Ovens and Murray

Darc, how can you say the three big fellas can all go forward and have an impact this sunday? Bell and Gaston have barely troubled the scorers all season and last time your boys played the the Magpies, Platfuss kicked one, which was one of his rare touches on the day. I'm tipping Kirby to kick more than the three of them combined.

Your quite a knowledgeable man fhf, mr booth should be the one putting a lid on it i think hahahah. As for Gaston being dangerous in front of goal.... newsflash he cant kick, hasnt been able to since kindergarden mate, hope hes not the great white savior you boys from the dodgy side of the road have been looking for since the great man rob walker hung up the boots :rolleyes:

TOP 5 -Wang, Corowa, Yarra, Lavington, Wang Rovers
Grand Finalists - Wang / Corowa

GF Result - Wang by 10 points
Morris Medal Top 3 - Ednie, Carpenter,Pendergast
Coaching Changes for 2009 -North Albury, Wodonga, Wod.Raiders, Albury

Headline you'd like to see - Wang win the footy.... but lose the fight
Headline you think you will see -Ednie Crowned O&M Best Again

Bob Craig will be coaching Wodonga in 09
Travis Hogson has been told he will not be at North Albury in 09.
Corey Lambert will coach Albury.
Aaron Henneman, Guy Chisnall, and David Teague will be back at Corow in 09.
:cool:

Got to agree with you there thinkbig, if ever the my beloved hawks were going to get some revenge on the pies it would be this week. However I think Mcgyver underestimates the Rovers ruck division and it would be at the pies peril if they did.

Whilst Paul Kirby is the standout ruckman in the league, his faithful sidekick Boofa Carmody is not the player he once was and is better suited to the goalsquare where he is a marking threat in the pocket. The fact that the Hawks have three genuine rucking talls in Bell, Gaston and Platfuss means that they can chop and change regularly, with all 3 able to go forward and have an impact as well. If they can continuously put pressure on Kirby all day and run him around, it will go a long way to seeing a home win.

Also on a footnote, Tyson Hartwig....much underated player. Would be in line for League Dream team selection at CHB come end of the year. Holds his own strength wise against the gorilla forwards and also a superb running rebounder for a bloke his size. Thoughts?

hahahaahah think this would be pretty embarissing for ya after talkin ya selves up and every body sayin that rovers would win by 8 or 9 goals so next time i think use should just keep shut and i think i was right when i said trenny and cossy smashed use plus i think the wang back line did haha but one thing you got right is that Tyson Hartwig is a very good player but he is far off being in line for chb

good work by use boys... very good side use are arent use? use use the footy real well use do...
hawks had a minor setback yesterday but wont stop the momentum... theres still a couple of seats left so get on board...

go hawks...

icon10.gif
icon10.gif

in darc's defence, i think it was me who said rovers by 8 or 9 goals with my tongue planted firmly in my cheek. i would have posted a further message with my real prediction of another wang slaughter but i was struggling with uncontrollable laughter for a couple of days after reading that gaston platfuss and bell shouldn't be underestimated and would trouble kirby hoops and boofa. fair dinkum

i didn't actually see the game yesterday but the scoreline tells me it was pretty much all wang? 12 scoring shots to 2 in the 1st 1/4 sounds like it set the tone for the day. anyone see the game and got anything to report?

thinkbig, whatever odds you got for a rovers flag last week, you got unders

big win for wodonga over lavi as well the other significant result i would have thought out of the weekend

good work by use boys... very good side use are arent use? use use the footy real well use do...
hawks had a minor setback yesterday but wont stop the momentum... theres still a couple of seats left so get on board...

go hawks...

icon10.gif
icon10.gif

think the momentum will be stopping seeing that use have lavi and yarra coming up use will struggle to make finals

lets not get carried away with the rovers boys... have had injuries and its just an abomination at the moment which has left a few blokes scratching there heads... but it will still leave more blokes scratchin their heads at the end of the season when everyone will be saying, "where did the rovers come from"...

im a betting man and once the mighty hawks odds get out beyond $31 the money will well and truly be on and the boys will turn it on and get the dividend at the end of the year that will pay for their next high profile recruit next year... the joke will be on you brad mcgrath and the entire o & m... l

ook forward to it lads strap yourselves in and watch the hawkers spread their wings and fly away...

go hawks

TB
icon10.gif
icon10.gif
icon10.gif
icon10.gif
icon10.gif

i will quote my own words for you peanut, then you can go and clean up your dribble... at the time highlighted the mighty brown and gold were at $21 and then came into $10 after the shellacking they dished out last week... if the hawkers had of won yesterday, could you have seen the odds drifting out past that magical $31? i think not... call me crazy but this is a master strategical plan been put in place and dont say i didnt warn you... wang were great yesterday and will only get better! they'll need to though...

TB

icon10.gif
icon10.gif

in darc's defence, i think it was me who said rovers by 8 or 9 goals with my tongue planted firmly in my cheek. i would have posted a further message with my real prediction of another wang slaughter but i was struggling with uncontrollable laughter for a couple of days after reading that gaston platfuss and bell shouldn't be underestimated and would trouble kirby hoops and boofa. fair dinkum

i didn't actually see the game yesterday but the scoreline tells me it was pretty much all wang? 12 scoring shots to 2 in the 1st 1/4 sounds like it set the tone for the day. anyone see the game and got anything to report?

thinkbig, whatever odds you got for a rovers flag last week, you got unders

big win for wodonga over lavi as well the other significant result i would have thought out of the weekend

Just wondering wether any of u Wang die hards have reached for the wallet after the Pres plea in last Fridays paper? Pretty cheeky i would have thought.

Sounds like Wang are after a bit of help from the supporters, but the word around the traps is that the Hoppers are asking the players to put in for their $2000. Interesting to see how that goes over !!

Credit where credit is due....the Magpies were a class above on Sunday, even without 10 top line players. Was good to watch the two Veterans Carmody and Matty Allen play on each other for a large part of the game. Honours went to MA up until the last quarter where boofa broke loose and drove a few stakes into rovers supporters hearts. But tip the Hawks to bounce back against Lavi in a bid to keep their finals hopes alive!

3rds Guns

Interested in knowing the star 3rd's players from each club.
Share your thoughts.

Albury -
Alpine Eagles -
Corowa Rutherglen -
Lavington -
North Albury -
Wang Magies -
Wang Rovers -
Wodonga Bulldogs -
Wodonga Raiders -
Yarrawonga -

TOP 5 - Wang, Corowa, Yarra, Lavi, Rovers
Grand Finalists - Wang, Corowa

GF Result - Corowa
Morris Medal Top 3 - David Clark, Matt Pendergast, Sam Carpenter
Coaching Changes for 2009 - Raiders, Myrtleford, Albury

Headline you'd like to see - Wang go back to back
Headline you think you will see - Tossol leads roo's to flag yet again

Re: 3rds Guns

Interested in knowing the star 3rd's players from each club.
Share your thoughts.

Albury -
Alpine Eagles -
Corowa Rutherglen -
Lavington -
North Albury -
Wang Magies -
Wang Rovers -
Wodonga Bulldogs -
Wodonga Raiders -
Yarrawonga -

who cares, wait 3 or 4 years then work out whose playin seniors to find who the good players were...

i will quote my own words for you peanut, then you can go and clean up your dribble... at the time highlighted the mighty brown and gold were at $21 and then came into $10 after the shellacking they dished out last week... if the hawkers had of won yesterday, could you have seen the odds drifting out past that magical $31? i think not... call me crazy but this is a master strategical plan been put in place and dont say i didnt warn you... wang were great yesterday and will only get better! they'll need to though...

TB

icon10.gif
icon10.gif

my apologies thinkbig. i recalled your previous post as saying you had already backed the rovers but clearly not. i am just checking out the current market, i see that rovers are out to $34 so i assume the plunge is on this week? It is a strange market - wodonga are $8 the flag and rovers are $34. Given the rovers % there is every chance they will grab 5th spot off wodonga in the run home so i thought they should be alot closer in the market. It is the sort of year where a team could make a run from the elimination final too, as teams 2-6 seem pretty even. Even nth albury in 7th still has a sniff of finals action with same wins as rovers and only 5 less %

apology accepted CP... i sorry for the late reply i have just been down at the tab puttin on a couple of multis... your right i dont know how the fluctuations are justified but am happy to wear it... it could well be a close run home to challenge the maggies in the GF, well stated! if a team can string a few wins together (cough cough rovers) they might just bolt and leave some teams behind... has been a very inconsistent year for alot of teams which indicates how close it could be between a few teams in the run home... fingers are crossed

Page 18-19 of Todays Border Mail.

Footballer fined over pub clash

25/06/2008 12:00:00 AM
NORTH Albury footballer Kane Patrick Godde’s remonstration over being removed from a hotel due to intoxication led yesterday to fines totalling $500.
Godde did not appear at Albury Local Court on charges of malicious damage and failing to quit licensed premises, but was represented by solicitor Mark Cronin.
Mr Cronin said Godde, an apprentice carpenter, had suffered a cut wrist on Monday.
A guilty plea to the charges was entered on behalf of Godde, 20, of Poplar Drive, Lavington.
The court was told in tendered facts that Godde ran through the beer garden at the New Albury hotel about 3am on April 20 towards a security officer who was talking to police with other security people chasing him.
Police assisted the security staff, restrained him and he was handcuffed before being escorted from the premises.
It was revealed to police that Godde had been ejected earlier for signs of excessive intoxication.
Police viewed security footage which showed Godde in a confrontation with security staff after being taken outside.
It showed him making impact with a locked front door, backing away and running towards the door a second time and forcing it open.
The door’s lock was damaged by the forced entry.
He was challenged by security staff, but pushed past and ran towards the beer garden.
Mr Cronin said Godde had been playing poker machines and dropped some money when going to cash it in, which led to him being asked to leave.
It was claimed by Mr Cronin that Godde was escorted out in “a fairly rigorous fashion”.
“I wonder why,” magistrate Gordon Lerve said.
Mr Lerve said it was another case of drunkenness late at night in Albury.
He said Godde had been asked to leave no doubt through what happened inside. Godde was convicted on both charges after Mr Lerve said excellent references had been tendered on his behalf.

Looks like Kane's carried his good form off the field with him...

Footballer fined over pub clash

25/06/2008 12:00:00 AM
NORTH Albury footballer Kane Patrick Godde’s remonstration over being removed from a hotel due to intoxication led yesterday to fines totalling $500.
Godde did not appear at Albury Local Court on charges of malicious damage and failing to quit licensed premises, but was represented by solicitor Mark Cronin.
Mr Cronin said Godde, an apprentice carpenter, had suffered a cut wrist on Monday.
A guilty plea to the charges was entered on behalf of Godde, 20, of Poplar Drive, Lavington.
The court was told in tendered facts that Godde ran through the beer garden at the New Albury hotel about 3am on April 20 towards a security officer who was talking to police with other security people chasing him.
Police assisted the security staff, restrained him and he was handcuffed before being escorted from the premises.
It was revealed to police that Godde had been ejected earlier for signs of excessive intoxication.
Police viewed security footage which showed Godde in a confrontation with security staff after being taken outside.
It showed him making impact with a locked front door, backing away and running towards the door a second time and forcing it open.
The door’s lock was damaged by the forced entry.
He was challenged by security staff, but pushed past and ran towards the beer garden.
Mr Cronin said Godde had been playing poker machines and dropped some money when going to cash it in, which led to him being asked to leave.
It was claimed by Mr Cronin that Godde was escorted out in “a fairly rigorous fashion”.
“I wonder why,” magistrate Gordon Lerve said.
Mr Lerve said it was another case of drunkenness late at night in Albury.
He said Godde had been asked to leave no doubt through what happened inside. Godde was convicted on both charges after Mr Lerve said excellent references had been tendered on his behalf.

Looks like Kane's carried his good form off the field with him...

apparently management at the New Albury Hotel have done nothing but try and tarnish the reputation of the Nth Albury football club since the incident

Spoke with Hoggy, he said: "We felt Kane was in a corner on the night and probably had no choice but to defend himself. I think it was clear to anyone at the pub who initiated the trouble that night, so from our point of view it shouldn't have even started.":rolleyes: