Picola & District FL NW 2012

Was great 2 see BIG Paul Scouller & old coach Matty Wooden back out on the park 4 the redeyes 2day! Also was a great game between Blighty & Strathy!
Pssst, Mover come closer to the screen i need to whisper this....
I think you meant former coach Wooden, not a good idea to use the "O" word no matter what the context near any player of his ummm err ahh vintage - for want of a better word!

Dont think too many of us would be surprised at Scoullars appearance needs 4 games to qualify for finals so had to happen at some stage and might as well be in the big matches, especially with Platty out.
Glad to see you guys holding top spot.....

Pssst, Mover come closer to the screen i need to whisper this....
I think you meant former coach Wooden, not a good idea to use the "O" word no matter what the context near any player of his ummm err ahh vintage - for want of a better word!

Dont think too many of us would be surprised at Scoullars appearance needs 4 games to qualify for finals so had to happen at some stage and might as well be in the big matches, especially with Platty out.
Glad to see you guys holding top spot.....

Hahaha yes very true there WILTY, I should've known better than to dish out the "O" word to anyone let alone the former coach!! But my only defence is the word was used as in "Past, former, previous etc etc" not anything to do with his age of course:D:D....

& Scoolzy was a welcome addition to the side, especially his experience with jake & a few others out it helped alot with the kids to settle their nerves in a big game!! But still going to be a very very close year from here on in!!!!

Was talking to a mate that plays for the Billabong Crows in the Hume FL & he said that there has been talk around his club in the last few weeks that they are/will be trying to join the Picola NW League from next year?? Anyone heard/confirm if this is correct??

If this is the case, without too much thought I envisage the following. If they did succeed and Mathoura is still in the comp, then one of the Vic clubs on our side may look at switching to the SE. Vic clubs on our side will not want the travel. They hate the travel to the NSW clubs they have now, I think mainly for the reason of recruitment of juniors is difficult.

So tell your mate they should join the SE like Rennie, then Waaia or Katunga can switch to our side.

i wouldnt like the idea of to much swapping between the two leagues this early on. i do encourage new clubs to enter tho. Maybe the only idea that could come to mind is strathy and yazz and wunghnu go sw and crows Coleambally/hay head to nw for obvious reasons

Are you from Strathy???? Seems you have as many good ideas come to mind as that club had interleague Reps!!!!
By the way did you mean Picola not Wunghnu?

Are you from Strathy???? Seems you have as many good ideas come to mind as that club had interleague Reps!!!!
By the way did you mean Picola not Wunghnu?[/quote. no actually to old to play nowdays just a supporter of the league! oh picola (sorry)! wunghnu are still part of the comp so who knows what may happen next yr. What i was trying to get thru was a vic and nsw comp.Btw whats this strathy hate with interleague i did see your last post which was deleted! A litle bit over the top it was but its totally your opinion and i agree with clubs supporting the interleague. Have you discussed with the club why or were you involved in some capacity that knows details we don't?

I am well aware that you were trying to get thru a vic and nsw comp and I responded accordingly!! Maybe I have an identity crises but my postcode may start with 2 but my landline phone starts with 03 and the phone book I receive free in the mail from which I choose the businesses I will spend $$ at has my town marked in the Shepparton region. My news on TV is Shepp based, my radio station is Shepp based. Let me try to be clear to Vic based clubs, Majority of NSW clubs currently in NW would spend significant $$$ with businesses that sponsor your clubs, businesses located in your area employing your footballers. Trying to send us packing to a NSW only league may very well result in significantly less $$ being spent with your businesses as we won't be travelling thru anywhere near as much. I will highlight for effect. I think Padman Stops sponsors Strathy or is it Yarra, well our family business spent in excess of $60,000 with that business alone this financial year, and we are just one farming business out of NSW clubs with a very high proportion of family farm businesses as members. Even if you say 5 other NSW members did the same that is $350k for one business. Having us travelling within your zone on a regular basis is good for your businesses.
I am not against clubs coming in but lets make sure it is not to the detriment of clubs already in our league.

On to Interleague. My son played in the team so I am aware of selections and what players withdrew late. Am I harsh on Strathy maybe but maybe not. I don't ordinarily care if a club/players don't support interleague. Their loss actually as it was a great day.
Also, if you take away their non participation in interleague then I have no issue with their being given the honour of hosting the grand final and the $$ that will generate for their club. It has been in NSW for last 3 finals, actually since league split so I can see some justification in it going to Vic.

However, we are tied in the 3 year deal to supply a team for interleague, or basically look pretty darn slack/pathetic if we don't, a message needs to be sent that we are all going to have to be willing to stand up for the pride of our league. I am an absolute firm believer that what is good promotion for our league will always benefit our clubs. We can't have slackers on this!!! So Strathy if you were slacking off this year you better not next year!!!

One other point with interleague I will use the words of my 18 year old son "it was great to get to know players like Sanderson, Clarke, Holyman they are pretty good blokes. when I play against teams, especially Picola and Yarra it will be more fun as I know some players now, I can't wait for next year".

wouldilietoyou your starting to dribble on a bit. Have no issues with players not wanting to play interleague. many players see it as a good chance to have a footy free weekend and refresh the body.If the league is keen on interleague footy the only way i think players will take it more seriouse is if they are offered an incentive to play (eg: $100 to play).

So how many others think a payment to players would be a good incentive? Should clubs contribute say $100 - $200 per player. So a club may be up for $600 as their contribution.

At least that way all clubs contributing equally. As players are paid for this game may make it easier for their own club to ask them to have a game off. Clubs being asked to fork out $$ will soon sort out if they take inter league serious or not.

No way should people be paid to play I/L . Those who refuse to play rep footy unless paid aren't the type of players who should be representing the league .
If clubs can't see the promotional benefit for the club and the league by encouraging and having players play interleague footy it's their loss .
The solution ymto encourage players and to allow players a rest would have been easily achieved this year and given past dates will also be in the future .
As well as the interleague general bye , also have a general bye on the long weekend .

No way should people be paid to play I/L . Those who refuse to play rep footy unless paid aren't the type of players who should be representing the league .
If clubs can't see the promotional benefit for the club and the league by encouraging and having players play interleague footy it's their loss .
The solution ymto encourage players and to allow players a rest would have been easily achieved this year and given past dates will also be in the future .
As well as the interleague general bye , also have a general bye on the long weekend .

Couldn't agree more. Whatever happened to pride? Perhaps if you are that $ driven, just play IL footy to crank your price up for the bargaining table..... Play for the honour.

Same goes for finals.... Paid players should not be paid for these games.

Couldn't agree more. Whatever happened to pride? Perhaps if you are that $ driven, just play IL footy to crank your price up for the bargaining table..... Play for the honour.

Same goes for finals.... Paid players should not be paid for these games.

Can anyone tell me if Berrigan coach, Hoggard, will be back on the field this season .Must say Berrigan have done well considering the bad injury run they have had this season.Getting Hoggard back on the field(along with others) will only strengthen their chances this season.

Stuyd, i think he played on the weekend. I try and stay intouch via the BFNC website or there Like page on Facey and drunken text message i recieve after some matches!

magic frog, thanks mate. see hoggan played and bagged 3 in his return. we didnt have leading goalkicker in jamie hicks and still won by 12 goals over strathy.Beat rovers the week before and come up against blighty this weekend coming...whom we beat a few weeks ago.
Just looking strong and a chance to pull off back to back flags, when most observers very much doubted that before season start.

magic frog, thanks mate. see hoggan played and bagged 3 in his return. we didnt have leading goalkicker in jamie hicks and still won by 12 goals over strathy.Beat rovers the week before and come up against blighty this weekend coming...whom we beat a few weeks ago.
Just looking strong and a chance to pull off back to back flags, when most observers very much doubted that before season start.
Wow, Studyd what a coincidence that just when you ask the question about Hoggard he makes a return...... :rolleyes:
Agree Berrigan looking pretty good at the moment most certainly must be flag favourites by now, everyone else has had a turn...
Probably one of the closest seasons in a while with no clear cut favourite which is great for the comp. I reckon anyone in top 5 has a shot, bit harder from 4th or 5th but not impossible. Luck re injuries may play a big part.

Ive told a couple of the Berrigan boys i'm only travelling the 7hrs back to watch the Granny, so do i start planning my trip now :D.
Godd to see the PDFL NW keeping the comp tight.
If Blighty getting games into Scollar now i guess they are using the new rules in qualifiying, since Jerilderie got the rules changed after last years Granny, They didnt like Berrigan's use of the then current rule that a seconds and senior game on the same day counted as 2 games. Ahh Jerilderie, not like you to cry poor. :p

Ive told a couple of the Berrigan boys i'm only travelling the 7hrs back to watch the Granny, so do i start planning my trip now :D.
Godd to see the PDFL NW keeping the comp tight.
If Blighty getting games into Scollar now i guess they are using the new rules in qualifiying, since Jerilderie got the rules changed after last years Granny, They didnt like Berrigan's use of the then current rule that a seconds and senior game on the same day counted as 2 games. Ahh Jerilderie, not like you to cry poor. :p
IIRC magic it wasn't Jerilderie who asked for the rule involving player eligibility , for finals , to be reviewed , which found that on separation of the league the ruling had been altered .
Don't think anyone lost any sleep over it and I'd have thought the run of Berrigans young players where a bigger influence .
Good to hear Berrigans 17 year old Jack Yelland has made the VCFL under 19 and half side . Unbelievable really when you consider after this season he will be eligible to play in it for another 2 years . Super effort from a super player and super young bloke .

Wow, Studyd what a coincidence that just when you ask the question about Hoggard he makes a return...... :rolleyes:
Agree Berrigan looking pretty good at the moment most certainly must be flag favourites by now, everyone else has had a turn...
Probably one of the closest seasons in a while with no clear cut favourite which is great for the comp. I reckon anyone in top 5 has a shot, bit harder from 4th or 5th but not impossible. Luck re injuries may play a big part.

Agree here WILTY, I had them in my 3rd-5th category at the start of the year only because of some of the key player loses they had but it seems the new crop of young kids have enjoyed the pressure & stepped up accordingly (especially young Jack Yelland who I think is prob the best player in the comp right now) so now I have them firmly in the grand final! I think they have won about 8-9 straight now yeah??

IIRC magic it wasn't Jerilderie who asked for the rule involving player eligibility , for finals , to be reviewed , which found that on separation of the league the ruling had been altered .
Don't think anyone lost any sleep over it and I'd have thought the run of Berrigans young players where a bigger influence .
Good to hear Berrigans 17 year old Jack Yelland has made the VCFL under 19 and half side . Unbelievable really when you consider after this season he will be eligible to play in it for another 2 years . Super effort from a super player and super young bloke .

That is very good to here ROAR, & I know he is only 17 so can still play in the under 19's squad for another couple of years but recognition like this is well overdue for this young kid & I don't want to put more undue pressure on him but it will be an absolute shame if he doesn't go all the way & get drafted!! GUN....

I was waiting to see if there way any Jerilderie PPL on here to jump on that.
I was sure that Jerilderie put the motion in to have the rule changed, will have to go back through the PDFL Mins (if i still have em), doesnt really matter now anyway.
Jack's a great Kid from a great Family, hope he goes far.

so are blighty flag favourites now?