Picola & District South East 2010 Thread

I trained a couple of times with rennie early on this year and really thought they would give the picola league a shake. Obviously the boys have got to learn to play together, good things dont happen overnight they take sh*t loads of hard work and most of all no passengers.........Good to see the original rennie boys where the best players on the ground to.

Heard from a few of the eagles boys that the paddock up there at Rennie was exactly that. Pretty uneven surface and rock hard. I would say that water is at a bit of a premium up there. Anyhow hopefully a bit of precipitation on the radar and the ground gets a well earned drink. They also mentioned the new rooms look pretty good. A shame about the old lolly shed tho!:(
No shortage on Grasshoppers up there either they say, hence the moniker.
Good to see the young swannies chalk one up to! well done to Tim & his boys. Gunna be a close comp this year! I can't think of the last time the Kats were holding the rest of the ladder up after 2 games?

Tiges struggled this week against a battling swannies team. although we had a loss many of our good players didn't play and lost daniel gledhill and jason biggs early on so the rotations struggled, especially on a hot day. all credit to kataunga though. I would say a few tigers will be havin a go in the magoos this week after there efforts me at the front of them

Yeah ramnuts, the hoppers ground needs a drink. We have bore water but it isn't top quality. Some fungus in the grass and some type of mushroom which poisons the dirt in big circles and kills the grass cover. Giving our poor old groundsman nightmares. But we don't want to make things too comfortable for the invaders from the south when you all venture up until after the game where our clubrooms and the beer are top quality!

So what happened KTiger? Did you blokes have a bad day or are the swans better than expected? Why did you have a few out? Hard to get a handle on where a few clubs are at (my mob, Katty, Kats, Waaia, Swans). Makes it interesting though.

We had a bad day...and they played well. They have a few players who could cause some head aches for some backs mainly josh evans... Wild didn't play and still a few blokes who had a late pre seasons yet to come into the team. also a few of our older blokes are easying inot the season. We also have a few blokes at uni like myself which will take a few weeks to get some touch.
The competition is as even as its ever been with every team able to get a win on their day.

Heard from a few of the eagles boys that the paddock up there at Rennie was exactly that. Pretty uneven surface and rock hard. I would say that water is at a bit of a premium up there. Anyhow hopefully a bit of precipitation on the radar and the ground gets a well earned drink. They also mentioned the new rooms look pretty good. A shame about the old lolly shed tho!:(
No shortage on Grasshoppers up there either they say, hence the moniker.
Good to see the young swannies chalk one up to! well done to Tim & his boys. Gunna be a close comp this year! I can't think of the last time the Kats were holding the rest of the ladder up after 2 games?

Was at the Rennie game on the weekend, they do have a good set up ... but the ground as you said was very uneven and hard... speaking of grounds how is everyones grounds looking at the present..... as for Shepp Easts ground it has a good even grass cover but would like a bit of rain on it....

Dookies ground is the best i have ever seen it, nice grass all over. only down side is the cricket pitch in the guts C.O.G.S only put turf down a month ago so its a tad sandy in that area.

Waaia's ground looks in good condition as well.

Dookie v Shepp east be a quality game this week lets hope the rain stays away saturday so we can see where both teams are at.
No team then can blame the weather if they get done.

went to watch the katty rennie game this weekend and katty has the worst facilities in the league, went to buy a hotdog before the seniors started and was informed they had two pies and one dim sim left haha country footy at its best

The club is one of the only clubs that hasn't had new facilities or renovations in the past 5 years or so. The club has been trying for years to get new club rooms and finally the ball has started rolling, with plans being drafted in the past month.

I think the catering committee does a fine job with the given facilities. It's not easy to run a canteen for a football match. Most people work tirelessly to make sure it runs. They arrive at the ground at 8am, and sometimes don't leave until after the tea's are served and dishes done, at 9pm. It's very hard to find people who are willing to volunteer to help out. I'd like to see you try to predict how many pies, drinks and hot-dogs you need for each Saturday. This is quite a task, especially depending on the weather conditions; on Saturday there was a high demand for hot food, which sometimes cannot be met. And of course by 2 o'clock not a lot of food will be left at any country footy canteen.

Rennie's facilities last year where a disgrace, it's not just Katy's that have aged. Last year they didn't even have hot water for the Away team's showers. So before you have a crack at the hard efforts of others, maybe you should have a look at your back doorstep. :thumbsdown:

At the end of the day, a footy club isn't measured by the facilities it has, but by the spirit and great culture the club has. I know Katy's facilities aren't the greatest, so it must be that second thing that has people coming back.

The club is one of the only clubs that hasn't had new facilities or renovations in the past 5 years or so. The club has been trying for years to get new club rooms and finally the ball has started rolling, with plans being drafted in the past month.

I think the catering committee does a fine job with the given facilities. It's not easy to run a canteen for a football match. Most people work tirelessly to make sure it runs. They arrive at the ground at 8am, and sometimes don't leave until after the tea's are served and dishes done, at 9pm. It's very hard to find people who are willing to volunteer to help out. I'd like to see you try to predict how many pies, drinks and hot-dogs you need for each Saturday. This is quite a task, especially depending on the weather conditions; on Saturday there was a high demand for hot food, which sometimes cannot be met. And of course by 2 o'clock not a lot of food will be left at any country footy canteen.

Rennie's facilities last year where a disgrace, it's not just Katy's that have aged. Last year they didn't even have hot water for the Away team's showers. So before you have a crack at the hard efforts of others, maybe you should have a look at your back doorstep. :thumbsdown:

At the end of the day, a footy club isn't measured by the facilities it has, but by the spirit and great culture the club has. I know Katy's facilities aren't the greatest, so it must be that second thing that has people coming back.

Only watched a couple of games out at rennie before this year and the facilities and catering have always been excellent (especially the bar), judging the facilities a disgrace because the hotwater system sh#t itself is a bit harsh but thats your opinion.

Look forward to watching the rematch next time as the two teams look pretty even, I must say the ground at katty was in excellent condition and I hope the curator at rennie was getting some tips off the katty bloke. Some of the rennie boys want to concentrate more on getting the ball then wrestling and maybe the tables will be turned next time

While katty facilities may need a little work which will be starting at the end of the year, which includes whole new facilities. I was appaled last year when I made my first trip to rennie and drunk ferrals maybe not from rennie who would get pots an take them out side and even onto the ground and yell abuse all day at both team. Even a rennie runner through a fist at a thirds player. Not a club my kids would play at

havnt seen that kind of behaviour mate but as they say dont let the truth get in the way of a good story
icon12.gif
. Reckon i was at the rennie katty game last year and watched a few of the katty thirds boys go the punch on some rennie kids that were considerably smaller then them and the katty coach urging them to do it from the sideline,not a good look but they breed em tough out at tigerland. Anyway good to see Ash Gardiner playing good footy and wildy still getting a kick

Reckon i was at the rennie katty game last year and watched a few of the katty thirds boys go the punch on some rennie kids that were considerably smaller then them and the katty coach urging them to do it from the sideline,not a good look
Let's get this straight, you reckon you were at the game, or you definitely were? Because if you can't recall if you were there or not, then your memory of the day must be a bit blurred. As a matter of fact it was the Rennie players who started the brawl, it was the Rennie spectators slurring abuse at both players and umpires, it was the Rennie runner who got into the fight and punched a player, but it had to be the Katy coach that had to go over there and try and stop it. Not a good look on whom?

but they breed em tough out at tigerland.
And that they certainly do. ;)

Anyway good to see Ash Gardiner playing good footy and wildy still getting a kick
I agree, Ashy's coming into some career best form, while Wildy is still playing great, exciting footy as per usual.

Well... leaving that last argument its a big round coming up with a few clubs neding to post wins to make sure they keep in touch. Is there any surprises so far this year?? i think that Katandra will be a slow starter as it bloods many younger players and could still be a threat come the business end of the year. Shepp east are beatable if they have an off day and the other team plays their best same as tungumah (shepp east a class above though) Katunga to win a few games waaia to struggle rennie to get better as they get fitter and push for a finals spot and i think were about fifth spot on the ladder come finals time. Dookie will be a quiet acheiver and will knock up enough wins to finish third.
Shepp East
Tunga
Dookie
Katandra
Katy
Rennie
Katunga
Waaia

My ladder prediction welcomes comments:thumbsu:

About time the rennie - katty potshots finished eh? That rubbish during the 3rds last year, I can tell you that both clubs (or at least some of their members/platers etc) needed a foot up the a#se. That was all forgotten and we both moved on after that. Well done to the Tiges on Saturday. On paper rennie were better but that counted for nothing. Katty were smarter. Game over. Yep Katty's playing surface is excellent. I guess they are lucky enough to have the shire take care of it? Half their luck. Rennie don't get one cent from the Corowa Shire so they battle in that respect. Katty's rooms are ordinary. Hopefully, they can get a bit of luck with funding etc and get some new ones. The extensions at rennie have been fantastic. One tip on your food though 101 (because this is the 2nd time I've been left hungry down there) - buy it in bulk and keep some in the freezer. You'll make a lot more $ for your new clubrooms if you have a bit more food on ;). Katty has enormous potential if you can get some good clubrooms. You've got the playing surface. You've got some good players. Well positioned geographically. Some top people in your club on and off the field. But like us you're not perfect. Good luck to Katty and can't wait to get another crack at you out at rennie (we'll try and get those darstardly hooligans with their pots of beer to behave for you eh?)

Not sure Rennie were better on paper?? Was a pretty ordinary game skill wise and both clubs will need to improve if we are going to beat quality teams like shepp east

Welcome Back Jason Trianidis! 6 big ones. He mightened be the quickest out there, but seems to get himself in the right possie most times. The eagles look ominous with him, Palmer & Osborne all up forward. Looking forward to the showdown with them & the Tunga back line vs Payne, Wren and the likes against the eagles back half. That Burns and Gillespie look likely types for the East.
On a different note, it was sickening to see ol mate Simmo (dookie) get knock clean out on Sat arvo out at central park. Inoccuous (spelling?) knee to the head as he came in off the square. Super bloke and plays hard. Hope his ugly melon is recovering. I'd dare say he'll be on the sidelines this week. Pity too coz he was showing up a few blokes on how to play in the wet with only 1 hand.
Couldn't believe the playing surface out there on the weekend after the torrential downpour during the magoos, you would've hardly noticed it had rained by qtr time of the ones.

Just been talking to a bloke who has ties at Katty and discussing the league and who we think is gunna be up there this year. After I stated that I thought Katandra would be top 3 he laughed his ar$e off. He said they suitcased them in the first round and they were a long way off last years group. Another thing he said was that he had "heard" that there are a few feathers ruffled out that way due to the fact Hall is in charge again this year. Aparently a few thought that it may have been time for something new. From what I've seen, I rate the way Hall works with the group he has out there, but footy clubs can be fickle things. Watch this space!:rolleyes:
May want to comment here anotherflag?

couldnt be further from the truth mate,katty were better on the day against the Kats in rd 1. Hall has well an truely cemented his presence at Katland, an there is certainly no feathers ruffled. No space to watch

Things are going along fine at Katandra. Two poor performances followed by two better ones.

With Rennie inflicting Tungamah's first loss for some years, they will demand a very high level of respect as we host them this week.

Looks like a real even competition where each team must put in 4 quarters to get the 4 points...

Thought that would be the case with someone as esteemed as Derek.
Anyhow, the grasshoppers take the title as the giant killer! Well done Whispering, you would have to be happy with your troops! I pity the poor souls who get the Tunga boys on the rebound. I dare say Doddy might take the stick to the boys this week on the track. No disrrespect to the grasshoppers, but I would think they would have pencilled this one in at the start of the year.
I must say I was suprised Dooks rolled Katty by 5 goals. Can anyone comment what kind of game it was. Did the score blow out at the end or was Dooks in control all day.

Yeah ramnuts - pretty happy with the boys. Rapt for the coach Leigh too. A pretty good way to open his account as club coach with a win to break a 40 game streak! Assistant Coach Bomber Thomson looks to have adjusted to the pace of the comp too with his efforts on Saturday. The boys have been in a position to win their first 3 games. It is a mental thing as much as anything else as the boys have only won 6 games in the previous 3 seasons. They've got to learn to win and as flag says, if any of the teams don't play for the 4 qtrs then they will get rolled. Huge crowd out there ar Rennie on Saturday. A keen (but friendly) rivalry sems to have developed between Rennie and Tunga right through all the grades with many of the players going to school together and living/working in at Yarra. Yeah, would hate to get Tunga this week. And Rennie have a big job in getting themselves back up for a crack at the Kats this week. I thought they were a very well drilled (and coached) side last year so we'll look forward to having a crack at them. Can't understand the rumours of unrest with Hall. The Kats boys (and committee) seemed to hold him in very high regard last year. Don't know how long he's been there though and I guess some players need to hear a new voice and direction after 3 or 4 years maybe?

Dookie are a good team that will require some respect. It was a tough game with two players being knocked out from a head clash. Dookie got the early jump on us then we reeled them back in a couple of times then let them get away again. bit like the blues and collingwood haha. in the end they were too good on the day. I Cant wait to play them again because we feel like we could beat them and hopefully they feel we were a hard team. Good to see Dyl Flanigan kicking a bag. it will be interesting to see how dudgeon goes this year as he was alright when things were going his way but when they didn't he would defiantly let his team mates know.

Can somone confirm for me.. Is Robert Osbourne from Shepp East injured or retired? I've watched a couple of games and haven't seen him.

Also I hear a wisper that Shepp East might find it hard to pick a side for Katamatite this weekend as a few are unavailble this week due to a mixed bag of reasons.