Coaching Staff Past Coach: Matthew Knights - Finally gets his second shot - 5/5

Big deal. We'll be fine without him!

Have you heard who are possible assistants to Knighter or he hasn't said yet? What about Hardwick?

Haven't heard anything about assistants. I assume they've offered Dimma senoir assistants spot so lets hope he takes it. I for one would love Danniher involved in the same way as Connoly is with Bailey.

Very true about Daniher, Sheedy-Daniher partnership in the early 90s worked, I have a feeling Daniher was there for the '93 flag as our match review analyst???

Absolutely dreadful decision. Too many better candidates to name. I knew the bullshit about wanting Choc or Bomber showed the ability of the selection panel. Mark my words, we will regret this in a very short term.

What a pathetic attitude. Name the better candidates and give me the detailed reasons why they would be better than Knights.

I for one think that Matthew Knights is a great choice of coach. He was a great player and leader (even if it was only for Richmond :D) and I'll be interested to see how he turns the team around in 2008.
Whilst we almost made the finals this year, I thought our style of play was awful, and as such I was almost going to switch to another team in 08 and beyond.
But, know the board have signed Knights for 3 years, I think I'll stick around and enjoy the ride!
Good luck to the team in 2008!

Quiet coach of Windy Hill has sound skills, peers say

Samantha Lane | September 28, 2007

HIGHLY organised, strong-willed, methodical and possessing a fun side he doesn't reveal to just anybody — that's how Matthew Knights was described yesterday by the people who know and have worked with him.
He is Kevin Sheedy's replacement in the top job at Essendon but will be nothing like him.

"It's a complete change of direction," said Robert Walls, who made Knights captain of Richmond in 1997. "I think from day one, no one will compare him to, or say he's like or is trying to be like Sheedy.

"From the most experienced, publicised coach who had a quote and a story from every press conference, you'll be going to a guy who is young, inexperienced and will certainly not be giving headlines at any of his press conferences.

"He wouldn't be overawed by the Sheedy factor. He's been at the club for a few years and would have a very good understanding of where they're at.
"He's his own man and I think that's really good that there's this strong contrast."

AFL players' union boss Brendon Gale, who used to room with his one-time Tiger teammate when the side hit the road, said Knights had contrasting on-field and off-field personalities.

"There's an old saying — still waters run deep. I think he's one of those guys," Gale said.

"He was a very extravagant, flamboyant and creative player on the field, but off the field, he was a quieter family man. He was married young.
"He's a very reserved guy. He's pretty quiet, but very strong in his principles and values and beliefs.

"He's not going to be a hot gospel-type coach. He won't be a ranter and raver. He'll be pretty careful and considered and measured in his approach."
Something Knights and Sheedy did have in common, Gale said, was that "they both love a punt".

"He loves his trotters. He used to drag us out to Moonee Valley on Saturday nights at times. I couldn't think of anything worse."

Matthew Allan, a former Carlton and Essendon ruckman and recently general manager of the Bendigo Bombers, where he worked alongside Knights for 18 months, said his preparation as a coach was supreme.

"I seriously haven't been involved with a person as well prepared as Matthew Knights," Allan said. "And I know, having been heavily involved with Bendigo and Essendon, the high regard with which he's held.
"He has a real knack of getting to know his players and being able to joke and be jovial … but then being able to switch on and coach and discipline, as well."

Danny Frawley, a coach of Knights at Richmond who rallied behind him when he was felled by Bulldogs hardman Tony Liberatore in an infamous off-the-ball incident, said yesterday: "I'll have to go around to his house for a loan now that he's cashed up. He cost me $10,000 in 2001 in that Liberatore-Knights saga.

"I reckon good luck to him and I wish him all the best."

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/ne...kills-peers-say/2007/09/27/1190486481644.html

Very true about Daniher, Sheedy-Daniher partnership in the early 90s worked, I have a feeling Daniher was there for the '93 flag as our match review analyst???

I think Daniher was responsible for working out the Blues' ruck strategies so as we could shark their hit outs, which ultimately helped us win the premiership.

i am not amused at all ... the whole things was rushed because of certain time line criteria's and other prospect coaches deciding to remain where they are ... My predictions > he will flop , others like members here will make excuses for him > the board will have a knee jerk reaction sacking him in an untimely manner... Bomber fans will be in the limbo for a few years while everything was fine the way it was ... Huge memberships , colorful coach , developing young running side and a unspoken bond though out all bomber fans.

mark my words ... essendon will lose loyal fans over this. i to know people involved with knights in the sanfl and the word is his intent is fine just he's an over thinker with better diary keeping skills than play's

this is a debatable type post to promote thinking. So before you intellects start whining i show no support. Think about that it just might be ok to doubt something rather than be led like sheep. :eek:

I think that anyone ditching the club just becasue you dont agree with the boards decisions or who is coaching us is pretty shallow. Make some noise, take a stand at elections or whatever but to just walk away simply shows what sort of a incipid bandwagon supporter these people are.
I have no problems with people giving their views. I have been around long enough to have seen the club go through 4 coachs in 10 years so to be honest most people have been well and truly spoilt by what we have had for the last 27 years.
As far as people harping on about his Port days are you saying he could not have learnt anything from the experience ? Obviously he made some mistakes but in saying that Port is one club that you have to stay in favour with the old timers or you will be burnt pretty quickly. They have been known to turn on their own when things dont go well.

I'm generally not a pessimist. But I tend to agree completely with that.

Forgive my lack of faith - but I'm very worried now about how the next three years are going to turn out. How they could think our seconds coach (from a team with a losing culture as a player, and with a record of having been sacked only one year in to his only previous senior coaching role) could be a better bet than Sheeds, Harvey, Daniher, Thompson and others I'm honestly struggling to fathom.

I wouldn't be worried mate, some of the names you mentioned, Harvey and Daniher, we didn't want as our head coach. Harvey is a Sheedy clone, is too much of a "boy's" man and I can't see him reaching any great successes. Not to say I don't wish him well though!

It will take time to judge Knighter, I'd give him the 3 years and if there hasn't been a change, we find someone else, Sheedy couldn't lead the team to the finals 3 years in a row, there's not many coaches left in the competition that can hold onto their jobs during that kind of form!

Terry Wallace.

still think we should have waited until after the GF and named our coach next week, who knows what kind of fall out Port will have after being thumped by a record margin, again in finals action they looked soft when the pressure was turned up a notch.

And IMO i think hardwick lost it not only because he said it would be 6 year re-build but because he might have recommended trading some big name players e.g Lucas (only my opinion), I only base this on hawthorn trading thompson and hay??? not that hay was important hence the????

I just hope knights sticks to his word and plays good direct footy straight to an open forward line that allows Lloyd to do what he does best, mark and goal. and I hope he bites the bit between the teeth and trades for at least another first round.

still think we should have waited until after the GF and named our coach next week, who knows what kind of fall out Port will have after being thumped by a record margin, again in finals action they looked soft when the pressure was turned up a notch.

And IMO i think hardwick lost it not only because he said it would be 6 year re-build but because he might have recommended trading some big name players e.g Lucas (only my opinion), I only base this on hawthorn trading thompson and hay??? not that hay was important hence the????

I just hope knights sticks to his word and plays good direct footy straight to an open forward line that allows Lloyd to do what he does best, mark and goal. and I hope he bites the bit between the teeth and trades for at least another first round.
Hmm good post.
ye hardwick only lost cuzza that, because of the fact we were actually planing to get somewhere within the next 5 years.
Lloyd has showed his forward kicking

What a pathetic attitude. Name the better candidates and give me the detailed reasons why they would be better than Knights.

Hardwick: Proven assistant coach at AFL level. Something Knights hasn't done. Assistant coach under Mark Williams. Probably the best teacher in the game. Premiership player at two AFL clubs. Need I go on? That will do. No need to name any others as he was the first to come to mind and so much better then Knights I have no need for another.

Hardwick: Proven assistant coach at AFL level. Something Knights hasn't done.

Knights: Coached his own team, and had done very well considering the lack of talent and depth. Something Hardwick hasn't done.

Assistant coach under Mark Williams.

Wrong.

Premiership player at two AFL clubs.

So? Paul Roos hasn't played in a premiership and he's one of the best coaches in the league. Alan Jeans never made the GF in his playing career, I think he's done pretty well for himself.

Need I go on? That will do.

You haven't given a convincing argument.

No need to name any others as he was the first to come to mind and so much better then Knights I have no need for another.

So much better? Dimma has yet coach his own team. We have no idea how he will turn out. Neither do we know how Knights will turn out.

Well i'm only 13, but i can still remember knights playing against libba and getting bloodied, hehe that was cool(i dunno wat the point of this is)

but he never gave up rly, which is wat wll happen with essendon. nvr say die.

Well i'm only 13, but i can still remember knights playing against libba and getting bloodied, hehe that was cool(i dunno wat the point of this is)

but he never gave up rly, which is wat wll happen with essendon. nvr say die.

And Knights has forecast some entertaining game plans next year, none of the tempo crap that old Sheedy latched on to like a lot of other coaches.

Hardwick? Voss (Lol)?

I dont know if they would get someone that high profie but one would suspect that being able to coach in the VFL would be attractive to a reasonably good candidate.

Hardwick: Proven assistant coach at AFL level. Something Knights hasn't done.

Hardwick has never coached his own team, something which Knights has done. He has played second fiddle, but wasn't a senoir assistant, and doesn't have the experience of leading a team himself as Knights has. Knights has had the opportunity to make mistakes and learn from them through this role.

Assistant coach under Mark Williams. Probably the best teacher in the game.

Swing and a miss pal. Hardwick wasn't an assitant coach at Port Adelaide, He played for Port Adelaide, so from your line of reasoning every one of the 40 players on the Port list are assistant coaches? Hardwick was an assistant under Clarkson, the most inexperienced AFL senoir coach.

Premiership player at two AFL clubs.

So he'll make a good coach? Will MJ be a good coach because he was a premiership players? Tim Watson was a premiership player how idd his coaching career go? This has to be one of the most overrated points in this whole debate. How does winning a premiership show they will make a good coach? Dimma played in a team with other very good players- doesn't mean he has the ability to deveise tacticts and lead men. What is the difference between the team that wins a grandfinal, and a team like COllingwood that misses the grandfinal by a kick? Is there some secret structure that you can only realise by being a part of that team? No, of course there isn't. Knights didn't play in a premiership, but he was a better footbaler than Hardwick (who was also very good) why doesn't that count for anything?

Need I go on? That will do. No need to name any others as he was the first to come to mind and so much better then Knights I have no need for another.

Yes you need to go on as your points lack substance and are laughable. You don't knwo why Hardwick is better. People liek you are a joke. You no doubt watch a game a weekend and consider yourself to be some sort of expert, so you know that Hardwick would be better despite not knowing anything about the interview process, or having seen Hardwick coach a team, and despite the fatc that he was rejected by Melbourne. You know KNigths will be cr*p despite never seeing him coach or I'm sure even talking to the bloke. You know Essendon did the wrong thing despite the fact that they contracted an expert outisde agency to assist in the extensive search for a coach, and the praise from those invoved that the process. You know Hardwick is better than Knights despite Knights beating him so answer one question, why did the board pick Knights? It would have been much easier to pick Hardwick even though he said a grandfinal was further away, simply because jerks like you would have been appeased. It would have been easier for the board to pick Danniher, because I'm sure jerks like you would have been appeased. It would have been easier to pick someone outside the club so jerks liek you and Gary Lyon were appeased. But instead they went for the best man for the job.

Coaching Staff Past Coach: Matthew Knights - Finally gets his second shot - 5/5