Opinion Our Day in Kangaroo Court - The Real Alberton Faithful 1870-2012 versus Ken Bloody Hinkley 2013-2023 … 2025? and his Enablers

Where was this bloke handing out threats when we were all clearly writing liable sh*t about former crows, port and other clubs coaches, players, staff etc in the past?
Why is this person even on here? All they do is defend Hinkley and not offer much else to the debates had.

It's a internet forum, if there are posts they don't like it's easier to scroll past them and say nothing, or use the ignore button rather then post threats and garbage around.

Why is this person even on here? All they do is defend Hinkley and not offer much else to the debates had.

It's a internet forum, if there are posts they don't like it's easier to scroll past them and say nothing, or use the ignore button rather then post threats and garbage around.

lol because it's clearly a troll account. I still like responding to it though because it's funny.

Wasn't the Lynda Loades parody account permabanned for being a parody account yet tHUndeRpaNTs is allowed to continue to post rubbish.

Every time I remember the co-captains debacle I want everybody involved sacked. Just incredible that an idea which failed on every possible level ever went ahead.
At least with co captains we realised we ****ed up and reversed it

At least with co captains we realised we f’ed up and reversed it
There was more than enough evidence that it was a bad idea before it started. We shouldn't have needed hindsight.

God?

I dont think Russ was a fan of Ken either.
Not sure of Russell’s opinion of Hinkley. At the end of the 2014 season, when the Great Man flew to HK for the GF weekend, second year in a row, he did talk a bit over beers about the Club and the attitude within consequent to the 2014 prelim loss. He was extremely critical.

Premierships, he said, are so bloody hard to win, and we had just let a golden opportunity slip. He revealed that the Club didn’t seem to be looking at it that way. He said the Club was too busy patting itself on the back for improving on 2013 and getting ‘within a kick’ of the grand final. He said this attitude was akin to a bunch of amateurs with a helluva lot to learn. There was no basis, he said, for the Club to be acting the way it was. We had lost, but were carrying on as if that wasn’t important.

The prime culprit, he said, was Koch.

Russell was no fan of David Koch. I have never written before about this, out of respect to the Great Man.

He asked my wife what she thought of David Koch. Said she: “He is nobody up here.”

He nodded. “Sums it up,” he agreed.

Maybe continue to respect him and stop making assumptions. You were not a personal friend, you don’t know. You need to stick to your opinions and not speculating on others.
You’re another I have on ignore. You’ve demonstrated your lack of the basics before, and have done so again.

If you are referring to what I posted about Russell’s opinion of Hinkley and Koch back in 2014, I clearly stated I was unaware what the Great Man’s feel about Hinkley was then as the subject never came up, but I was well aware of his disapproval of Koch as Russ reminded me several times that his view was that Koch “was too far up himself”.

The general opinion of Koch from all the staff at Alberton went along the same lines, including Richo. Especially Steve Dawes.

So I have made no assumptions at all and that means you have not read my post properly … or are intent on not reading it properly and just having an unfriendly dig at me.

Russell Ebert and I got along famously - for the three days he was up here in 2013 with Tom Jonas and Tom Logan. Russ it was who flew home and recommended to Richo that the Club had something worthwhile taking shape in Hong Kong, and the venture went ahead. A year later he was here again for GF weekend along with Richo and we all got to know each other even better. We linked up in Shanghai in 2017 and during a session with George Fiacchi and Russell we all became better mates.
I had spent time with George in HK in May 2014 when the board staged its first international meeting here; I took George and Richo to St George’s Building to meet a main board director of CLP Group, the owners of EnergyAustralia with whom we’d just signed a JMS partnership. The CLP Group director I introduced had been a mate of mine for years; he’s Brit, a specialist lawyer who rose quickly in the Kadoorie empire. He it was who emailed CLP’s CEO in Melbourne with a request to have a look at Port Adelaide for a sponsorship deal. I think the email timed things well, a day or so before KT and colleagues made their day-long pitch.

So, I consider/ed the Great Man a mate of mine. I reckon he valued my company and views. So you are wrong again, dude. Russell Ebert and I spent quality time together. My grandson‘s middle name is Russell, after the Great Man. We speak of the Great Man often, and I have that Bars lace-up framed in my spare room with the four Ebert autographs, and every time I go past I look up, salute, say “Hi Guys.” And they say “cheers mate“ right back at me.” They never ask about you, though. Seems you’ve got lost somewhere.

Montgomery

But he says a perceived lack of midfield depth wasn’t necessarily the reason for the Power’s preliminary final horror show against the Western Bulldogs, despite it being the main criticism of how Port Adelaide’s 2021 campaign ended.
“It would be tempting to really bite at that narrative, I’m not sure that it is really the issue,” he said. “I think we are talking about one game where it was dysfunctional across the ground for whatever reason.”

Look ahead. Imagine Hinkley gone during bye week. Brett Montgomery would take over as caretaker senior coach.

Quoted above are a couple of lines from Simeon Hyphen’s piece on-line at adelaidenow.com.au

‘ … wasn’t necessarily the reason … ‘

Then what was?

‘ … dysfunctional across the ground … ‘

These few words, although meant as a deflection, are an extra indictment on the senior coach, an extension of ‘abomination’.

Are we ever going to be told the truth?

What happened in the rooms before the game? The body language when they came out was tentative, uncertain.

Am I the only one who took note of Tom Jonas’s pre-game exit from the race on to the ground? I’m sure I saw him come out, alone, uncertain, hesitate after a few paces, look back at his teammates lingering in the race.

I know I thought to myself: ‘Something’s not right.’ They had not shown up to win a prelim final.

Did I see what wasn’t there?

You’re another I have on ignore
You sure about that? You know what ignore means right?

Russell Ebert was an exceptional human being and I have no doubt he would have made you feel special and heard, he was genuinely interested in most people.

You’ve made it clear that you felt shunned by Ken when you met him and he didn’t give you any love. You’ll get over it one day, or maybe you‘ll just continue to post about it again and again and again.

Whats the deal with Ken and shunning things? LR, the members and supporters of the club post the preliminary final, success, the bloke has some serious form.

Well he lacks the scrote to take criticism at AGMs anymore after like 1 member questioned his coaching.

Full on crying to mum because 'he said mean thing to me' effort from the 0 time grand finalist.

1643021103633.jpeg
“Huh!?”

“I’ve got no problem with them losing preliminary finals, that happens – they’re the hardest games to win.”
David King, unnecessarily putting words in Hinkley’s mouth:
Fox Footy, 12 September 2021.

HINKS THE JINX GOES TO HARVARD

So here we are, heading into the senior coach’s tenth year as senior coach. He’s not the same parcel he was when he walked into Alberton in October 2012. Of course he isn’t. He’s a decade older for a start, he’s gone bald and he’s slowed to a walk, can’t get out of the chair let alone get out of the coach’s box and go down to the bench to do a bit of one-on-one with the players at critical times of the game. A bit of genuine coaching. If a coach can’t do that, he’s no coach. What’s that you say? He’s never gone down to the bench? Not once in a decade? “I leave that to Vossy and the boys,” he said on pre-match TV? What’s he going to do now that Voss is gone? Surely he’ll go down to the bench in 2022? Surely. Once or twice? Of course he won’t, the bludger. Ooroo Monty.

Indeed, Hinkley has changed. Older, balder, flabbier, slower. But smarter, too, has to be. He’s been to Harvard. With Voss. Two weeks, it was. This happened after his second premature undeserved unneccessary contract extension, the one at the end of 2017. It was a concession given by him so the Club could hang on to him, stop him picking up his toys and calling in his hounds and grumping it back to Gold Coast. Ken had serious misgivings about being seen being sent off to school on the far side of the world. Misgivings? Make that arms crossed, scowl and growl, heels dug in, obstinate Ken sort of misgivings.

“I ain’t goin’.”

It was George Costanza’s idea. Had to be. All Koch could think to do was make Hinkley materially richer, not mentally more fertile. All Koch could come up with was take it from the faithful and the believers and give it to the Hinkleys; that’s as far as the chairman’s deal-making goes. Money. Small change, but money nevertheless. But George, he wanted to see if Hinkley could learn something. Anything. See if he could get better, no matter how miniscule was the improvement. George wanted a professional assessment of what Hinkley had between his ears, and whether it was made of moving parts, so to speak, or just sitting there gumming up the works, like a soggy banana up the exhaust pipe. George wanted to know if this bloke was really not as smart as he pretended not to be.

So Kenny from Camperdown More Far went to Harvard. Voss was sent with him, to keep an eye on him, to make sure Kenny didn’t sleep in, didn’t play truant. No way Ken was chuffed about that. But, then, Ken was never chuffed about anything except a ham & cheese toastie and coke zero by the pool. Ken didn’t want to risk Voss getting any smarter than he already was. Koch and Cardone had brought Voss in without his permission, remember. Ken’s plan was to keep Voss out of range down at the bench. Ken had no intention of helping Voss take his job off him, just like Ken had no intention of taking his eye off of Schofield whom Ken knew was after his job because a voice in his head told him so. It rang true, that voice, as Ken thought everybody was after his job. Insecurity. It’s one of very few things he does well.

A wise man once said: “You can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make it drink.” A smart-arse added a second line: “You can send a mule to school, but you can’t make it think.” That smart-arse was me. Rolls off the tongue, right? The rhyme, I mean.

So Ken went to Harvard.

Then it all went wrong: he came back.

He came back and conned the board of directors into believing he was a scholar, and thus a better coach. He conned Koch first, which ain’t hard, and Koch told the board Kenny wasn’t from Camperdown any more. Ken was a Harvard grad now and would therefore win us a premiership. You have to be smart to win a premiership. And Ken was now smart.

And the board believed him.

1643021349607.jpeg
SPP: “What’s he on about?”
Boak: “Can’t tell. He’s doing two-word sentences. F@ck Harvard.”

Kane Cornes, SEN:
Now I’m no English major, right? I haven’t been to Harvard, in fact I got 55 in Year 12 and that was largely because my wife Lucy did all my homework for me at school. I’m no expert, but “abomination.” Is there a stronger word to describe a poor performance from a footy team? I can’t think of one. That is from their footy boss.

1643021207831.jpeg
“Harvard or no bloody Harvard, the chances of me coaching this club to a flag are this big.”

Opinion Our Day in Kangaroo Court - The Real Alberton Faithful 1870-2012 versus Ken Bloody Hinkley 2013-2023 … 2025? and his Enablers