Opposition Supporters say the darndest things.

Not sure if this qualifies as one of "the darndest things".

But I'll say/ask it anyway ...

Why did the Doggies get rid of Hunter? Only 28 and was still under contract. He still seems to be a pretty good player.

Significant off-field issues. He's got plenty of talent but had caused too many problems with his own issues and how he affected teammates.

Lack of trust from team mates, who voted for him to go. By some reports Bevo wanted to give him another chance.

Anyway f/s, premiership player and B&F winner in the twilight of his career, I wish him all the best.

I don't ever think that drugs were mentioned as an issue, I thought it was more alcohol and then deception as a result of that.

But the club had decided to move him on, even if they had to delist him and pay him out.

We'd also been playing him forward because I think we'd decided that we needed wings who could move the ball on a bit quicker.

Hope he can sort himself out at Melbourne

I don't ever think that drugs were mentioned as an issue, I thought it was more alcohol and then deception as a result of that.

But the club had decided to move him on, even if they had to delist him and pay him out.

We'd also been playing him forward because I think we'd decided that we needed wings who could move the ball on a bit quicker.

Hope he can sort himself out at Melbourne
They were

Hopefully the new environment helps Lachie

😂 Great story telling

Barring a major change in events, Naughton is going to Fremantle. It would have happened in the last trade period if Geelong didn't take on the Bowes salary dump.

Three-way trade involving Fremantle, Bulldogs and Geelong for Naughton, Darcy, Ratugolea and picks.

Why else would Fremantle be paying almost $1.8M of their cap between two rucks under the age of 25, if they weren't already planning to ship one of them out?

Dockers want Darcy moved before he becomes RFA in 2024; Naughton is apparently keen to come home to WA and Bulldogs are looking to trade before his final year in 2024 to get maximum value. Cats have wanted Darcy since before he was drafted and each of Stanley, Ceglar and Blicavs will be over 32 when this season commences - as soon as they clear some cap space (from retirements likely), they'll be knocking on Fremantle's door for a deal.

Since when did Geelong ever need to clear salary cap space?

They've been into payment rorts since at least the early 1960s (Coulter Law scandal).
And who we were supposed to get Ratugolea 😂

They are a top 8 team and I reckon we’ll match them around the ground and in contest however they will have greater team cohesion and thats what it will come down too. We can match it (if fit with key personnel) in season

John Cena Mind Blown GIF

Casual demons supporter claiming that Naughton’s speccy attempt just before half time should have been a free kick. I’ve had hours of fun on Insta and the bloke still isn’t getting it. This is just a sample of what I’ve been trying to deal with lol

99D530C8-54EA-4D5C-BD1C-ABD9A28E1690.jpeg

Casual demons supporter claiming that Naughton’s speccy attempt just before half time should have been a free kick. I’ve had hours of fun on Insta and the bloke still isn’t getting it. This is just a sample of what I’ve been trying to deal with lol

View attachment 1621663
Technically he's got a point but the AFL will never legislate against the speccy (other than for obvious cheats like pushing your hands on the players head or shoulders to get more elevation).

So he's wasting his time. And you are too ... unless you enjoy fishing.

Technically he's got a point but the AFL will never legislate against the speccy (other than for obvious cheats like pushing your hands on the players head or shoulders to get more elevation).

That’s the thing, incidental contact is allowed in marking contests provided it’s a realistic attempt and the intention is to mark the ball. That’s why it rightly won’t be adjudicated against if it’s a proper attempt and they mark or at least make contact with the ball, it would make the game unwatchable if it wasn’t allowed. That’s why the unrealistic attempt law exists

Nah they don't have a point according to the laws of the game.

Rule 18.5.3 Permitted Contact:
Incidental contact in a Marking contest will be permitted if the Player’s sole objective is to contest or spoil a Mark.

This also overrules 18.3.2 (c) regarding prohibited contact above the head (which would be illegal in other instances like when Toby Greene booted Dahlhaus in the face when receiving a handball) given the contact made to the head by Naughton was purely incidental in a marking contest.

Nah they don't have a point according to the laws of the game.

Rule 18.5.3 Permitted Contact:
Incidental contact in a Marking contest will be permitted if the Player’s sole objective is to contest or spoil a Mark.

This also overrules 18.3.2 (c) regarding prohibited contact above the head (which would be illegal in other instances like when Toby Greene booted Dahlhaus in the face when receiving a handball) given the contact made to the head by Naughton was purely incidental in a marking contest.
That’s what I was saying … the AFL will always ensure there is a law that permits the speccy. Why would they legislate against one of the great spectacles and marketing features of the game?

Old mate seems to be arguing on the basis of other principles of infringement. ( I probably should have said something other than “technically“)

😂😂😂

Sam Darcy out of contract throw cash at him

He’s the 4th key tall forward at the dogs then if he stays throw the cash at JUH

They've had shitloads of money for ages and yet they still haven't been able to attract anyone that wasn't obviously getting paid disgustingly over market value.

Opposition Supporters say the darndest things.