• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Picola & District South East 2010 Thread

Need to pour some water on this Rennie bandwagon stuff. Rennie have won 6 games for the last 3 seasons. Some good ins but a few big outs as well. Playing finals in 2010 will be a good result for the club after a wooden spoon in 2009 - 5th place will do in what is a very good and even comp. Rennie are coming from a fair way back. Shep East have picked up plenty, Tunga will still be at the top of the tree, Dookie have picked up a few, Kats are always up there and now it appears Katty have picked up a few.

Lower the expectations a bit I say.

From what i have heard it would appear that rennie have saved their money and decided to spend it this year... hopefully for the clubs sake they have a good year and the new players hang around the club and have a good input on and off the feild

Great concept 'give it a wash' Maybe a U23 rep side from both SE & NW comps going head to head. Would be some pretty good players getting about and would generate quite a bit of interest I would suggest.

In regard to Rennie, I agree that a few maybe getting a bit ahead of themselves, but the proof will be in the next month to see how they get out of the blocks. I thought they lacked the bottom 10 or so last year, but by recruiting the number of players, you would suggest that the bottom 10 will be a lot stronger than last year which will in turn push them up the ladder. Time will tell!

Any clubs named captains for this season? And if so, what are your thoughts about the roles of Captains in this day & age. When I was a young fella, your captain was the heart and soul of the club (usually 100 game + player) and someone who regularly took a game by the short and curlies and turned it in your teams favour. They were fearless, tough, strong and someone you had unreserved respect for. They may not have always been your best player either. This is nothing against the current group of captains, but in todays footy, there are so many players floating between clubs season to seaon, that there are rarely 5-7 blokes who have played 100+ games at the one club. Teams are usually looking for one of their 'guns or high profile' players to turn the game. In my opinion, your club captain should have been at the club at least 3 years before being eligable to lead it. Is the captains job nowdays only to win the toss? Interested in your thoughts people!

O&M Vs GV, being played at Lavington. NW comp don't have a Gen Bye.

Adam 'Squidge' Quarrell sums up what a Captain should be. Always the first bloke read out on a Thursday night (Back Pocket). Heading towards 300 senior games. He stepped aside after winning the flag in 2005. Ash Gemmill led in 2006 & 2007 and Nath Gemmill in 2008 & 2009. Squida gives his all for the club and is a true leader.

Should Waaia & Katunga swap places with Jerildrie & Berrigan.

West League & East League???

dont think so mate doesnt matter which league some clubs are in their going to have good and bad years, i would be surprised if berrigan will be able to stay that strong and jerilderie apparently will struggle to get two teams on the field this year. i played for berrigan a couple of years ago so still stay in contact with a few of the boys and they seem pretty happy were they are

I don't think making the leagues purely East & West would be helpful. I think we do need to attract another 2 or 3 teams into the competition to make sure both comps remain viable.

Hay are going to continue to push for inclusion, and I've always been keen on Tally and Congupna getting on board. That'd give 2 comps of 10.

Probably not something worth worrying about at this time of the year with games on this weekend.
----
Tungamah should continue on their way, starting what I think could be a long year for Waaia.

Rennie could get people talking if they can come down and take the points from Dookie.

Shepp East will start off with a handy win against Katunga.

I am confident we can tame the Tigers on the banks of the Boosey.

----
Tungamah should continue on their way, starting what I think could be a long year for Waaia.

Rennie could get people talking if they can come down and take the points from Dookie.

Shepp East will start off with a handy win against Katunga.

I am confident we can tame the Tigers on the banks of the Boosey.
yeah not a difficult week for tipping will be a very interesting year for spots at the top

I reckon the dookie v Rennie game will be a real battle. They tell me Ludeman has put in a big preseason and is rearing to go. He must be getting on toward late 30's by now wouldn't he. Although seems to know where the sticks are - usually on his trusty left foot. Dookie by 2 kicks.
I would think Tunga will start the season with a real statement. They will pound Waaia. Keen to see how Bruzzy & Chris Turner fit in over there.
I think the eagles will open their account reasonable well against a young swannies outfit & I think the Katty v Katandra game will be game of the round. Katandra to get the chocolates by less than a kick.
Lets just hope we don't get any publicity like the big league in the reigon with club people bringing the game into disrepute. Shame, Shame, Shame on those people responsible for the schamozzle at Deakin the other night.
It's great to think we don't have to deal with that type of circus in the good ol' PDFL. Good luck to all and cheers for an injury free and successful 2010 to all clubs involved!

I reckon the dookie v Rennie game will be a real battle. They tell me Ludeman has put in a big preseason and is rearing to go. He must be getting on toward late 30's by now wouldn't he. Although seems to know where the sticks are - usually on his trusty left foot. Dookie by 2 kicks.
I would think Tunga will start the season with a real statement. They will pound Waaia. Keen to see how Bruzzy & Chris Turner fit in over there.
I think the eagles will open their account reasonable well against a young swannies outfit & I think the Katty v Katandra game will be game of the round. Katandra to get the chocolates by less than a kick.
Lets just hope we don't get any publicity like the big league in the reigon with club people bringing the game into disrepute. Shame, Shame, Shame on those people responsible for the schamozzle at Deakin the other night.
It's great to think we don't have to deal with that type of circus in the good ol' PDFL. Good luck to all and cheers for an injury free and successful 2010 to all clubs involved!

Yes I have been living under a rock, so excuse the silly question.
What was this schamozzle at deakin? What happened?

Geez I don't envy the poor old cockroach and his band of selectors tonight in the back room trying to get 50 keen as blokes into 2 teams.:confused: Undoubtably there are gunna be hearts broken, dummies spat and sulks a plenty from guys that::(:mad:
1. don't get to play on ball coz thats why they came out to the minor league but then realised they couldn't get a kick in a street fight.
2. The clubs recruited so well and the spot they've had sewn up for years is now no longer available to the old model, but the flashy new blondies with their white boots, fake tans and ripplin pecs have moved in. (still doesn't mean they can get the footy)
3. The poor bastard that hasn't missed a training run all 40 degree summer, but everyone knows deep down, he is number 65 in a list of 50. But he has a heart of gold, thats what is important.

Just remember gents, any of those who are chosen to represent the 21, make sure you play for the poor bugger who missed out, coz he may have your spot next week if you don't pull your socks up!

Good luck at Thursday night training and I'm sure everyone will be keen as cat sh!t to get on with the real stuff!:D

Geez I don't envy the poor old cockroach and his band of selectors tonight in the back room trying to get 50 keen as blokes into 2 teams.:confused: Undoubtably there are gunna be hearts broken, dummies spat and sulks a plenty from guys that::(:mad:
1. don't get to play on ball coz thats why they came out to the minor league but then realised they couldn't get a kick in a street fight.
2. The clubs recruited so well and the spot they've had sewn up for years is now no longer available to the old model, but the flashy new blondies with their white boots, fake tans and ripplin pecs have moved in. (still doesn't mean they can get the footy)
3. The poor bastard that hasn't missed a training run all 40 degree summer, but everyone knows deep down, he is number 65 in a list of 50. But he has a heart of gold, thats what is important.

Just remember gents, any of those who are chosen to represent the 21, make sure you play for the poor bugger who missed out, coz he may have your spot next week if you don't pull your socks up!

Good luck at Thursday night training and I'm sure everyone will be keen as cat sh!t to get on with the real stuff!:D

is this aimed @ anyone or just in general......?????

On the above post, lets just hope that clubs have enough players on their lists to fill their sides. From my experience... if your 1s & 2s look like making the finals you'll have lots of players. If your struggling your pre-season optimism will feel like a distant memory.

2s coaches over the years always know that round 1 means pulling together any players they can in order to get a team (some may appear at training during this week), whilst if you are lucky enough to have both 1s and 2s in the finals, you'll be the bastard who has to say sorry mate no game this week, but you are still part of the team.... and would you mind running water??? :eek: Tough gig!

Tips for the opening round.

Interesting game first up.
Dookie v Rennie I think it will be a draw. To both of them it will feel like dancing with ya sister when the final siren goes.
Kat's to beat the tigers. But will be close..!
Shepp east to win by "how long is a peice of string" The Eagles will probably kick the highest score for the year. Dizzy to do his hammy and Tony to do his nana..!
Can't go past Tungamah but I reckon it will be closer than what everyone thinks. Waaia have lost a couple but they will be alright.

Go luck to all..!

is this aimed @ anyone or just in general......?????

General observation U! And I was pretty sure there was going to be someone put it out there that not every club has thousands to choose from. Lighten up boys, just a bit of banter pre Round 1:)

Anyway: Tips for Sat:
Dooks by 5pts on their home deck over the hoppers
Kats tame the tigers by 1 kick
Eagles sweep the swannies by 10 goals
Tunga to maul waaia by 13 goals

1 sleep to go!

tips:
rennie V dookie: rennie by 38 points
katamatite V katandra: katamatite by 2 points
shepp V katunga: shepp by 98 points
tunga V waaia: tunga by 17 points

Well round one had a few suprises?? Katty look to have really improved or has katandra really fallen away???? Waaia must have lifted a cog for walker,s 300th to only go down by 3 or so goals!!!!! Not sure what to make of rennie,s defeat as i personaly was thinking they would get over the line after recruiting 16 players??? Dookie mite be the real package:cool:
Good to have footy back and it seems to have brought winter with it after 3 or 4 weeks of nice days:thumbsdown:

Well round one had a few suprises?? Katty look to have really improved or has katandra really fallen away???? Waaia must have lifted a cog for walker,s 300th to only go down by 3 or so goals!!!!! Not sure what to make of rennie,s defeat as i personaly was thinking they would get over the line after recruiting 16 players??? Dookie mite be the real package:cool:
Good to have footy back and it seems to have brought winter with it after 3 or 4 weeks of nice days:thumbsdown:

no mention of Shepp East giving Katunga a touch up? are they just keeping it quiet? or the result not worth mentioning cause of opposition?

Dookie look stronger than last year. Have a couple of good talls. Some of their kids from last year's 3rds added some real pace and enthusiasm. Rennie f#$%ed about with the ball in a wet 1st half to be down 10 goals to 1. Had most of the ball and most of the inside 50's but a good side like Dookie with a bloke like old Ludeman up front will make the most of their chances. All credit to them.

Probably 8 of the 16 recruits played 1's for Rennie. Plenty of them came out just to play a bit of 2's. A good thing too because Rennie notched up their first 2's win since about mid 2008. There'll be some wins for Rennie 1's this year but the recruitment drive was more about being competitive in the 1's, and having some depth into the 2's. Yesterday indicated that we are on the right track.

We'll load up for a crack at Shepp East on our home dunghill this Saturday.