• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

OKFL - Pre Season 2012

The 'incident' at Doon was pretty poor form, I absolutely do not condone it but I dont think I need to give anyone more than two guesses to the umpire involved. It also was escalated when the umpire tried to muscle through the group that were giving lip instead of taking the more direct route around them. I hear that the league are looking at paying umpires a bit more cash in order to attract more umpires, ones that are more experienced and perhaps dont have as much of a connection with the league. When every supporter knows an umpires name and has decided that the umpire in question has it in for their team even before the first bounce (which is usually bullshit) they make an easy target.

I thought the umps showed more courage to walk through the drunken mob than any of them did , if there is a more direct route that would have helped why didnt some responsible officials (if there were any present) like the Pres etc head them off at the gate and walk them in another direction ? It was clear from the second the final siren went that this was going to be a problem . "Absolutely not condoning" means not making excusess for it if you ask me , regardless of who the ump is.

Slim i'll take your word for it that a Moyhu official could have been in strife for similiar behaviour as i havnt been that close to the club until recently . But if that happened so they/he should be dealt with , so far in my time i havnt experienced any such carry on so maybe some lessons were learnt.

I hear that the league are looking at paying umpires a bit more cash in order to attract more umpires
This needs to happen ASAP. Numbers are getting worse and worse each year and club umpires are not the solution. Throw them more cash, heavily publicise the going rates and introduce heavy penalties for umpire abuse - if players are involved, suspend them and fine the club. If it's a club official, big fines for the club. If supporters are involved, work with the club to resolve the problems and if they persist, fine the club. I know this isn't perfect, and as slim mentioned, sometimes it is beyond the clubs control but something needs to happen to get umpire numbers up.

I'm talking about stamping out real abuse here, not the standard "that's bullshit umpire". Threatening behaviour like was witnessed on the weekend.

If it's a club official, big fines for the club. If supporters are involved, work with the club to resolve the problems and if they persist, fine the club.

Spot on BK. The league need to get a really big stick out & penalise clubs harshly. Am staggered any O&K club official would be naive enough to confront an umpire but this has clearly occurred, so any penalty must be a deterrent otherwise what's the point?

If it's a club official, big fines for the club. If supporters are involved, work with the club to resolve the problems and if they persist, fine the club.

Spot on BK. The league need to get a really big stick out & penalise clubs harshly. Am staggered any O&K club official would be naive enough to confront an umpire but this has clearly occurred, so any penalty must be a deterrent otherwise what's the point?

Agree with you all. As they say every action must have a reaction. Just because you pay your money to get in doesn't entitle you to say or do whatever you want.

The O&K have had a history of giving very soft penalties out!

But really it should be clubs dealing with these issues. But by the looks of it they try and blame everyone else (eg umpires) for loosing a game. Rarely do you hear supporters of the team that has won go at the umpire.

Free agent, let's keep it factual mate. The abuse at the umpire on Saturday at Doon was from seven people, let's not throw things like "mob" and "50 drunken blokes" it just makes the issue even uglier. Also their was stuff yelled out to one Moyhu player who I believe is Jeremy Wilson, took a cheap shot at one of Doons smaller players right in front of the Doon crowd and then when he was grabbed on the collar by one of our big blokes he shat himself and dropped to the ground holding his face like he had been king hit. Calls of "wheres your skirt Wilson" and "Wilson you sleep with the light on" are not exactly abuse... Also good work by the Moyhu official who was yelling at the senior players to "come out and sing the song in front of the Doon crowd and stick it right up them"...

7 people, 50 people , at this rate even one idiot spectator is one too many given the shortage of umpires we have. Sounds like the Wilson incident was a side show to the main event. Jezza might cop similar sledging weekly but I'm sure he couldn't care less. The treatment of the umpires is the issue is another matter.

Was JW picking on you again JAM.. Helps to have mates to back you up!

Free agent, let's keep it factual mate. The abuse at the umpire on Saturday at Doon was from seven people, let's not throw things like "mob" and "50 drunken blokes" it just makes the issue even uglier. Also their was stuff yelled out to one Moyhu player who I believe is Jeremy Wilson, took a cheap shot at one of Doons smaller players right in front of the Doon crowd and then when he was grabbed on the collar by one of our big blokes he shat himself and dropped to the ground holding his face like he had been king hit. Calls of "wheres your skirt Wilson" and "Wilson you sleep with the light on" are not exactly abuse... Also good work by the Moyhu official who was yelling at the senior players to "come out and sing the song
in front of the Doon crowd and stick it right up them"...

I'd like to know where abouts you were when this abuse was occuring "Justamug". I was sitting down near the fence, and these so called "7 people" were very loud, and were directing their abuse to the umpire clearly. And how did you know the specific number of people? Were you one of these 7 people? (Not that it matters if it is 7 or 50). Jeremy Wilson didn't do anything to a "smaller" Doon player (and if you meant No 8 - he was sniping and mouthing off all day at Moyhu players so obviously he wasn't worried by his size). Jeremy was the one who received a free kick so I don't know what you were watching! Plus I wouldn't call Jeremy "big" - and don't think he regards himself as a big guy!
It doesn't matter who the umpire is - 7, nor 50 people, should be abusing them all day. I travelled over to Bonnie Doon to watch a good game of football, but what I really got was a lot of supporters who were constantly abusing a particular umpire. It ruined the whole day for me. And for "That's Ambitious" to say thaat the umpires tried to push through the people giving them lip is absolute nonsense. As a spectator I was very worried for the umpires because the crowd converged on them and didnt give them much space to walk to the rooms. And from where I stood the umpires took the direct route - it was not their fault that a lot of supporters were in their road.
And "justamug" I think you might find that Moyhu were going to sing the song outside of their rooms because they couldnt all fit inside the visitors change rooms! They are not the biggest change rooms going around. You must have good ears also - you seemed to be in a lot of places at the same time at the match. :confused:

If you want to suger coat it JAM go for it , but to suggest it was only 7 abusing the umps as they walked through the crowd at the end of the game is absolutly false and im sure the ump/s would agree .By the way lets say they have identified 7 what steps have the club taken with these 7.
The bit about Jezza doesnt rate here mate you were watching a different game if thats your recollection i think the other responses here prove that . The little bloke who went out of his way to stir trouble by following the players into the rooms yelling crap at Jezza didnt do alot for the situation either . Good on you for sticking up for your club mate but you need to be a bit realistic id say approx 30 - 50 would be accurate in terms of pissed blokes hurling abuse at the umps as they walked off the ground.

Would be interesting to hear what comes out of the meeting tonight about what has happened over the first half of the year in regards to the umpires?

Would be good to be talking about footy on here not the side shows that have been going on!

But then again I may have just contradicted myself there!!!

I was standing right in the middle of the blokes yelling out with my wife and two young boys, I know what I saw and there was no where near 50. Not condoning what was done just trying to keep it real, also you were the ones bringing up "abuse being hurled at Moyhu players" I was just explaining what I saw. I'm sure Wilson wouldn't care and it was just banter at the local footy that you see every week. Let's not pretend that our supporters don't give a bit of lip to players from other sides, it wasn't anything nasty. The abuse at the umpire was bad, and neither I not the club condone it. Interesting that in the 10 years I have played at Doon there has only ever been trouble with one umpire, he should not be abused but he is terrible. Haha nah Wilson wasn't picking on me mate, I was happily standing in the crowd with a softy (not half pissed believe it or not) after a fun game in the twos.

The bit about Jezza doesnt rate here mate you were watching a different game if thats your recollection i think the other responses here prove that ... you need to be a bit realistic id say approx 30 - 50 would be accurate in terms of pissed blokes hurling abuse at the umps as they walked off the ground.

The bit about Jezza? He lay on the ground with his arms over his head right in front of the crowd. There was no free kick awarded to either side when that happened. That is fact. But it is beside the point. Also there was not 30-50 'pissed' blokes involved. I'd love to see the bar takings if there was!

The bottom line is that umpires should not be subject to that kind of abuse. I'm pretty certain that everyone here agrees on that.

The questions now should be how can we best address this at a club level? (any club), at a league level? or, taking it even further, at a cultural level? (Who can honestly say they have never yelled at the umpire while watching an AFL game?). Its not only the O&K, and its not limited to only a couple of clubs. Just because it doesnt happen in front of the main crowd does not mean its not happening.

The bit about Jezza? He lay on the ground with his arms over his head right in front of the crowd. There was no free kick awarded to either side when that happened. That is fact. But it is beside the point. Also there was not 30-50 'pissed' blokes involved. I'd love to see the bar takings if there was!

The bottom line is that umpires should not be subject to that kind of abuse. I'm pretty certain that everyone here agrees on that.

The questions now should be how can we best address this at a club level? (any club), at a league level? or, taking it even further, at a cultural level? (Who can honestly say they have never yelled at the umpire while watching an AFL game?). Its not only the O&K, and its not limited to only a couple of clubs. Just because it doesnt happen in front of the main crowd does not mean its not happening.

I guess you could say there is a lack of respect for umpires. Also a lack of respect in general society for other people.

More and more people have more to say about things. People no longer just take things as is, people question things all the time.

There is a few crap umpires around, some umpire teams they played 200 or more games for(which is still is crap because there is 7 other games they can do). But that is all there is available. Why would you want to give ya Saturday arvo up to get abused. Don't get me wrong I have been guilty of the act but you have to take a step back and realise it is a prick of a job. If spectators are getting to the point where they have a few too many and getting abusive why does the barman or woman keep serving them. It's needs cleaning up, It's bad enough having club umpires in the magoo's.

Nonch, mate, I feel your pain for the next few days.....your ears will be bleeding whilst 14 gls tells you about each one individually.....Not a bad effoert but don't tell him that..:)

Yeah you're right slim, injuries are no excuse but we have a heap at the moment. Playing a lot of seconds blokes who have stood up for us and been great but it's a battle. We can look ok at times with 10 or so good players but after that we battle. Get a few back next week so we can hopefully give a bit of fight in the last few rounds. I enjoyed the game and it was good to see the usual Benalla boys behind the goals at the far end giving me lip, they seem a lot friendlier and funnier with their taunts these days! All blacks I thought were good without really "clicking", probably could have stepped up a gear but always had control of the game.

Yeah JAM your blokes jumped out early and were first to the footy with their heads over it.We chased arse for the first 10-15 mins then started to get ourselves sorted....We missed a lot of easy goals as did you guys esp Webster. I thought the battle between Webster and Noisy was a good one all day..Wheels got plenty of the footy and Judd darby was really good as well..T Walsh was a late inclusion but seemed to just stay deep all day, was he carrying an injury?..

Nonch, mate, I feel your pain for the next few days.....your ears will be bleeding whilst 14 gls tells you about each one individually.....Not a bad effoert but don't tell him that..:)

He needed some cheap ones after kicking 11 goals in the previous seven matches!!!

Yeah JAM your blokes jumped out early and were first to the footy with their heads over it.We chased arse for the first 10-15 mins then started to get ourselves sorted....We missed a lot of easy goals as did you guys esp Webster. I thought the battle between Webster and Noisy was a good one all day..Wheels got plenty of the footy and Judd darby was really good as well..T Walsh was a late inclusion but seemed to just stay deep all day, was he carrying an injury?..

Yeah agree with everything there slim, Walshy wasn't going to play this year hasn't trained once this season and filled in for the twos last week, wheels conned him and Matt Vasey (first game for the year and no training also) to play in the seniors because we were so short. I think we had 8 changes from last weeks side which was already depleted. Jarrod Demarco, Steve Steiner, Alex Kellalea, Daniel Fletcher, Doug Aldous, Ricky Milligan and Jeremy Ward are seven blokes that would be in our top 15 who all missed on Saturday. In no way am I suggesting we would beat you guys if we didn't have injuries but we would have given you a better game of footy to watch. Having said all that we never rolled over, apart from some poor discipline I think we remained reasonably competitive for most of the day. Just never looked like getting you blokes but at least tried to make you blokes earn it a little.

Def missed De Marco in the ruck and ricky Milligan on the wing..(.Pity Ricky didn't play given he's an old Blacks boy. Maybe if he had played the peanut gallery would have left you alone....) The addition of the the other blokes surely would have made it an even better game..

OKFL - Pre Season 2012