• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Old Scholars

Got told that the DOSA v Hutchins game was a disgrace, apparently the ground was under water and should never of went ahead.

That is correct the ground was a disgrace, however we are men playing a winter sport. I think players need to toughen up a bit. They should go and play another sport if they cant handle playing in all conditions. Dosa were so much harder at the ball than the beans who played like they were scared of their own shadow.

I would love to watch Hutchins play Uni, no one would touch each other. All too scared to get dirty or cop a bump. It would be like watching netball. By far the two biggest girl softest sides of the league.:thumbsu:

You wouldnt know if a bus was parked up your backside and people were walking off it.
You must have a lot of spare time on your hands to go and watch hucthins/dosa.

Very original call letitrain. I actually enjoy paying my 5 dollars to support my team and to have a couple of cold froffies on a Saturday afternoon. Maybe you should get off your arse and do the same, then you might understand what I am talking about.

That is correct the ground was a disgrace, however we are men playing a winter sport. I think players need to toughen up a bit. They should go and play another sport if they cant handle playing in all conditions. Dosa were so much harder at the ball than the beans who played like they were scared of their own shadow.

I would love to watch Hutchins play Uni, no one would touch each other. All too scared to get dirty or cop a bump. It would be like watching netball. By far the two biggest girl softest sides of the league.:thumbsu:
Didnt uni flog dosa in the 1s by 90 pts in the same conditions and flog the 2s by 40 pts with half the dosa senior side playing. Not bad for a soft side!

That is correct playwin, however Uni will be no chance against the Richmonds and st virgils come finals. At least dosa doesnt have the tag of being a soft side, like hutchins and Uni do. DOSA are rebuilding from the bottom up and are not cash up like other clubs. This year was very much a learning year and yes we havent been as successful as we would have liked. There's always next year:)

Uni has beaten Richmond Twice haven't they? Lost a few weeks ago with a few Senior players out. Smashed St Virgils round 1 then lost the other 2 games by 20-30pts. Richmond smashed St Virgils on the weekend, they have'nt beaten Uni or Oha by anywhere near that margin, so that says to me OHA and Uni are well and truly in it. Hutchins and Uni are both young developing sides to call them soft is a bit harsh, considering if both teams keep their lists together i can confidently say Dosa is a long long long long way off.

Anyone have the answers for:

Premiers?
Runners Up?
League BF?

Team of the year?

Anyone have the answers for:

Premiers?
Runners Up?
League BF?

Team of the year?[/QUOTE]

University (runners up)

B&F: Ben Cato/Nick Leitch/Cameron Burgees

FB: John Mazey Matt Allie John Morey
Hb James Dunham Daniel Archer Ben Cato
C: Nick Leitch Cameron Burgees Jamie Hariss
HF: Josh Nelson Sam Unsworth Brad Dodge
F: Adam Daft Adam Palframan Sam Bowering

Rucks: Charlie Rae, Brent Williams, Heath Barwin

Inter: Andrew Haines, Brendan Rogers, Alex Gilmore, Jarrod Mason

Inter: Andrew Haines, Brendan Rogers, Alex Gilmore, Jarrod Mason[/quote]

How would this side go against an SFL rep side? Thoughts??

Inter: Andrew Haines, Brendan Rogers, Alex Gilmore, Jarrod Mason[/quote]

How would this side go against an SFL rep side? Thoughts??[/QUOTE]

Would be Competitive, but i think that the SFL would have just enough Depth to get them over the line by 25 Points.
I think it would be a great concept to get this game up and going in the future.
The Old Scholars top four teams would be cometative against all SFL teams apart from New Norfolk, Dodges and Linderfarne.

Not sure how you could include Brent Williams in the side...if you actually have a look through the results, he might have received mentions in the Saints best 3 times and at least one of those was against Channel....

Just think he has been a vital part of the Saints success this year, if its true he only has been in the best 3 times it may not reflect on his true form.

who would you replace him with?

Brent Williams would be first picked, being assistant coach im sure he doesn't get mentions for a reason. Best stoppage player in the comp.

Williams has been in the best 5 times from 13 games.

any other suggestions on players who should be in the team?

My mail tells me that because he is assistant coach, he is very rarely in the best players. Its the same as Gray being coach. When they play they are in their best 3 or 4 every week. They lead by example and are fantastic clearance players.

Premiers -Richmond/Uni
Runners up - Richmond/Uni

Best and Fairest - Cato,Williams,Burgess,

Team of the year

FB: Haines Allie Rogers
HB: Burgess Mazey Cato
C: Hariss Bouwerman Barwin
HF: Leitch Unsworth Harvey
FF: Dunham Bowering Dodge

Rucks: Rae, Williams, Daft

Inter :Abrahams, Wiggins, Penwright, Palfreyman (gilmour if he had played more games, out for the year with a neck and knee injury apparently) Mason,and st virgils chb unlucky, sorry cant remember his name.

The above combined side would beat any SFL side except possibly New Norfolk.

My mail tells me that because he is assistant coach, he is very rarely in the best players. Its the same as Gray being coach. When they play they are in their best 3 or 4 every week. They lead by example and are fantastic clearance players.

Premiers -Richmond/Uni
Runners up - Richmond/Uni

Best and Fairest - Cato,Williams,Burgess,

Team of the year

FB: Haines Allie Rogers
HB: Burgess Mazey Cato
C: Hariss Bouwerman Barwin
HF: Leitch Unsworth Harvey
FF: Dunham Bowering Dodge

Rucks: Rae, Williams, Daft

Inter :Abrahams, Wiggins, Penwright, Palfreyman (gilmour if he had played more games, out for the year with a neck and knee injury apparently) Mason,and st virgils chb unlucky, sorry cant remember his name.

The above combined side would beat any SFL side except possibly New Norfolk.

Gilmore was named last week, have been told by a mate that he had a recurrence of an ankle injury that forced him out of the devils last year but is a good chance to play this week, providing he gets through training and uni haven't spent all the money on players instead of ankle tape.
i don't know about the neck injury though.

Do you honestly think that Burgess would go close for the League Best and Fairest???
C Burgess is the most overrated player in the comp. Will be lucky to pole a vote!

Do you honestly think that Burgess would go close for the League Best and Fairest???
C Burgess is the most overrated player in the comp. Will be lucky to pole a vote!

Burgess has been in the best players 14 times for university 3 more than any other player in the comp, Overrated? i would think not!

Perhaps Wonder Wog you should stop eating Souvlakis at your parents take away store on a Saturday and actually get to a game and watch him play. He may not be the best player in the comp and he may not win the best and fairest but I'm sure he'd be close on both. You are aware that you are on an AFL site and not soccer you muppet.

As for the Finals and Association team, both should be very interesting. Richmond seem to have peeked at the right time, Saints without their coach might be feeling the pinch and OHA don't seem to be in good enough form. I reckon it will be a Richmond Uni GF, with Richmond probably winning. I think Cato or Burgess would be the standouts for B&F from what I've seen but hard to know only seeing one game at most a week.

Heard a while back that Harvs wasn't happy at DOSA, so I'd be staggered if he coached again, but they can't afford to lose him, he's a gun. I think the coaching role has probably hurt his performances this year. No doubt DOSA have some good kids but need to recruit some class if they are to challenge the top 4 next year. The comp seems to be getting stronger by the year and I reckon will continue to do so. In saying that it can be done, look at OHA's improvement from 07 to 08, and Unis last year to this.

Anyone got anything on the Channel coaching gig? Would be nice to see them competitive at least next year.

Also the Kermandie?? is interesting, rumours circling that they may be interested in joining the OSFA, anyone heard anything official?

Also Gilmore has not done his ankle, his knee, his ribs or anything else that has been mentioned on here to date. He has re-done his shoulder that he did against Richmond early in the year and is having a shoulder reco and will definitely not play again this year.

Coley the same!!

Rogers has a stress fracture in his foot and is highly doubtful to play again this year either.

Can't seem to find out about Daniel Grey though. Anything?

Have spoken to Daniel, he will play the final roster game and be back for finals Slug.

Taking a cautious approach with his hamstring, as the top 2 is set in stone.

Perhaps Wonder Wog you should stop eating Souvlakis at your parents take away store on a Saturday and actually get to a game and watch him play. He may not be the best player in the comp and he may not win the best and fairest but I'm sure he'd be close on both. You are aware that you are on an AFL site and not soccer you muppet.

As for the Finals and Association team, both should be very interesting. Richmond seem to have peeked at the right time, Saints without their coach might be feeling the pinch and OHA don't seem to be in good enough form. I reckon it will be a Richmond Uni GF, with Richmond probably winning. I think Cato or Burgess would be the standouts for B&F from what I've seen but hard to know only seeing one game at most a week.

Heard a while back that Harvs wasn't happy at DOSA, so I'd be staggered if he coached again, but they can't afford to lose him, he's a gun. I think the coaching role has probably hurt his performances this year. No doubt DOSA have some good kids but need to recruit some class if they are to challenge the top 4 next year. The comp seems to be getting stronger by the year and I reckon will continue to do so. In saying that it can be done, look at OHA's improvement from 07 to 08, and Unis last year to this.

Anyone got anything on the Channel coaching gig? Would be nice to see them competitive at least next year.

Also the Kermandie?? is interesting, rumours circling that they may be interested in joining the OSFA, anyone heard anything official?

Well done big slug, you obviously mix in the footy circles and have good knowledge of the comp. Who are you involved with and follow ??:thumbsu: