Oppo Camp Other Clubs News/General Discussion

Fat Jesus, I pray our Father forgive us for we know not what we do; if it were only that simple.

I guess you've indirectly called me out, as a Veteran of the United States Army, and currently a contractor for the US Department of Defense, spanning the last three and a half decades of my life.
War is littered with atrocities and no country, especially my own, can claim they maintained their military discipline under the chaos of war where, more than anything, executing a plan is useless in battle due to the extreme number of variables. Initiative, in the end, governs all. In that spirit, there are many, who follow their orders to the letter, whom you've never heard of before. There are few, unfortunately, who are responsible for the atrocities and make the headlines. Nothing surprising about that, right? Unless your beliefs condemn an entire organization because of who is President, or what your political affiliation aligns closest to.

Perspective is 20/20. I can understand how it is that anything American in today's world is looked upon as questionable, if not negative. In this case, the Armed Forces, that's fine. But consider from this end that we see ourselves very differently. The US has seen itself as the leader of the free world and has committed to protect it, if necessary, by the War Machine we both know it is. In recent times, many of us older veterans see the children we are sending off to war and we shake our head. They're too young. They know nothing about the real world, not to mention themselves. They'll come back very different than when they left, if they come back at all. That's how it's been done for a long time, and they, their families and their communities are changed forever when impacted by war, regardless whether the Armchair Quarterback at the top of the Chain of Command orders it justly or not. But consider this. The Great Country of Australia and the US defenses, strategically, have been working together to improve alignment by working together both in Australia, as well as the US, from everything including training, military exercises, infrastructure improvements throughout Australia, doctrine improvements designed to align the US and Australia along with other partners New Zealand and Great Britain.

Whether we are discussing protecting our respective homeland, coming to the aid of a partner under siege or asking why we are turning plowshare into sword, these are important questions the people of our respective great nations need, and deserve, an honest response from their leaders who are ultimately accountable to those same people.

I joined the US Army, back in 1992, not to engage in war, but to protect those fighting on the front line through the intelligence world. It was a technical, analytical position which aligned with my engineering background of problem solving and came to love what I was doing. After four years, I left the service and became a contractor, doing the same stuff, but as an engineer. That part worked out for me, but I will always take pride in having served my country honorably, and did so with the intent to help my team on the battlefield and off. I was a regular soldier like the rest of them.

War isn't pretty and it's never done perfectly. You get the call, you respond, you rely on your teammates and leader, and you do as you are trained to do, as good as you can. But soldiers make mistakes. Leaders make mistakes. Even presidents make mistakes (NOTE: I didn't capitalize the "p" intentionally. Do I really need to explain why?).

It is easy to criticize on the other side of the world. It's far from easy when something you were once proud of has been made to look like a shambles on the international stage, in front of our enemies, no less.

Father, forgive me.

Peace.
Good on you for your service. It's great to hear some real perspective and not one fooled by propaganda from 3rd world nations and religions whose goal is to destroy Western Civilisations .

Dark and ‘wrong’ humour gets the lols and the young players would’ve gone all out to 1-up each other to ingratiate themselves with older teammates. A type of voluntary hazing if you will.

I dunno, I personally couldn’t care less if the bartender was offended.

Being offended happens, it’s to be expected in life.

Spot on about the voluntary hazing. Notice no senior players had any controversial outfits, closest was connor idun.

It's come to light their AFLW team have kicked up a stink about it.

Spot on about the voluntary hazing. Notice no senior players had any controversial outfits, closest was connor idun.

It's come to light their AFLW team have kicked up a stink about it.
Their AFLW team needs to concentrate on footy because that's more important to them atm. They really need a lot of work. Also, sometimes it's not good to bite the hand that feeds you. "Leave politics out of football ".

Somewhat true but they've been completely stitched up by the AFL with the ridiculous fixturing. Playing 3 games in 10 days at times with a limited pre season is just killing them, and some of the times and venues chosen have killed attendance.

I love going to vic park to watch us play, though a mate who works at the pies says it is very expensive to play there due to the cost, but this season games have been everywhere at random, inconvenient times. We lack a training base like the whitten oval or moorabin that is really good to watch footy from.

A quick check of the GCS board.
Despite starting almost 24 hours later, the Rioli thread has 19 replies, Noble thread has 13 replies.
Pretty clear now why there was such a differential in trade value.

A quick check of the GCS board.
Despite starting almost 24 hours later, the Rioli thread has 19 replies, Noble thread has 13 replies.
Pretty clear now why there was such a differential in trade value.
The board doesn't get a lot of actvity in general, just the regular posters.
Also in general the player threads tend to be pretty quiet overall. But they're happy to have him either way, but Rioli clearly was the bigger fish.

I reckon Rioli's "Innocent" catch up with dimma mid season, may not have been so innocent at all. Don't think anyone believed he was there just on holiday.

Would be nice if we got something like this. Trying to pry an injury report from the club pre-season is like finding a nail in a haystack
Just a thought Jen I reckon a needle might be harder though

Perryman and the other 'leaders' did wrong.
Making light of sexual assault/abuse/rape/terrorism is not on.
The idiots who performed and planned it..
Grow up get educated.
Woke?
No.
Awake
Raping a doll? Sexual abuse of a doll?
Feck me.
Pretty stupid but rape?

I'm not qualified to decide the right punishment but they were cringe-worthy digheads.

There was no need to do what they did in that domain. A person who works for $37 ph serving drinks shouldn't have to deal with that spectacle. Both my kids worked in hospitality as did I in my youth.

It's a bad look for GWS and the AFL. I hope that my son who still plays footy would consider crap like that beneath him.

Suspending players for being ‘offensive’ sets a very malleable and slippery precedent IMO. Many things could and will be construed as such.

I’d personally prefer the AFL manages the game day stuff and our govt organisations and general society handle everything outside of that.

Alternatively club imposed sanctions sit a little more comfortably with me. Ie every time a player gets their photo taken doing blow it’s the club that reprimands them…

Spose I’m just an anarchist at heart and most top-down solutions particularly pertaining to subjective damages cause a gin-scented tear to trickle down my face.
I agree to a certain extent.
The club should mete out the punishment and submit a report to the AFL.
When the AFL become self appointed moral guardians, they are overreaching their remit.
That said, some of the reported "skits" warrant significant penalties.
Rape, 9/11, racism are no go zones, and the players involved deserve sanctions, and need to be more attuned to what can cause justified offence.

Comedy, or so called Comedy or parody should always punch down.
Rape is never Comedy in my opinion.
My Mother, Sister and a few friends have been r*ped.
Sorry to hear this mate.

GWS players that humped the doll should be accused of rape? Sexual assault?
Dunno, sounds extreme to me.

Oppo Camp Other Clubs News/General Discussion