Burek

Suspended
Sep 9, 2008
Untitled
Any non-victorians living in Melbourne sick of all this bullshit that the local media has decided to throw around? Its the AFL..you want VFL go to telstra done tonight - the granny is on. Thats the Victorian Football League.

Maybe the AFL should fund a summit as to why there were too many vic teams playing in finals, just like the HUN were suggesting in 06.

It's about time that AFL HQ is moved away from Melbourne. All this anti interstate crap and the massive victorian paracholiasm is not doing the new teams nor the game in Sydney any favours.

Any non-victorians living in Melbourne sick of all this bullshit that the local media has decided to throw around? Its the AFL..you want VFL go to telstra done tonight - the granny is on. Thats the Victorian Football League.

Maybe the AFL should fund a summit as to why there were too many vic teams playing in finals, just like the HUN were suggesting in 06.

It's about time that AFL HQ is moved away from Melbourne. All this anti interstate crap and the massive victorian paracholiasm is not doing the new teams nor the game in Sydney any favours.

How many times does it have to be said??
It's all bullpoo and media run. They don't speak for everyone they're just the media.

Stop whingeing like a little bitch and relax.

• Banned
How many times does it have to be said??
It's all bullpoo and media run. They don't speak for everyone they're just the media.

Stop whingeing like a little bitch and relax.

I would subscribe to it just being the media...but the problem is a lot of the locals believe the hype. They feed off each other. The media tells people in Melbourne that they rock and have the best city and its our game and the lemmins believe it and then reward the paper by buying each day.

Wouldn't piss me off as much if it were just a media thing. Listen to talk back, chat to the man on the street, watch the tv when they interview fans and now read bigfooty and its the same crap.

I would subscribe to it just being the media...but the problem is a lot of the locals believe the hype. They feed off each other. The media tells people in Melbourne that they rock and have the best city and its our game and the lemmins believe it and then reward the paper by buying each day.

Wouldn't piss me off as much if it were just a media thing. Listen to talk back, chat to the man on the street, watch the tv when they interview fans and now read bigfooty and its the same crap.

Well, its true.:p

It's about time that AFL HQ is moved away from Melbourne. .

i think it's about time you were moved away from melbourne. Each state is proud, you can't read about a victorian team in W.A or S.A. you can't read about, or watch football above victoria on the east coast.

if you seriously think we're the only biased state, and if you seriously think there's not some justice in there finally being 2 victorian sides in the granny, when northern east coast states have won 4 of the past 8 grannies with victorian players and not given a s***, then you are an idiot, and we don't need you in victoria.
i'm all for promoting the game interstate, but you don't do that by promoting a healthy, national minded view in victoria so that expats like yourself are satisfied. you do that by promoting the game in the effected states. our arrogance promotes rivalry, and cold blooded hatred, something i've always associated with the great things in football.

pretty soon we'll be watching GC17 winning flags, with VIC, S.A and W.A kids running round for them, and if what we end up with is a true national game, then it will be worth the pain. but it will be painful.

To be honest I dont think the media has made that big a deal of it, compared to last year when we finally had another Vic team even in the grand final, and then they won it. That was a beat up, this year there hasn't been too much about it

• Banned
i think it's about time you were moved away from melbourne. Each state is proud, you can't read about a victorian team in W.A or S.A. you can't read about, or watch football above victoria on the east coast.

if you seriously think we're the only biased state, and if you seriously think there's not some justice in there finally being 2 victorian sides in the granny, when northern east coast states have won 4 of the past 8 grannies with victorian players and not given a s***, then you are an idiot, and we don't need you in victoria.
i'm all for promoting the game interstate, but you don't do that by promoting a healthy, national minded view in victoria so that expats like yourself are satisfied. you do that by promoting the game in the effected states. our arrogance promotes rivalry, and cold blooded hatred, something i've always associated with the great things in football.

pretty soon we'll be watching GC17 winning flags, with VIC, S.A and W.A kids running round for them, and if what we end up with is a true national game, then it will be worth the pain. but it will be painful.

Don't believe the hype moron. See you proved my point you insignificant little victorian.

tissue?

Maybe if Sydney got more than 19000 spectators to a final's game then the AFL might consider it.

I'm over it, but the media here are pathetic. No mention of Black being runner up in our newspapers, no mention of Goodes polling so well despite not playing well according to Roos.

I can sum up the Herald Sun's sport section for the whole year with the following words. ABLETT ABLETT FRANKLIN ABLETT HARVERY FRANKLIN FRANKLIN OMFG FRANKLIN.

Oh and the weekly article on how awesome Collingwood are and all the potential they've shown.

Yep.:(

I'm over it, but the media here are pathetic. No mention of Black being runner up in our newspapers, no mention of Goodes polling so well despite not playing well according to Roos.

I can sum up the Herald Sun's sport section for the whole year with the following words. ABLETT ABLETT FRANKLIN ABLETT HARVERY FRANKLIN FRANKLIN OMFG FRANKLIN.

Oh and the weekly article on how awesome Collingwood are and all the potential they've shown.

Yep.:(

Yeah and how about when they went all serious and were calling for a full AFL funded summit into why vic clubs are not playing in finals. Far enough you have to pamper to your market but if Melbourne people hadn't realised that there has been an influx of interstaters moving to bleakcity in the past 4 years so they have to change their tact. I refuse to buy the HUN but always pick it up in the morning while waiting for my coffee and just laugh at the mass stupidty and arrogance shown by them.

Case in point 2 weeks ago the week before the swans and bulldogs final. For the first 3 days the most the swans recieved was 2, thats 2 one paragraphs rehashing crap about so and so saying that the swans are ready. I am sure it was merely a mash up written by the work experience kid...while the Vic teams got 4 pages each.

Not only that the posters all featured only the vic teams and rarely did i see the non vic teams.

I guess they will only learn the day when the interstate teams have enough and form their own league leaving the Vic clubs to all die. Show us interstaters more respect and not hate, you know the ones making the AFL heaps of $$$$ and propping up insignificant victorian clubs.

Bitches.

Makes a change. The last 10 years or so, we've had nothing but crying eminating from Victoria.

Their gutter media and inbred public have gone over the top with their bitterness and stupidity.

Now their sooking has been replaced with gloating. And to think they did all this with only 10 teams and a system that seriously favours them !!:rolleyes:

Parochialism sells newspapers. At the end of the day though, does it make the supporters of the 8 other Vic clubs feel any better than the supporters of the 6 clubs outside Victoria? Do they feel somehow more represented? I would feel no state pride if the Crows were in the GF. In fact I would feel quite the opposite.

Of course the media in other states, don't go overboard when one of their teams are in the finals?

I lived in Perth during the Eagles flags in the 90's, you want to see one-sided, bias & parochialism, it was far worse than it's been here. I'm guessing Adelaide, Brisbane & Sydney would have been the same.

All this anti interstate crap and the massive victorian paracholiasm is not doing the new teams nor the game in Sydney any favours.

Maybe the city of Sydney should start caring themselves about their sporting clubs rather then complaining about everything and maybe putting bums on seats might be a start.

Can't believe a sporting fan would get upset over a city getting excited.

If that is why people wont follow the new teams........then it is pathetic and they dont deserve new teams.

Parochialism sells newspapers. At the end of the day though, does it make the supporters of the 8 other Vic clubs feel any better than the supporters of the 6 clubs outside Victoria? Do they feel somehow more represented? I would feel no state pride if the Crows were in the GF. In fact I would feel quite the opposite.

There seems to be this attitude down here that you never follow an interstate team and you must follow a vic team regardless. I mean wtf is that mentality?

I would never follow Western Sydney in the future just to stick up to the vics. In fact i wouldn't give a shit b/c my team is not there and is only my team i give a stuff about.

Maybe the city of Sydney should start caring themselves about their sporting clubs rather then complaining about everything and maybe putting bums on seats might be a start.

Can't believe a sporting fan would get upset over a city getting excited.

If that is why people wont follow the new teams........then it is pathetic and they dont deserve new teams.

I gather you don't live in Melbourne? I do and it's unbearable.

This is what bugs me, you pick a team and you follow them.

You don't pick a state and follow them, if your team doesn't it make it to the Grand Final you don't sit back and root for Victoria.

I honestly couldn't give a stuff about who wins what tomorrow, I'll be watching for the sake of watching football and hopefully it will be an awesome game.

Stuff WAFL, stuff NSWAFL (that's what the state comp is called isn't it?), stuff QAFL and stuff the VFL, just watch the bloody footy because it's footy.

You barrack for one team, not one state.

This is what bugs me, you pick a team and you follow them.

You don't pick a state and follow them, if your team doesn't it make it to the Grand Final you don't sit back and root for Victoria.

I honestly couldn't give a stuff about who wins what tomorrow, I'll be watching for the sake of watching football and hopefully it will be an awesome game.

Stuff WAFL, stuff NSWAFL (that's what the state comp is called isn't it?), stuff QAFL and stuff the VFL, just watch the bloody footy because it's footy.

You barrack for one team, not one state.

Perfectly summed up.

ABLETT ABLETT FRANKLIN ABLETT HARVERY FRANKLIN FRANKLIN OMFG FRANKLIN.

How dare the Melbourne media focus on players from the grand final teams in grand final week! I mean - it's not as though they are meant to try and sell papers or anything, is it? Cos if they were, I'm sure they would have a double-page spread on the Brownlow medal runners-up.

Its been like this all year. Sing the praises of local players and create stir by rubbishing interstate team or players over indiscretions.

The HUN is a vindictive poisonous oil rag and the locals lap it all up b/c its US vs THEM.

Our Grand Final