Pies vs Lions - Game and Player Review

Sep 25, 2005
Gippy Power
What a good win. We played so badly in that first half. It was worse than the Port effort in the first half. They had the game on their terms all bar 10 mins late in the second before they hit 3 goals on us. The zoning in the second half and tackle pressure was relentless. 39 shots to 15 and only win by 40 not great. Ants, Medhurst, Davis and Locks hopefully kicked as poorly for goal as I want to ever see. All credit to the coaches as well who turned it around.

Best for me were: Pendles, Swan, Dids, Thomas, Maxy, Beams and Shaw

Davis - Lot of touches and did some great things like his goal of the year entry but I didnt think he was in the game early when they were dominating - in fact Mcgrath was running off him to easily. At times I also thought he dodged a contest or two. The last half was good they and he spread and created well.

Didak - Very good. Ran hard and like everyone else was better in the last. Loved his pat on John Browns arse to get stuck into him. We have to turn the tables on these pri*ks.

Maxy - I thought he was great tonight. One bad error where he didnt eyeball the pill which caused the Sherman goal but double teamed exceptionally well and was a big reason we got over Brown and started to win.

Goldy - pretty quiet.

Meddy - Look he is taking steps back to his best. Had a go in the first half and a few things came off. His third was excellent. Kicking a worry which makes me think he aint fit.

OBrien - didnt do heaps but what he did was always good. Thought he was good on Merrett when he had him and took him out of the game which was important at the time. Gee he holds his feet well and is so creative.

Ants - I love this bloke but something is going on in his head at the moment. The free kicks the dumb decisions. We have to persist bc he is a good chaser and he always gives a contest but he is only just going.

Pendles - I havent said this much but BOG Pendles....BOG son! Just magnificent when he is running ahead of the ball and being creative. Kicking at times a problem but hand use exceptional.

OBree - hopeless early but v good second half. Love to know the amount of game time he gets in the second half vs 1st halves. Always seems better later in a game.

Thomas - I thought he was on track for BOG just after half time. Really kept us in it and was excellent. That was his best game for the year and you get the sense he is building. So competitive

Brown - Smashed early but to be fair the mids did him no favours. The ball was coming in so easily. Once that got fixed and we double teamed JB he pantsed him. Was competitive to.

Beams - Outstanding prospect. Tough, skillful and runs so hard. His goals come from just relentless running.

Wood - V good game. Commentators didnt think so but I thought he beat Clark. Was better around the grounds and was competitive.

Sidey - not a heap but what he did was good. Seemed to be rotating on Black at times and did well as he didnt hurt us.

Locks - good game but a couple of his finishes could have been better. Just expect excellence from this bloke as he is a favourite. Got up and going though didnt he late.

JOhnson - was v good in that 2nd half. Ran hard and you can see why Mick wants him in. handling at times was v good as well. I was wrong about this bloke at the start of the year saying he was finished.

Cloke - great second half when the mids started getting some decent footy. His pressure good as well. Wish he could kick straight.

Toovey - was appalling early. he fumbled and turned it over but he seemed to be playing on Brennan and I thought he took out of the equation well.

Presti - you legend. I know JB didnt belt you but loved seeing you back and lifted the side.

Swan - read every review for the season and its the same. Only question was whether it was 2 or 3 brownlow votes for him tonight

Shaw - great game. Thought he was also key on taking JB out of the game and beating his tagger easily. he wasnt doing that years ago but did tonight. Uncharacteristically let the ball go behind him for one of those 2nd qtr goals but that was only blemish.

What is going on with JA and those pushing decisions?

Some are there, but I think the umpires are sweating off him everytime and are ignoring any pushing done by the defender. Perhaps he needs to just focus on playing in front and forget about trying to outbody his opponenet.

Yeah JA still has a bit to learn. He does like to use hands in the back. He doesn;t shove so much but it's there. Needs to use his leading and get in front. He'll improve. Still relatively inexperienced at 29 or 30 games.

What is going on with JA and those pushing decisions?

Some are there, but I think the umpires are sweating off him everytime and are ignoring any pushing done by the defender. Perhaps he needs to just focus on playing in front and forget about trying to outbody his opponenet.

Noticed it aswell of late. Least its a coachable thing. Just really needs to attack the ball instead of worrying about his man and waiting for the contact.

I know its the top level, but we have to remember its only really his second season, hes exceeded all expectations and still having a more than decent season.

Definitely needs to have a shot from goal whenever he marks inside 50 though, its like he second guesses himself at times.

Thought Sidebottom got us going in the third quarter.
Did a few nice things.

That clearance that lead to a goal in the 3rd was all class.

We took him because of his 10 goals in the TAC GF, but this kid is going to be a clearance machine, not unlike a Mitchell type player.

As for Beams, just keeps getting better and better, once again 17 stats and 2 goals, outplayed Daniel Rich.:)

Loved Goldsack's game too, defensively very good, and gave us some run off half back.

The "igniter" was at his best, how good is he when he's on like he has been for the last 3 months, brilliant stuff.

Good win, if we kicked straight it wouldve been great.:eek:

Dane's gotta win the Brownlow.....He was absolutely SUPERB tonight, B.O.G............ AGAIN!!!

His kicking was fantastic tonight aswell...except his goalkicking!

Go The Dane!!

Also well done to:
Pendles, Maxy, Thomas, Medders, Shaw, Didak and of course, Spud Brown!

Good Effort boys!!

Yeah I liked Bottoms input in the second half. He, Beams and Wood all showed good signs tonight.

Who else thought Dids was hilarious tonight? Watching him call the Brisbane players losers 3 times then making the L sign with his hand was a massive laugh. Also Heath Shaw was funny when he misplaced the ball and manouvered it round his back until he got a hold of it again. Good stuff.

But the first quarter was terrible. It looked like we were gone. Brown had kicked 3 and was looking dangerous, Presti was gone, and we had so many mistakes. Frustrating mistakes. But luckily we got back and kept them to one goal after half time.

[EDIT] I'll also add that I am so pleased with Pendles and Swans contribution to the midfield and our run. They are so clean, innovating and efficient. And we have players like Beams and Bottom' showing they are effective, too. We've got a good future.

Obviously the guns have exposed form. Swan, Shaw, Pendles, Davis were all very good, and we say this nearly every week. We even know Beams is an exciting prospect.

I was impressed with Sidey's game. He looks like he will be a good midfielder for us for a long time. Has poise and class and seems to have time.

Not only am I impressed with his game, I like him as a player. He always seems to be smiling when he has the ball, and you gotta love yelling 'Go Sidey!' or making Bum-influenced nicknames. :thumbsu:

Wrong, we were looking at him far before that.....

Not going to argue on a good night, but I'm not wrong.

Sidebottom went from a late 1st round pick to a middle 1st round pick after 1 performance, we would have probably taken Beams 1st if not for the TAC cup GF, Hine has admitted his performance on GF day pushed him up the order.

No doubt he was already on our radar, but he is going to be a star for more then just kicking goals, that's what I'm trying to get at.

Also, loved Daisy tonight, killed Drummond again and kicked 3 goals.

Started badly but lots of good players after half time

3- Pendles Pure class
2- Daisy Had a quieter 2nd half but kept us in it early the reason we were in
the game at half time IMO
1- Wood Easily one the ruck duel against his old club gained a heap of Respect:thumbsu:

Unlucky: Beams, Harry O + Leroy

Not going to argue on a good night, but I'm not wrong.

Sidebottom went from a late 1st round pick to a middle 1st round pick after 1 performance, we would have probably taken Beams 1st if not for the TAC cup GF, Hine has admitted his performance on GF day pushed him up the order.

No doubt he was already on our radar, but he is going to be a star for more then just kicking goals, that's what I'm trying to get at.

Also, loved Daisy tonight, killed Drummond again and kicked 3 goals.
yeah, I was saying that we didn't take him JUST because of his TAC GF, no doubt that pushed him up the order, but we wanted him prior to that..

Either way, I am VERY excited on the prospect of him and Beams in the same team for the next 10+ years!!

Go PIES!!

Very good summary there SG. Only ones I'd have different are Didak (who I didn't think had much influence at all) and Johnson (who whilst being good in the 2nd half, was a turnover merchant in the first). You also missed Barham altogether I think, who was half ok in my book, but still can't kick to save himself.

I know Toovey's gotten a lot of love here of late, but his from has clearly dropped c.f. the first 10 weeks or so, and you're right in saying his first half was absolutely appalling.

Barham's 6 bounces up the wing in the 3rd was interesting, wasn't it? He really broke the lines but then put in a dreadful kick more or less to the opposition, but they fumbled it and Leon snaps on it AND KICKS GOAL OF THE YEAR:eek:

That play just epitomises Barham. He's like the little girl with the little curl at the moment; when he's good he's, very good, but when he's not, he's horrid!

I'm so torn in relation to Barham. He does some things right, but then shows a real lack of class in many situations. I'd prefer Wellingham, Dawes, Sidebottom and the Sack' out there over him anyday.

I'll admit I'm not a fan of Jack...and that he has only 30 games under his belt......but when you start to play footy as a kid in the short people, I can still remember 'drilled into my head'....."""Play in front son"""

After 4-5 frees agst Jack for touching/pushing/being near anyones back....didnt he realize that maybe, just maybe - he should lead/run/whatever to get in front of him ?

I'm so torn in relation to Barham. He does some things right, but then shows a real lack of class in many situations. I'd prefer Wellingham, Dawes, Sidebottom and the Sack' out there over him anyday.

I reckon Barham just needs time.
If we can spare it we should give it to him.
More than one player on our list has repaid time and faith in spades.

I agree. He does everything else so well, it's just his kicking which lets him down.
Tackles, chases, runs hard, does all that so well.

We have given players in the past time to correct their flaws, lets give Barham a little time as well.

Imagine if we had dropped Swan because of his poor kicking a few years ago.

Agree'd. I'm all for our young players to get game time. And when I say game time, I mean in successive games, not just one here and there that has been happening (specially with Dawes).

I really expect things for Dawes, so I want to see him out there more often. Wellingham is also on my list of favourites from the young'uns.

with Jaxxon his kicking action isnt horrid, even choosing a target isnt always the problem (although engaging the grey matter between his ears is sometimes thr issue), its more that he is going a million miles an hour and doesnt steady before kicking which results in kicks going over the head of his target.

Its something fixable and something he will get better at the more he plays at this level, he did have some nice kicks tonight

Pies vs Lions - Game and Player Review