PAFC CEO Matthew Richardson

I actually thought at the time (still do) that it was a bold and courageous vision for the Club to move forward. The Club exists to win premierships so having a CEO who was bold enough at the time to put it out there in such a way I thought was reflective of the overall Club ethos. The issue though has been that the CEO has not been able to deliver on these goals, and yet all the main people in charge of delivering these results remain in power, as if the results don't actually matter.

Richo is a good person - but he's not a leader's arseh*le, and has absolutely zero idea on what a good footy department looks like and how a good one should function.
Richo is a ****.. arrogant Hyde park flog

I actually thought at the time (still do) that it was a bold and courageous vision for the Club to move forward. The Club exists to win premierships so having a CEO who was bold enough at the time to put it out there in such a way I thought was reflective of the overall Club ethos. The issue though has been that the CEO has not been able to deliver on these goals, and yet all the main people in charge of delivering these results remain in power, as if the results don't actually matter.

Richo is a good person - but he's not a leader's arseh*le, and has absolutely zero idea on what a good footy department looks like and how a good one should function.
I agree. I have no problem with setting high expectations. That's Port Adelaide.

It is the doing absolutely nothing to actually achieve those goals that bothers me.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yep. Nothing wrong with the statement. The issue was being meaningless.

The issue is the club did absolutely nothing to back it up or be consistent to that goal.

You can't say we're setting out to win 3 flags in 5 years, then when its clear you're not going to meet that goal turn it around and say "oh flags are hard to win you're all crazy for thinking we could win one we've been really successful because we almost won a prelim that one time". If you declare 3 in 5 as your goal then you should be mighty pissed off when your plan is failing.

You also have to be willing to make the tough calls to get there. What was the plan b, and c and d to achieve 3 in 5? Just stick with old mate and just hope that one three days it might happen by random chance? We made zero tough calls and just put up a different scapegoat each year.

Its why they say goals should be achievable. If you don't genuinely believe in them, aren't willing to plan for them, aren't willing to make decisions to achieve them, aren't willing to be accountable to them, then don't declare them. If he'd said "our goal is to re-develop the precinct, have decent crowd sizes, and win enough games to be an also-ran in finals 50% of the time", people wouldn't have liked him for it but it would have at least been honest.

The issue is the club did absolutely nothing to back it up or be consistent to that goal.

You can't say we're setting out to win 3 flags in 5 years, then when its clear you're not going to meet that goal turn it around and say "oh flags are hard to win you're all crazy for thinking we could win one we've been really successful because we almost won a prelim that one time". If you declare 3 in 5 as your goal then you should be mighty pissed off when your plan is failing.

You also have to be willing to make the tough calls to get there. What was the plan b, and c and d to achieve 3 in 5? Just stick with old mate and just hope that one three days it might happen by random chance? We made zero tough calls and just put up a different scapegoat each year.

Its why they say goals should be achievable. If you don't genuinely believe in them, aren't willing to plan for them, aren't willing to make decisions to achieve them, aren't willing to be accountable to them, then don't declare them. If he'd said "our goal is to re-develop the precinct, have decent crowd sizes, and win enough games to be an also-ran in finals 50% of the time", people wouldn't have liked him for it but it would have at least been honest.
The only scapegoats have been the supporters.

Great post, sums it up perfectly.

By finishing top 4 in 4 of the last 5 years you could argue that the club absolutely put themselves in a position to win 3 premierships. Hinkley's complete impotence when given that opportunity is the burning question which the top brass at the club have no answer to.

Yes but there was already years of evidence that Hinkley wasnt the guy to finish the job and the club kept him in too.

We didnt even need to sack him. We could have just not extended him twice. He shouldnt have coached another game for Port after the Dogs final. Its all self inflicted.

3 flags in 5 years. Man that has aged horribly, wtf was that lol.
It was a bet each way.

The counter went up on the slide announcing it, from 37 to 38 to 39 to 40.

Which meant it was marketing BS. It was 3 premierships over the 3 teams over 5 years. So 1 AFL, 1 SANFL and 1 AFLW premiership would have met the target, so could any other combo that gets to 3.

If it was 3 AFL flags, it would have shown the counter go from 1 to 2 to 3 to 4.

The 3 flags in 5 years that IIRC came from Brendon Gale was a massive call and truth be told, very over the top.

I mean there had been three clubs who had accomplished that feat up to that point since we joined in 1997, the Brisbane Threepeat, Geelong alternate wins of 2007, 2009 and 2011 and the Hawks Threepeat.

For Gale's words to come through was highly unlikely but they did it. For Richardson to say the same thing shows you the man has been out of options for a long time and far away from reality as it gets.

The 3 flags in 5 years that IIRC came from Brendon Gale was a massive call and truth be told, very over the top.

I mean there had been three clubs who had accomplished that fear up to that point since we joined in 1997, the Brisbane Threepeat, Geelong alternate wins of 2007, 2009 and 2011 and the Hawks Threepeat.

For Gale's words to come through was highly unlikely bu they did it. For Richardson to say the same thing shows you the man has been out of options for a long time and far away from reality as it gets.

We got four Top-3 finishes in the last 5 season. We actually have put ourselves in range of that goal.

We simply refuse to admit that Hinkley’s “sh*t doesn’t work in the playoffs”.

I mean there had been three clubs who had accomplished that fear up to that point since we joined in 1997, the Brisbane Threepeat, Geelong alternate wins of 2007, 2009 and 2011 and the Hawks Threepeat.

For Gale's words to come through was highly unlikely bu they did it. For Richardson to say the same thing shows you the man has been out of options for a long time and far away from reality as it gets.
Gale did it in 2 steps and it was always set out in 2 steps.

1st 5 years was 3-0-75, when he was appointed at end of 2009 and announced it at the start of 2010;
Make 3 finals series in 5 years, $0 debt and 75,000 members.

Richmond between 1982 GF and 2009 had only played in finals in 1995 and 2001, had $2mil debt and only 36,000 members, but the previous 5 years averaged only 30,000 members and in 2006 had 29k, whereas the Hawks had 28k and had shot to 52k in 2009 after 2 finals appearance including the 2008 flag, had the biggest membership in 2009 and set a target of 75k members. Gale said if the Hawks can do it, so can we, re membership.

2nd 5 years was win 3 flags, build the club infrastructure and non football revenue and become the biggest football club in the land.

PAFC CEO Matthew Richardson