ok or even maybe if you have one or two individuals mouthing off as the umps are leaving the field, but as was the case on Sat if u have a mob of approx 30 to 50 3/4 full guys going nuts and on the brink of phisically going too far who as a non paid volenteer is going to cop a smack in the gob or hit from behind . And if they did how does the club or league for that matter stand in terms of the legality.

Agree 100%. I was umpire escort in 2010 when Van Schaik went to hospital with a ruptured kidney. It was bad enough when only one local paid out on the umpires at half -time but luckily apologised after the game. The umpires asked me at the time if the guy involved was a club member or club official, I felt compromised because I'd probably end up next Thursday after training having a beer with him!! Not condoning the blokes behaviour time because he was miles out of line, but I didn't enjoy being in such a position regardless.

Yeah fair call Bunyip...

How many people would like drunks at their workplace continuously hurling abuse towards you for 2+ hours straight and then threatening you when you finish your shift?

OKFL - Pre Season 2012