Ovens and Murray

Just wondering how the general standard of Ovens & Murray football comapres to some of the metro leagues in Melbourne?. How does it compare with Eastern div 1? Southern Div 1? Amatures div 1?.

I'm sure people's opinions will differ, however I'd say it would be fairly similar to Eastern div 1, only that the grounds are bigger and better in the OM, therefore it may be less congested. Much better than Southern div 1.
Would also be a better standard than Amateurs, the better players from ammos would slide into senior OM teams, the second tier may struggle to play OM 1sts

Assessment would be it is very fast and skillful - would definitely shade "A" grade Ammos and Southern league however not as physical as Eastern Div 1 and particularly the Northern League Div 1.

Well fellow bloggers, official post season is only 4 days old and the league has its first player movement of the silly season:
Micheal Thompson (Wod Raiders) moving across the border to none other than the Albury Football Club.
Just another edition to Jossy's stable :thumbsu:

How about the money Mr Joss is throwing around?

Will Fowler drag his rather large body around again next year? Any knowledgeable people willing to speculate?

Kirby won't be coaching Tatura-their coach has been re-appointed! :thumbsu:

great news. he will be going around for wang again then most likely

was apparently a report in 1 of the local rags that 3 O&M clubs have spoken to nigel lappin about pulling on the boots next year. rovers maggies and another that escapes me were mentioned. i'm assuming rovers might be looking at getting him as coach but perhaps he might bob up as an assistant to his cousin across the road and just spend a year having a kick and enjoying his footy???

great news. he will be going around for wang again then most likely

was apparently a report in 1 of the local rags that 3 O&M clubs have spoken to nigel lappin about pulling on the boots next year. rovers maggies and another that escapes me were mentioned. i'm assuming rovers might be looking at getting him as coach but perhaps he might bob up as an assistant to his cousin across the road and just spend a year having a kick and enjoying his footy???

Here ya go:

Lappin turns down request from Voss

From the Border Mail

24/09/2008 12:00:00 AM
HE once played an AFL grand final with cracked ribs.
These days triple premiership winner Nigel Lappin is flat out running after his kids.
No wonder the 32-year-old knocked back an offer by new Brisbane Lions coach Michael Voss to come out of retirement.
“The Brisbane Lions advises that former co-captain Nigel Lappin has declined the offer from new senior coach Michael Voss to come out of retirement and play with the club in season 2009,” the club said yesterday.
“Nigel appreciated the offer but stands by the comments he made at his retirement media conference in August.”
Lappin has already attracted interest from Ovens and Murray clubs Wangaratta, North Albury and Wangaratta Rovers.
His cousin Jason coached Wangaratta to its second premiership in a row on Sunday.
The four-time All Australian played just 22 games in three seasons, including four in 2008 before succumbing to an Achilles injury.
An unorthodox fitness test told the Lions veteran in no uncertain terms the Achilles complaint was not going away.
“It made some improvements towards the end of the season but ... I went for a 500m run the other day and it pulled up really sore,” Lappin said.
“I was jogging to catch up with someone. Actually it was the kids.”
It was frustrating for a player who demanded a lot from his body — as evidenced by his inspirational four-quarter effort in the 2003 final nursing cracked ribs.
“You always give coming back a thought. It’s what you know and what you have always been good at,” said Lappin, a veteran of 279 AFL games.
“But I’ve played 20 (sic) games over the past three years. As much as you don’t want to, you start questioning your body and then you start questioning a lot of other things. “If you do that, you find it hard focusing on the footy.”

Well fellow bloggers, official post season is only 4 days old and the league has its first player movement of the silly season:
Micheal Thompson (Wod Raiders) moving across the border to none other than the Albury Football Club.
Just another edition to Jossy's stable :thumbsu:

tigers trying to emulate their record from the mid-90s when they had at least one player on their list that had played at another o&m club?

north alb - bush
raiders - thompson, mcalister
lavi - carroll
myrt - carey
wodonga - crothers
wang -
rovers -
corowa -
yarra -

only 4 clubs to go jossy ...

let's hope he doesn't offer buddy franklin and jarryd roughead 50% of his business!

tigers trying to emulate their record from the mid-90s when they had at least one player on their list that had played at another o&m club?

north alb - bush
lavi - carroll
myrt - carey
wodonga - crothers
wang -
rovers -
corowa -
yarra -

let's hope he doesn't offer buddy franklin and jarryd roughead 50% of his business!
Jealousy is a wonderful thing isnt it...

How about the money Mr Joss is throwing around?

Will Fowler drag his rather large body around again next year? Any knowledgeable people willing to speculate?

Yes, he will be going around next year, word has it he is already running the streets, apparently he's got word as to how Spargo is going to punish them over the pre-season, and doesn't want to get caught out.

With shearer likely to retire and Fowler spending more time at full-forward, you can expect a big season from him in 09.

north alb - bush
lavi - carroll
myrt - carey
wodonga - crothers
wang -
rovers -
corowa -
yarra -

Don't forget Mackie from North also, via Jindera

is mackie definitely goin to albury?

pretty sure raiders are still right in the mix provided they can recruit a few.

heard on the weekend that nick raines won't be back at corowa next year with ryan increasingly unlikely

Did an Ohlin play at the Raiders this year? If so, he is off to Wodonga. I thought the guy telling me may have been mixed up with the Ohlin already at Wodonga.

I reckon buttsy would nail rex over 400m... in fact i'd say buttsy is quicker! but that'd be in a race. when it comes to darting around a footy field, i'd give rex the nod!

While i'm comparing them i mite continue on some irrelevant areas...

Rex is a far better hunter than adam, rex is smart enough to wear shoes in the scrub!

Rex is a far better at saving money, so much so that he doesn't know what his own 'PIN' number is, quite simply he's never used it to withdraw cash. Adam is a tight, but rex is water tight!

Adam has a far better laugh than rex, and it is such a good laugh, his brother tom has gone as far as to adopt the exact same cackle!

Rex is tougher than buttsy, cos rex has got a tattoo and adam doesn't!

Adam is a better driver than rex. Adam's been to Lake many times and never crashed. Rex has hit so many guide posts on the journey, its easier to count the one's he hasn't hit!

Adam is a better drinker than rex... even though he doesn't drink! Cos i've seen adam have 5 stubbies and still be able to talk, whereas rex has never managed to get through 5 stubbies in one sitting. On the odd occasion when Rex has ever got close (say 3 or 4) he calls himself "Bad Rex" which just shows you how hammered he is!

Rex is far better at yabbying than Adam. I've never seen rex yabby, but i've seen adam in action and there's no way rex is worse than him.

Thats about it i reckon! :D
Mate i dont even know these ppl yet i think this is piss finny lol:thumbsu:

Did I read on here during the season that an OM club had been in contact with podsialy from the VFL? surely he'd be worth a mint, especially after winning the VFL league BF.

If all this recuiting action is true from albury, they could be a fair force next year. Had some good young players who look like they can take a step up, and also will be interesting to see how Jacob Collins returns after a big 2007 season then having a reco this yr. Only about 20 yr old so has alot of footy in him

Did I read on here during the season that an OM club had been in contact with podsialy from the VFL? surely he'd be worth a mint, especially after winning the VFL league BF.

If all this recuiting action is true from albury, they could be a fair force next year. Had some good young players who look like they can take a step up, and also will be interesting to see how Jacob Collins returns after a big 2007 season then having a reco this yr. Only about 20 yr old so has alot of footy in him

I don't think there is any un-truths in Albury's recruiting, all signed I believe. Carey is a massive boost. I definately agree, already at the point of being a fair force with a few months to go and the season just finished. Won't lose many under Spargo I'd think either