Autopsy Party time - JD300

They showed him on screen at Marvel a couple of times, he was jubilant. I think I saw him skipping.

This is coach mode. That was his best performance at North as a coach. Interested to see what he has next.
He let something slip in that interview.

I'll mention it in his thread.

Goodwin is a genuine ****ing idiot

The dees are doomed as long as that arrogant bloody twit is a part of their club
Trying to spread the blame. Why would you even suggest something off field was affecting Gawn's game and then say you can't say anything about it. YOU JUST DID FFS. You just created the discussion. Really dumb.

Really stoked about this win, pressure was on from the word go and we didn't allow them to get a lot of cheap ball on the outside. We still made a lot of mistakes and turned the ball over way too much, but the system was a lot better. This should have been our standard during the pre-season for effort, we lost a big opportunity to get the points last week.

I thought Powell was great in the middle, best game I had seen McDonald play in some time on Fritsch. I liked the look of Hansen and Konstanty, they were good with their forward pressure, they seemed to be alternating with Simpkin and Phillips a fair bit. It was a good day by the forwards, looked dangerous. The midfield was a bit hit or miss in terms of getting into the forward 50, we dicked around with the ball at times.

Next week against the Crows will be a tough test to see where we are at. We have a shizenhousen track record there so my expectations aren't high.

Have been home a little while. I have been on the edge of laryngitis for a few days, but now, after that, I'm fully there.

It was such a joy, watching that second half. Seeing Chom's turnaround and watching most of the rest of the team follow suit was a joy. About halfway through the third, I thought we were a big show of winning the game. Never saw the last quarter coming AT ALL.

I am an optimist. I admit that. I went to Arden St in Jan/Feb commentated on a lot of match simulations. Things looked different this year. Last week aside, that is what we've seen. If things had gone our way last week, we'd be 2-0. Big test next week of course, on the road. The players have belief now, though. That counts for a lot.

I thought Clarko coached really well. Kerch in the backline wasn't working, so he got moved up the field, and Harry switched back. That really helped. Harry then went into the midfield at times as well and I reckon this confused Melbourne. Our players are developing the maturity and flexibility to do this and it helps.

Clarko also got the matchups right. Corr on Fritsch was perfect. LMac on van Rooyen (I think?) worked as well. LMac played his best game in years. Didn't make a mistake other than the non-HtB call that Melbourne probably should have gotten, but while we're on the subject of umpires, lets not forget that constant throw-a-thon that is Clayton Oliver. My goodness. Got called late int he game, when the result was beyond a doubt, but seriously: this needs to have a much closer watch, especially for this particular player.

I have to single out Tristan Xerri. The value of a dominant ruckman is immense. He is all that. Players and even entire teams can be built around such a player. Our opponents tonight have done this for a good 7 or 8 years now. Of all of his positive qualities, consistency is the major one. He plays much the same way, to the same level, EVERY week.

A tribute also to our newly arrived veterans. All three have been highly influential. Darling especially, as our forward line is now functional and potent, but tonight I think we got the sort of game out of Luke Parker that we had been hoping for when we signed him. Calbel Daniel, after a dodgy early game, had 30+ and was very clean in the second half.

The value this gives to our footy club is immense. We can now take the pressure off Harry, Tom, and Luke in the midfield, and especially Cam and Paul in the forward line. The results are there for all to see.

Loving some of the development in our younger guys. I am a huge RHJ fan, have been since last year, and he looked electric tonight. I suspect those runs down the wing and perfect 20m passes into the forward line are going to be his trademark. I haven't seen the stats, but I'm guessing he had at least 4 score involvements. Maybe more. It's a matter of time before he starts kicking goals too.

This is also the best I have seen Tommy Powell play. Time is running out for Will Phillips (sadly - because this is NOT what I saw in the pre-season) but from that draft we may have our top 5 mid anyway. Clean, aggressive, quick and smart, and a brilliant goal saving tackle in the second quarter amounted to a highly influential game.

LDU. Please sign already. You showed us tonight that you absolutely want to be there. That was a stellar game. Stellar. Not high in terms of disposals, but just so damaging. Watching him break tackles and surge forward with the ball was something we thought we'd see more often than we have in recent weeks, going back into last season, but now the penny has dropped and the light is on. He is home. He looks it. We just need confirmation via that signature. I believe it will come.

And Cam Zurhaar. What a game. Immense. Tackled and harassed and kicked goals. Just what we have wanted, and he hasn't waited until round 8 to do it. His mate Paul Curtis goes alright too. Looks better and better with each season and this could well be his AA year, as others have said. Looks genuinely dangerous, and has added contested marking and forward pressure to his game in a much stronger flavour than in prior years.

So many others to praise, but I don't have that much patience to praise them all. They should all be proud of themselves, but a quick mention of Toby Pink is worth it here: I didn't see his game coming either. Can actually defend. Really well. Yes a few mistakes, but on balance he really contributed.

Oh and one more to single out: Finn O'Sullivan. Words are almost inadequate to describe what he does. I am barely old enough to remember Keith Grieg, but I did see the end of his career when I was a child. FOS looks much like I remember, even though it was 45+ years ago. Like I said, words are sometimes not enough to describe players: you have to see them play to get the full picture. FOS is that.

There is so much to look forward to when we consider some of the players on the sidelines and in development.

We are back, baby. I have NO doubt of this. This is a completely different North Melbourne side in 2025. The future starts here. I plan to enjoy it. After going to so many Melbourne games in the past 5 years and feeling sad, disillusioned and ready to give it up, tonight was such a magic experience. I am sure we will have more of the same as the year wears on.
TLDR: It's Happening!!!!!

Well that was fun!! Sitting in the Roo members it’s been 20 years since I’ve heard them that loud!!!

Wasn't it great?

When OUT WE COME, OUT WE COME, OUT WE COME TO PLAY broke out mid Q4?!

Special shout out to the 50+ yo silver haired cap wearing North flog who rather than go cheer his own side down their race after a comprehensive win, decided to go up the other end and film himself hurling abuse at the Melbourne players as they came off, then going back to his crusty mates and having a good chuckle to himself like a hero.
If you are here somewhere, you are an absolute embarrassment.

Edit - congrats North and good luck for the season ahead (except aforementioned flog).
Absolutely dominated us and thoroughly deserved the win.

Last edited by a moderator:

Autopsy Party time - JD300

Write your reply...