Our biggest trade/draft period EVER.

I agree with Knightmare. There is just so many doom and gloom supporters that choose to think negatively. We are a very good side. If we pick up a couple of senior listed players to fix us up in just a couple of areas, we will be very good again. I love Toovey, he is like a new recruit next year, and on the other back pocket, I am real keen to see more of Marley Williams. Clinton Young will be good to go next year too, along with Harry O on the other back flank, and Keeffe with maybe Reid to make the back six strong and settled. Players like Josh Thomas, Seedsman, Kennedy and even Sinclair will get better. We still have Pendlebury, Swan and Beams and may have Dale Thomas to come back in if he stays. There is a lot of positives to look at, so why bother looking negatively. Just because we looked bad toward the end of this year, doesn't mean that is the way it is going to stay.

Critics may have said the same about many of those recent Hawthorn savy recruits. Josh Gibson, Brent Guerra, Jack Gunston, David Hale.

Shaun Burgoyne and Brian Lake as players in the latter portions of their careers.

Sometimes that's all it takes and Sydney, Richmond and Hawthorn are recent teams to build pretty strong teams through savy trading.

If we get the names right that's our best chance of winning with this years draft not so strong and not so deep.

Not every team can expect to take Gary Ablett or Lance Franklin as free agents. Few clubs have that kind of salary cap space and that's pipe dream stuff in reality with movement of stars and stars in their primes rare.

I agree and that's why I think White would be a good get because he's an upgrade on Lynch but my post was directed at to OP that said

What do Pie fans think of Alipate Carlile? Reason I ask, is that I know he enquired about a house in Werribee South on the beach. He didn't turn up to the Auction, probably because A. It was only a second thought from another option in Williamstown or St Kilda beach anyway, and B. That day he was playing for Port against North Melbourne. But the enquiry certainly pricked my ears up thinking he might be wanting to move to Melbourne.

I also see he is a Restricted Free Agent.

Also heard the other day that Scott Selwood wants to come back to Melbourne. I am sure there is heaps of players that haven't even been mentioned yet. However, when they do, it would be mad for Pies not to be doing their Homework on each and every possibility.

I agree and that's why I think White would be a good get because he's an upgrade on Lynch but my post was directed at to OP that said

White specifically I'd disagree on. He's a downgrade in all ways on Lynch. Finds less of the footy. Takes less marks. He's a horrible tackler. And if Lynch gets that penetration back on his kick he's more of a goalkicking threat while we're at it. And that's before we talk about the leadership and culture value Lynch offers whereas White, not as much as someone who has mostly struggled to get the best out of himself on that Sydney team. Usually if you can't get it done in Sydney your fortunes aren't changing at your next club.

Paul Licuria would say a bit about that. Hate Lynch, he is a big dud. I would love to read that they delisted him. I reckon White will be MUCH MUCH better for the Pies than Lynch.

If you do a comparison between Jesse White, Quinten Lynch and James Podsiadly, there is not much difference in their overall game. To get an overall, instead of going into disposals, marks, tackles etc, it is an indication when Lynch averages 68 supercoach, White 70 and Pods 72. But one glaring difference is AGE. Both Pods and Lynch are old and finished, and White is mid aged, who was a little slow to mature. I would like to get the advantage of his better years.

What do Pie fans think of Alipate Carlile? Reason I ask, is that I know he enquired about a house in Werribee South on the beach. He didn't turn up to the Auction, probably because A. It was only a second thought from another option in Williamstown or St Kilda beach anyway, and B. That day he was playing for Port against North Melbourne. But the enquiry certainly pricked my ears up thinking he might be wanting to move to Melbourne.

I also see he is a Restricted Free Agent.

Also heard the other day that Scott Selwood wants to come back to Melbourne. I am sure there is heaps of players that haven't even been mentioned yet. However, when they do, it would be mad for Pies not to be doing their Homework on each and every possibility.
tumblr_m8ayebWEyZ1rb74jpo1_500.gif

We need a good key fwd to help Cloke, or a key defender who can allow Reid to stay fwd.
We need a big bodied mid with elite foot skills.
We need a dangerous small fwd who can kick 30-40 goals.

Paul Licuria would say a bit about that. Hate Lynch, he is a big dud. I would love to read that they delisted him. I reckon White will be MUCH MUCH better for the Pies than Lynch.

If you do a comparison between Jesse White, Quinten Lynch and James Podsiadly, there is not much difference in their overall game. To get an overall, instead of going into disposals, marks, tackles etc, it is an indication when Lynch averages 68 supercoach, White 70 and Pods 72. But one glaring difference is AGE. Both Pods and Lynch are old and finished, and White is mid aged, who was a little slow to mature. I would like to get the advantage of his better years.

Im with you pie guy, I think Jessie White would be massive for us.

In listening to Cloke interviews he's spoken about how much Lynch has helped him with his game with his leading patterns as a deep forward the thing he noted as that most notable improvement that he credited to Lynch.

He's got elite endurance by position with the way he covers the ground and all reports have suggested that he absolutely trained the house down throughout the preseason and did so in an attempt to impress at his new club. The only downfall was overtraining which the coaches listed in the season review as his issue and why he dropped off after that early season and NAB Cup success.

Lynch can improve on his supercoach numbers next year and have greater scoreboard impact once he can get that kick back above the 40m he was going at this year.

Then you look at Hawkins and how he has improved since Podsaidly has been a team mate and you can't help but think that he has helped his game a long way. Back when Podsiadly joined Geelong Dawes had a reputation as a better key forward than Hawkins who still was struggling. Since Podsiadly he's gone on to become an excellent key forward and probably a top 5/6 key forward in the competition.
Additionally JPod doesn't push up the ground. He stays mostly deep getting his ball much closer to goal making his touches more valuable.

So both Podsiadly and Lynch today are better players than White. They also both provide both leadership and development value to the rest of the list as professional guys. White on the other hand will cost you currency and doesn't provide that same club culture value.

If you pay I'd rather pay for a premier key forward rather than a depth guy which White remains.

You've got too many ifs in there. Lynchy is on the wrong side of 30 and if he's not done, he's certainly on the downhill slide. White's stats this year are very comparable to Q's this year and he's coming into his prime football time and on the upward curve as you'd like to have in a recruit but you're welcome to your opinion.
The original point I made was about the 'big names' we should be signing up and that they don't appear to be out there still stands.

what about Kris pendlebury? seen on his instagram that his been doing some early pre-season at westpac, i do think we should pick him up, regardless he walked out on the vfl squad or not, he could be something

Only played the one game this year (went down with injury at the very start of the season I'm assuming).

He's an undersized key defender. Could be a stop game for a team but with our loaded back half he's not someone we can use in a senior sense with Reid, Brown, Keeffe and Frost already.

Travis Cloke would be just glad that he had SOMEONE that could do SOMETHING in the forward line with him. Toward the end at Collingwood, Dawes was having his players leave him, as they didn't think he was dangerous, and jump all over Cloke. Jolly said it best at a training session, when the ball flew over the fence in the preseason. This supporter camped under it, and put his hands up, and it slid straight through his hands. Jolly said "You mark like Dawesy" everyone cracked up. Dawes was no good, and if he does well at Melbourne, it will be inconsistent, and he fits well in the Demons side, because they won't be contenders until after Dawesy's time.

Pods has been great for Cats don't get me wrong, I would of liked Pods in our side in the past few years. However, he is old now, and he is finished. Age catches up to players, and it has done so with Pods.

Now Lynch, I see Lynch in much the same vein as Leigh Brown. He will pop up and play your "occasional" good game, or pop up for a couple of marks and goals every now and then, but he is terrible when the ball hits the ground, as he is slow. He does get speed up when leading straight, but that does not help when Defenders easily run the ball out of our forward line. Lynch will be ok for Depth. He will try hard, get in for a couple of games, and lose form, and drop out again. What frustrated me this year, is instead of making Lynch accountable for his poor games, he was an automatic selection. I think he should be in and out like he was at West Coast. If we have Lynch as a regular, we will struggle to win.

I say this, because our opposition have Buddy, Roughead, Gunston, and Tippett, White, Reid and Goodes, or Pavlich, Mayne, Zac Clarke, and every other team is blessed with more capable big guys up forward than Lynch.

White has been victim of being being second fiddle to players like Mike Pyke, Shane Mumford, Adam Goodes, Sam Reid and Lewis Roberts Thompson last year. This year Kurt Tippett added to that. Can you imagine how hard that would be? Last year the Swans were premiers, and this year, White turned the corner and played 15 Games for the reining premiers. That is a fair effort!! Then when they go forward, they are looking for other players. It is very hard to win respect and advance your career when that is going on.

Look at Lynch, he played less with WCE than he managed with us. Leigh Brown couldn't manage to crack into the side with North and he played almost every game with us. White will be the same, because we aren't deep in that area. We also have a thought that we don't want to forget, and that is to have a second tall player capable of rucking, but not really a ruck. Brown, Dawes, Lynch and now we are looking at White. In those four White I have more faith in him being able to back up our ruckman than any of the others.

His stats say under ten taps average per game, but he barely plays ruck with the Swans as Mumford and Pyke are more than enough. If we are going to go with what people call a shit truck, White would be the best one to get.

Travis Cloke would be just glad that he had SOMEONE that could do SOMETHING in the forward line with him.
I reckon Cloke would be happy with a midfielder who can pass the ball accurately to him from 30 metres away while he is on a lead and not do what they currently do which is kick over his head or dropping it short in front of him.

I'm over drafting and trading for athletes, I wouldn't mind players who know how to actually kick a football. That's what Hawthorn have that we don't. Just look at the way they chipped around and hit targets when they had the ball under Freo pressure today. We would have turned the ball over most times.

what about Kris pendlebury? seen on his instagram that his been doing some early pre-season at westpac, i do think we should pick him up, regardless he walked out on the vfl squad or not, he could be something
We should try change him into a third tall fwd or a big bodied mid?

I reckon Cloke would be happy with a midfielder who can pass the ball accurately to him from 30 metres away while he is on a lead and not do what they currently do which is kick over his head or dropping it short in front of him.

I'm over drafting and trading for athletes, I wouldn't mind players who know how to actually kick a football. That's what Hawthorn have that we don't. Just look at the way they chipped around and hit targets when they had the ball under Freo pressure today. We would have turned the ball over most times.

I was very unimpressed with the Hawks today. They were not world beaters AT ALL. If Freo kicked for goal well, it would be Freo that won today, simple as that.

It is often how well a forward makes the space for himself. I am sick of seeing forward lead straight TO the ball, taking their backman with them, and when they put their hands up, they are surprised when the spoil happens. Gunston is the guy that was taking marks in the fifty, and he was staying OUT of the drop zone of the ball, and right as the ball was just about to be at the perfect spot, he would take those three four steps into the space, and clunk it. Cloke gets to the ball too quick.

We have midfielders that can hit targets. Pendlebury and Swan don't poll well in the Brownlow because they miss targets. Beams is a very handy kick as well. And Josh Thomas did very well this year. Also Ball is a player that can hit a leading forward target. But if Cloke wants to take the defender with him, and not think before rushing at the ball, he will get what he has been getting.

Ben Reid does much better in this aspect, and look how many marks he got this year while playing in the forward line. I hope they play Cloke at CHF next year, it would be much better for our team balance, and Cloke is much better at those long kicks forward and can patrol the half forward line, which is what we have been missing since Anthony Rocca retired.

Our biggest trade/draft period EVER.