Ovens and Murray

do you reckon that's appropriate you tool... those bodies belonged to real people you fcukwit! Mite be an interesting story for a bloke like you at the pub, but not on here. Not sure if bright boy is a good name for you!

I think what I said had come out the wrong way. Probably not to be said like that. Should have been told differently.

I was only stating that for what he had gone through with all that happened in Bali and how he survived and had come out & played footy and then too win the medal.

you don't like the fact that wang 'bought' a flag? why not, should that concept remain the domain of the border teams only? please. as recent history shows in the o&m you have to spend big to get yourself in a position to have a crack. since the mid 90's and the demise of the rovers dynasty mainly it has been the cashed up border teams that have dominated the recruiting stakes and in turn the premiership stage. yarra and c/r have had a turn but again paid good dollars to do it. Myrt got close a couple of times but again paid massive dollars, probably to the long term detriment of the club. therefore it is very unfair to say wang 'bought' a flag in a derogatory manner becuase that is simply how it is in the o&m

another point on the players wang has brought in to the club in the last few years. most of them are not your stereotypical city traveller chasing the big bucks in the country. boofa higgs mullins mccormick thayer steer are all wang boys who have returned. mccormick for example could have obtained more cash elsewhere when he left carl but decided to head back home. cosgriff is a former bushie from the shepp area i think, kirby is from tat in the GV, hayse is from benalla, lord is from nathalia i think, trenfield had a run there in the early 2000's when he was a murray kangaroos supp player, so a big % of their recruits are from the local area and/or had ties to the club

as for being a powerhouse, i don't think anyone was saying move the GF to wang becasue the magpies are now a good side. the basis of the argument is that it is indeed the ovens and murray league and it would be appropriate to share the big day between the 2 major centres of the league once the facilities at wang are uprgaded. the playing surface itself at wang is superb so once the other facilities are up to scratch there is no bar to it hosting the big day. (just on the powerhouse issue, wang are currently in finals for the 4th time in 5 years. had mccormick not been cut down by his knee inj in 2005 when they were 2 games clear on top they would most likely be shooting for their 3rd flag in 4 years this sunday. no, not a powerhouse, but certainly building an imposing recent record)[/quote]

I don't have anything against wang, the money they have or haven't spent or whether there players are locals etc... I'm actually happy to see them doing well after so many rough years in a row. I'm even happier to see a bloke like Jon Henry getting some reward for the effort he's put in over the years, and i'm sure there's plenty of behind the scenes people at the club who deserve it too.

But to suggest they would've won the flag in 2005 when mccormick did his knee opens up a whole can of worms. For example, if port adelaide had've kicked another 25 goals in last years AFL gf they'd have won it. And for something closer to home, if myrtleford had've kicked one more goal in 2005 and won the toss and year later, they mite've won back-to-back flags...

You are spot.. No point on dwelling on the what ifs in life. Besides that is all in the past now. I'm sure both Lavi and Wang wont give any thought to 2005 in the lead up to this Sunday. Both teams have earned their spot. It should be a great physical match.

Hutchy

But seeings it is grand final week I better give you boys (and maybe girls (flowerpower, no one could love themselves that much, gotta be Jakes better half doesnt it, although I have met the man and its a good possibility) the inside word.

Nope - wrong again. :D

Who is "Flowerpower"????????

you don't like the fact that wang 'bought' a flag? why not, should that concept remain the domain of the border teams only? please. as recent history shows in the o&m you have to spend big to get yourself in a position to have a crack. since the mid 90's and the demise of the rovers dynasty mainly it has been the cashed up border teams that have dominated the recruiting stakes and in turn the premiership stage. yarra and c/r have had a turn but again paid good dollars to do it. Myrt got close a couple of times but again paid massive dollars, probably to the long term detriment of the club. therefore it is very unfair to say wang 'bought' a flag in a derogatory manner becuase that is simply how it is in the o&m

another point on the players wang has brought in to the club in the last few years. most of them are not your stereotypical city traveller chasing the big bucks in the country. boofa higgs mullins mccormick thayer steer are all wang boys who have returned. mccormick for example could have obtained more cash elsewhere when he left carl but decided to head back home. cosgriff is a former bushie from the shepp area i think, kirby is from tat in the GV, hayse is from benalla, lord is from nathalia i think, trenfield had a run there in the early 2000's when he was a murray kangaroos supp player, so a big % of their recruits are from the local area and/or had ties to the club

as for being a powerhouse, i don't think anyone was saying move the GF to wang becasue the magpies are now a good side. the basis of the argument is that it is indeed the ovens and murray league and it would be appropriate to share the big day between the 2 major centres of the league once the facilities at wang are uprgaded. the playing surface itself at wang is superb so once the other facilities are up to scratch there is no bar to it hosting the big day. (just on the powerhouse issue, wang are currently in finals for the 4th time in 5 years. had mccormick not been cut down by his knee inj in 2005 when they were 2 games clear on top they would most likely be shooting for their 3rd flag in 4 years this sunday. no, not a powerhouse, but certainly building an imposing recent record)[/quote]

I don't have anything against wang, the money they have or haven't spent or whether there players are locals etc... I'm actually happy to see them doing well after so many rough years in a row. I'm even happier to see a bloke like Jon Henry getting some reward for the effort he's put in over the years, and i'm sure there's plenty of behind the scenes people at the club who deserve it too.

But to suggest they would've won the flag in 2005 when mccormick did his knee opens up a whole can of worms. For example, if port adelaide had've kicked another 25 goals in last years AFL gf they'd have won it. And for something closer to home, if myrtleford had've kicked one more goal in 2005 and won the toss and year later, they mite've won back-to-back flags...

fair enough. 'most likely' might have been a bit strong. pretty sure they were 9-1 and 2 games clear on top going into the nth alb game he got injured in tho. he was the dominant player in the competition and polled something like 18 votes in the morris medal in those 1st 10 weeks (winner only polled 21 or 22 i think). they beat lavi in a qual final and then stretched myrtl in the 2nd semi and lavi in the prelim without him. the whole complexion of the finals changes had wang held onto top spot. (making a prelim in 05 does still add to the impressive recent record they are building tho)

however as someone said who cares now, 2005 is long done and dusted. i only raised it in reference to wang consistently having an impact in finals over the last 5 years

onto the LPO this sunday. should be a very physical clash. will be interesting to see whether wang risks both boofa and hayse who are under inj clouds. sounds like pell will play, i reckon one of the 2 mentioned above will miss. cosgriff will play despite apparently popping his shoulder out no less than 6 times during the 2nd semi!

another important issue that i hope is addressed at the LPO this sunday - last year the beer supplies ran out shortly before half time. surely there couldn't be a repeat of this disgrace?

The Heavyweight champ of the world will defend the title! :thumbsu:

Just wondering if you were at the morris medal when Jake was asked about returning next year ? If not I found he fumbled his words a bit at that time and said "hopefully" "we will see how things go with work ect......" Did anyone else hear that ?????????????:confused::confused::confused:

fair enough. 'most likely' might have been a bit strong. pretty sure they were 9-1 and 2 games clear on top going into the nth alb game he got injured in tho. he was the dominant player in the competition and polled something like 18 votes in the morris medal in those 1st 10 weeks (winner only polled 21 or 22 i think). they beat lavi in a qual final and then stretched myrtl in the 2nd semi and lavi in the prelim without him. the whole complexion of the finals changes had wang held onto top spot. (making a prelim in 05 does still add to the impressive recent record they are building tho)

however as someone said who cares now, 2005 is long done and dusted. i only raised it in reference to wang consistently having an impact in finals over the last 5 years

onto the LPO this sunday. should be a very physical clash. will be interesting to see whether wang risks both boofa and hayse who are under inj clouds. sounds like pell will play, i reckon one of the 2 mentioned above will miss. cosgriff will play despite apparently popping his shoulder out no less than 6 times during the 2nd semi!

another important issue that i hope is addressed at the LPO this sunday - last year the beer supplies ran out shortly before half time. surely there couldn't be a repeat of this disgrace?

yes that was a disgrace who runs out of beer in a grand final and yes cossy will play and hoppuly pelly does aswell but at whos exspense

Just wondering if you were at the morris medal when Jake was asked about returning next year ? If not I found he fumbled his words a bit at that time and said "hopefully" "we will see how things go with work ect......" Did anyone else hear that ?????????????:confused::confused::confused:

what does the great man do for work? his matchies would be enough to live on wouldnt they.

Good luck to the pies this week, number 41 for best on

Believe a leading metro club who have recently achieved a " three peat" have his phone number.

yes well done to Ryan on the medal-his girl got plenty of exposure.

As a Lavington supporter, I'm not sure whether I want Hayse to line up or not.

In the past few years, Hayse has given the Panthers untold grief up forward, and always seems to play well against them. On the other side of the coin, the most dangerous thing a team can do in finals is play injured players, and if his injury is as dicey as it's made out to be, would it be worth the risk?

For the record, I'm more than confident he'll play, and I think he's a bit of an X factor.

For the Panthers, one man looms as their possible X Factor for mine, Darryn McKimmie. He did it in '05 (well, eventually he did after having a pretty dirty day), can he do it again?

Panthers by 3.

panther, i think if lavington can get some goals out of their key forwards they are a real big chance, poundie or joel or even doch need to kick three or four to take some of the pressure of the mids... im thinkin perhaps stevo could be a bit of an x factor for the panthers on sunday, either way it promises to be a ripper lets hope the weather stays clear, good luck to both teams....

Half time... i swear i was serving drinks up til the middle of the last quarter, perhaps the beer had stopped and i was only cracking cans by that stage. If your right, yes it does need addressing. I'm sure wang will have it measured down to the last drop when they host the GF in 20??

More likely to be Heidelberg

Hey Raider Boy!! You'd Hope Makie has a shocker in the Hume league GF wouldn't you??? Must be costing your club a fotune every game he plays.........

What I hear is Raiders have salary cap, but don't have the brain power to get him (makie) over the line.......funny statement that half knowing Joel!!!!!!!!

2 dumbs don't = a smart!!!!!!.....but the kid can play!!!!

box, 2ays covrage commences at 1pm, oakfms starts at 9am.

Does OAK FM actually call the 3rds and 2nds games or do they just talk dribble for 5 and half hours in the lead up to the big game. Be great if i can have a listen to the 2's game as well. If its the second option, i mite be a chance to get a special comments gig from london... call me gambo!!!!:D

Hey Raider Boy!! You'd Hope Makie has a shocker in the Hume league GF wouldn't you??? Must be costing your club a fotune every game he plays.........

What I hear is Raiders have salary cap, but don't have the brain power to get him (makie) over the line.......funny statement that half knowing Joel!!!!!!!!

2 dumbs don't = a smart!!!!!!.....but the kid can play!!!!

Had the brain power to F@%K you off

Does OAK FM actually call the 3rds and 2nds games or do they just talk dribble for 5 and half hours in the lead up to the big game. Be great if i can have a listen to the 2's game as well. If its the second option, i mite be a chance to get a special comments gig from london... call me gambo!!!!:D

last yeah they would just talk there usual drool through the thirds and come out with the odd call of "a wangaratta player has just kiced a goal... i dont know who it was though" or " that was a nice piece of play there by the players involed(no names though)" real dynamo stuff, cant remember what the seconds call was but it mainly involves alot of 'special' comments, better off going to the match than tolerating the call i belive.