Ovens and Murray

blah blah blah the game was no better standard that a saturday morning auskick display... yarra wont take anything out of that they didnt play well enough to mix it with the magoos on saturday and wang were missing a few players and it definately showed! will be good to see how the "great depth" measures up this week wont it PEANUT... good to see the black and white go down yesterday aswell... nothing sweeter!!

its an exciting time of the year...!

get amongst it lads...

TB

yer mate thats wat wang rovers hav been playin like all year

As if you would have such a personal go at a coach of a footy club for making no comment.. No wonder the guy doesn't want to talk to him..
Good way to burn your bridges and never get a story out of that club at least until Mc Namara is coach anyhow..

Brad McGrath a poor excuse for a jerno but i suppose what would you expect thats why he is not at a higher level.. :)

Dont think Brad wastes his time reading this site so u probably need 2 get over it buddy.
Obviously McNamara has,as I notice he gave Brad an interview after this weekends game.
Oh and I believe up until last year Brad was only a cadet at The Border so hes just a young guy working his way up.
Lets start talkin footy again and if we wanna have a whinge about Journo,s write a letter to the sports editor and im sure it will get printed,the only downside of that is u have 2 put your name and adress to the letter.

Dont think Brad wastes his time reading this site so u probably need 2 get over it buddy.
Obviously McNamara has,as I notice he gave Brad an interview after this weekends game.
Oh and I believe up until last year Brad was only a cadet at The Border so hes just a young guy working his way up.
Lets start talkin footy again and if we wanna have a whinge about Journo,s write a letter to the sports editor and im sure it will get printed,the only downside of that is u have 2 put your name and adress to the letter.

John gave him a serve for being in the rooms after the game and him apologise before they spoke i do believe...

if you dont want to talk about current posts no-one is forcing you to so either start a different topic or just sit patiently until your time comes... or are you addicted? do you just have to reply for the sake of it? is that what it is? well is it?

yer mate thats wat wang rovers hav been playin like all year

i wouldnt use the term 'mate' as loosely as you do...

im blushing because that comment flatters the mighty hawks so much...
i think the rovers have played worse than that all year but there hasnt been a more dominant performance against a QUALITY side than what was on display on sunday

wowsers they only played wodonga

corowa dismantled wang by 10 goals a few weeks back. would have thought that carried more weight than a big win over the now 6th placed side

wowsers they only played wodonga

so wodonga arent a competitive side? they are a quality side i believe and may not be travelling as well as anticipated either... im not saying rovers are world beaters and wont lose again for the rest of the year, im just letting the people that wrote them off know that they are still around and waiting...

go hawks get on board... toot toot

corowa dismantled wang by 10 goals a few weeks back. would have thought that carried more weight than a big win over the now 6th placed side

please see above...

you're right peanut!! the hawks werent impressive on the weekend! got a long way to go this year they do... god i hope they can play some good footy in the next few weeks...
icon12.gif

bang bang

For those who were not there, and consider yourself lucky, the Albury v Myrtleford match was the worst standard of O&M Senior football i've seen. A combined side from these 2 clubs wouldn't have beaten any of the top 5 sides.

Have seen a bit of the saints and it is quite depressing considering they have very little to look forward to. They have no depth and seemingly nothing to attract potential recruits to the club. Be interesting to see if Beams stays on next year. He's said he will, but we'll wait and see. See the seconds managed to finally go scoreless after going close most weeks...

That's all very well for the Saints, I'm not sure what Albury's excuse was, other than the fact it seems the club is being run by the senior players. Why else would some of them be still getting a game. With the season all but over, they should be playing their kids that have been performing extermely well in the 2s.

Only seen the Tigers a couple times but I wouldn't have thought they'd been that bad... They did mange 30 shots against Myrtleford, but without having seen the match I'll take your word for it. Wouldn't hurt them to be playing some of the reserves, but maybe they don't want to upset team balance in the twos. Leave the side as it is and they're are a shoe in for the flag!:D

Who are the senior blokes at Albury running the club? How long has it been since they played finals?

How come Myrtleford are going so bad? What has happened to all their talented locals they once had? Where are they now?? It's sad really, I hope they get back on track.

Who are the senior blokes at Albury running the club? How long has it been since they played finals?

How come Myrtleford are going so bad? What has happened to all their talented locals they once had? Where are they now?? It's sad really, I hope they get back on track.

Myrtleford are going so bad because after finishing runner up two years in a row all the players decided to go elsewhere. Don't know where all the "talented locals" are now, because they aren't competitive at any level other than under 16s. They can't attract recruits because there is no longer any industry in the town to provide employment. The future is looking pretty bleak for Saints fans, and they will probably have to consider stepping down to the Ovens and King.

That would be a tragedy for the town and the competition I guess.
What has happened to the Rigoni’s, Chapman’s, Rozzatto’s, Murray’s, Piazza’s, Cartwright’s….can anyone tell me where have they all gone?

That would be a tragedy for the town and the competition I guess.
What has happened to the Rigoni’s, Chapman’s, Rozzatto’s, Murray’s, Piazza’s, Cartwright’s….can anyone tell me where have they all gone?

Rigoni's retired.
Chapmans; eldest in Melb, two still playing, youngest will tell you he is the best of the three.
Murray's; Brad in Sth Aus killing the SANFL, Mark Aberfeldie, Hayden injured.
Piazzas: Retired/O&K
Cartwright; Aberfeldie

Myrt has alot of problems. Can't attract a decent on baller. No local tallent. Players with potential but not stepping up. But ultimately the prob is with the board etc. Seems to be alot of back room fighting ever since the Hodgson departure, which was the reason he left in the first place. From what i've heard, Myrt would prob still be a force and would not have lost so many stars after 06 if there board had any brains. Instead all they have now is 3-4 players.

another poor excuse for an article from the great man Mr McGrath today...
lost the plot i feel...! he needs a vacation

Def needs a stint in the ovens and king reports..

The jokes on me.. So he ended up writing an article on himself.. Some of the worst journalism potentially ever written.. Bordermail is lucky there is no other major paper that it competes with..:eek:

Def needs a stint in the ovens and king reports..

The jokes on me.. So he ended up writing an article on himself.. Some of the worst journalism potentially ever written.. Bordermail is lucky there is no other major paper that it competes with..:eek:

fair dinkum, who cares guys ... i didn't think it was a great article but it was refreshing to read an opinion piece related to o and m, normally have to read mike sheehan or wallsy to get that

at least he puts his name to his comments as well winmar ... or r u going to enlighten us as to who u r?

if u don't like it, don't buy the paper, simple ... catch up on all the weekend o and m happenings from the scores in the sunday herald sun and keep your $1.20 on a monday to buy a couple of killer pythons

very good Thurgood, i concur. Further to that , Winmar 07 has been owned several times before on this thread, he has a propensity to shoot from the hip with little facts or even knowledge to base his opinions on.

The only problem i have with Brad's article was that he didn't stick with his original opinion about the Rovers. People who are silly enough to refuse to speak to the media, on the basis of whether they win or lose, are doing themselves or their club no favours, particularly in regards to sponsors, marketing etc etc. The more media savvy the spokesman, the better off his/her club is. Have a look at how P Tossol massages the media to his, & therefore his clubs, advantage.

very good Thurgood, i concur. Further to that , Winmar 07 has been owned several times before on this thread, he has a propensity to shoot from the hip with little facts or even knowledge to base his opinions on.

The only problem i have with Brad's article was that he didn't stick with his original opinion about the Rovers. People who are silly enough to refuse to speak to the media, on the basis of whether they win or lose, are doing themselves or their club no favours, particularly in regards to sponsors, marketing etc etc. The more media savvy the spokesman, the better off his/her club is. Have a look at how P Tossol massages the media to his, & therefore his clubs, advantage.

I tend to agree with what your saying if you refuse to speak to media then your open to a baking.. But instead of baking him in a proper journalist way to get personal and single out the coach is not the right way to do it, shows the guy is inexperienced and obviously is just looking to make a headline similar to how some guys are BOG every week and don't even play well.. Look all i am stating is that the journalism is very poor and not only that he has no idea about the game/ hence poor reading.

I am just your average bloke who loves his footy and o and m the best thing you mentioned is P Tossol how come you didn't mention the two best midfielders in the comp RAINES RYAN GO ROOS!!!!!!:thumbsu: CARPENTER for that matter and AMBROSE CLARKE Go rooers!!!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu:

YOU ARE A ____ HEAD.. HIS/HER SINCE WHEN HAVE WOMEN BEEN COACHING THE O AND M.. OWNED??? WHOS OWNED NOW SPANIEL!:)

also why would he stick with his opinion on a team that clearly has not performed well thus far?? so he is supposed to say yep i am still on the rovers even though they have lost etc etc to injury and are going no good they can still win the flag.. hence again my point poor journo with no idea he tipped the rovers for the flag.. i know who the joke is on its on you kokoda and BRAD MAC maddi gra TH

For my part I think Brad McGrath generally writes very good articles, however his attack on J Mac seemed to me to be a little self indulgent and immature. His follow up article on Tuesday did his credibility no favours, however I'm not goin to write the bloke off completely over the whole thing because everyone makes mistakes and people in the media are no different, e.g. Sam Newman.

From what I have gathered John and Brad have buried the hatchet and I'm sure both will have learnt from the experience.

On to this w.e's local derby, you would have to rate Rovers a strong chance to come away with the points after their performance on at the Doggie Den and the pies notable absentee list. Game will be won in the midfield and up forward for the Hawks. My tip is the Rovers by 20.

Key Matchups:

Cosgriff v Gaston/Platfuss

Steer v Cristoforo

A Hill v Smith

J Allan v Trenfield

Bell/Gaston/Platfuss v Kirby/Carmody