• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Picola District FL - General Thread 2009

Been a while sence the old berrigan saints have had a good look a finals but i think this year they are in for a big one, the saints have got some ex players coming back to the club and around the club the feeeling is pretty good, players such as the hickey boys look to have singed with the saints so looking for a big one for the saints.

Did they make the 6 in 2004, the year Matt Olney played?

I wouldnt think shepp east have spent more than any club thats wants success in the pdfl!! Tungamah obviously spent a bit last year and it brought them success so im sure shepp east are hoping that they can come together and have a good year?? Like you said though only time will tell??

money isn't everything, just because a team wins a premiership doesn't mean they've spent a lot of cash.

All about the cash!!!
Cash has killed the game the strong get stronger and the weak well they just fold.
true sometimes, but little old yass have only been going 7 years in the canberra districts comp and we won the grand final last year, with total player payments of wait for it .......... $0.00. it doesnt happen often but other teams we played against paid money for players, not heaps but we just had enough money to pay for our fees and stuff and i think our major sponsor ( a pub ) gave us $3500. we somehow attracted some players from canberra and the year before we finished 5th in a top 4 (11 teams mind you) and the guys knew we werent far off the mark, we stuck together and picked up a few more and only lost first final then went on to win. we only had 1 team with about 35 players to draw from, so it was hard work playing against belconnen who had four teams and others with 3 and 2. it was great to win it for a small town but as for this year we are struggling for numbers and look to be in some trouble, a lot retired and others moved away and some bought houses and before we knew it 14 players had moved on, it is a viscous circle, locals move away for work and teams have to spend on players to survive, but a lot of time the money spent comes back to towns, the players paid buy food and beer and others who come to footy spend money around town, so it is like investing in a town, its getting harder and harder but if it is done responsibly then it is ok. also spending to win a grand final is also sometimes needed in small towns, it makes a big difference to communities if their little town beats the other or one twice its size, it happens in cycles. the worst example i can think of was probably in the murray league when jerilderie bought half of darwin to win flag, then not long after that they went down a league. I was playing for finley that year 1989 , after finley had won gf in 88 with pretty much a local side with little money spent. The whole town celebrated and players and club were one, but the next year i went out on the piss with brian burke who played for the demons and yes they did win and they did celebrate but i think their was feelings of anger from supporters to the import players once on the piss and after they squashed the premiership cup under a railway sleeper and thought it was funny, i think thats where their is no loyality, just a paycheck at the end of the game. enough rammblings , just my thoughts. have strathmerton got the signature they have been chasing so hard (larry ryan).. go hawks

, just my thoughts. have strathmerton got the signature they have been chasing so hard (larry ryan).. go hawks

Yes this is a question hot on everyone's lips lately! What is Damien "Larry" Ryan going to do??? Not only will the footy club be in trouble, but netball side of things may also suffer.... as I hear many of the ladies enjoy Larry's incrediable good looks:p On a serious note I hear Bull Taylor has returned from WA, with him back that will give them a big lift, also they have picked up Matty Janesh from Cobram so things out at bulldog land look pretty good.:thumbsu:

All about the cash!!!
Cash has killed the game the strong get stronger and the weak well they just fold.
Cash has killed the game but not in all cases. I think it comes down to who your club recrutes. If you get the right kind of people in a club it will make others want to come. As for the strong gettin stronger Katandra has never player any one and still seem to go ok. We have players incentives and that no one realy even makes a fuss about that. Clubs need to realy have a look at who they are paying and see if it will benifit the club in the long run and not just a quick fix. If they are gonna pay any one my opinion is it should go to their up and coming juniors to help them out in their end of high school-uni days when they need it and you can nearly guarrentee that they will remember that and you will get them to stick arround at the club for many years after the payments stop.

I have heard Larry will be up and about with the Bulldogs... Matty Jaensch should be a handy pick up if u can get him on the training track...
And im not to sure he will be happy as youu reffering to him from cobram !! Never did much there... Was alot better with the hawks 2 time interleague player 65 goal wingman so should be handy.... no ?? Nic Sim and Chris George going with Jaensch to the Bulldogs ?? Bull Taylor always a handy player...
Cheers :thumbsu:
Nic Sim & Chris George off too Yarroweyah i am pretty sure

BALLS: It is very rare to find loyal people in footy and you will find it hard to find 50-100 game players at the 1 club these days compared to the 200-300 game players at the 1 club a few years back. Maybe some country leagues should take the amateur league in stance like in melb. And they have a very high standard of football down there for no cash players.

Cash has killed the game but not in all cases. I think it comes down to who your club recrutes. If you get the right kind of people in a club it will make others want to come. As for the strong gettin stronger Katandra has never player any one and still seem to go ok. We have players incentives and that no one realy even makes a fuss about that. Clubs need to realy have a look at who they are paying and see if it will benifit the club in the long run and not just a quick fix. If they are gonna pay any one my opinion is it should go to their up and coming juniors to help them out in their end of high school-uni days when they need it and you can nearly guarrentee that they will remember that and you will get them to stick arround at the club for many years after the payments stop.

Well said BALLS. Did you pull up okay after the hit out last night?

By the way for those interested in the Barooga Night Series:
Katandra defeated Picola United by about 4-5 goals. Both teams had heaps of numbers (more than 30) and the bench was used extensively!

Rams v Rovers.
Very entertaining game played on a very wet oval.
Rams 5 goals up half way through the 3rd quarter, Rams player yellow carded, Rovers get back 3 goals in that 10min when Rams yellow carded player about to come on just before 3 quarter time and lights out, all over after 3 quarters. Rams 9.4 Rovers 7.0.
Shame lights went out with a good crowd in attendance, but thats the way it goes.

BALLS: It is very rare to find loyal people in footy and you will find it hard to find 50-100 game players at the 1 club these days compared to the 200-300 game players at the 1 club a few years back. Maybe some country leagues should take the amateur league in stance like in melb. And they have a very high standard of football down there for no cash players.
I couldnt agree with you more boofa. The minor leagues around here should take a stand and stop playing players and put their money back into the club to build better facilitys and improve their clubs. As for the loyalty of long serving players at katandre we are lucky enough to have 6 blokes still playing that have all played over 250 games one that has played over 300 and about 4 over 100 which raises the subject of life membership. Can people let me know how many games do you have to play at your club to recive a life membership or what is you clubs criteria to qualify for it. Cheers

Well said BALLS. Did you pull up okay after the hit out last night?

By the way for those interested in the Barooga Night Series:
Katandra defeated Picola United by about 4-5 goals. Both teams had heaps of numbers (more than 30) and the bench was used extensively!
Hey mate yeah pulled up like an old man. A day in the hills on the dirt bike and traning last night has fixed me up but. Dan took training and it was a good night. Ya woulda know if you could be bothered to show up hahahahha:thumbsu:

I couldnt agree with you more boofa. The minor leagues around here should take a stand and stop playing players and put their money back into the club to build better facilitys and improve their clubs. As for the loyalty of long serving players at katandre we are lucky enough to have 6 blokes still playing that have all played over 250 games one that has played over 300 and about 4 over 100 which raises the subject of life membership. Can people let me know how many games do you have to play at your club to recive a life membership or what is you clubs criteria to qualify for it. Cheers
From what I know as the norm, club life membership is 200 games and league life membership is 300 or league medalist, generally ? :thumbsu:

Rams v Rovers.
Very entertaining game played on a very wet oval.
Rams 5 goals up half way through the 3rd quarter, Rams player yellow carded, Rovers get back 3 goals in that 10min when Rams yellow carded player about to come on just before 3 quarter time and lights out, all over after 3 quarters. Rams 9.4 Rovers 7.0.
Shame lights went out with a good crowd in attendance, but thats the way it goes.
Your better players, goal kickers for either side ??

$$$$ in football is forming the self destruction of many clubs and youth within towns across a large part of Victoria.
From my experience from having played at a few clubs at different levels and who have experienced different levels of sucess, and is no way is this reflective of anyone club, is that football is becoming more and more political.
Not so long ago the highest money handed out on a given day was to the best player on the ground via , incentive based type payments.
For 25 + years people have been getting a set amount per week, but in the last few years people have started requesting higher set payments, which invariable have reduced the money available for the best player awards.
Ie.
Past : A bloke might want $ 100 a week, he is not available for incentives and the BOG incentive might be worth $ 400.
Now :A bloke might get $ 400 a week, yet might not be in the top 10 best players, yet the best on ground might worth $ 100.
Basically they're are people now getting paid big money who can't play and have never been sighted by the club paying the dough, and no matter how they perform will get more money every week than the player who is BOG.
From what I have noticed the clubs that enjoy long periods of success still tend to run the old way, ie best player gets most dough and they also pay out less money per week.
They also tend to look after their whole list a hell of a lot better, ie player gets put off from work or gets injured playing footy the club as a whole helps them out, facilites, player injury insurance, rewards to sponsors, greater member benefits, and they also put a lot more time and money into junior developement.
In my opening remark I reflected on footy clubs becoming political, which I stand by, which isn't assisted by the need for more family of players involved at administration level than in the past.
Once again in the long standing sucessfull clubs ther is quite a few upon a footy clubs committee who have no family playing for the club , which in the past was quite common.
By political I mean that player payments are sometimes reflective of their relationship with those making the decision on player payments, rather than their actual ability to play football or promotion of the club, which they are or should be getting paid for.
No real incentive for local players to play when they can go out and be BOG every week and still have 5-10 players get more money, whether that be justified through being the old so called travelling money or not, the fact of the matter is they are being paid to play football not travel. The lack of support available to non paid players is also seeing a decrease in the amount of people willing to play the game, especially at reserve and underage level, or to volunteer to assist in the general running of clubs.
Out of interest I wonder how many clubs are paying tax upon player payments through the ATO correctly, or signed an approved VCFL contract, and how long before the ATO starts auditing clubs' player payments , which inturn may see some clubs unable to meet their tax obligations and forced to shut up shop, because the tax payable on a persons 2nd job could be as much as 48%, which is not uncommon for clubs who are declaring player payments to do.
So if a club is paying out $ 52 K a year for player payments they may have obligation to the ATO of up to $ 48 K per year and over 5 years thats $ 240 K, I know if I was in a position where I could be liable within a footy club, I'd be making sure player payments were done correctly to meet contract and tax requirements !

g'day couple of quick things this forum is a great read but when guys put massive posts up can they break their lines up a bit by pressing enter every now and again :thumbsu:

Also just wanting to know the result of the night series game last night of Strathy dogs v the bezza saints.
scores and best ons would be great

cheers

g'day couple of quick things this forum is a great read but when guys put massive posts up can they break their lines up a bit by pressing enter every now and again :thumbsu:

Also just wanting to know the result of the night series game last night of Strathy dogs v the bezza saints.
scores and best ons would be great

cheers

wasnt too bad skills were bit scratchy, which is expected first hit out and conditions.
i think strathy won by 1 or 2 goals not sure actual margin.
not sure bout bests either champ sorry

$$$$ in football is forming the self destruction of many clubs and youth within towns across a large part of Victoria.
From my experience from having played at a few clubs at different levels and who have experienced different levels of sucess, and is no way is this reflective of anyone club, is that football is becoming more and more political.
Not so long ago the highest money handed out on a given day was to the best player on the ground via , incentive based type payments.
For 25 + years people have been getting a set amount per week, but in the last few years people have started requesting higher set payments, which invariable have reduced the money available for the best player awards.
Ie.
Past : A bloke might want $ 100 a week, he is not available for incentives and the BOG incentive might be worth $ 400.
Now :A bloke might get $ 400 a week, yet might not be in the top 10 best players, yet the best on ground might worth $ 100.
Basically they're are people now getting paid big money who can't play and have never been sighted by the club paying the dough, and no matter how they perform will get more money every week than the player who is BOG.
From what I have noticed the clubs that enjoy long periods of success still tend to run the old way, ie best player gets most dough and they also pay out less money per week.
They also tend to look after their whole list a hell of a lot better, ie player gets put off from work or gets injured playing footy the club as a whole helps them out, facilites, player injury insurance, rewards to sponsors, greater member benefits, and they also put a lot more time and money into junior developement.
In my opening remark I reflected on footy clubs becoming political, which I stand by, which isn't assisted by the need for more family of players involved at administration level than in the past.
Once again in the long standing sucessfull clubs ther is quite a few upon a footy clubs committee who have no family playing for the club , which in the past was quite common.
By political I mean that player payments are sometimes reflective of their relationship with those making the decision on player payments, rather than their actual ability to play football or promotion of the club, which they are or should be getting paid for.
No real incentive for local players to play when they can go out and be BOG every week and still have 5-10 players get more money, whether that be justified through being the old so called travelling money or not, the fact of the matter is they are being paid to play football not travel. The lack of support available to non paid players is also seeing a decrease in the amount of people willing to play the game, especially at reserve and underage level, or to volunteer to assist in the general running of clubs.
Out of interest I wonder how many clubs are paying tax upon player payments through the ATO correctly, or signed an approved VCFL contract, and how long before the ATO starts auditing clubs' player payments , which inturn may see some clubs unable to meet their tax obligations and forced to shut up shop, because the tax payable on a persons 2nd job could be as much as 48%, which is not uncommon for clubs who are declaring player payments to do.
So if a club is paying out $ 52 K a year for player payments they may have obligation to the ATO of up to $ 48 K per year and over 5 years thats $ 240 K, I know if I was in a position where I could be liable within a footy club, I'd be making sure player payments were done correctly to meet contract and tax requirements !
You make some very good points there Pace, very interesting reading. The point you make about the ATO is very valid and you would hope that committee members are aware of it, well done. Having played over 240 games with one club and never been paid, I fully concur with what you have said about player payments, its sounds like you too have played all your footy for your local club, not like some of the new bred that change clubs like changing there jocks. It is very rewarding to see that type of passion for your club these days. Great stuff:thumbsu: