Pies make Jolly offer

gee roosy, we paid pick 7 for nick davis and he was a much better player when we let him go, so i guess pick 30 odd was a very fair swap for him, scumbag lol, i do like roosy though, its all just fun and games to try and get top dollar.
Pick #19, Katie, under the father/son rule. I think we got #21 in return... so yeah, we got massively screwed. Paying more under the f/s rule for a player than you get in return is abominable, especially when he then goes and wins them a flag (indirectly, granted).

What utter crap. Is Daniel okeefe worth pick 15 now just because that's what we paid for him. What would happen if Davis was a few years younger and Collingwood picked up when the father son rule required a third rounder. Would we have overpaid for him then

Looks like the tweenie trade tycoons are coming out in force on this one...the longer it goes this week the more the Gordon Gecko's and Donald Trumps will do the deal of the century on Bigfooty..."no way you're getting Dawes or Reid" "We wouldnt accept anything less than p14+N Brown " " he's not worth much" ...bugger me
All that matters is this.
Even tho Jolly is a contracted A grader if he really wants to move back to Melb then Swans will not stand in his way...despite the fact being contracted would ordinarily make it far more expensive he WILL get placed and hopefully at his club of choice as a priority...as long as the offer is FAIR and only the swans footy dept can judge that in context of getting it done. If Jolly is committed to leaving and the pies want him then a "fair deal" will happen.

Pick 14 would be a minimum...but anything after will simply be more than pies fans want to offer and less than swans fans would want.

Dont want to lose him but if he's committed then no point stuff arsing about. If there's a sticking pt they will compromise as always.
I stand by my statement that Reid won't be involved in the trade... Dawes might though. Anyway, generally speaking, this is a quality post. I think the sane ones amongst us agree that the deal will fall somewhere in the grey area beyond pick #14, if indeed it goes through, and we'll all be interested to see exactly where.

No chance, sorry, but Brad Dick is basically Leon Davis' long term replacement, and we just had another small aborigine boy (John Bennell - rookie) go home to WA, so we won't be traded Dick.
That sucks. :( He could definitely play. As has been mentioned in various parts, it obviously wasn't based purely on talent. *sigh*

What utter crap. Is Daniel okeefe worth pick 15 now just because that's what we paid for him. What would happen if Davis was a few years younger and Collingwood picked up when the father son rule required a third rounder. Would we have overpaid for him then
On your first question; probably not, because he hasn't shown anything at AFL level as yet. On your second question; I don't know because it's at least half gibberish and shows almost complete disregard for the gentle art of punctuation.

I apologise for the punctuation it's very hard writing this in my iPhone. Your first answer proves my point in any case: a player's worth has little to do with his original draft pick. Davis for 21 was a fair trade, don't blame the swans just because Bo Nixon didn't make it

as far as i know pick 9 and a player will go to port for burger, they may go for jolly if the burger thing falls through, port will play hardball as usuall but i cant see them risking him going in the draft and in turn them losing another 1st round pick, why do you think he nominated melbourne as one of his prefered clubs ? surely it was to put presure on port to get the job done, "IF" im right about that going through what does leave hawthorn to trade with ? not much IMO.

I apologise for the punctuation it's very hard writing this in my iPhone. Your first answer proves my point in any case: a player's worth has little to do with his original draft pick. Davis for 21 was a fair trade, don't blame the swans just because Bo Nixon didn't make it
No probs.

Well little, perhaps, but not nothing as it's some sort of a starting point. Obviously Roos thinks so. O'Keefe's value has gone down for the already stated reason... I suspect you mentioned him because you feel the same way. Nick Davis at the time of the trade was a very exciting young player whose market value would have been considerably more than #21 (I mean, come on, Jordan McMahon attracted #19 even more recently!), if it wasn't for the fact that he was a dead-set sook and left us with no option.

Given that there's currently only one Sydney club; if a player cracks the sads and says "I want to be traded home to Sydney", then we don't have anywhere near the bargaining power that you guys have in the Jolly situation. You generally have numerous clubs competing for your players.

No chance, sorry, but Brad Dick is basically Leon Davis' long term replacement, and we just had another small aborigine boy (John Bennell - rookie) go home to WA, so we won't be traded Dick.

Bennell left? I didn't hear about that. That's a real shame, I watched with his interest those two VFL finals where he kicked 4 goals in each of them. Looked a real prospect.

Pies offer pick 14, Swans say nah Pick 14 + N.Brown(say)

End result will be somewhere in between. That is negiotating. That is what trade week is about. Unless you're Pelchen.

Paul Roos has alot of respect in the footy world and if his premiership ruckman came to him and said I want to return to Victoria for family reasons, I believe Roos will trade him, provided the Swans are compensated realistically. Nothing wrong with that.

It may well turn out, he goes to Hawthorn for pick 9 whatever.

i doubt the hawks would cough up pick 9 for jolly, it will be the last top tenner they get for a very very long time and to think they'd give it up for a 28 yr old ruck is very wishfull thinking, stranger things have happened though.

Pies offer pick 14, Swans say nah Pick 14 + N.Brown(say)

End result will be somewhere in between. That is negiotating. That is what trade week is about. Unless you're Pelchen.

Paul Roos has alot of respect in the footy world and if his premiership ruckman came to him and said I want to return to Victoria for family reasons, I believe Roos will trade him, provided the Swans are compensated realistically. Nothing wrong with that.

It may well turn out, he goes to Hawthorn for pick 9 whatever.

Good post. I think Sydney showed last year that they won't be bullied into accepting offers that were clearly not satisfactory and Roos has already stated that this trade will be no different.

I know that katie believes that Jolly is worth only pick #14 and that anyone who disagrees knows notjing about football but i reckon old Roosy might just know a bit more than her/him. Pick #14 on it's own is clearly unnaceptable.

Collingwood will need to package the pick with a best 22 player (or a youngster that really appeals to Sydney) or maybe pick #14 + 2nd round pick.

i doubt the hawks would cough up pick 9 for jolly, it will be the last top tenner they get for a very very long time and to think they'd give it up for a 28 yr old ruck is very wishfull thinking, stranger things have happened though.

For starters pick #9 in this draft isn't overly appealing and they are going to be using it on SB anyway so what difference does it make? They are both 27, one is injury prone and hasn't played great footy for atleast 2 seasons, the other is extremely durable and is in career best form.

They have one of the best midfields in the competition already, yet their ruck division is a massive weakness.

It's almost like you are trying to convince yourself that Jolly is not worth very much.

For starters pick #9 in this draft isn't overly appealing and they are going to be using it on SB anyway so what difference does it make? They are both 27, one is injury prone and hasn't played great footy for atleast 2 seasons, the other is extremely durable and is in career best form.

They have one of the best midfields in the competition already, yet their ruck division is a massive weakness.

It's almost like you are trying to convince yourself that Jolly is not worth very much.

Jolly hasn't played good football for nearly 2 years? Have you been away all year this year? He should have made the All-Australian squad and last year he did from memory. He is worth pick 9 and Josh Kennedy.

pick 14 only for jolly, only has 2 peak 2 off-peak years left. To trade yourself out of the first 2 rounds of a draft for jolly (who wants out) is crazy. You need to be careful giving up youg players with their best ahead of them for an aging player.
A pick between 10-15 is fair for jolly in my view, he has only had one good year and it wasn't sandilands/cox/clark type quality. He just had a decent year, yeah he had a lot of hit-out but sydney are a stoppage based side, if he's to play at collingwood he needs to involve himself in the play more often, whether thats around the ground or pushing forward.

pick 14 only for jolly, only has 2 peak 2 off-peak years left. To trade yourself out of the first 2 rounds of a draft for jolly (who wants out) is crazy. You need to be careful giving up youg players with their best ahead of them for an aging player.
A pick between 10-15 is fair for jolly in my view, he has only had one good year and it wasn't sandilands/cox/clark type quality. He just had a decent year, yeah he had a lot of hit-out but sydney are a stoppage based side, if he's to play at collingwood he needs to involve himself in the play more often, whether thats around the ground or pushing forward.

How do you know he wants out for sure? He hasn't said anything publicly yet.

Also, he is under contract, we can play hard ball on him. The ball is in our court not Jolly's. If he wanted out, he shouldn't have signed a long-term contract with us 2 years ago.

But like I said, he hasn't spoken publicly yet, whether or not he does want out. Until he does, this is all just speculation caused by the media.

Jolly hasn't played good football for nearly 2 years? Have you been away all year this year? He should have made the All-Australian squad and last year he did from memory. He is worth pick 9 and Josh Kennedy.

Huh? I said SB hasn't played great footy for 2 years now. I said Jolly is in career best form.

To quote Deadly Akkuret "Epping fail".

How do you know he wants out for sure? He hasn't said anything publicly yet.

Also, he is under contract, we can play hard ball on him. The ball is in our court not Jolly's. If he wanted out, he shouldn't have signed a long-term contract with us 2 years ago.

But like I said, he hasn't spoken publicly yet, whether or not he does want out. Until he does, this is all just speculation caused by the media.

Yeah because Paul Roos would already be discussing trades if he didn't want out?

yeah, nah. Jolly has had the midas touch in a team set up for that touch. Not sure we yet have the mids set for first touch primacy. If Sydney want Collingwood blood for him, let it be forgotten. Otherwise back Wood.

Hi all, this is my first post so please go easy on me :p I have been reading this forum for a while now and for what its worth I have decided to put my 2 bob in. Firstly as one of the most succesful clubs off the field I believe we need to grow some balls in trade week if we are serious about winning another premiership. We have won 13 flags in our first 66 years as a footy club and 1(ONE) in our last 51 years as a footy club, now i am not a scientist or a NASA employee but this is sickening. We are becoming the laughing stock of the AFL we have the best facilities and off field people brains/skills(best coaching & business staff) but yet seem to fail to be able to win the battles that count. I am sick and tired of watching other clubs being so succesful and yet we kid ourselves year in year out that this is going to be our year only to be left dissapointed by September . We have seen how succesful a club can be by being aggressive in trade week eg Geelong,Brisbane,Sydney,St.Kilda(even thou they lost the granny) throu trading for some experienced players while your so called premiership window is open. I believe that IF we had got Lockett or Gehrig or Judd etc we would have come alot closer to winning that 15thw premiership title we have all been craving for. We need to look at our list from the oppositions point of view for example Geelong! how many of our players would get into their first 22? whatever the number is the rest should be up for trade bait and thats were our selling skills come into it and get the deals done. We need start taking some risks on the opportunities that come up during trade week last year it was Judd, King, Warnock, ROK etc this year its Fev, Jolly, Ball, Berg,Lake all players i think can improve our team or shall i say we are crying out for! Which brings me to my next point. I think pick 14 and maybe something else is enough to get Fev. We need to trade some of our B players that other clubs are crying out for whether its Leon or Meds or Goldsack or Fraser or Dawes or Brown or Ried or Toovey or Presti or Tarkyn etc for a lower pick/s for Jolly/Ball/Berg/Lake there are teams out there that surely can want what we have Freo/WestC need small forward we have heaps that can play that position Leon/Meds/Thomas/Dick/Mac etc Richmond & Melbourne are rebuilding surely they can find something from our B class list which are still young and so on. Anyway it is soon Monday and like everyear i cannot wait for trade week to beggin hoping we land that bigfish or 2 ;), I just hope that it is not another dissapointing week for us, we seem to always get screwed in trade week than us doing the screwing for once eg Davis,Shaw,Mal Michael etc for nothing. And us getting Bryan,Corrie,Leroy etc

Pies make Jolly offer