Oppo Camp Other Clubs News/General Discussion

Geez..................just heard about the 6 year extension (on top of 2 to go already) St Kilda have supposedly given Max King at an average of 1m/year. They must be high.

Probably heard some other club/s were showing long-term interest & just shit themselves. What a ****ing farce of a club.,

Without meaning to defend them or trigger us , I know a another club who has done that.

Because it’s a slow morning thought this may reinforce what a turds Ginni and his boyfriend are.
The bloke will just keep stepping out of line, he can’t help it.
Saw this comment on Twitter
"In reality they did those kids a favour.. as they can now look up to some decent humans as footballers"
Chefs kiss of a comment

Because it’s a slow morning thought this may reinforce what a turds Ginni and his boyfriend are.

There's a genuine discussion to be had about this.

Like...while I have what I'm sure would be controversial opinions about Australia's obsession with alcohol (I'm a non-drinker) I reckon everyone is to blame here. I'll play devil's advocate.

• Why are the organisers of that clinic organising the event the night after a known piss up?
  • Why are Hawthorn not working with the organisers to have the event on a different night?
  • Why are the organisers holding an event like that, after a known piss up, with two of the most notorious immature trouble makers on the Hawthorn list?

Having said aaaaaalllllll of the above. To put my non-drinker hat on.

Ginnivan and Watson have the rest of their lives post football to get absolutely fuc*king plastered on a weekly basis. They're also going to attend many many many more BnFs in their careers. They could have very easily just...not got smashed. I'm not even saying don't drink (like I normally would). I'm just saying don't get absolutely shit faced when you know you have a clinic the next day.

As someone with an 8 year old who has attended a couple of these clinics (one was with Crisp and the other was with Steele and WHE) I get how upset those kids would have been about that cancellation given it was so ridiculously last minute. I suspect the fallout wouldn't have been as bad had they cancelled earlier in the week knowing the BnF was the night before.

But I find Australian drinking culture so absolutely bizarre. It feels like people can't just drink to be merry, or warm up. They simply have to drink to get smashed/para/shit faced. Like there's simply no other option and to suggest so is sacrilegious.

Do people just not know how to have a good time without alcohol as an aid?

**** me. Embarrassing from the parents to call up the radio and have a cry about that.

It's a good lesson for the kids that life can be disappointing.

You're not teaching them resilience crying about the players non-attendance on the radio.

I think they are warranted in this case. Especially if some of them travelled a long distance just so that their kids can meet their idols , only for it to be cancelled at the last minute . Think any parent in that situation would be absolutely furious

So he got pissed at a best and fairest in the off season.
No one forced him to accept a paid gig at clinic the morning after.

This wasn't a club clinic, it was a private booking he accepted.

He's pretty obviously a selfish flog. It's nothing unusual for a young person to not be a particularly good person, but he most certainly isn't. Lacks impulse control and cognitive reasoning capacity.

It's a good lesson for the kids that life can be disappointing.

You're not teaching them resilience crying about the players non-attendance on the radio.

I'm fairly confident most parents would be able to separate their reaction in front of their kid and their response to them and their feelings about the situation.

Every chance they told their child "it happens, we'll try go to the next one, it'll be ok" but then felt frustrated with the club and were simply venting said frustration on the radio.

To be fair, I'd argue Hawthorn, Watson and Ginnivan deserve the flak. It's not 1987 anymore. This is a full time professional business with a lot of money involved and they need to be better.

If nothing else, those two players have potentially cost Hawthorn long term money. Kids are pretty fickle about their footy clubs these days and turn very easily. Ditto for whom their favourite players are. There's every chance that a few of those disillusioned kids go on to support someone else which potentially means a lifetime of membership and merchandise dollars going to another club instead of Hawthorn.

Oppo Camp Other Clubs News/General Discussion