Ovens and Murray

Pearce off Jack said:
Scope why didnt nth give hoggy the job when Lambert retired two tears ago?They obviously want a playing coach and seem to have made a huge mistake in keeping Lambert on and letting Hodgson,McCormick and probably a few others go?

I ask the same question all the time POJ, becuase I know for a fact Hoggy was as keen as mustard to coach the Hoppers, but they went for Lambert.
I know Hoggy was 4 times more popular by the bulk of the playing group than Corey, and although they would never admit it publicly, I think there is a bit of agnst between the two.
I don't think Lambert is in the same league as Hodgson as a coach, and I think he knows this and it bothers him.
I've heard Hoggy speak to the Myrtleford players and he is faultless, no wonder he is loved up in the Hills.
The way he conducts himself off the field and after matches smacks of class.
North Albury would be mad to sign Lambert for another year - no offence Harsh but fair.
They need some fresh ideas and a playing coach is imperative in this compeition, in my opinion.

Scope said:
I ask the same question all the time POJ, becuase I know for a fact Hoggy was as keen as mustard to coach the Hoppers, but they went for Lambert.
Scope said:
I know Hoggy was 4 times more popular by the bulk of the playing group than Corey, and although they would never admit it publicly, I think there is a bit of agnst between the two.
I don't think Lambert is in the same league as Hodgson as a coach, and I think he knows this and it bothers him.
I've heard Hoggy speak to the Myrtleford players and he is faultless, no wonder he is loved up in the Hills.
The way he conducts himself off the field and after matches smacks of class.
North Albury would be mad to sign Lambert for another year - no offence Harsh but fair.
They need some fresh ideas and a playing coach is imperative in this compeition, in my opinion.

I would have to say I agree with you about the way hoggy speaks to players scope. I went into a three quarter time huddle a few weeks ago and after hoggy had finished speaking heard quite a few spectators say how inspired they were. He can be quite Inspirational without yelling.

I am not advocating for his re-appointment.
My intention was to give a balanced account of what has happened at North Albury in the last 12 months.
My point is they have been a bit stiff.
Some good news for North Albury last night with goal-kicking legend Stan Sargeant inducted into the OM Hall Of Fame along with three-time Hoppers best and fairest winner John Smith.
Also inducted were Gary Williamson, Mac Holten and Len Ablett.
Good night had by all.

Junkie said:
How is Ferret Ednie going with Yarra this year???

And Matt Shir?

Craig Ednie is the best player in the competition with Myrtleford's Andrew Carey!
I know that is strange to hear when the guys is only about 4 foot tall and weighs in around 60 kilos, but his worth to the Pigeons is pretty amazing.
He is an absolute star, has the best foot skills in the competition bar no-one and can go forward and kick bags, despite his size!
If I was Yarra coach when they meet Myrt in the grand final, I would isolate him in the forward 50 from the word go.
I don't think the Saints have anyone to go with him.
I watched the Yarra/Myrt game as a nuetral supporter a few weeks ago and Bunn got him when he was forward, but he still made him look silly at stages. And Bunn has been great this year.
Also seen the Yarra/Albury game on Saturday and Ednie's last quarter was super.
He's worth the admission fee.

In the mix said:
Craig Ednie is the best player in the competition with Myrtleford's Andrew Carey!
I know that is strange to hear when the guys is only about 4 foot tall and weighs in around 60 kilos, but his worth to the Pigeons is pretty amazing.
He is an absolute star, has the best foot skills in the competition bar no-one and can go forward and kick bags, despite his size!
If I was Yarra coach when they meet Myrt in the grand final, I would isolate him in the forward 50 from the word go.
I don't think the Saints have anyone to go with him.
I watched the Yarra/Myrt game as a nuetral supporter a few weeks ago and Bunn got him when he was forward, but he still made him look silly at stages. And Bunn has been great this year.
Also seen the Yarra/Albury game on Saturday and Ednie's last quarter was super.
He's worth the admission fee.

Cheers mate!

He is a freak thats for sure. Has it all and was very stiff to be shown the door at Richmond.

In the mix said:

These are the five players who will have the biggest say come finals!!!

1 - Steve McKee (Myrtleford)
2 - Tim Hargreaves (Yarrawonga)
3 - Andy Carey (Myrtleford)
4 - Luke Carroll (Albury)
5 - Kade Stevens (Lavington)

Pearce off Jack said:
I agree agent everyone in the 5 is capable of winning the premiership but cant see the Bulldogs going to far!

I still think Myrtleford will win it.
They'll be back to full strength after the bye and the bye might be just what they needed.
Onviously Yarra are a tremendous side but how much improvement do they have left in them???
The Saints haven't even got out of second gear yet and watch for McKee to have a big September.
He has been super this year by all reports - he has kicked 40 odd goals but apparantly he has given off just as many.
And the big blokes don't get any smaller come finals!
The Saints biggest weakness is in the ruck.
It cost them a flag in 2001 and Doherty had a huge presence again in last year's decider.
Frawley and Doherty could haunt them again in a months time.
Any thought's on McKee pinch-hitting in the ruck?

Scope said:
I still think Myrtleford will win it.
They'll be back to full strength after the bye and the bye might be just what they needed.
Onviously Yarra are a tremendous side but how much improvement do they have left in them???
The Saints haven't even got out of second gear yet and watch for McKee to have a big September.
He has been super this year by all reports - he has kicked 40 odd goals but apparantly he has given off just as many.
And the big blokes don't get any smaller come finals!
The Saints biggest weakness is in the ruck.
It cost them a flag in 2001 and Doherty had a huge presence again in last year's decider.
Frawley and Doherty could haunt them again in a months time.
Any thought's on McKee pinch-hitting in the ruck?

I agree scope, they don t have a genuine ruckmen like frawley of doherty even eyres was good on the weekend, mcintyre looks to be struggling this year too, they have a very strong mix of mid-fielders that could slay other sides with an out an out ruckmen putting it down thier thoat.

Bring on Mckee!! give bourkey and hoggy the space you could even throw carey down there too.

The Saints lack leg speed compared to some of the other contenders, particularly Yarrawonga and could be exposed on the dry tracks come September.
Brad Murray is the key to the Saints.
His energy and work-rate around the footy when he is up and running makes the Saints a very hard team to beat.
But, he has had a wretched run with injury (broken leg, dislocated shoulder) and he's only got four weeks to get going again before finals.
He is still no certainty to play against Wang Rovers next weekend.

Can anyone give us an update as to how Marcus Webb's form is with the Wang Rovers? Ripper little bloke Webby, last time I spoke to him he seemed pretty happy with life up the Hume, has he been getting a kick?

harsh said:
The Saints lack leg speed compared to some of the other contenders, particularly Yarrawonga and could be exposed on the dry tracks come September.
Brad Murray is the key to the Saints.
His energy and work-rate around the footy when he is up and running makes the Saints a very hard team to beat.
But, he has had a wretched run with injury (broken leg, dislocated shoulder) and he's only got four weeks to get going again before finals.
He is still no certainty to play against Wang Rovers next weekend.

No point in having leg speed if you can t win the footy harsh! but I agree he is very important to them and is thier captain. They knocked off yarra on a dry track without him too

I hope Yarrawonga and someone else play off in the Grand Final and Yarrawonga get absolutely flogged.
I think Lavington and the boys form the hills are the only two other teams that can make it. And I think that Lavington are going to be the team to watch come September action. Gothelavypanthers!!!

Gotheroos said:
I hope Yarrawonga and someone else play off in the Grand Final and Yarrawonga get absolutely flogged.
I think Lavington and the boys form the hills are the only two other teams that can make it. And I think that Lavington are going to be the team to watch come September action. Gothelavypanthers!!!
You've backed the right pony there, mate.

Gotheroos said:

The lavy boys have got a bit of a habit rolling along during spetember in recent years. They'd have to make the top 3 to give them a good shot at it u'd think. We'll get a chance to see where they're at in the coming weeks, i reckon they've still gotta play the saints and pigeons again.

For mind yarra & myrt are a notch above the others in contention, but when the finals come round who knows how things will go. Panthers certainly have got a good group of experienced finals players.

Wot about albury, although up and down, their best seems to be good enough. Beaten Myrt once, matched it with yarra for a bit, played in 1point and 2 point games against panthers. can they put a few games together and threaten?

WHAT IS GOING ON WITH Corowa Rutherglen's form this year. For the most part they were around the mark in 2005 and with the addition of Jay Cambell, Carl Dickins and Glen Joyce from injury (despite his mid season exit) one would have thought they would further improve. Is it a case of internal crisis or have we perhaps underestimated the departure of some of the roos players from last year. The backline inparticular suffered from the loss of players, Cade Mills, Brent Corcran, Alistar McKensie and before his mid season return Dustin Mills, four of last years starting back 6. The players they have been replaced with have been inexperienced or simply not up to it. A player like Matthew Drum has had to play on the competitions best key forward and early on was admirable, however as the season has wore on it has become clear that he simply doesn't have the football tools to play at this level. Kade Kushert has not had his normal influence on matches. Have the roos got any recruits in the pipeline for next year to fill these key defensive posts? Does anyone know if any of the departed players will be returning in the near future.

Panthers to beat Yarra
Albury to beat the Magpies
Bulldogs to beat the Hoppers by 2 points.
Myrtleford to account for Rovers comfortably
Corowa to polish off Raiders.

Lavy_Panther said:
Panthers to beat Yarra
Lavy_Panther said:
Albury to beat the Magpies
Bulldogs to beat the Hoppers by 2 points.
Myrtleford to account for Rovers comfortably
Corowa to polish off Raiders.

Where is this game being played, if it is at LPO it would be an interesting game. At Yarrawonga I think the Pidgeons should win.

........... your about two shakes short of a pull panther. I herd you may have injured your knee at training tuesday night putting you under an injury cloud and possibly upsetting the balance of the team. Who is likely to come in for you big fella? Kade Garland or...?
p.s
was the injury "really" done on the dance floor (where you do your best work) as suggested by lavy faithfull or lagitamatly at taining?

Big Fella 37 said:
........... your about two shakes short of a pull panther. I herd you may have injured your knee at training tuesday night putting you under an injury cloud and possibly upsetting the balance of the team. Who is likely to come in for you big fella? Kade Garland or...?
p.s
was the injury "really" done on the dance floor (where you do your best work) as suggested by lavy faithfull or lagitamatly at taining?

Who are we talking bout here BF37, sounds like you think you've got a scoop! Who are you suggesting the panther is?

Sounds like you know what a good pull involves as well BF37!:D