• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Picola District FL - General Thread 2009

Sounds great... if you can get them.
Yea agree they appear hard to come by, but could it work to have 3 umpires and they do the seniors and reserves ?
If we had 3 umpires they may be able to do the boundary throw-ins and may also be able to judge on whether anybody infringes on the square at centre bounces, two things which i think do impact on the game heavily.
Volunteer / club umpires could still judge when the the ball is out of bounce ??

What are peoples thought on who will make the finals, given we are half way in one comp. and all but, in the other, also interested to hear the thoughts of anyone who has seen both comps this year, and their thoughts on what the difference in the comps. ( goal wise ), might be if there is a difference ??

In the North, Deni still look like the team to beat but Berrigan seem to have been the big improvers in the last few weeks - I'd think Deni to win the GF over either Berrigan or Mathoura.

Tungamah look untouchable in the South. Shepp East very patchy in the games I've seen, sometimes awesome, sometimes woeful. Tungamah to beat Katandra in the GF.

Mind you, I have a history of being very wrong with my tips!!

Every week seems to be a 'big game'. I feel that Rennie have copped the raw deal and I would wager that they'd finish about 9th-10th in the old comp.

The footy is much better I feel and it also appears that the netty is close too.

I'd like to know how much gate takings are up as grounds always seem to be full (no parks around the grounds).

I won't tip finals places but I'd like to know where they will be played...

Here's a SE Interleague line up for you to pick at!

B T Few (Kga), J Cassimaty (Kga) C Hicks (T)
HB D Gledhill (Katty) B Jaques (SE), D O'Reilly (Kats)
C L Minogue (Kats), D Teague (Kats), S Richardson (W)
HF A Riordan (Kats), T Wren (T), M Kitto (DU)
FF D Payne (T), D Hall (Kats), M Meyland (W)
Foll T Betson (T), A Wild (Katty), S Scott (W)
Int A Molisak (SE), N Howden (Kga) T Hayes (T),
J Lewis (R), T Cooper (T), R Osborne (SE)

Any thoughts?

Dookie - 1 (Many key injuries Dickins, Beggs)
Katty - 2 (Wild = star)
Kats - 5 (2nd spot)
Katunga - 3 (Some quality)
Rennie - 1 (Lewis been in the best every week??)
Shepp East - 3 (Could have more?)
Tungamah - 6 (Probably a few more)
Waaia - 3 (Class)

North West could look something like this :

Backs : Noonan ( Y ) Cooper ( Be ) Braybon ( D )
Half Backs : Taylor ( S ) Holyman ( P ) Higgins ( Mat )
Centre : Bathman ( Be) Bode ( D ) Sanderson ( J )
Half Forward : Purcell ( J ) Way ( Be ) Magner ( P )
Forward : Jaensch ( S ) Phillips ( M ) Robinson ( D )

Foll.
The Other Way ( Be )
Olsen ( Y )
May ( D )

Thoughts ?

Backs : Noonan ( Y ) Cooper( Be ) Braybon ( D )

Foll.
The Other Way ( Be )
Olsen ( Y )
May ( D )

Thoughts ?

I Would have Fitzpatrick from Deni at CHB & Cooper from Berrigan at Full back.

Any thoughts?

Katty - 2 (Wild = star)
Kats - 5 (2nd spot)
Waaia - 3 (Class)

Hayden Best is quality you couldn't leave him out and Jarrod Mason would also easily slot in your best 18

Backs : Noonan ( Y ) Cooper ( Be ) Braybon ( D )

Foll.
The Other Way ( Be )
Olsen ( Y )
May ( D )

Thoughts ?

Always a tough one to pick these sides. Fitzpatrick, although he doesnt play there alot is the best ruckman in the northern comp. Mat Shannon and Germano would have to be included in somewhere.

I think Berrigan will be hard to beat given their height and Rovers will also be there abouts, Mathoura is another who have impresseed with their speed given they have a reasonable young side may just need the year to develope. If things are right out that way they will continue to play youth and let the older players run around in the twos or give it away. The southeast comp have the top 4 sides that can go all the way.

I reckon the rovers are sure to play in the GF, even extended their trophy cabinet already or so the story goes :D Who will play off against them would be a guess. Its so even that anyone who makes the 5 is a chance to make the GF and even win it. Going to be a great finals series!!!

Any thoughts?

Katty - 2 (Wild = star)
Kats - 5 (2nd spot)
Waaia - 3 (Class)

just because im come from tunga you probably think im favouring them but
i no there should be more then that, riordan?? minogue?? the powell bros would kill them and they play similar positions.
tim cooper is easily tungas best player and his on the bench??

Any thoughts?

Katty - 2 (Wild = star)
Kats - 5 (2nd spot)
Waaia - 3 (Class)

I heard Betson went to GVFL

just because im come from tunga you probably think im favouring them but
i no there should be more then that, riordan?? minogue?? the powell bros would kill them and they play similar positions.
tim cooper is easily tungas best player and his on the bench??

fair call mate, both players under 20 and are consistently in the best for the kats

I think the run to the finals in the North West will have plenty of twists and turns, with the two sides, Yarraweyah and Strathy who are currently outside the five, appearing to be gaining some momentum.
Deni appear to currently being holding favourtism for the flag and probably rightfully so. The amount of well experienced players they have, capable of having a big impact on games. ie Bode, May, Robinson, etc blended with their younger players, has a lot of similarities to recent PDFL premiers Tungamah,( R.Wren , Macheda, Dodd etc.) and Dookie( Payne-Crossen, Osborne, Kendall, etc.)

Put some more berrigan boys in that side i reckon.
Berrigan ruckman is prob the best going around a reckon, really good around the ground.