PC Pc Gaming/building thread

nah postage. only major store we got in ACT is MSY unfortunately

I reckon you've got one because they were only taking orders of stock on hand then later opening it to pre-order stuff with an ETA. It's also possible they took multiple orders at once so you'll just have to hang tight but I think you've got a good chance. They don't ship until the end of the day normally so just check your order in your account and see if the status changes.

I just hope I get it within 3-4 weeks. Still got a game called Drova that I'm finishing on the Steam Deck for now anyway. As long as it's not months itll be sweet :)

Welp, just ordered a Palit 5080 Gamerock with the deal Techfast put on Ozbargain. I usually wouldn't touch Techfast kit with a 10 foot barge pole but Palit is behind companies like Gainward so the quality should be good, reviews on the card look OK too.

Looks like they just sourced 5090s too

EDIT: ....... aaaaaaaaaand the 5090s were snapped up at $4139

Welp, just ordered a Palit 5080 Gamerock with the deal Techfast put on Ozbargain. I usually wouldn't touch Techfast kit with a 10 foot barge pole but Palit is behind companies like Gainward so the quality should be good, reviews on the card look OK too.

Looks like they just sourced 5090s too

EDIT: ....... aaaaaaaaaand the 5090s were snapped up at $4139

Some of these Taiwanese and Chinese brands coming onto our market are really good. My 3080 was a Colourful iGame and in terms of build quality and performance it matched any Asus or MSI I've ever owned.

Also speaking of 3080 and your last comment that's why now I'm refusing to look on ozbargain, Reddit etc, I don't want to know. For 3080 I had two orders in and still got FOMO and insisted on spending my time stalking stores and those stock lists. This time my order is in and that's where I'm leaving it. I also refuse to give these stores my own money as an interest free loan which is another reason I chucked it on the credit card. For now they can have the bank's money. I'll pay it back when the card is confirmed on the way and before interest kicks in.

I just hope I get it within 3-4 weeks. Still got a game called Drova that I'm finishing on the Steam Deck for now anyway. As long as it's not months itll be sweet :)

Did you get any news about shipment? I ordered something else about lunch time today from Scorptec and they shipped it this arvo. Apparently MSI have a substantial shipment Feb 6. I don't know if that's when they dispatch the shipment globally or when they land on shores, I just read it in an article which means stock is coming.

Some of these Taiwanese and Chinese brands coming onto our market are really good. My 3080 was a Colourful iGame and in terms of build quality and performance it matched any Asus or MSI I've ever owned.

Also speaking of 3080 and your last comment that's why now I'm refusing to look on ozbargain, Reddit etc, I don't want to know. For 3080 I had two orders in and still got FOMO and insisted on spending my time stalking stores and those stock lists. This time my order is in and that's where I'm leaving it. I also refuse to give these stores my own money as an interest free loan which is another reason I chucked it on the credit card. For now they can have the bank's money. I'll pay it back when the card is confirmed on the way and before interest kicks in.
Yeah I've had those kinds of brands before and they're fine.

I wasn't really that fussed about when I got a card initially, but the whole just seems like a massive shitshow at the moment so these came up and I grabbed one local stock with 2-5 day delivery. PCCG opened up a 2nd batch this afternoon and the bots got them in literally seconds.

It's almost 5 years since the last GPU purchase so why not.

Did you get any news about shipment? I ordered something else about lunch time today from Scorptec and they shipped it this arvo. Apparently MSI have a substantial shipment Feb 6. I don't know if that's when they dispatch the shipment globally or when they land on shores, I just read it in an article which means stock is coming.
Sounds like a lot of places oversold, I've seen some people told it'll be towards the end of Feb

What annoys me is that this is clearly planned scarcity to start driving up prices sooner. Absolutely no reason to have such miserable supply when 40 series production began winding down 6 months ago. All reports from AIBs is that they have been scrambling since CES so this is entirely on NVIDIA otherwise launch would have been pushed back a month.

As for local market PCCG did say they were only selling on hand stock so they're going to place for lurkers and bots to try and snipe. I don't mind pre-ordering because not everyone can be bothered watching but does sound like a lot of stores are more reluctant to take as many orders as previous launches. PLE shut off their orders after only about 10 minutes (while I was trying to checkout damn it), Scorptec did eventually close theirs and Mwave did as well at some point this morning. I do trust Scorptec more and they did tell me they won't be taking orders on anything that didn't have a firm or near ETA so I've just got to trust Mwave at this point. I'm expecting March so won't start getting antsy until that comes and goes.

nah no shipment today, weirdly it says ETA 30th Jan (yes, yesterday) on my order whereas some people have later ETA's. It says awaiting allocation in the order history

What annoys me is that this is clearly planned scarcity to start driving up prices sooner. Absolutely no reason to have such miserable supply when 40 series production began winding down 6 months ago. All reports from AIBs is that they have been scrambling since CES so this is entirely on NVIDIA otherwise launch would have been pushed back a month.

As for local market PCCG did say they were only selling on hand stock so they're going to place for lurkers and bots to try and snipe. I don't mind pre-ordering because not everyone can be bothered watching but does sound like a lot of stores are more reluctant to take as many orders as previous launches. PLE shut off their orders after only about 10 minutes (while I was trying to checkout damn it), Scorptec did eventually close theirs and Mwave did as well at some point this morning. I do trust Scorptec more and they did tell me they won't be taking orders on anything that didn't have a firm or near ETA so I've just got to trust Mwave at this point. I'm expecting March so won't start getting antsy until that comes and goes.
There's likely to be lower yield due to the complexity of the chips themselves, some of them will be ending up in their AI/datacentre products that are probably already paid for by major customers, and I thought I read TSMC are slammed with other orders from mobs like Apple and AMD.

I did read somewhere too that these chips are monolithic and fit less on the wafer so production is slower, but yields shouldn't be tooooo bad because it's just a refined process of the previous node. You might know more about the specifics than me though. But you did bring up something else - every bit of silicon for a graphics card is silicon taken away from what they could sell for hundreds of thousands to data centres and big tech.

How juvenile is this. It's why I maintain HUB Steve is a complete w***er and will never recommend their content. I'm sure he'll have another cry and wonder why if he gets blacklisted again.

View attachment 2217050

Considering GN left a comment offering help to Bitwit/Kyle to get back on his feet on his LA fires video, kinda sad to see that level of pettiness.

At least from what I've seen most of the PC YouTubers are pretty supportive of one another. Seeing this stuff blows your mind. Any history or reason he's like that?

Considering GN left a comment offering help to Bitwit/Kyle to get back on his feet on his LA fires video, kinda sad to see that level of pettiness.

At least from what I've seen most of the PC YouTubers are pretty supportive of one another. Seeing this stuff blows your mind. Any history or reason he's like that?

He's just being a smart arse there but he's got enough of a track record to summise that he's simply a massive flog of a bloke. He has never been a fan of technologies like ray tracing and upscaling. A few years back he was carrying on like a pork chop just like that and NVIDIA actually briefly blacklisted him. He had a massive cry and it was lifted and this comment is in reference to that.

Looking forward to 5070/ti reviews and also what AMD have been up to.

Still think I'll be rocking the 5080 but we'll see!

Also wondering if a 1440p monitor makes more sense (even with a 5080) as from what I've read frame generation etc works best when you're already getting good fps. Part of me is so keen for 4k but... 🤣

For the first time ever I've got say this has been poor by Scorptec. Mwave aren't cancelling and refunding orders, they're just offering a refund but you're right to stay in the queue. Nobody getting their order cancelled now has any chance of ordering another any time soon and will have to battle it out with bots and scalpers.

On this Reddit group I'm in one bloke who ordered the same 5090 as me 8 minutes and 200 order numbers earlier just had his shipped. Looks like the 5090 Suprim was really popular but I'm pretty confident I'll get it by March now. Apparently a substantial MSI shipment is due to land in Aus on the 11th of Feb then there should be steady deliveries to fill out pre-orders.

For the first time ever I've got say this has been poor by Scorptec. Mwave aren't cancelling and refunding orders, they're just offering a refund but you're right to stay in the queue. Nobody getting their order cancelled now has any chance of ordering another any time soon and will have to battle it out with bots and scalpers.

On this Reddit group I'm in one bloke who ordered the same 5090 as me 8 minutes and 200 order numbers earlier just had his shipped. Looks like the 5090 Suprim was really popular but I'm pretty confident I'll get it by March now. Apparently a substantial MSI shipment is due to land in Aus on the 11th of Feb then there should be steady deliveries to fill out pre-orders.
Yeah providing a refund as an option would have been the better way to go, but maybe they were really struggling to secure anything and just pulled the pin. Mwave on the other hand would have to be proper-f*cked, they seemed to have sales open for ages, you could only imagine the shitstorm if they refunded all those orders.

PC Pc Gaming/building thread

Write your reply...