Ovens and Murray

A few questions:
1. Can anyone tell me how John Hunt is going at Lavi? A persistent injury has kept him in and out of footy in the last few years. When he is at his best would be first picked in the Lavi side
2. Michael Sims for Nth Albury - Only a young skinny lad played in last years GF loss, not sure if he is in the 1s at the moment.
3. Josh Frawley - what is the latest on him going back to Yarra?
4. OMFL rep team - last I heard there was a squad of 50 odd, any culling of that list yet?
5. Is it true that Brett Sanson is in the UK recruiting gaelic footballers for Albury Footy Club using his ties with former house mate Luke Carroll?

anyone catch any of the games over the weekend?

i saw the wang v nth albury match at the norm minns oval. talk about fiery. nth alb obviously learnt nothing from their GF humiliation last year as they came out out intent on playing the man once again. Kane godde gave judd porter one of the best headbutts you could ever wish to see on a footy field which ignited a brawl involving just about everyone on the field and from there it was simmering for the rest of the day. Brandon ryan also unleashed an awesome flurry of punches to the head of ed clarke in the last 1/4. they were the fight highlights.

as for the footy, it was a tight contest until about 20 min into the 3rd 1/4. Nth alb had reduced the margin to 7 pts after wang threatened to kick right away in the 2nd 1/4, and they seemed to have all the momentum but another undisciplined act by 1 of their defenders saw jesse smith get a free shot at a 2nd goal after having nailed a snap. It was suddenly 19pts and was a procession from there. think it was 10.5 to 2.0 from the 20 min mark of 3rd.

nth's season is just about shot now with rovers and wodonga still to play before the 1/2 way mark. it's a shame, as i would have liked to see t hodgson have the opportunity to participate in his 5th consecutive GF loss.

other game sounded like a good one as well see sawing thru the day. wodonga v wang should be a good one this week, got a feeling wodonga might yet emerge as the clear contender to wang's title once they have everyone up and running.

talk it up mate. u do live up to ur name u are a ture peanut the game was closer than wat the scores say and the wang player targeted the north boys. and well the north boys might have not won the game but they won the fights

And there's the response I was lookin for, right on cue and in the manner i thought it would be delivered. Going by your response you are obvioulsy a north player and going by the name "the unit" pretty much gives you away buddy. :thumbsu:

Unit and gun rucruit Im afraid you boys are extremely biased or misinformed.

I am a Rovers supporter and saw the Magpies Nth alb game and despite what you boys may think Magpies not only smashed them in all areas of the football game but also in the fighting side of things. I saw a couple of the hopper boys cop some absolute pissers.. Dont think Goode even knew where he was when they finished with him.

This is coming from a man who would have loved nothing more than to see the magpies blokes get there there heads punched in. But you have to post your honest opinion and I what I saw was a weak attemp by nth to get the magpies off there game that back fired on them big time.:thumbsdown:

And there's the response I was lookin for, right on cue and in the manner i thought it would be delivered. Going by your response you are obvioulsy a north player and going by the name "the unit" pretty much gives you away buddy. :thumbsu:

i do play for north but i am not the guy your thinking of mate
i dont even play 1st

Unit and gun rucruit Im afraid you boys are extremely biased or misinformed.

I am a Rovers supporter and saw the Magpies Nth alb game and despite what you boys may think Magpies not only smashed them in all areas of the football game but also in the fighting side of things. I saw a couple of the hopper boys cop some absolute pissers.. Dont think Goode even knew where he was when they finished with him.

This is coming from a man who would have loved nothing more than to see the magpies blokes get there there heads punched in. But you have to post your honest opinion and I what I saw was a weak attemp by nth to get the magpies off there game that back fired on them big time.:thumbsdown:

Sorry mate how do you tie me in with being biased as I havent made one comment on the game in question

Good to see in The Border Mail today that Luke Carroll has forecast some changes to what has been, to date, a dissapointing albury outfit.

Hopefully the likes of Ednie, Leischke, and Mulraney will be rewarded with a senior birth for there consistency this year. There should also be a call up for Jez Masterson, to see if he can help Matt Fowler overcome his 11 year battle with premiership hangover.

Good to see in The Border Mail today that Luke Carroll has forecast some changes to what has been, to date, a dissapointing albury outfit.

Hopefully the likes of Ednie, Leischke, and Mulraney will be rewarded with a senior birth for there consistency this year. There should also be a call up for Jez Masterson, to see if he can help Matt Fowler overcome his 11 year battle with premiership hangover.

I understand there were a few pissed off boys in the tigers change rooms after the game on Saturday. Not the fact that they lost but that Carroll kept the team in the rooms until 6 o'clock having a talk. This meant that the tigers boys were late getting to the Roi bar

Sh!t. Sounds like i'v missed an interesting weekend in O&M footy. sounds like those hoppers and pies spent a good part of their game smacking each other.

It's not something i personally condone, but when it happens, you gotta make a stand, or else it'll keep on happening.

Were there any reports or did blokes just throw headbutts and haymakers all day without anything happening.

Codola, my good friend. I was talking to Brett Sanson the other day and he was saying he'd been to several games over here. A few weeks ago in copenhagen watching the Danish Footy League and last weekend watching some of the london teams. Said he saw some handy footballers getting around, and some shockers, but not many of them good enough to fit into Luke's tiger team.
Perhaps they'd get a gig out at the Lake Cargelligo tigers, that could be who he's recruiting for!

Yes i agree with you luca just wondering by these changes is it simply the bench and the fringe players that that face the axe, if so this will achieve nothing. For changes to be made to the mentality and performance of albury wholesale changes need to be made. Every one on that list should be fighting for their spot regardless of status or $$$. Out of form senior and veteren players would not be hurt with stints in the twos. Nor would highly paid players. Albury need more pace, blooding more younger players like their opponents on the w/e. Fighting for a spot will breed enthusiasm. If blokes feel comfortable they don't try as hard. There are alot of comfortable players in the albury team that seem to be going through the motions.

as for the closeness of the game, 40 scoring shots to 20 and a 60 pt margin is a pretty good summary i would have thought

as for the fights, every neutral report i have heard or read has indicated that nth alb pretty much came out with the same mindset as last year's GF and were intent on attacking the man. The only 'source' that has said wang were the instigators has been travis hodgson. Make up your own mind.

I hear that a past wodonga raiders promising youngster tom dickson has reciently accepted a job with master foods as their new confectonary taster. could this mean a return to the raiders?

Daisy, i think you are pretty well on the money there. Im not too sure about the credability of the job you suggested, however i saw him last wk for the first time in a while and it appears that he may have been a confectionary taster in melbourne for some time now...
Im lead to belive it is a job offer as a graduate, and he reckons he can lift the raiders into finals contention. Time will tell.

Ok. Now I know i also will be labeled a one eye pies supporter. However, i was at the game on the weekend and i (like many) witnessed the piss poor approach to footy nth alb took. It was clear from the first quarter that they had it in for the maggies captain and the tactic of man before the ball was also adopted. I will admit that "my man" ed clarke was the instigator of a few dirty blows but it comparision to the efforts of the north boys he looked like a boy scout.

Nth lowered themselfs massively as a footy club on the weekend and that was before their supporters(and others) got nasty in the players race

The O&M have announced that an investigation is to be conducted as a result of Saturdays clash between the Maggies and NA.

Ok. Now I know i also will be labeled a one eye pies supporter. However, i was at the game on the weekend and i (like many) witnessed the piss poor approach to footy nth alb took. It was clear from the first quarter that they had it in for the maggies captain and the tactic of man before the ball was also adopted. I will admit that "my man" ed clarke was the instigator of a few dirty blows but it comparision to the efforts of the north boys he looked like a boy scout.

Nth lowered themselfs massively as a footy club on the weekend and that was before their supporters(and others) got nasty in the players race
Cmon you blokes the poor hard done by magpies! Every year no matter where they are on the ladder it is constant whinging! harden the #### up!

By no means am I saying that it isn't strange that other reports weren't made, I guess I took umbrage to the use of 'fair reason'. Two wrongs can't make a right.

We are at cross-purposes old fruit. I was alluding to the last O&M investigation into these two teams - despite the (to me) fairly obvious violence enacted upon one J. McCormick (as depicted on the TV footage), little happened - therefore "do the crime, don't do the time" :p

The O&M have announced that an investigation is to be conducted as a result of Saturdays clash between the Maggies and NA.

It looked more like it might have been more a result of the Border Mail reports!!
They played up all aspects of some sort of mayhem happening from the GF history in every story of the up coming game last week. It must have been a tremendous relief to be able to follow the story through to its logical conclusion.

Sensationalised much?

As to the issue itself, the bloke that got the week will probably be the one best off of all the blue participants - there's no double-jeapordy is there??

And I would suggest that the comments attributed to some club leaders by the BM could get them into trouble - commenting on umpires and tribunals usually does, regardless of the rights and wrongs.

What a mess.

We are at cross-purposes old fruit. I was alluding to the last O&M investigation into these two teams - despite the (to me) fairly obvious violence enacted upon one J. McCormick (as depicted on the TV footage), little happened - therefore "do the crime, don't do the time" :p

I didn't see the whole game in the 07 GF as i spent some quality time in the bar, serving beer unfortunately. I never saw anyone actually belt McCormick (If I missed some really crude efforts, than i'm wrong). however, i definitely saw him get hit late on a numbers of occasions. My point being, of the hits that i saw none deserved a report or subsequent suspension. A downfield kick or a 50m penalty were good enough for me.

I'd suggest the hoppers did 'do some time' for the crimes they committed. They have all spent 6 months without a premiership medal, punishment enough.

Having never been reported in my career, I can understand how Brandon Ryan feels bout being p!ssed at being the only bloke rubbed out from the weekend. If it's all in, you'd think it's either multiple reports or none, but i guess the ump's can only report what they see.

Knowing Ryan and having played 2 years with him at GGGM, I can tell you he's a tough and fair player. He's also one of those types you know will have your back if things turn to sh!t. He obviously got himself involved on the weekend and has got himself in a bit of strife for his troubles.

Question - for those history buffs, who were the players suspended from the 1990 bloodbath?
I know the Lavi boys copped most of the weeks and i reckon wayne penda & Darren holmes were somewhere at the top of the list.