Old Scholars

DOSA beat Channel by 23 points in probably the worst game I have ever watched live..

DOSA reserves got up by 180 odd.

Channel should have some questions asked of them after some of their actions yesterday as well

Would I be correct in assuming you are talking about one player in particular? I found them to be a very fair-playing team apart from that one little flog who I can imagine at some stage during the season will be minus a few teeth..

What Happen ? Can you Fill us in ?

Some awfully weak acts from some of the Channel blokes yesterday.

Running off the bench and trying to run through blokes with their back turned, and then when confronted, literally running away. Happened twice to my knowledge and both times to a couple of DOSA's smaller blokes.

The umpiring was absolutely shocking also, definately substandard. Both teams copping some terrible decisions.

HAving said this, Channel have some handy players, and some good fair blokes playing for them. Apparently they had 6 cleared on Friday night also? Just a shame that theres some absolute yellowbellied pieslingers running around down there. I reckon some of the older blokes from down the Huon way watching yesterday would have been pretty dissapointed with some of the stuff that happened.

Some awfully weak acts from some of the Channel blokes yesterday.

Running off the bench and trying to run through blokes with their back turned, and then when confronted, literally running away. Happened twice to my knowledge and both times to a couple of DOSA's smaller blokes.

The umpiring was absolutely shocking also, definately substandard. Both teams copping some terrible decisions.

HAving said this, Channel have some handy players, and some good fair blokes playing for them. Apparently they had 6 cleared on Friday night also? Just a shame that theres some absolute yellowbellied pieslingers running around down there. I reckon some of the older blokes from down the Huon way watching yesterday would have been pretty dissapointed with some of the stuff that happened.

Haha, I could've guessed something like this would happen. Should never have been accepted into the league, hopefully they clean up their act...

Ease up mate. I can remember when Richmond came into the comp they were a very dirty team for a few years (Steady and the like), until they realised that this comp doesn't accept it, and from all accounts they are fine now. Give Channel a chance, they have had a VERY tough few years, and need to rebuild. They have recruited a few from Claremont, so it was bound to happen. It is sad to think that the nucleus of Channel's finals teams 5 or so years ago are nearly all gone:

Chilcott - OHA
Limbrick - OHA
Gregg - DOSA
Swards x 2 - Interstate
Lane - Interstate
Vince - Kingborough
Knott - Retired
Hollick - OHA
Godfrey - OHA
Crane - Cygnet?
Gowans - Uni
and the list goes on.... It makes it very hard for them...

I think we all agree, even if they dont win a game they should be trying to promote the right culture to ensure they can stay in the comp long term.

Some very interesting results so far, should be a very competitive at the top end, with Uni, OHA, Richmond and Hutchins to fight out top four.
Watched Uni vs hutchins Sat, very high quality game skill level was = to some TSL games i have seen so far. Young bloke that played full back on Palfreyman was one to watch, not sure of his name skinny, shaggy hair, bit of a look alike for the paddle pop lion. Just seemed to get a fist on everything.

I think we all agree, even if they dont win a game they should be trying to promote the right culture to ensure they can stay in the comp long term.

Some very interesting results so far, should be a very competitive at the top end, with Uni, OHA, Richmond and Hutchins to fight out top four.
Watched Uni vs hutchins Sat, very high quality game skill level was = to some TSL games i have seen so far. Young bloke that played full back on Palfreyman was one to watch, not sure of his name skinny, shaggy hair, bit of a look alike for the paddle pop lion. Just seemed to get a fist on everything.

The blokes name is Brereton, he played there last year and apparantly did a reasonable job on Cat Palfreman then. A couple of decent players around him now and he might turn out to be handy.

Caught the second half of Richmond OHA on Saturday. I thought OHA looked slow at times and that Richmond probably should have one by more. Were OHA missing a some pace somewhere, or did we all under estimate what another years age in some old legs might do to them?

I know it's only early but on that I would have to retract my earlier statements, I think Richmond are the team to beat. Would appear to have more improvement that OHA, on paper at least. Did hear today though that a handful of players are unhappy and have left the club?? Can anyone confirm or deny???

The blokes name is Brereton, he played there last year and apparantly did a reasonable job on Cat Palfreman then. A couple of decent players around him now and he might turn out to be handy.

Caught the second half of Richmond OHA on Saturday. I thought OHA looked slow at times and that Richmond probably should have one by more. Were OHA missing a some pace somewhere, or did we all under estimate what another years age in some old legs might do to them?

I know it's only early but on that I would have to retract my earlier statements, I think Richmond are the team to beat. Would appear to have more improvement that OHA, on paper at least. Did hear today though that a handful of players are unhappy and have left the club?? Can anyone confirm or deny???

Very early on! Correct me if im wrong but did richmond beat OHA in the same game early on last year? Dont want to make excuses and you may be right with your too slow call but 7 players were out of the ships 1's.no doubt richmond didn't have all players available too.

My interest at the moment would more be towards how UNI perform in coming weeks.

I suppose only time will tell.

Very early on! Correct me if im wrong but did richmond beat OHA in the same game early on last year? Dont want to make excuses and you may be right with your too slow call but 7 players were out of the ships 1's.no doubt richmond didn't have all players available too.

My interest at the moment would more be towards how UNI perform in coming weeks.

I suppose only time will tell.

Yeah I suspected OHA would have had a few out, but they do need some speed in my opinion. I don't think Richmond rolled them this early last year but I may be wrong.

Uni v Richmond will be interesting in a couple of weeks.

subiaco i think it was DOSACHOKER

Apparently the Eagles recruiters were watching a Clarence Game looking at Cooney (Clarence) and Honey kick 4/5 and dominated. At that point they told him if he played in the West for a year they would draft him. Unfortunately he didn't go but this bloke was probably in the top few players to ever play Old Scholars and a rippa bloke to go with it:thumbsu:

Ease up mate. I can remember when Richmond came into the comp they were a very dirty team for a few years (Steady and the like), until they realised that this comp doesn't accept it, and from all accounts they are fine now. Give Channel a chance, they have had a VERY tough few years, and need to rebuild. They have recruited a few from Claremont, so it was bound to happen. It is sad to think that the nucleus of Channel's finals teams 5 or so years ago are nearly all gone:

Chilcott - OHA
Limbrick - OHA
Gregg - DOSA
Swards x 2 - Interstate
Lane - Interstate
Vince - Kingborough
Knott - Retired
Hollick - OHA
Godfrey - OHA
Crane - Cygnet?
Gowans - Uni

crane kingbrough

Apparently the Eagles recruiters were watching a Clarence Game looking at Cooney (Clarence) and Honey kick 4/5 and dominated. At that point they told him if he played in the West for a year they would draft him. Unfortunately he didn't go but this bloke was probably in the top few players to ever play Old Scholars and a rippa bloke to go with it:thumbsu:

Have to disagree with your last 2 statements

My tips for this round in what i think will be a wet and scrappy weekend of footy (hopefully not)

Richmond Over Channel: 88pts
University over Dosa: 50pts
Hutchins over St Virgils: 10pts

Thoughts.....

My tips for this round in what i think will be a wet and scrappy weekend of footy (hopefully not)

Richmond Over Channel: 88pts
University over Dosa: 50pts
Hutchins over St Virgils: 10pts

Thoughts.....

Close with Richmond and Uni Alpine, but came undone with Hutchins. Big week coming up this week, should sort the men from the boys. Richmond v Uni should be a cracker. Give it to Uni at home - just. St Virgils to just roll Dosa again only because it's at home. OHA and Hutchins have the bye.

Not sure wat anyone else thinks, but the Mercury write up's on old scholars footy are terrible. All they do is put who the best players in each team, which are usually on the next page anyway. No effort or journalistic knowledge whatsoever. Why dont they show the comp some respect and send a trainee or at least someone to one match per week for a full write up. Who wants to read about lindisfarne smashing Cygnet???
Its obvious that there is alot more interest in this comp by just looking at this thread compared to others.. The Examiner and Advocate are local papers i know, but are so far infront of the Mercury when it comes to local sport it's a joke.

Not sure wat anyone else thinks, but the Mercury write up's on old scholars footy are terrible. All they do is put who the best players in each team, which are usually on the next page anyway. No effort or journalistic knowledge whatsoever. Why dont they show the comp some respect and send a trainee or at least someone to one match per week for a full write up. Who wants to read about lindisfarne smashing Cygnet???
Its obvious that there is alot more interest in this comp by just looking at this thread compared to others.. The Examiner and Advocate are local papers i know, but are so far infront of the Mercury when it comes to local sport it's a joke.

My understanding is that the OSFA actually provides the article to the Mercury for publication. But you are right.

Weren't rumours circulating about that bloke last year as well? With people saying they have a 'good source' that he will 'definately go' to a, what was at the time, Premier League club..?

Chilcott - OHA
Limbrick - OHA
Gregg - DOSA
Swards x 2 - Interstate
Lane - Interstate
Vince - Kingborough
Knott - Retired
Hollick - OHA
Godfrey - OHA
Crane - Cygnet?
Gowans - Uni

Cheers mate, atleast someone realises things take time to settle. Thats a massive list of players (Crane is at Kingburough). The majority of blokes at Channel are fair and reasonable blokes. We definately aren't out to try and bash ourselves a reputation.

It seems it would be a good week to be a DOSA defender. Parker should get cleared before the weekend so he will be a massive loss for St Virgils